RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by finlay l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 16:57:58

I ran four of these adventures at my FLGS to rave reviews. There really is something for everyone, new and experienced players alike! As promised, they are very easy to run with minimal prep and include everything you need- even pregenerated character sheets that are easy to level up if people return for more than one game. The adventures range from simple linear stories (clear out this mine) to more branching plots (figure out what's up with these goblins), and the tone varies from adventure to adventure. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2018 15:20:52

Mike's excellent advice for focussing D&D prep down to the essentials has made a huge positive impact on my DMing. I highly recommend that anyone running D&D, or any RPG game, who wants to improve their improvisational DMing skills picks this book up and embraces the way of the Lazy Dungeon Master. Especially if you're juggling multiple games and groups! Prep less and play better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2018 17:36:05

This is a well-written book summarising advice for storytellers that is building on many sources and even dungeon master surveys (which can be found at the end of the book). Each chapter contains illustrative examples and finishes with a short checklist for fast orientation and application. You also see one adventure throughout the book that is constructed step by step in each chapter and clearly demonstrates how to apply the provided hints and advice. The book covers three aspects - preparation of a session, running the game and thinking about it.

In each chapter, I found something that made me think about the game differently (e.g., look at aspects of locations as opportunities and invitations for player interaction and not just decoration for the background) and thus I would wholeheartedly recommend reading this book if you are a storyteller of any genre (not necessarily just in RPGs).

If you feel that fantasy RPG, the main focus of the book, is not for you, then don't worry and follow the lazy DM's Chapter 15: Reskin!

(originally reviewed on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Thierry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2018 08:53:17

I've found this extremely helpful as a newish DM. The checklist has been super-helpful while I prep for each session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Dave G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 12:18:23

This is a very impressive guide to streamlining your preparation for a gaming session. I tend to over plan, and then have to constantly reorient when my players go off the rails. the reminders to keep in mind what prep will actually elevate the game and the experience are great. The methods here would help any GM make sure the largest amount of their best stuff is on display in actual play sessions. And will help you refine your bests stuff so that each session is memorable, fun, and epic. Highly recommended and well worth the cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Phillip M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 15:24:39

I backed this on Kickstarter, as I am a fan of the Sly Flourish blog and the original Lazy Dungeon Master. While the concept of the Lazy DM has not changed, Mike Shea has done a great job expanding on his original ideas, and this newest publication seems to work very well with 5e (though most of his advice is system agnostic).

The checklist and methods described are a very good investment of time for those of us who love running D&D, but also have other time commitments. With well under an hour of prep and some practice, you can be ready to DM a four-hour session.

As a bonus, the art in this book is amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2018 00:30:53

I hesitated before buying this PDF, in fact, I discovered it by pure chance. I read yesterday the angryGM blog, it was an article about "How to XP Good" and I liked it. The writer convinced me it was a good thing to give XP to players, but I was troubled by his antagonism towards Mike Mearl and Mike Shea from another blog I read once in while too (Sky Flourish, the author of the PDF I am reviewing), then the same day, I read the announcement of the availability of "Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master" and I was interested.

In fact, I never read the 1st Lazy Dungeon Master, I am french and PDF buying are relatively new in my GM's life, well I buy more PDF since 2017 than I did before. So I cannot compare.

But, what I read from Mike Shea's Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master have very pleased me :). I begun the book yesterday night and I finished it a few minutes ago. There is plenty of good ideas for GM like me who are not lazy at first but who have not much time to prepare game (but who loves GMing anyway ;) ). I am running Tomb of Annihilation at this time and in october, I will run session 8, so I am eager to test all the book's advice soon :).

I still like AngryGM but I am not convinced that lazy GM are bad GM, not with this book anyway :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2018 17:24:09

I kickstarted this project as I really find Mikes advice useful. I read the original Lazy Dungeon Master and the book had lots of good advice but was geared more for 4E. I am so glad I supported this project as it is worth every penny. This book has useful and clear advice for running a great game. I found that after years of DM/GMing I do many of the suggested tips in the book but it also had plenty of tips that I had never thought of that will help make my game that much better. This book would be great for new DM's as everything in it is laid out logically and easy to understand.

Thanks again for this excellent work Mike S.

Also the cover art is KILLER!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
by Jesse R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 14:39:02

While the content is fantastic the book needs updating in a few areas, most especially in the articles to which it links. Most lead to 404 errors and one, "questionable tasks for the party" leads to a compromised site.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sly Flourish's Fantastic Locations
by Dustin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2018 15:34:20

An excellent series of locations especially for people who struggle with generating distinct locales on their own.

I found the end of the book most interesting. The end describes how to make your own "fantastic locations," and with so many excellent examples in the first half of the book, the process feels very effective and natural.

I look forward to Mike's "Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master" coming out later this year. He doesn't fail to deliver.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Locations
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Aeon Wave
by Łukasz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2015 07:32:02

A very nice, pretty generic cyberpunk setting & scenario for Fate.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Aeon Wave
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Lazy Dungeon Master
by Christopher S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2014 12:54:08

I can't say enough good things about this ebook. It may seem brief (56 pages) but it's extremely concise so you don't have to sift through pages and pages of meaningless banter.

I can honestly say that The Lazy Dungeon Master has completely changed my career as a GM for the better. While I used to spend hours preparing a session, causing unnecessary railroading, I can now prepare a session in 15-30 minutes, all thanks to this book (and A Fistful of Dice's follow-up video on reducing prep time).

Seriously, GMs, if you buy one resource book, make it this one. It's worth every penny. It even prints out very nice and crisp!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sly Flourish's Dungeon Master Tips
by Mark B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2013 12:16:34

This is a good read for DMs who are looking to get the most out of their sessions. Yes, a lot of it is common sense, but hey, we've all been a part of games where common sense wasn't so common. This booklet does well to give you some practical tips that you won't find in the authorized guides, so, there is value there. If you're a DM, you'll find in these pages something that will improve your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Dungeon Master Tips
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sly Flourish's Dungeon Master Tips
by NB N. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 05/19/2011 20:06:05

Sly Flourish DM Tips is a good framework for new DMs. The advice offered is practical and based on a significant amount of experience running games. As a matter of fact, if you haven’t run a campaign before and plan on starting one, you could save yourself a lot of headaches by reading this. For the experienced DM, there are some tips in there that remind you to keep things fresh and beef up your game a bit.

The book basically includes sections on how to plan your game, make an interesting story, keep players engaged, make encounters interesting, and using props and extras to enhance your game. I fell into a lot of the pitfalls that this supplement warns against and feel I learned them the hard way. For that reason, I see the value in this book. The negative is the book really should be two-column or compacted more. It just feels like a college essay over a game supplement. That’s a small issue though and has nothing to do with content.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 14 (of 14 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG