Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Small Niche Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
LLA001: Blood Moon Rising
by Florent D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/09/2019 12:20:10

I reviewed this Module on my blog and gave it only a 4.5 stars because of the cartography. I'm rounding it up to 5 Stars here, because this is actually not an issue and the price tag is so low that it's really worth your money. For the whole review: https://osrdread.blogspot.com/2019/12/module-review-blood-moon-rising.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LLA001: Blood Moon Rising
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:10:31

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL005: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #5 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

BTL004: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #4 (PDF)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 21:02:15

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL004: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #4 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

BTL003: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #3 (PDF)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:56:00

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL003: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #3 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

BTL002: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #2 (PDF)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:55:32

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL002: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #2 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
by Trevor H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2019 20:54:49

these Brave the Labyrinth issues are full of inspiration and great things to add to your old school dungeon games.

I have every issue. I printed them off and bound them together into a super Brave the Labyrinth issue using hot glue along the edge of the magazine.. man that works good! Why wouldn't you do this yourself? are you asking yourself this question? you should. If you like old school dungeon games you will derive hours of enjoyment from these magazines. get them all!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
BTL001: Brave the Labyrinth - Issue #1 (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OWB003: Desert Raiders of WWII
by Gerhardt V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2019 13:52:42

Great addition to the series..... My group enjoyed playing the Norway campaign. WE had a few minor problems..



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB003: Desert Raiders of WWII
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you!
OWB007: Attack on Hilo Ahu Beach
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2019 06:14:32

This is a well-written short OWB adventure that can be completed in one session. The detail and sound layout of Mr. Araki's home is good, and the combat will be tough even at heroic hit points, but can be survived easily if the unit searches for arms around the property. I highly enjoyed running it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB007: Attack on Hilo Ahu Beach
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OWB005: OWB: Allied Missions I
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 07:36:52

You have made me not only a satisfied customer, but an overjoyed customer. After running your game system and the Norway Ablaze missions, all of my players had positive marks for it, and one of the players told me that OWB was his new favorite RPG experience. His older brother even conveyed to me that I replaced his older brother as his favorite RPG referee, following Norway Ablaze. I was very flattered, and I had to give you the credit you deserve. Pardon me for spoiling the surprise, but for the purpose of specific constructive criticism, the history behind the Third Reich manufacturing munitions with glycerin extracted from cod oil and the dynamic finale at the fish oil plant both intrigued and excited all my players, and the action from start to finish was a wild ride. Your games rocks, and it allowed me to shine in the eyes of my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB005: OWB: Allied Missions I
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Owb: Color/b&w/pdf Starter Set [bundle]
by Troy V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 07:14:36

This is THE BEST Old School retroclone game system that I've ever played, hands down. The ruleset is graceful, the WWII timeline and information regarding Intelligence agencies and Special Operation units allow for simple immersion into the setting and era, and OWB is exciting and enjoyable to run and play. All of my game group members love this system, and I have yet to hear a negative comment about it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Owb: Color/b&w/pdf Starter Set [bundle]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you!
OWB015: Operation Peardrop
by Chris S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2019 10:31:05

I played this scenario at the UK Games Expo in 2018...it was my first experience of OWB, and I was very pleasantly surprised to find how well it plays, giving an authentic feel of the classic WW2 adventure films. This scenario, in particular, gives a great introduction and also provides a good sandbox experience within a time-bound mission. As such, provides a great one-shot that really captures the feel of a reconnassaince mission. Thoroughly enjoyable!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB015: Operation Peardrop
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
by dearing b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2019 01:36:19

I've had the PDF for 2 years and recently pulled the trigger on getting the print book and I am glad I did. Sturdy, looks good, feels good

Quick review of the game, focus on vehicle rules.

OWB WWII is a fun game well worth it's money. The more modern aspects of combat such as full automatic and fire suppression rules are handled well and described very well to allow use without confusion. These along with optional rules to add more depth to the rules to give you a good dose of war-gaming fix mixed in with your role-playing.

It's OD&D/Swords & Wizardry used as a base, stripped of magic and fantasy from the base setting with appropriate WWII classes, weapons, etc bolted on for a tight and fun period piece game. Hit Points, Armor Class, Saving Throw: all of the recognizable bits of old school RPG's are here (and include the option of Ascending or Descending AC and hits.) Familiar to the old school crowd and easy enough to pick up to learn and play in one sitting for the younger kids.

For optional settings there are three mini-settings presented at the end of the book: Super Science, Nazi Occult, and Galaxy War 1939. Each setting is short and sweet with stats for creatures, super gadgets, spells, etc appropriate for each setting.

It also has vehicle rules. Lovely uncomplicated and quick to use base vehicle rules. Initiative, attacks, movement: all are handled the same as character combat. No fiddly extra rules to have to learn. Find position, roll for surprise and initiative, move and then get to the shooting! There's enough here to allow for quick vehicle combat and room to add on your own ideas.

A number of basic land vehicle stats (jeeps to tanks) are included. They are kept fairly generic (jeep, truck, light to heavy tank, etc) and each vehicle has a certain amount of 1d6 HD for HP. Average stats are given but it is easy enough to work out that a new vehicle would have full HP and a random vehicle on a battlefield would have HP rolled for to indicate it's condition. Simple and sweet.

Vehicle weapons are appropriately terrifying for the infantry. Stats for autocannons as well as light, medium, and heavy cannon are given. Damage is multiple 1d6 dice, and they add up fast as they head toward the heavy cannon. Vehicle, buildings, etc take normal damage and personnel, your poor grunts, take residual damage if caught in the explosion radius of shells. Given the low-HD of the setting this is potentially lethal to an entire squad of PC's if they're not on their toes and using tactics. Pretty hardcore.

Vehicles are allowed modifications. The most significant in a battle would be Reinforced Hull. This can be taken up to three times and each times gives you immunity or reduced damage from to a lower level of weapon compared to your armor rating. For example a tank with Reinforced Hull x3 is immune to damage from pretty much everything except a heavy cannon, etc. Quick, intuitive, and easy to add onto.

The base book also includes a profile for a patrol boat and two for airplanes, small and large. The base rules are infantry orientated and the rules in the book can be used for basic boat and plane combat and leaves room for improvisation.

I really enjoy this game. It feels 'old school' enough to trip my nostalgia trigger and is useful enough to keep coming back for more fun.

It's got a LOT in it's 180+ pages and the layout is easy on the eyes for an old guy like me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OWB010: OWB: Tactical Combat
by Arkham D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2019 22:27:58

Excellent product - perfect balance between playability and complexity / "realism" for those of us who like to track # of cartridges fired and determine LOS. Nice to not have to adapt rules from elsewhereanymore - looking forward to some crossover scenarios, and maybe figuring out some Mech / Maschinen Krieger house rules



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB010: OWB: Tactical Combat
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you!
I'll also add (belatedly) that White Star: Galaxy Edition uses the same game engine and already has rules for Mechas so you might check that out first before you try to reinvent the wheel. Thanks again!
OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
by Arkham D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/21/2018 00:10:46

Excellent work - personally I'm a big fan of rules interoperability and what this does in allowing S&W as well as White Star crossovers is awesome. Strikes right balance between realism and playability. The Pearl Harbor adventure (separate) is great - looking forward to the rumored "PacificTheater"supplement



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OWB001: WWII: Operation WhiteBox
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

COA01: The Chronicles of Amherth
by kristiaan l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2018 10:22:02

Everything you need wihout bogging you down. Fantastic art, AWESOME MAPS! and written very well. Cant wait for my print copy to arrive! Great job SNG!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
COA01: The Chronicles of Amherth
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 72 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG