Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Devil On The Porch [Modern/Pulp/Crime Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/22/2012 22:51:19

    This saxophone-dominated track isn’t quite what I expected. It’s sort of a fusion of jazz, bluegrass, and funk—which actually works out okay musically, but it’s hard for me to picture just what “porch” fits this music best. The tune is catchy and yet reasonably unintrusive, but its setting eludes me. (The ID3 tags also need cleanup, an issue the publisher has addressed well in more recent releases.)



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Devil On The Porch [Modern/Pulp/Crime Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wrecking The Establishment [Modern Crime/Near Dark Future Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/16/2012 13:51:43

    The energy and edge to this track make it a great choice for scoring any kind of action scene in a modern, near-future, or post-apocalyptic setting. The track is exciting and catchy, but not intrusive, and it loops perfectly—just what an RPG soundscape needs to be. The ID3 tags are populated more helpfully than Woodrum’s earlier pieces, though I would still suggest populating the album name tag (perhaps with “Fishwife Games”—at least that’s what I do to group Woodrum’s pieces together in my iTunes library) and I’d still love to have album artwork embedded in the file. Everything else about this piece is top-notch.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wrecking The Establishment [Modern Crime/Near Dark Future Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    All Systems... Gone. [Dark Future/Sci-Fi/Tech Horror Background Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/16/2012 13:10:15

    I really like this track, so much so that I can leave it loop for hours and not get tired of it. It’s got a great balance of mystery and energy. The techno/electronic instrumentation does limit the applicability at the gaming table to sci-fii, near future, and that sort of thing; it might even work with an occult-themed or otherwise esoteric superhero scenario. I don’t recommend trying to shoehorn it into other, unintended genres like fantasy. My only complaint about this product is the population of the ID3 tags (the title shouldn’t have underscores and doesn’t need to include anything but the title; “Fishwife Games” is not a musical genre; an album name is needed, and album art would be nice).



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    All Systems... Gone. [Dark Future/Sci-Fi/Tech Horror Background  Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    100 Customers for Fantasy Taverns & Inns
    by Sam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 06:44:38

    An indispensable and comprehensive list of the many denizens of both the respected and more dissolute fantasy drinking establishments. However, the list is disappointingly bland in comparison to the contents of others in the "100" series from Fishwife Games and, at times, would benefit from a few more "slobbering thug" and "smelly drifter" types.

    A useful piece that would have been improved by a few more verbs, adjectives and other original segues into plot turns



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    100 Customers for Fantasy Taverns & Inns
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    100 Bits of Interest In the Streets
    by Sam B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 06:08:15

    Just what the herbalist recommended for a case of dungeon master's block.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    100 Bits of Interest In the Streets
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Galaxy Forgotten [Space Theme Music]
    by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/12/2012 03:45:44

    Very nice and spherical music - i used it with success on a long range space journey aboard a jumpship. It fitted the mood perfectly



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Galaxy Forgotten [Space Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Late Night Galactic Mystery Show [Dark Future/Space/Modern Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2012 13:10:19

    This track is eerie and even just a bit weird, but in a good way. At first I didn’t really care for it, but it’s strangely addictive. As indicated in the product description, it would work best with a modern, near future, or sci-fi setting; it may be just a bit too high-tech for straight horror, but would fit right in with something like Delta Green or CthulhuTech. The piece loops well (though not seamlessly). The ID3 tags need to be populated more helpfully (an album name would be useful, album art would be nice, the track name shouldn’t have all those underscores in it, and “Fishwife Games” is not a musical genre).



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Late Night Galactic Mystery Show [Dark Future/Space/Modern Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Theme From Space Stops [Space Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/11/2012 11:19:29

    This short piece has a funky, techno-heavy feel that fits a "space opera" setting reasonably well. The track loops acceptably, but I don’t recommend looping it for very long. The tones start to get annoying after a while. I would suggest more using this as a once-through when characters first arrive at a bustling spaceport or something like that. You might could loop it under a chase or action scene, but see above. The ID3 tags need to be populated more helpfully (an album name would be useful, the track name shouldn’t have all those underscores in it, and “Fishwife Games” is not a musical genre).



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Theme From Space Stops [Space Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    In The Camera Eye [Dark Future/Space/Modern Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/06/2012 00:07:52

    This track has a funky bass beat and plenty of guitars. It sort of feels like 90s alternative rock meets disco. It’s catchy, but not overpowering, and would play pretty well under an RPG scenario without distracting from the gameplay. Personally, I’d be most likely to use it for a modern police/paramilitary, cyberpunk, superhero, or gritty sci-fi adventure. I think it would go very well under a chase, investigation, or skill challenge. Away from the gaming table, I don’t expect to leave it on in the background while I try to work or read. The ID3 tags need to be populated better (there’s no need for the artist’s pseudonym to appear in the track title; an album name and album artwork would be nice).



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    In The Camera Eye [Dark Future/Space/Modern Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cruising The Beat [Modern Crime/Police Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/05/2012 23:58:03

    This track successfully evokes the feel of 1970s urban police movies and TV dramas. I’m not sure I’d use for anything other than a period piece, however. It wouldn’t fit well, I think, into other genres. Also, the track needs better ID3 tagging.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Cruising The Beat [Modern Crime/Police Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Village Snooper: Blacksmith Shop
    by Alexander L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/02/2012 06:16:04

    Originally posted at: http://diehardgamefan.com/2012/04/02/tabletop-review-village-snooper-blacksmith-shop/

    The Village Snooper series of one-page descriptions of various establishments you might find in a village or small town. This particular download is for a Blacksmith shop and is broken down into four main areas: map, map key, price list, and some adventure hooks.

    The map for the blacksmith shop is rather small, but covers two floors and roughly 60 square feet. It is perfectly adequate for the GM’s needs, but I personally found the colors a bit garish. At this scale I’d rather just have a black and white hand-drawn map or, even better, make it appear like a classic “old-school” map.

    To the side of the map is the map key, which just gives a quick description of the map.

    There is a price list with a small description of items available for sale along with a note on how to convert prices listed to the appropriate value in your campaign. I found this small thing incredibly useful because the items listed for sale aren’t ones you’d normally find in any game’s equipment lists. By using a silver standard and then describing the comparitive value of a silver piece, any GM using the Village Snooper can easily tweak the prices to fit his campaign.

    The final area of the Village Snooper is full of adventure hooks. If you need to figure out how to work this Blacksmith shop into your game, there are three well-designed adventure hooks.

    Overall I think the Village Snooper is a good idea, but there are a few things I really don’t care for. Even though the map is well designed, the colors, which happen to be the only color on the page, don’t add anything significant to the overall presentation. The item list does have a bunch of unique items for sale, but I wonder just how often a PC will want to purchase a door knocker. Fully 1/6th of the single page is taken up by the publisher’s information, including a large logo which is almost as big as the provided map.

    If you are needed a quick Blacksmith shop, this Village Snooper could be a good start. The only thing really missing is some essential NPC data. At least when you print this off there is plenty of room on the empty back side of the page to put any needed notes.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Village Snooper: Blacksmith Shop
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Dystopia Tastes Like Candy [Post Modern Background Score Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2012 19:56:46

    The odd juxtaposition of “bubbly” music with just plain weirdness in this track certainly evokes a dystopian society, some sort of post-apocalyptic Japan arising from the ruins of a kaiju onslaught, maybe. I really don’t care much for this track; it’s skillfully assembled, but not to my taste, and I don’t see myself actually using it in-game. (And the ID3 tags need work.)



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Dystopia Tastes Like Candy [Post Modern Background Score Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Factory Of The Androids [Modern/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2012 19:47:58

    With low-pitched guitar riffs and plenty of techno-reverb, this track does a good job of evoking an ominous high-tech industrial setting. Any modern, superhero, sci-fi, post-apocalyptic, or even horror campaign should eventually roll around to a scene this track could score nicely. If only the ID3 tags were better populated (the artist’s name shouldn’t be in the track title; “Fishwife Games” is not a musical genre)!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Factory Of The Androids [Modern/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Sidewalk Queen- 14th Street Remix [Modern Crime/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2012 18:56:56

    This item is free, so it’s a no-lose proposition, but in my opinion this is not one of Tree Dweller’s/Dave Woodrum’s better efforts. The music does not really evoke the sense suggested by the title; the track just doesn’t evoke for me images of detectives or investigators gathering intel by consulting a knowledgeable, ahem, “street-walker.” The track just sounds too, well, weird (and weirdly violent) for that. Of course, you can just ignore the title and description and use the track for different purposes. If you’re playing some kind of horror or Cthulhu game in a modern urban setting, or a superhero game, this piece might serve you well for some high-tension investigation or even combat scenes. The track isn’t bad, though it’s a tad strange (and, like all of Fishwife Games’s MP3s so far, it could stand better ID3 tagging); it’s just not as good as some of Woodrum’s other compositions. Oh, and if you’ve read my review of the “unremixed” version—yeah, I felt the same way about the original and the remix. The remix didn’t really stand out for me.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Sidewalk Queen- 14th Street Remix [Modern Crime/Near Dark Future Theme Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Lizard Chow [Background Music]
    by Christopher H. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/28/2012 18:50:51

    Honestly, this track makes me feel more like dancing than running away from some kind of lizard alien. There’s nothing scary or ominous here. It’s a catchy track with a driving techno beat, very “drum-n-bass.” Irrespective of the product description, which doesn’t mesh with the music for me, I’d use this track for a modern or, better, sci-fi game involving some kind of investigation or social encounters related to “night life.” And—as so often—I’d prefer better ID3 tag population on the publisher’s end.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Lizard Chow [Background Music]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 136 to 150 (of 201 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product