Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Modular Towers 3: Signal Towers
    by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/05/2011 06:59:28

    Originally Published at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/05/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-v/

    This is a really fun idea for a map. This is a straight up circular watchtower and to be honest, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a map specifically for this location, even though it is a pretty standard thing to encounter in a fantasy campaign. The map has a grid for each level, which makes it perfect for miniatures usage. The first two pages of the map are for the ground floor and outside surrounding of the watch tower. The tower is for use on a body of water, so it’s also possible to have this map double as a lighthouse due to the location and layout of the map.

    There are seven pieces to map besides the ground floor pieces, each with their own unique look, yet still keeping to the circular shape of the location. You can make the watchtower as high or as small as you would like thanks to the modular pieces and you can even have several pieces in play at once if your players are spread out through the location. My favorite aspect of the map is it really shows how hard fighting up a spiral or circular staircase can be and it’s not something that a lot of gamers or DMs think about unless they are actually shown what it would look like. This map will force even the most avid hack and slashers to think a little bit about strategy before trying to stab their way to the top of the tower.

    There is an amazing amount of detail to this map and Scrying Eye games have thought of just about everything except for one of the two things most map makers forget: a place for cooking and a place for umm…what happens to the food after you’ve eaten it. It was really cool to see a table with a tea set and even a place for dinner, complete with a rolled napkin. I love it when map designers actually think of what a location would actually have in it and not just the bare bones layout. Modular Towers 3: Signal Towers is a wonderful map from beginning to end and now I have a map for that haunted lighthouse I’ve always wanted to try.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Modular Towers 3: Signal Towers
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Type M Subsidized Merchant "HIMS The Pretty Penny"
    by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/01/2011 07:19:04

    Oriignally Posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2011/08/01/the-gazetteer-volume-i-issue-i/

    First off, this is a very large map if the page count didn’t clue you in. This contains both an interior and an exterior look at this ship, so you can really set up a tactical based adventure around this. Of course, your campaign will need to be in a modern or sci-fi setting since the ship is full of computers, guns, and other tech you wouldn’t find in a fantasy setting. The entire map is full color which the publisher admits will probably drain your printer cartridge due to the size and the fact it is “color-intensive.” Because of this, Scrying Eye Games suggests that you only print off the parts you will actually use. Still, I can’t imagine where you would only ever use a section of the map since it’s all a single gigantic ship.

    There are actually three levels to the ship, but in flipping through the pages, there is no discernable difference between the lower interior and upper interior and because of this, people who aren’t used to print and putting together maps might mix up the pieces. In fact there’s no assembly guide, which really should be required for a map this side. With something like this, always assume your product is a gamer’s first or that they are very young, just in case. Instead, the only clue you get comes from the table of contents which gives a page count of what pieces go where. For example pages 4-11 make up the Interior Upper Deck while pages 12-16 make up the Interior Lower Deck. There’s just one problem. The table of contents in your PDF reader will say the exact opposite, It says pages 4-11 are the lower deck and 12-16 are the upper deck. So which is correct? I say go with the paper based ToC rather than the PDF version but the fact a typo/error of this size made it through production doesn’t assure me of quality control with this piece.

    Visually the map is pretty good for the interior sections, but lacking in detail and a bit dull for the exterior. The last two pages of the map even have a guide to the different interior sections and what they represent. The interior has a lot of little touches that make the “Pretty Penny” feel lived in and like a real battleship, but the exterior is just a dull blue with no actual texture or detail. I was disappointed by the quality differences here.

    It’s hard to recommend picking up the “Pretty Penny” unless you are specifically playing a Traveller campaign, so its geared for a very niche audience, but in a pinch it can work with a modern or sci-fi map as long as you’ve really tailored the adventure around this. The “Pretty Penny” could make a decent Spelljammer after all…



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Type M Subsidized Merchant "HIMS The Pretty Penny"
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
    by P-O B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/25/2011 14:12:54

    What you get is what you see in the preview. You get an image of an air/raft and nothing more. You get the same image 10 times. I don't understand why... I think they should have made the 10 images a bit different, so that you at least could select your favourite colour.

    Anyway, the image is looking nice, and the style is the same as in the other (so far) two Traveller products from Scrying Eye Games. The best thing is that it is for free. So if you are using any of their other Traveller products, you should get this one as well. It will look nice parked on the cargo deck.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
    by Christian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2011 13:37:18

    A well rendered product, and a nice variation on many of the previous versions of the venerable Air/Raft. It was very light on crunchy bits, and mostly was useful for a visual effect. As a free product I do value what I got, and I would look at other products from this creator. A nice addition would have been a profile view and/or different color variations to allow a GM to represent different factions if they use this in their game.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Type M Subsidized Merchant "HIMS The Pretty Penny"
    by P-O B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/18/2011 15:38:44

    This is the second deck-plan of about 20 that they have planned to release. I hope they do the Shivva Patrol Frigate.

    The scale is 25 mm/square. The side of a square is 5 ft. This fits a number of counters, card board heroes and miniatures nicely. But it doesn’t match the classic scale exactly (but close enough). It also makes the deck-plan of the ship quite large. The ship is fitted within 19 pages that you have to assemble yourself. It would have been nice if there was a hi-res image-file includes as well, so you could print it out on a large printer/plotter.

    There are lots of details in the images. This is very nice compared to the standard classic deck-plans. Now you can see how everything will fit, and where all the rubbish will end up…

    The need for deck-plans has always been there. In my group, and in other groups that I have played in, we have always used deck-plans. Even though there might not be any combat within the ship, it is always nice to see where your character lives and works. If there is combat within the ship, a deck-plan is a must.

    Combat can be solved using standard traveller rules, or using special on-board rules like Snapshot.

    Even though this is a very nice product, I will not use it. The reason for this is that my group is quite tainted by what the March Harrier from the Traveller Adventure looked like. The March Harrier is a type R. (The classic type M is a 600-ton Subsidized Liner.) There are a number of elevators in this ship. Where is the Launch? This is not the same ship. It doesn’t match the March Harrier. But for a new group it would probably be very nice to have this pretty deck-plan on their gaming table.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Type M Subsidized Merchant "HIMS The Pretty Penny"
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Type S Scout/Courier "IISS Dreamcatcher"
    by Aaron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2011 22:34:19

    Type “S” Scout/Courier is the first spaceship battlemap from Scrying Eye Games’ new series Scrying Eye Shipyard and is compatible with the Traveller system. It is a fairly straight forward, beautifully detailed, and perfectly laid out spaceship that can easily be used for multiple system.

    The details of the interior are crisp and clear and attention was paid to the grid by perfectly placing it so the central “walkway” lines up right where it needs to be. This ship accommodates four perfectly with seating in the command section along with four separate staterooms. Each necessary room is there and an overview pointing out the different rooms is included in the back. In addition to the detailed interior, an overlay of the exterior is included. Plus there is a civilian air raft and turret controls. It’s not very big but it truly is designed perfectly.

    OVERALL

    If Type “S” Scout/Courier is any indication of future battlemaps in this series, then I truly look forward to future releases. While it’s designed for use with Traveller, the standard 1″ x 1″ grid (or 25mm) makes it usable with many other systems.

    RATINGS

    Publication Quality: 10 out of 10 This battlemap is laid out perfectly and includes the interior, exterior, and overview. One key item to the layout is how well the grid is laid over the actual interior details – it matches perfectly.

    Visual Appeal: 10 out of 10 Type “S” Scout/Courier is visually stunning with not only excellent details but everything placed in a logical location making the entire ship even more stunning to look at.

    Desire to Use: 10 out of 10 This spaceship is very valuable for in-game use in Traveller and other systems that utilize a 1″ x 1″ grid like Savage Worlds or even Dark Heresy. The only catch is that it’s designed for four characters to use, but this could easily be worked around. It truly has a variety of uses within almost any sci-fi game system.

    Overall: 10 out of 10 Type “S” Scout/Courier is an excellent battlemap for anyone looking to add a small spaceship to their adventure or campaign. Regardless if you’re using miniatures or not, you can use this to explain the action going on and allow the PCs to interact with their surroundings. I definitely recommend using this.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Type S Scout/Courier "IISS Dreamcatcher"
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Type S Scout/Courier "IISS Dreamcatcher"
    by Andrew L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/15/2011 05:03:47

    I was not yet a teenager when I watched the first moon landing on TV. Like many of my generation I was simply possessed with idea of spaceflight. When having to wear glasses put paid to my childhood aspiration of being an astronaut I looked forward to the space tourism we were being guaranteed. Nowadays, of course, I have to accept that short of someone doing something very suddenly with carbon nanotubes and space elevators, maps like "IISS Dreamcatcher" are the closest I'll ever get to leaving Earth.

    This map is teaming with loads more adventure potential than that tourist flight I anticipated rescuing in Thunderbirds style ever had. I can see in the bridge that one of the consoles is glowing a different color to the others. Definitely a sign that it is shortly, at a most inopportune time, going to go on the blink. Some of the odd hazard checked floor panels might be lifted and someone spill their coffee, or worse fall in and break something. Lord knows what will happen if there's a bureaucrat around when that happens, you think safety regulations are bad enough in c21? Wait a few hundred years. The Captain won't like having to bribe his way out of that. And should you really be leaving blasters out in your cabin when that rich dilettante passenger the Cap' had to take on board is looking strung out and withdrawn? On the other hand the drone bay has some spare room; customs won't notice the odd bottle going planet side... will they?

    There are minor irritations - at the time of this review there was no 3 feet to an inch hex version of this map for my GURPS Traveller game. There is no exterior underside in the map - forgetting that in space there is no upside down. Despite this the map is good quality and well detailed. At this price if you have a Traveller game that uses 5 feet to one inch scale you can't afford not to buy this map on the off chance you need a Scout/Courier map for those times when, as always, your players drive a truck through your session planning.

    Plus, let's face it, the IISS Dreamcatcher and your imagination represents a better class of space travel than you're likely to see in your lifetime - which undoubtedly will be more cramped than tourist class, full of more screaming kids and babies and have floating globules of unidentified biological matter. Need I say more? Take the sane alternative.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Type S Scout/Courier "IISS Dreamcatcher"
    by Jerry G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2011 10:25:40

    A nicely done floor plan with a lot of thought on where everything in the ship goes

    Loved it and used some of the ideas when making my own floor plans



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Type S Scout/Courier "IISS Dreamcatcher"
    by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/27/2011 20:23:33

    Good value for money ($3 USD).

    Absolutely essential floor plan for any Traveller game (old and new). The inside of an S-Scout never looked so good.

    Definitely for fans of the Millennium Falcon and Firefly-class Serenity, who like their starships dingy and cluttered!

    Summary: Useful eye-candy for space navy heads with minis!

    Ace. Fire up the jump drive!

    -Bb- http:/bit.ly/rpgblog



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Ravenlands 1 Freebie: Winter Cottage
    by Brandon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2011 03:06:58

    I love all the scrying eye maps and they just keep getting better! They can be used for any genre and any setting. As a game master you can carry them around in your pack and be ready for any situation your players might encounter and you can do so at a great price. Good job guys!

    -Rogue



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Ravenlands 1 Freebie: Winter Cottage
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Ravenlands Bundle 2: Inn and Mine (1" square = 5')
    by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2011 22:21:33

    This set of maps details a mine and near-by inn, in 1" maps. I was really impressed with this set of maps. There is a great level of detail, and you are able to see individual leaves on trees and tools on worktables. You get both exterior and interior maps. You also get single page maps so you can see the whole location at a glance, which is really handy. Instructions, like all of Scrying Eye's map products, are straightforward and clear. If you are in need of a generic mine and/or tavern, with detailed maps that really help to evoke a sense of place, you would be hard pressed to find a better set than this.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Ravenlands Bundle 2: Inn and Mine (1" square = 5')
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Tall Ships 4: Explorer's Ship
    by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2011 22:10:25

    Another in the line of Scrying Eye Games' "Tall Ships". This time round we have six pages that form the map of the top deck of a sailing ship, and a seventh page of open water. The deck is cluttered with barrels and crates, and has a number of cannons and swivel guns. The art is once again very nice, and the sails are transparent so you can see/use the deck below them. There are no plans for below deck, and I would have liked a single page map of the ship to use as a GM reference or for when I don't want to use miniatures. Overall, a good resource for your nautical adventures.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Tall Ships 4: Explorer's Ship
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Tall Ships 1: Pirate Ship
    by Nathan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/08/2011 22:04:07

    This is exactly what it says on the packet - a set of maps (in 1" squares) for a pirate ship. There are six pages that make up the map of the ship, and a seventh page of water. The art is good and the sails have a transparent quality that allows you to see/use the deck below them. It is only of the top deck, nothing of below deck. The instructions are clear and straightforward. I would have liked a one-page map of the ship, too, either to use as GM's reference, or for those occasions when I don't want to crack out the miniatures.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Tall Ships 1: Pirate Ship
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    INN-Teriors 1: The Raven Claw Inn
    by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2011 21:03:16

    When I purchased some maps and tile sets from the publishers of The World's Most Popular Roleplaying Game, I was sorta disappointed by the size of the inns. The quality and color was great, but some adventures just call for large, two-story inns with a basement. The Raven Claw Inn is a two-story inn, each story two pages across, and a half-page basement. The kitchen is in the basement, and upstairs has several shared bedrooms, including a dorm, though not a flophouse-style common area. Additional roofs have been included. You won't be able to make a 3-D model with just the roofs, but you can certainly use them as terrain for MageKnight or outdoor fantasy battles. Remember to download "Ravenlands 1 Freebie: Castle Raven Dungeon Level 1" if you haven't done so already. It's by the same creator and just as good.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    INN-Teriors 1: The Raven Claw Inn
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ravenlands 2 Freebie: Castle Raven Dungeon Level 1
    by Cedric C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2011 20:06:59

    This freebie is fantastic! Almost 2x4 printed pages of underground goodness! And, despite the generic-ish title, this map works just fine for any deserted castle or mansion basement, even suitable for a Call of Cthulhu game. The layout is less random sprawling dungeon, than a deserted floor of bedrooms and common areas. The map is suitable from anything from a random dungeon, to an orc barracks lair, to a decades-abandoned basement where forgotten secrets and horrible things dwell. The map also has plenty of detail, so is quite suited for exploration as well. Very good job!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Ravenlands 2 Freebie: Castle Raven Dungeon Level 1
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 46 to 60 (of 85 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product