RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by CD F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2018 09:49:41

This is a great open ended system that you can make as complex as you want! I have been using it to run adventures. Any flavor of sci-fi can be used but beward at the lower levels, unless you choose the "heroic characters" option, you are in the default "gritty" setting where you can die early.

I got this after watching Adam Koebel on RollPlay. I am running a game on Roll20 and love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Black Streams: Solo Heroes
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 22:09:36

This is not a game itself, but a modification to games of a particular subgenre (think OD&D or B/X) so that the math allows a single adventurer to play through older modules. If you like this, take a look at Scarlet Heroes by the same publisher, which takes this and builds a complete game around it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Streams: Solo Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2018 22:26:54

This is the best system agnostic pantheon and religion generator I have come across. I used it to create two religions using my own pantheon for a homebrew DnD 5e world and it generated two very well fleshed out religions along with a history, heirarchy, rules, punishments, and base of operations. These two religions ended up opposing each other and have basically sparked a campaign for my players. I highly recommend this for the religion and pantheon generator alone. Kevin Crawford never ceases to amaze me at his high quality works and Lexicon of the Throne is a great addition to any Worldbuilding GM's repetoire.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Skuuf S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/12/2018 07:16:06

I've been running games every week for 14 years and this is my favorite System/Setting by far. The tools that Kevin Crawford gives to the GM are powerful and freeing. This product is worth the purchase for the Faction system alone. If you want a game that enables you to be creative, and then gets out of the way, this is the one for you. It can also be modded it for a fantasy setting without much difficulty and I currently perfer it to D&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lexicon of the Throne
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2018 14:43:23

Another high quality product from Sine Nomine. Lots of fun Words to play with, and the section on creating new Words is great! My favorite bit is the section on Concept Words, like "Lich King" - AWESOME! Also, well made PDF table of contents, which is very pleasing to me. Highly recommend!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lexicon of the Throne
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2018 20:26:28

The revised edition streamlines skills and adds new features such as drones and the new adventurer class. The Sector generator is always a help, allowing GM's to easily create unique settings. Psionics have changed substantially, now having core techniques and more versitile uses. Can't help but weep at the lack of Mindblades though.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Roberto M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/09/2018 21:11:44

I am a longtime fan of the original. The Revised Edition is a vast improvement on the system. Mr. Crawford takes the OSR engine into refreshing territory. They book is worth the asking price just for the advice and the tools it provides. With this game you can pretty much run any sci-fi game you can imagine with it. Easy to modify and house rule, flexible and simple, yet robust. Can't recommend it enough!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Spears of the Dawn
by Andrew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2018 06:29:54

Really impressed with the useful tools in here, especially handy random tables. The sensible explanation of how to run a sandbox campaign then leads on to a number of useful tables for generating evocative random locations, cults, tribes, conflicts, and cultures. These tools will allow me to smoothly handle my players running off in any random direction.

The 5 cultures presented are a great mix that are easy to come to grips with. Some other fantasy-Africa products proivde actually too much detail and too many cultures to be easily used.

The written content is definitely 5 stars. I gave 4 stars because the art is wonderully quirky. I like the style, but it is all black and white which nowadays is unexpected (regretably).



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spears of the Dawn
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Core Edition
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2018 00:33:28

Stars Without Number is a great accomplishment. Not just for an OSR, but for any RPG.

3 classes (Warrior, Psychic, Expert) supplemented by training and background packages (1 of each) to produce varied characters.

A strong selection of scifi gear and ships. With solid subsystems for customizing your own starship.

The mechanics are a bit clunky by modern standards but smooth by OSR standards. Very playable.

The setting is intriguing but minimal. A galaxy emerging from a dark age. A second chance to create a human Imperium among the stars.

Sector, Planet, Faction, Adventure, and Alien creation subsystems. A wonderful toolbox to build almost anything a GM might need.

A small bestiary and example sector.

A really excellent 'How to GM' section focusing on Sandbox Style play.

Black and white art throughout, very high quality. The PDF is bookmarked.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Core Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Leo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 04:29:09

5 Stars without a doubt. The amount of content you can find within the pages of this book is simply amazing. GM tools for creating your space sandbox (and running it), elegant but simple rules for important scifi tropes/scenarios (mechs, AI, starships, tech equipment, cyberware, drugs, hacking, etc.) and finally a simple method of character creation with lots of options and opportunities for diversification. This is the working mans' space RPG, with a system simple enough not requiring you to spend hours on preparation yet with enough customizability that not every character/situation at the table feels the same after a few gaming sessions. SWN is not a product without its problems though, don't get me wrong. While the authors creativity is unparalleled (at least from my point of view) and they clearly know how to write functional and elegant rules for their game, the presentation of those rules ist somewhat unoptimized. Often one sentence clearly states a rule, while the following paragraph seeks to explain this rule (hint: not needed!) and instead brings up new questions or contradicts the statements made one paragraph earlier. This is but a minor issue, since most rpg books are plagued by these problems, and thus doesn't modify the 5 star rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 18:44:28

Succinct and useful. Excellent both as a design study and as inspiration for the design-challenged among us.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Brief Study of TSR Book Design
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2018 09:26:00

A fantastic science fiction RPG built upon classic RPG mechanics, Stars Without Number is title that will appeal to gamers whether "Old School" or "New School." This revised edtion greatly improves up the orginal by streamlining skills, broadens character creation, making space combat more generic, and adding rules for "Space Magic" for those who don't mind some fantasy in their sci-fi. The rules for Factions and system creation allow GMs to stake out their own slice of the galaxy and play out the conflicts between interstellar powers great and small, shaping the very universe that PCs will interact with. Buy it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
by John M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 21:38:39

The book re-uses many of the familiar tropes in tabletop RPGs. I think that Stars Without Number does an excellent job of not only remaining faithful to those tropes, but to add its own flavor into the mix. The storylines involving the use of psychics to effect interstellar space, with a unique twist, was my favorite bit.

"Magic" is kinda Vancian. Ability scores are based on D&D (Strength, Charisma, etc). The encounter generation table is quite useful, even outside of this setting.

I'd recommend this book. You should download it. And why not? It's free. Even if you don't run an encounter using this setting, there's enough material here that it can be inserted into almost any Sci-Fi based rules system, like Serenity, RIFTS, or Starfinder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 12:24:52

Not much to say. It is a simple but well made system for enjoying a more roleplay oriented game as opposed to heavy combat and hack/slash gameplay.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
by Matthias R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 12:23:49

Absolutley great! Great setting, great rules. Crawford really made sci- fi rpg great again!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stars Without Number: Revised Edition (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 256 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG