Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Demon Gate
    by Julian D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2021 14:37:37

    If you're constantly on the hunt for a truly epic, yet dark, fantasy realm that combines all the best parts of Conan and Lovecraft with the shadowy nexus of well-researched historical lore, mystical imagination, and clever design, then your quest is at an end. Demon Gate is the perfect storm! This is a system that I can see myself enjoying for decades to come.

    A labour of love from a design team that puts tremendous effort into every product they create, the entire Demon Gate pantheon of products is a sumptuous tapestry that will fire the forges of Game Masters and players alike.

    I bought the deluxe hardcover, and I'm so glad that I did. The book is gorgeous, with stunning artwork, and professional design. Many a night I've curled up by the lamp, and let the pages lure me into the depths of infinite, dark possibilities in the world of Koth.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate: The Companion
    by Jarrod W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2020 07:02:14

    In addition to a few new classes, the DemonGate Companion adds a complete Life Path system to character generation. This optional component to chargen can really make your campaign shine.

    A setting like DemonGate thrives when relationships, geography, and history is integrated into your character concept and the Life Path system makes this happen.

    Moreover, it's not mechanically just fluff. Based on your life path, your skills, attributes, or more may be altered (usually improved!) and you may gain an NPC ally or arch enemy.

    All this is really fun stuff and I highly recommend the DemonGate Companion.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: The Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate
    by Jarrod W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2020 06:52:12

    My group has played DemonGate for a few years now and completed more than one campaign. We play many systems, but it's consistently one of the most requested and generates the most excitement.

    With the addition of the DemonGate Companion (reviewed elsewhere), DemonGate is a game that can be large and sprawling and grand (after all - you can play an angel!) or small, gritty, and private (the combat can be bloody and lethal).

    The options at character generation are limitless and the production and feel of the book, coupled with the races and cultures that populate the world of DemonGate, makes it a very immersive game.

    I suggest you put down D&D for awhile... try this one on for size.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate: The Companion
    by Cody L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/11/2020 13:50:36

    I am a writer that helped to develop some of the content of this book. I have also been involved with playing and playtesting products of Arcanum Syndicate as well. This is easily my favorite roleplaying game ever developed in its base form, but The Companion adds many great new options on top of the existing base game. The addition of non-combat focused classes offers a different playstyle for those more interested in political, economical, or subterfuge-based campaigns. The Life Path is a random-roller's dream for character creation along with a plethora of new options, and mutations can create even more unique playstyles with the many advantages and disadvantages they bring. I highly recommend The Companion to enhance your Demon Gate experience.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: The Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thanks so much for the review Cody!
    Demon Gate: The Companion
    by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2020 14:22:59

    I have been able to read a lot of this release by Arcanum Syndicate, and what can I say besides this is an incredible supplement for a great game. If you are looking for more options for character creation, combat, and much more -- this is your book. Forget D&D, OSR, and other fantasy RPGs, none compare to Demon Gate in my opinion. You will not be sorry you jumped to a fantastically darker ship! Demon Gate is a great RPG, and the Companion is a must have for those looking for more options -- Not to mention are mini campaign. This is a can't miss book.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Thanks so much for the review Jason!
    Demon Gate: Coast of Thrall
    by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2020 10:03:58

    An excellent introductory adventure for Demon Gate. You definately get your money's worth as well, as the adventure has a lot of meat to it for a very low price. I love the fact that there's a prelude part to the adventure that can be skipped, or played, depending on the GM's desire.

    You really can't beat Demon Gate, and this can help you get started.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: Coast of Thrall
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate
    by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2020 09:48:39

    Demon Gate is the zenith of dark fantasy RPing. Koth is grim and grisly, with danger at every turn. No review I leave can do it justice. I suggest purchasing this book and finding out for yourself.

    The system is both familiar and totally unique. Skill checks are, I dare say, innovative. These check work on a dice ladder, where the better you are in a skill, the bigger your dice get (and more dice too, as you go up). Combat can be lethal, and magic is scary, both to the target and potentially to the caster. There's never a better feeling of ACTUAL tension in combat.

    Demon Gate's systems and theme enhance RP, story telling, and character development. I 100% recommend Demon Gate to anyone. If you're looking for one Dark Fantasy RPG to put on your shelves, this is it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate
    by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/04/2019 12:50:11

    Awesome book! The book contains everything you need to play. It contains a completely fleshed out world with it's own history. Very well done artwork. I have yet to play, but the ruleset is unique and seems very intuitive.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: The Tortured South
    by Marco v. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2019 05:28:33

    I thought about how to rate this book. In the end I had to admit, that it is simply utterly useless to me.

    First let's have a look at how the content is presented:

    Everything in this book follows an alphabetical order. Seems reasonable at first glance, if only the alphabetical order wouldn't be the only kind of structure for the whole document. That means the book is a complete mess of information - kingdoms, cities, and landmarks from all over the map are mixed up together. For example the description of the Aticraulian Empire as a kingdom is followed by the description of a trail in the country of Icobor and that in turn is followed by the description of Banner Burn, a moderate city in Narcadia ... it simply isn't possible for example to just concentrate on all information about the Aticraulian Empire. The only possible focus for all the content within those pages is the hyperlinked map at the end of the book. If you manage to hit your - all too often very small - mark correctly you jump to the corresponding entry. But alas! I don't want to jump back and forth from a map, just to collect the information on a single realm little by little!!! - not to mention, that those hyperlinks are invisible and you don't even know which detail on the map has one.

    To me such a structure is not worth of discussion and it makes the book unusable.

    Second let's have a look at the content itself:

    To cut a long story short: It's not worth mentioning. All information is just some generic fluff-talk - not even a single bit of crunch! The leader of Brom for example being a 68th level minotaur barbarian is the highest level of ingame-information you get about the leader of that realm. And more often than not it's very lackluster: For example a given kingdom openly trades with this country but doesn't like that country too much. Each entry has a small paragraph - the kingdoms often a whole row of text. Within those descriptions you get a rough idea of the country, city, or landmark in question but nothing more. Concerning the kingdoms and cities the book promises "details on each" but I consider those "details" a simple idea at best. You do not even get some rough information about population numbers - persons of interest - history or timeline - level of education - resources, crafts, or trade goods - military strength or at least its military structure - or anything else like that.

    A nice fluff-idea here and there.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: The Tortured South
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thanks for the review Marco v. D. We will take into consideration your point of view on this subject, for it was written from the point of view of one scribe who traveled through these lands and remarked on his thoughts. I think the work would benefit from some mechanical data of each city as well, perhaps in the next revamp we can add those in. We hope you at least get to use any of the monsters, classes, or races from the book. Good gaming to you!
    Hello Marco v. D. after taking some of your comments in your review into consideration I was able to reconstruct the work in a positive manner. I do appreciate your constructive criticism and thank you for your time in your review. I added some text blocks under each city that grants some mechanical, political, and economic information which I do believe was a great idea for the work. Another reviewer had mentioned the structure of the content in a negative way, that it should not simply be constructed alphabetical order. So, instead I reworked the order for all the realms to be listed under each country instead and added an index to help find all the information. I hope the changes will be more enjoyable for everyone.
    Demon Gate: The Tortured South
    by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2019 11:34:16

    The Tortured South opens up many possibilities for your Demon Gate campaign. There are more locations, more classes, and more races. With the Tortured South you cannot go wrong if you're looking for a little extra to add to the Demon Gate core book. It is highly recommended.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate: The Tortured South
    by Steven N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2019 09:40:05

    Tortured South is a great expansion to an already great game. Adding tons of locales and interesting little tidbits of information across the southern portion of the world it gives plenty of information while leaving things open ended for the GM to fill in the gaps as they see fit. Furthermore the new races and classes are an excellent addition to an already massive roster of races and classes in the core book. If you enjoy Demon Gate this is a surefire must have of an expansion.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    by Antonis S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2018 04:06:04

    Had a BLAST playing it!! If you like dark fantasy and roleplaying games, you will fall in love with this one, guaranteed!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Demon Gate
    by Jon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/28/2018 16:27:47

    The world of Koth. A fantisic place full of splendors and dark forces alike. Demon Gate is the guide to this amazing place. Everything you need to make a journey through the perils that await are in this book. Character creation is easy to comprehend along with the system which is refreshingly new and fun. The artwork from cover to cover is amazing, i prefer the artwork of the character class Templar especially great. From flaws and virtues to racial traits to a plethora of abilities and skills leaves it open for a completely new experience each time you make a charcter. Adventure, treasure, fame and Demons hell bent on the destrution of Koth await in the fantastic world of Demon Gate. I was hooked from the first time i Played.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Demon Gate
    by Steven N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2018 10:31:53

    Demon Gate is a stellar dark fantasy game. The art is beautiful and the mechanics have a solid feel to them that allow for brutal fights and back-from-the-brink moments of victory. This brutality and savage feel to the mechanics also feeds well into the horror aspect of the system as you never know when a fight may be your last and tough looking foes actually feel threatening to your character's livelihood. The hybridized level, class, and point buy system makes for a unique feel to making characters. Also have to say I love how they made bards feel like a bard should by having a reputation system with mechanical benefits that the bard can feed into with their class abilities. All in all this game is a worthwhile buy if you enjoy nail biting, edge-of-your-seat adventure with a savage and heavy metal fantasy flair.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Chaos 6010 A.D. Core Rulebook
    by Steven N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2015 09:15:43

    Chaos 6010 AD is a marvelous little system. It's set in the far future of earth after multiple apocalyptic events. Society has rebuilt and has reached for the stars. There's space travel, a crap ton of alien races, cybernetics, magic, demons, undead, megacorps, and a whole universe to explore. It's a system that can honestly be anything you want, from cyberpunk to space hopping to epic adventure.

    In terms of mechanics the mechanics of Chaos are rather intuitive once you get past initial understanding. The dice you roll for skill checks are determined by a combination of your stats and skill ranks. As you go up in rank in a skill/stat your dice type goes up and you get more dice to roll. On top of that this system has exploding dice, so when you roll maximum on a die you get to roll it again and add the result. The DC for skill checks have a static number which makes the increasing dice types and increasing dice pools actually useful when making skill checks and makes it easy for GMs to know how to set a difficulty. When combat rolls around however we switch over to a much simpler system. You roll a d20, add any skill bonuses, enemy rolls a d20 and adds defense modifier. That's it. Simple and smooth and quick. The system has a combination level up and point buy system for advancement. You spend XP on improving skills, health, mana pool, chi pool, and stats. However once your total XP hits certain amounts you go up in level at which point you get random perks from an advancement table roll and special class abilities. It has a very proper sort of balance between control and random surprises.

    Now why do I really like this system? It's a toolbox system. It's got everything you could want for a sci fi campaign of any sort you could want. It even has rules for playing in the afterlife if your party gets wiped on a mission. The book strongly encourages you to worldbuild and make your own planets and worlds to play around in. They give you some fluff more as prompts than as something you should rigidly stick to. Furthermore everything in this system is quick, smooth, and relatively intuitive once you get past the initial understanding hump. However this system's potential really requires some dedication to game. As you go up in level you start unlocking abilities and getting new spells, new equipment, new talents which are like super special perks, and you really start having options as to what you can do and how you can approach things. Everything just feels really good. Overall, 5/5 would play again.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Chaos 6010 A.D. Core Rulebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 22 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product