Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Posthuman Studios LLC » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Lachlan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2019 21:01:40

An excellent collection of game seeds to inspire even the most seasoned Eclispe Phase GMs! Well categorised and laid out, with a tag system that makes searching for specific ideas and concepts easy, the Router Case Files is one of the best RPG purchases I made in 2019. I've already worked one into an upcoming campaign of mine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Kaylee B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/27/2019 08:35:59

A fun collection of scenarios seeds for the Eclipse Phase RPG (edition independent). Each seed contains enough information to whet your appetite, but leaves matters vague enough for you to fill in the blanks yourselves. I hope this collection foreshadows future releases & perhaps one day a fully fleshed out campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2019 23:27:14

I love this product. I sometimes have trouble coming up with an interesting premise to get my creativity flowing, so it is really nice to have a collection of plot hooks all conveniently located in once place. There are a wide variety of hooks that can fit into just about any campaign. Oh, and did I mention they are all tagged by topic and there's a nice handy index in the back?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Router Case Files
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2019 10:40:29

This is a fantastic resource for quick scenario (or campaign) ideas. There are 70 different seeds so there is something for everyone and every game style here. Well worth it for a lazy GM that doesn't have trouble filling in details tailored for their particular player characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Logan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2019 07:18:24

I've loved the first edition of Eclipse Phase for years now, and have been running a solo campaign for my wife during that time. Now that the second edition has dropped, I can say that the changes to the engine itself are fantastic, and take so much load off for things such as resleeving. Before, it was a whole process that stopped the gameplay dead while players fiddled with their character sheet, changing a dozen different numbers before we could go on with their new morphs, whereas now it's just a plug-and-play. The refined success/failure system is also much improved, as are the much better rep score and networking. I can wholeheartedly recommend this to any fan of 1e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Trevor W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2019 22:52:14

As a fan of the first edition, I had some misgivings about the pool based addition when I had first looked through some of the previews. The changes seemed too divergent and different from the original, and would make it more complicated with no benefit. I'm glad to have been wrong.

That's not to say its any less crunchy than the original. Its just as crunchy, but its modular and easy to understand crunch. So, rather, its crunchy in all the right places. Some of it is streamlined and feels like a far more eligant system than the first edition.

As an example; the changes to Morphs and Egos. Morphs have unique qualities and built in augmentations called wares, but offer no direct changes to Aptitudes. The pools they come with, however, do offer you flexible ways to give handy, lasting bonuses and other fun benefits you decide on. It works out great and gives players both benefit and options, without having certain player types munchin in just the right bonuses. Throughout all this, your Ego Aptitudes and even skills (before bonuses) remain the same. Plus, Aptitudes are no longer limited by morph. Similar to the previous edition in many ways, but easier to work with. Its an approach that really fits the setting, in my opinion.

I find myself liking everything about this new edition. I highly recommend it!

I do have one semi-criticism/suggestion for the publishers: There's a distinct lack of a "slice of life" mission/adventure in any of the current or previous sources. I feel that something like this, an in-game introduction to the setting, would be a very strong addition. The setting itself is very difficult to grok in some ways, in particular an emotional one. I feel Eclipse Phase needs its own Food Fight, though perhaps made into a full mission to introduce the major concepts more gradually, with various actors that represent those concepts. Just some food for thought.

And thank you to Posthuman Studios for making this game and its setting. Keep it going strong!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Argonauts
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2019 18:15:49

Great little source book for the nerdy types. Being compatible with second edition is definitely a plus.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: Argonauts
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Joshua R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2019 22:39:12

Eclipse Phase 2nd edition (EP2) is an amazing and fun game. This edition streamlines play, with loads of input from the gaming community, without sacrificing anything. If you’re familiar with shows like Altered Carbon or The Expanse you’ll be familiar with a lot of the sci-fi present in this game. If you like unraveling conspiracies, pitting yourself against monolithic institutions, survival horror, or the idea of planetary exploration this near hard sci-fi game is a must play.

The game comes baked with premade characters for 4 of your friends. You can choose to play gate crashers exploring ruins on distant and unknown worlds, criminals plying their trade in red, grey, and black markets to undermine hyper capitalists and fascist solar system wide governments, or play secret agents and saviors of humanity fighting against extinction from without and within. Characters range from normal humans to gene tailored super humans, cyborgs, AIs, uplifted Parrots, Monkeys, Apes, Octopus and many things between.

The game smoothly mixes simulationist and narrativist elements into a rule heavy (crunchy) game. This edition isn’t just a rehash of the old system, its a definite improvement. Not only remediating a few glaring issues from first edition, such as morphs, but introducing a pool system that blends crunch with imagination.

The book itself is a work of art. The illustrations, the two page spread, the interactive pdf elements comes together in a great package.

If you want to break from the routine of other games your group is playing and reach for the future and the stars, this is the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2019 07:39:45

One thing to say about this new edition : It's good to see an editor who listen to his games community !! This edition is a huge clarification and simplification of the 1st edition. Where precise data were lacking, the 2nd edition give you the answer (swarm speed ? what about children ? Know skills importance for complementary bonus ? etc ...)

But ... most important ... this 2nd edition is an evolution and not a betrayal of the 1st edition spirit. Hard Science and crunchy rules are still here, just more accessible and with a better presentation. very good job !!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2019 04:47:53

I love short fiction anthologies for RPGs, because one single book instantaneously gives you a dozen or so ideas for running your game. After the Fall definitely delivers, offering great bite-sized stories while offering a solid view into the world of Eclipse Phase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase: After the Fall
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Steffie d. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/06/2019 07:54:01

This books lives up to EP 1E and then some. The two-page spread is great and the crunch much more intuitive, while keeping all the progressive transhumanism of 1E. Definitely recommend - and if you haven't played the 1E, this book is where to start your Eclipse Phase adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Peter T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 20:19:00

First off, I love the setting for Eclipse Phase. I was pointed out to me by a friend when first released, but I was on a Fantasy RPG kick at the time and didn't look at it. I wasn't until several years later another friend started up a campaign and I joined in and fell instantly in love with the setting. I went and bought everything I could get my hands on for the game in hardcopy and in PDF. I volunteered to run games at Conventions and have a few ideas I'd like to write up to publish.

That said, I was ready to HATE second edition.

Second Ed EP aimed to simplify a lot of the number crunching in the rules. For me, common math is easy, so I didn't see the need. For other folk I understand math might have got in the way of the play experience. Character generation was long and slow, and there were a lot of the changes in that area make it swift, also, to make 'resleeving' faster too.

I backed the KS, because this product, and these creators, absolutely deserve my support. I participated in the playtest, grumbled a bit, noted some good things, realised some of the changes in play that might happen because of changes in the rules. I didn't read the finished PDF immediately, but at Gen Con 2019 I got my hands on a print copy and purused it on the long flight home to Australia intersperced with binging some television.

I am solidly impressed.

Character generation is easy. You can start generation, finish, and play a short scenario in one session. A practical imposibility with first edition. Resleeving is a breeze too. The changes make for swift, exciting and sometimes heroic play, while maintaining a fair bit of grit.

One of our players was concerned his character build, heavy on cyberware and mods, was 'crippled' under the new rules; Quickly exhausting his resources in a fight compared to the old system. However, fights don't really last that long, and effects were minimal. He still outclasses the entire rest of the Squad, though I anticipate his heavy investment in a single body to be a liability in the long run, as being prepared to cut and run from a body is a necessity some times.

Playing an Async character, the changes to the Psi rules are a fantastic opportunity for roleplay. I love them. I look forward to playing out stuff in our campaign.

Overall, this edition is even sexier, with lovely artwork throughout.

I'll always recommend EP to someone looking at a Transhumanist RPG, and this new edition with its lighter character generation goes a very long way to making this game accessible to all.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Adrian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2019 23:39:48

Eclipse Phase earns a place as a truly distinct RPG for those seeking the space between sci-fi, horror, cyberpunk, suspese, and conspiracy theory-crafting. It manifests as a deeply mature work of writing that seriously considers the implications of unimpeded technological discovery and evolution divorced from the perceived shackles of ethics, morals, and 'the common good' that plunges humanity into near extinction. The political, religious, philosophical, and technological themes are all-pervasive, and represent a game that frames threats as existential; challenging the player-characters to become immersed in a game that asks difficult questions without providing clear answers. In short, this is a game where personal truth (with a lower-case 't') is far more likely than any universal Truth - and even then it can morph, mutate, or be forcibly altered into something very different in the span of only a few game sessions.

Within this futuristic setting 95% of the human population have been destroyed, and the remainder have embraced (to varying degrees) transhumanity - that humanity is more than a fleshy form, and consciousness is a valuable asset that can be saved, restored from back-up, and even beamed across light-years to be re-sleeved into new forms. Experimentation on the natural world has 'uplifted' species to sapient levels; to the point these creatures are autonomous, self-determing life forms who need reassurance of their status and place in the expanding galaxy. Earth is a dangerous wasteland, its' near orbit littered with failed attempts to escape and the frozen remains of those doomed to never leave - the rest of humanity has spread across the solar system. Political strucutres are diverse, from the autocratic repressive regime of the Jovians (whose increasingly isolationalist totalitarianism outlook threatens internal obselecence) to the values-driven democratic socialist clades (and every possible permutation in between and beyond).

Society is constructed from uploaded and saved sapients, effectively immortal, and able to edit memories, and tailor their forms for every environment but bearing a great psychological and emotional cost. Humanity, though, is presented at its' self-destructive, cannibalistic best - even the threat of species-level extinction fails to act as a deterrant for perpetuating class divides, a death-grip on capitalist structures and intellectual property, and imposing scarcity economics.

It should be noted that the lion's share of this book is dedicated to setting. Whilst the mechanics (a percentile system) are well-detailed, described, and implemented, it is the incredible attention to a believable habitat for the human race that is most compelling.
The authors are obviously well-aware that the philosophical themes, sheer scope and diversity, and choice position it as a possibly confronting purchase. Mitigating this are the highly practical advice sections that delineate portions of the game, present the essentials, and then offer ways to purposefully grapple with the concepts at the table. The writers exercise excellent judgment in the topics covered, and this section is placed about halfway through the book - roughly about the time my head was full of racing, competing ideas that defied immediate attempts to fashion them into usable ideas. In that state of excited creativity, I was presented with sections that grounded my ideas, provided focus, and helped me to pare down the core elements of interest. Once completed, I was ready to dive into the rest of the book.

The writing style is mature, thoughtful, and thought-provoking, but at the same time accessible. The authors acknowledge the work of others as inspiration, and fans of Takeshi Kovacs, The Expanse, and even Ghost in the Shell will find enough touchstones to easily digest the content. As mentioned, the content sequencing and structure is a highlight, and it is clear the developers tried to predict how readers would use the book, in what order ideas should be presented, and when the reader was likely to need a short rest to collate. Artwork is uniformally evocative of the universe presented, and has a gritty, yet tasteful approach that complements the text.

Overall, I cannot praise this book more, and will add a physical copy to my shelves. Even if you do not intend to play this game, but it for the setting and you'll not be disappointed. I have no experience with the First Edition upon which to base comparative reviews, but as my entry point to Eclipse Phase this has given me a lot to think about, plenty of inspiration, and a desire to read more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Arokha S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2019 09:46:51

Very impressed with this much better book layout than 1E. The two-page spread idea (where most rule topics are broken down into a single two-page spread) is great, and is much better than the 1E book I had the displeasure of digging around in to write a wiki for.

The faster/simplified sleeve stats make resleeving much easier, and was one of my biggest complaints about 1E... in a setting that expects you to resleeve often, why make it so complicated? 2E resolved that almost entirely.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Eclipse Phase Second Edition
by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/13/2019 14:15:24

An excellent second edtion. Eclipse Phase 2E remains an extremely crunchy game. What it has over 1E is a much simplfied system for resleaving, and streamlined rules. It also is explicitly political and hates fascists! A+



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 154 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG