RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 07:52:50

This is an exceptional book. Ostensibly for "lazy" dungoen masters, in fact the book presents distilled wisdom about how to be a great DM whether you are lazy or not. And like true wisdom, this book shows that there are practical habits and tricks to do that will make you a great DM. Prep your game wisely, in other words, by spending time on what will make the game enjoyable and memorable for you and your players. The book is also a pleasure to read--it is organized into chapters that target specific aspects of the game; Shea is a clear and engaging writing and the artwork is great.

A word about the hardback I purchased--it is a high quality printed product. The cover has a nice gloss finish and the binding seems quite durable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Steve B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2018 06:34:11

Fantastic guide for new and old gm's alike. Mike's advice is perfect for getting the most value out of your limited prep time. The wide range of topics includes adventures, NPCs, rewards, campaigns and many other areas all covered in a thoughtful and concise manner.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/07/2018 11:02:08

I really love this system. This book and the workbork are well worth the small investment. They both effectively lay out an effecient way to think about gamemastering and create encounters that build upon each other naturally to help you keeo your players engaged and focused! Great work Sly. Happy I backed your KS.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Justin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 12:13:10

This book has been a game changer for me in my game preperation. I love the advice and the worksheet. The most helpful peices are the 10 secrets and the advice on running NPC's. Thanks for the wonderful work Mike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Megan I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 18:55:18

Reading this book improved my DM skills immediately. It gives you a new way to think about your campaigns and a new way to plan and run games. It encourages you to spend more time on the important stuff, and waste less time prepping stuff you don't need and won't use. Definitely a great addition to any DM's library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Robert L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2018 17:58:54

Going to keep this short; this is a very helpful product and teaches you great methods.

The only con would be that it doesnt offer much in the way of useful advice for prepping an entire campaig. This is due to the approach it presents requires much improvisation session to session making it impossible to prep an entire campaign.

i also would have liked to seen some sort of approach to quickly prepping dungeons.

There is a companion product that really should have been integrated within this as a single book. That product contains fillable sheets for the methods taught in this book, which is odd that they werent included here.

All in all if you want to run games with little planning on a session by session basis, this product is a great read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review! As you mention, the style of game prep discussed in this book focuses heavily on improvisation. There is a section on campaign building that focuses on the main themes of the campaign and the major influencers of the campaign (be they villains or some other force) called "fronts". It doesn't go into planning out an entire campaign because, in the experiences of many DMs, campaigns never really end up where we think they are going to go. Instead, a focus on the next adventure often offers the most benefit. The companion product you mention, the Lazy DM's Workbook, contains 48 pages of material that we couldn't pack into this book without increasing the price. It is also 5e specific where the rest of this book can be used with any fantasy RPG. The Lazy DM's Workbook is available for a reasonable price separately, however. You can also download the blank preparation pages for free at https://slyflourish_content.s3.amazonaws.com/lazy_dm_workbook_fill-in_pages.pdf Thank you again!
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Capn R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 12:55:38

I think this book is one of those "must reads" for anyone considering being a game master, almost no matter what system you plan to play on. For full disclosure, I've heard great reviews of the original Lazy Dungeon master, but never actually read it, so while I don't know how much the the Lazy DM checklist has changed since the previous book, I know it has helped hone my preparations towards the things that helped improve my game in a way no other product ever has.

The chapter on secrets has helped me conceptualize the idea of introducing story hooks and beats in a way that nothing else I've read has. It provides a simple, yet incredibly robust method for drip-feeding pertinent information and interesting secrets to the players, while making sure you don't ever have to run the risk of railroading the players by tying the information to a single NPC.

I will admit, though, that your mileage may vary for the chapters outside the core checklist, as they contain more fuzzy advice on running the game and thinking about it. They do provide a nice rounding out of the books advice, though I do feel that they could use more polish than simply "these are other things that DMs like doing for their games that can help improve it".

However, I still find that this book lays out the info in a concise, easy to read and use format, that doesn't try and waste the reader's time with unnecessary bloat. I couldn't recommend this book higher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
by finlay l. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 16:57:58

I ran four of these adventures at my FLGS to rave reviews. There really is something for everyone, new and experienced players alike! As promised, they are very easy to run with minimal prep and include everything you need- even pregenerated character sheets that are easy to level up if people return for more than one game. The adventures range from simple linear stories (clear out this mine) to more branching plots (figure out what's up with these goblins), and the tone varies from adventure to adventure. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sly Flourish's Fantastic Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Tom B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/31/2018 15:20:52

Mike's excellent advice for focussing D&D prep down to the essentials has made a huge positive impact on my DMing. I highly recommend that anyone running D&D, or any RPG game, who wants to improve their improvisational DMing skills picks this book up and embraces the way of the Lazy Dungeon Master. Especially if you're juggling multiple games and groups! Prep less and play better.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2018 17:36:05

This is a well-written book summarising advice for storytellers that is building on many sources and even dungeon master surveys (which can be found at the end of the book). Each chapter contains illustrative examples and finishes with a short checklist for fast orientation and application. You also see one adventure throughout the book that is constructed step by step in each chapter and clearly demonstrates how to apply the provided hints and advice. The book covers three aspects - preparation of a session, running the game and thinking about it.

In each chapter, I found something that made me think about the game differently (e.g., look at aspects of locations as opportunities and invitations for player interaction and not just decoration for the background) and thus I would wholeheartedly recommend reading this book if you are a storyteller of any genre (not necessarily just in RPGs).

If you feel that fantasy RPG, the main focus of the book, is not for you, then don't worry and follow the lazy DM's Chapter 15: Reskin!

(originally reviewed on Goodreads)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Thierry L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2018 08:53:17

I've found this extremely helpful as a newish DM. The checklist has been super-helpful while I prep for each session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Dave G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2018 12:18:23

This is a very impressive guide to streamlining your preparation for a gaming session. I tend to over plan, and then have to constantly reorient when my players go off the rails. the reminders to keep in mind what prep will actually elevate the game and the experience are great. The methods here would help any GM make sure the largest amount of their best stuff is on display in actual play sessions. And will help you refine your bests stuff so that each session is memorable, fun, and epic. Highly recommended and well worth the cost.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by Phillip M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 15:24:39

I backed this on Kickstarter, as I am a fan of the Sly Flourish blog and the original Lazy Dungeon Master. While the concept of the Lazy DM has not changed, Mike Shea has done a great job expanding on his original ideas, and this newest publication seems to work very well with 5e (though most of his advice is system agnostic).

The checklist and methods described are a very good investment of time for those of us who love running D&D, but also have other time commitments. With well under an hour of prep and some practice, you can be ready to DM a four-hour session.

As a bonus, the art in this book is amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/12/2018 00:30:53

I hesitated before buying this PDF, in fact, I discovered it by pure chance. I read yesterday the angryGM blog, it was an article about "How to XP Good" and I liked it. The writer convinced me it was a good thing to give XP to players, but I was troubled by his antagonism towards Mike Mearl and Mike Shea from another blog I read once in while too (Sky Flourish, the author of the PDF I am reviewing), then the same day, I read the announcement of the availability of "Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master" and I was interested.

In fact, I never read the 1st Lazy Dungeon Master, I am french and PDF buying are relatively new in my GM's life, well I buy more PDF since 2017 than I did before. So I cannot compare.

But, what I read from Mike Shea's Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master have very pleased me :). I begun the book yesterday night and I finished it a few minutes ago. There is plenty of good ideas for GM like me who are not lazy at first but who have not much time to prepare game (but who loves GMing anyway ;) ). I am running Tomb of Annihilation at this time and in october, I will run session 8, so I am eager to test all the book's advice soon :).

I still like AngryGM but I am not convinced that lazy GM are bad GM, not with this book anyway :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Return of the Lazy Dungeon Master
by David M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2018 17:24:09

I kickstarted this project as I really find Mikes advice useful. I read the original Lazy Dungeon Master and the book had lots of good advice but was geared more for 4E. I am so glad I supported this project as it is worth every penny. This book has useful and clear advice for running a great game. I found that after years of DM/GMing I do many of the suggested tips in the book but it also had plenty of tips that I had never thought of that will help make my game that much better. This book would be great for new DM's as everything in it is laid out logically and easy to understand.

Thanks again for this excellent work Mike S.

Also the cover art is KILLER!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG