Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Fiasco: Touring Rock Band
    by Jordan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2012 15:55:26

    This setting was fantastic for our group. Playing through it as 3 band mates with unreasonable requests on their comeback tour and two lame radio djs (Fatman and the Cougar) was a lot of fun for everyone involved.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: Touring Rock Band
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by Harry T. J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/05/2012 00:32:44

    I played Fiasco for the first time tonight and I was very impressed. As someone who is not the biggest fan of some of the Gamist aspects of role playing games, it was nice to play a game that puts heavy emphasis on story and character, while leaving the Gamist notions on the back burner.

    It was remarkable amounts of fun to play because it didn't require me, the usual GM, to create anything or expend energy building a world. I got to be a player, and had the chance to play on both sides of the screen at the same time. It was nice to be able to have the whole group build the story together, which puts everyone in the mood to do their best to make the game memorable.

    Explaining the rules was a little bumpy at first, but once the first round was over, everything was flowing like clockwork. In my opinion, the game system becomes clearer when it is in action, so learning by doing and setting an example through play is the key to a successful first session.

    I think that Fiasco isn't a perfect game for all people, but it is a good alternative for folks that want to have a cooperative, fun, and creative evening together.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco: Gangster London
    by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2011 11:22:49

    One of my very favorite playsets, Gangster London really captures the Guy Ritchie type of story - it contains a lot of story-rich, outrageous elements which really helps set up a great fiasco.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: Gangster London
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco: Dragon Slayers
    by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/11/2011 11:21:11

    I've run the Dragon Slayers playset multiple times for different groups and really enjoy it - it tends to generate very interesting, zany fantasy stories full of the typical D&D cliches and tropes. Overall, I think Dragon Slayers is a bit more of an "advanced" playset though (or maybe intermediate is a better term) because it's set up for the story to unfold after the dragon has been slain, built around the aftermath. As such it requires a bit more preplay discussion to get everyone on the same page and to make sense of some of the elements that can come up during the initial set-up. Overall though I think it's a great playset and is one of the ones I pack for cons.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: Dragon Slayers
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2011 11:24:18

    I love Fiasco. It delivers exactly what it promises: a self-contained, no-prep session in which a comedy of errors and bad decisions results in a complete fiasco. Having played in nearly a dozen sessions to date, every single one has been enjoyable and all but one have been great. I also have introduced the game to over a dozen people to date and every single one of them has loved the game. That in and of itself should speak to the quality of the experiences Fiasco yields.

    Fiasco is not going to be for everyone though. First off, it requires active, creative participation from everyone at the table. It's not meant to be a game written and run by a single person, but rather a collaborative storytelling experience. Thus, if you despise collaborative gaming experiences and want very traditional RPG mechanics, Fiasco is going to be a poor fit.

    It also means that everyone at the table has to be on the same page about exactly where the story is going – table chatter (some would say meta-gaming) is allowed and needed to avoid someone completely derailing the developing story by negating past events or introducing completely random elements. I've had this happen in one session (the one that wasn't great) in which one of the players in the very first scene of the game destroyed the object that linked our characters and then introduce Cthulhu-inspired horror elements which left the whole table scrambling to follow his lead – while it didn't ruin the game, it did negate everything we had discussed at the table during the set-up and ultimately left us with a story that didn't have a lot of coherence in the end.

    Lastly, Fiasco can easily venture in to areas that may make certain players uncomfortable and so it's important for people, especially those unfamiliar with each other, to discuss lines and veils before the start of any game. This also needs to be considered when looking at the location where you're playing since spectators may get the wrong impression if they only overhear snippets of in-character dialogue. While the game doesn't have to involve sexuality, addiction, criminal activity, or profanity, most of the playsets as well as the tone of the actual rulebook (which fits the genre perfectly) definitely lean towards mature themes.

    Some examples from games I've played in might make this clear, although these are at the extreme and in most cases things don't go quite this crazy: I've played a Russian video store owner who made amateur porn movies in the back room of his shop and who was raped by a bear while trying to make a bestiality movie. In another game, two of the characters were twin sisters in a rock band – one of them proceeded to get her twin hooked on heroin and then appeared in a porn movie posing as her twin in an attempt to ruin her sister's reputation and career. In the game described in my earlier examples, I played an incredibly foul-mouthed, very dumb, racist morgue technician – anyone who had been eavesdropping on our game could easily have been offended considering how many times I dropped the F-bomb alone.

    That last point also requires a bit of caution for anyone wanting to use Fiasco with younger audiences. If you've read my blog, you'll know that I've had great success and fun using the game with the after-school RPG program I run. However, nearly all of the playsets to date, including those in the rulebook itself, are not suitable to younger audiences given how often they make explicit references to sex, drugs, and violence. That said, nearly any of them can be easily adapted for younger audiences with a little effort - I'm working on several at the moment – and some of the soon to be released playsets in the Fiasco Companion are also designed to be a little “softer” (I have playtested the High School playset with a bunch of teens and it was a terrific story).

    In the end, I can't say enough good things about Fiasco. It's such an amazing value for what you get and it is my go to game at any con or I find myself in need of a game on short notice (e.g., we're missing a couple players). Everyone I've introduced the game to also loves it and the kids I've played it with have all returned in the following week wanting to play again. I can't recommend Fiasco enough and would encourage anyone who likes collaborative storytelling games to give it a try.

    Read the full review here: http://rpg.brouhaha.us/?p=4124



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco: The Penthouse
    by steve g. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2011 16:35:21

    Not very impressive, could not recommend this to friends. Other products from this game better.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: The Penthouse
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Fiasco Companion
    by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2011 16:29:47

    An excellent and thoughtful resource for fiasco (actually bigger than the rules) with lots of advice on playing and hacking the game in a number of ways.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Fiasco Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by James D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2011 17:44:58

    Fiasco is a very well-designed game for a cooperative story-telling experience that gives you the feel of a Coen Brothers movie or any of hundreds of other movies where people with powerful ambitions and poor impulse control hurtle through the story on train tracks greased to hell. Winning is having a blast helping these sorry characters try to fulfill their dreams and watching things go gonzo and fall apart spectacularly.

    The game is simple in process (easily learned in one demo game of a couple hours). There is such great reception and fan support that fans have been writing "playsets" for the game like crazy. There are tons of them out there for free as the Bully Puplit Games guys fully encourage folks to make them and ask that they be given a chance to look them over and help make them better.

    The best games occur when participants embrace the strongly "improv" style of the game. It is optimized for 4 characters, one of which can also be the "facilitator" to help newbies with the process, but are also full players. No GM required. It's the perfect pocket game when you want to fill a few hours at a con or try something different with your home crew.

    If you can let go of the character sheet and enumerated powers and strengths, jump in and have a blast making a Fiasco!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by Brian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2011 16:00:41

    Fiasco is one of those games without a lot of overhead management. Each Playset is designed to be played for just a single session rather than a whole campaign, but there us an unlimited amount of replay value in each of them. The best part about the Playsets is that there are a lot of them to be had and they're (at the time of this writing, though I don't expect this to change) free.

    Fiasco is a great game to get non-gamers into playing. All you really have to do is get them over the hurdle that dice are used (though I'm sure you could devise a way to go without them) and appeal to the part of their psyche that likes to see bad things happen comedically happen to characters.

    Mechanically the game is set up randomly by rolling a pool of dice and using them to set up Relationships, Needs, Items, and Locations. You'll need an even number of d6's in two colors because that will come into play when you or the other players determine whether or not a scene will go well or poorly for you and just because you might be doing well overall your ending might not be so rosy. As long as you embrace the comic side of tragedy then you'll enjoy this game.

    In a word, Fiasco is fun. It's not about heroics or high adventure, it really is about deeply flawed characters getting themselves into trouble for your entertainment.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: The Jersey Side
    by Michael H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/03/2011 13:28:40

    A great playset for a great game: The Jersey Side produces some very cool, story-laden set-ups. The first game we ran using it resulted in a blood-smuggling ring that revolved around the city morgue, along with a ME and an assistant DA who were working for the mob. Great stuff.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: The Jersey Side
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by Bob S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2011 11:19:06

    I really just can't say enough good things about Fiasco. As long as you've got a group of people willing to role play characters that may or may not end up being despicable people, or noble people who just get the shaft...you're going to have a good time. I guarantee it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco Classic
    by David R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2011 12:06:10

    I have to say I enjoyed this game very much. This is a very free form roleplaying game where the players make the game and story up as they go. The scenario's are very open ended and allow you a lot of room to improvise when creating the story. You characters are rewarded at the end of the game by being either really nice and decent or absolutely horrible. If you don't participate you are in real trouble. One of my players in our "Small Southern Town" game was eaten by the crazy cat ladies cats because he was contsantly trying to keep things low key during the game. While the Meth Addicted School teacher and Gambling Addict Real Estate king made off with most of the towns money and rode off into the sunset. This is a great game for people who enjoy roleplaying and storytelling. Dice rolling rule mongers may want to stay away from this one, if you need a lot of rules to make you feel comfortable this is not a game for you. If you like the thrill of roleplaying and collective storytelling then this game is for you. Also Bully Pulpit gives away for free a ton of add in scenarios. This is a great game for the price.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: Quest for the Golden Panda
    by Tim R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/26/2011 14:52:53

    Fiasco is one of the best games out there right now. And the fact that it has been continuously updated with playsets such as this one are the proverbial thick luscious cream cheese icing on the red velvet cake. Or in this case, Mooncake. The original launch for the Quest for the Golden Panda kicked off a firestorm of creativity in the podcast-o-sphere around the Jennisodes podcast as the Eponymous Jenn held a contest to promote the playset, Fiasco, and the upcoming Fiasco Players Guide (hint: sneak preview content is included here!). Quest for the Golden Panda is the first playset that is set in Asia, and the first that I'm aware of that introduces distinct new variant rules options. I have had a wonderful time playing this playset, and I could easily see playing it again and again. It captures a certain set of wuxia film elements, primarily those that are particularly fantastical and a little more goofy. This isn't the grittiest playset, but it certainly doesn't need to be either. One last note - "Six String Samurai" is the out-of-place movie in the Movie Night list. It's one of my favorites, but has nothing to do with this genre.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: Quest for the Golden Panda
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Grey Ranks
    by Erathoniel W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 12/04/2010 10:02:48

    I don't really know what to say about this product. Poignant, moving, touching, and emotional, with more of a focus on survival rather than winning, Grey Ranks is not a game for everyone, but a mature, sophisticated audience will see that it is one of the most artistically crafted games.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Grey Ranks
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fiasco: 1913 New York
    by Tim L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/24/2010 07:10:32

    I'm not sure. Maybe I was hoping for a bit more of a link to 1913 NY but except for some of the street names it felt very generic. Instead it is a list of names, places, events, etc. set up in a d6 random list. So you can have (6) Tommy from (3) East Side with (1) No Family and (1) Rum running. I think I was hopping for more color description of the city, life, street scenes.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco: 1913 New York
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 61 to 75 (of 76 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product