Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » GRAmel » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Event Zero
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 14:38:25

Event Zero is a Super Hero guide and setting book from GRAmel and written by Umberto Pignatelli, Andy Slack for the Adventurers! RPG, which is required for this product.

Full disclosure, I was given a PDF copy for review purposes.

Event Zero opens with details about the city of Neopolis and the Event that occurred prompting some of it's citizens to be come Specials (supers). Neopolis is a large American city and Specials appeared in 2015. Masks have been adopted do to the the fact that fist public Special, the Flaming Man, disappeared and rumors blame the government. Other public specials have disappeared, as well.

Neopolis is broken down by neighborhood with a paragraph for each presented.

Specials in the Adventurers! system must choose the Power Skill and several other skills are presented to round your character out.

The guidelines for Super Powers comes next. Nine powers are laid out and cover a good range of abilities found in comics. They are Super Stat, Damage (Telekinesis), Empower (Adrenaline Control), Investigation (Data Receiver), Mind Control (Kiss of Slavery), Protection (Dense Body), Summoning (Illusionary Pet), Super Stat (Hyper Aim). These are in addition to other Spheres of Power found in the Core game. One difference is that Specials can change which Stat to use, as opposed to basing a Sphere of Mind.

Next up is the setting's big secret and the revelation of what caused Specials to appear.

Campaign themes are then presented and I found the information beneficial to help a Game Master find a direction for their version of Neopolis.

Campaign places and important characters are also provided.

Rules for Teams are presented next and we learn the mechanical benefits of them to Specials. I find it fairly unique that Teams give new mechanical options to its members. For instance, certain Roles are presented, such as Bickering Friends, Defender, and Striker.

Equipment and lifestyle comes after and we get charts covering weapons, armor, and standard of living.

Numerous NPC's are presented for use by the Game Master, which I deeply appreciate.

An adventure, the Slug Man is also provided. It's 7 pages long and can easily get a GM up to speed to run a session within a half an hour after purchasing Event Zero.

I'm very impressed with Event Zero. The cover and interior art is excellent, the lay out is clean, and I think Neopolis and Specials are well-presented in only 44 pages. At first I was a bit surprised at the number of powers presented, until I remembered that the Adventurers! Core has other options and the the rules for Special allow you some freedom to reinterpret existing Spheres of Power.

I'm a big fan of GRAmel and this is an excellent expansion to Adventurers! and a solid Supers RPG with the benefit of several other settings that were designed for this system.

I heartily recommend Event Zero.

http://www.crossplanes.com/2019/08/review-event-zero-for-adventurers-by.html



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Event Zero
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tropicana
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/25/2019 21:07:44

Stumbled on this by accident and picked it up just for the subject matter, within a few weeks had run a one shot for our regular D&D group and now I have a table of Savage World converts on my hands. I liked it so much I even went and bought the physical book on Amazon.

The setting is just what it promises, a call back to the adventure movies and TV shows that mixed action with cool--be it the laid back vibe of Magnum, the crisp stylish edge of Miami Vice, or the shout out to period pulp like Indiana Jones. It has a flexibility of play that means it can fit just about any style of modern game or even all of them. Teamed with Savage World's flexibility is making this a joy to prepare and run. I can't wait to see anything else that gets added to the product line up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tropicana
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Rebirth
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/24/2019 07:07:29

"Rebirth" is an 8 pages long scenario (+ Stats) by Umberto Pignatelli for "Beasts & Barbarians" in the latest version of Savage Worlds (the "Adventure Edition"; if you prefer, you can download the conversion guidelines in a separate PdF for free on this same website). Because of its shortness, "Rebirth" is more a SW "Savage Tale" than a B&B adventure as we used to know. The heroes are marooned on a tropical island (so notice that you ought to play this adventure after your playing characters were actually sailing...), there they have to cope with the natives and a big danger, atop the main mountain. This scenario is therefore very reminiscent of some Conan tales and the part on climbing the cliffs (with the well-functioning "Abstract Navigation System") shall give some fun to the players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rebirth
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Eye of Xalath
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2018 14:34:28

The "Eye of Xalath" is a 25 pages (+ stats and book of lore) adventure for Beasts & Barbarians by Umberto Pignatelli. It takes place in the decadent empire of Tricarnia (though it may be adapted to some other dark realms). The heroes wake up tied on a sacrificial altar, while the ceremony is being performed ! Yes, I know, starting in medias res is a staple of Sword & Sorcery, but some gamemasters may have to justify this situation in front of their players. If the latters did not fail their previous adventure, I suggest that the GM, as a "reward", include some precious items in the second part of this story. A beautiful Tricarnian princess is about to stab them with a magical dagger when, suddenly, minions of her brother and foe rush into the tower. Both the heroes and the princess have to flee on a giant bat in the direction of the Brokenchain Mountains, where their "air-beast" finally crashes into a giant maze, the "Xalath", populated by strange three-eyed humanoids who capture the princess. After this railroading (that's why I spoilt this part of the story :-) ), the adventure becomes interesting : will the heroes seek to save the princess, or only their own souls ? And what about the minions of her brother ? As usual, don't await any map in this book; Umberto uses once again his acclaimed "Abstract Navigation system". Since a short book of lore of the Xalath is given at the end of the PdF, any gamemaster might well lengthen the heroes' journey in the labyrinth, in case they enjoy its pitfalls, challenges and rewards. Therefore, the course of this adventure is very open-ended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Eye of Xalath
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
by Bartek E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2018 18:33:05

Along with the world of Xoth, this is the best Conan-inspired sword & sorcery setting around. It's not just Conan with the serial numbers filed off though: the world has its own familiar but fresh flavour that I really enjoy.

But the setting is not just fluff; there's lots of great mechanics in here to emulate the genre. The arcane backgrounds (Sorcery, Lotus Mastery, Enlightenment) are excellent additions, and the edges (like the brilliant Loincloth Hero for playing bare-chested barbarians, and Hand-and-a-Half for wielding bastard swords) are all very well-done. Then there's also a lot of thematic gear like scythed-wheel chariots, Amazon ships, etc.

Though not in this book, there's plenty of very good original sword & sorcery adventures available for this setting as well.

The art is generally very good as well. My only complaint would be that there's a few pieces, which I believe are backers' faces, which look a bit weird and out of place.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Event Zero
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2018 20:04:32

It's definetly in the right direction, and provides the minimum skinning to use the system for what it says. But I was a little dissapointed though, i was hoping for more detailed information towards the construction of the powers themselves. There are some sample powers, which is a start. So I will probably have to develope my own rules. Either way good job guys.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Event Zero
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2018 16:27:48

I have purchased this and a number of the settings for Adventurers! here on DriveThruRPG, and have enjoyed them to the extent that I also went to the trouble of finding and purchasing softcover editions of Adventurers! Core and Adventurers! Fantasy.

As an old grognard (Gm'd my first games in the mid-70s), I enjoy its nostalgic, rules-light approach; but as a contemporary gamer I appreciate that, while simple and streamlined, the system is classless and anything but simplistic; and am amazed and delighted at how flexible, scaleable, and eminently hackable the whole system manages to be.

Just a truly impressive achievement all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! Revised Kickstarter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Adventurers! The Dungeon
by James C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/03/2018 15:32:21

I have purchased a number of the settings for Adventurers! here on DriveThruRPG, and have enjoyed them to the extent that I also went to the trouble of finding and purchasing softcover editions of Adventurers! Core and Adventurers! Fantasy.

As an old grognard (Gm'd my first games in the mid-70s), I enjoy its nostalgic, rules-light approach; but as a contemporary gamer I appreciate that, while simple and streamlined, the system is anything but simplistic; and I am amazed and delighted at how flexible, scaleable, and eminently hackable the whole system manages to be.

I would gladly play and read Adventurers! The Dungeon over playing or reading Dungeon World any day of the week.

Just a truly impressive achievement all around.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Adventurers! The Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tattered Banners - Bandit Lords and Mercenary Captains
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:49:19

Really helpful and creative book if you want to manage a mercenary group. The additional rules are really fast, fun and fourious!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tattered Banners - Bandit Lords and Mercenary Captains
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:47:18

On of the best savage world settings I´ve read so far. Full recommendation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Soul in the Water
by Dominik S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2018 06:45:41

I really like most of the Beasts and Barbarians adventures but this one is really not my favourite. The backgroundstory is not explainend sufficiently, so that, as a gamemaster I don´t get a lot of plont point. Especially the reason for the existence of the McGuffin Crystal is poorly explained. I think with some editing this could be a much better story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Soul in the Water
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Game Master Guide
by TREVOR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 02:08:15

The adventure generator is awesome. Basically you draw some playing cards, and use their values and some very interpretive charts in the book to generate a random adventure. This book also has some really neat monsters. But my favorite thing is the adventure generator. You can draw some cards and make a crazy, exciting adventure in just 45 minutes to an hour that will take maybe 6 hours for your players to get through. Of course you can design it to be shorter than that, that's just one possibility. Actually in the book it explains how you can use it to make an entire campaign. I've seen other adventure generators that use dice rolls instead, which would be a waste in Savage Worlds. Honestly drawing the cards and interpreting them makes me feel a bit like I'm doing a tarot reading or something, it's great fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Game Master Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
by TREVOR M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2018 02:02:02

I love this damn game. The layout is good, the edges are cool and fit the setting. Anyways the new types of magic users are really cool and distinct. This game is super fun and has exactly the right Conan the Barbarian feel to it that I was hoping for.

The only downsides are that I feel like there's too many edges and they can be overwhelming for new players. Some of the hinderances are unnecessary too, but complaining about too many options is a dumb thing to complain about, I just feel like they could have trimmed them down a bit.

I'll be playing this game for a very long time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beasts & Barbarians Steel Edition Player Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy World Tour
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 14:30:59

While I wasn't enamored with the rules, Ifound the world tour much more intersting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy World Tour
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy Test Drive
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 14:28:13

Just seems overly complex to me. Cards and dice, lots of different plusses and minuses for race, character class, situational modifiers et al.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wolsung: Steam Pulp Fantasy Test Drive
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 202 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG