Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Action Dice
    by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2021 04:19:53

    Over many years Paul Elliot of Zozer games has been responsible for dozens of quality role-playing games and supplements. Two of his games: Zenobia and 43 AD are in my top ten of my favourite RPGs. His Traveller material is outstanding.

    How does this game stack up against previous outings? I’ve played Action Dice — just once — and it was a big hit with my group, despite one sticking point. I wouldn’t call it a deal breaker because you can house-rules it away and Paul has since a workaround.

    Will you like Action Dice? Probably. Maybe? First and foremost, the game pays homage to the game-books of old, it’s fast and easy for the referee to adjudicate or further the plot on-the-fly. It’s rules light. If that’s not your jam, move on.

    I’ll try and skim through a few details that might help you decided whether this is a PDF keeper or a delete.

    What do we get? A 30-ish page document using a large font, it’s stretched across more pages than needed. The layout is minimalist but that seems to fit the game’s tone — light. Art is used sparingly but to good effect. As usual Paul’s writing is good.

    The game’s mantra is set out in the first page: Don’t roll the dice unless it’s necessary, do improvise, don’t add extra rules when you can just wing it without the headache. The intro also tells us that the dice rolling isn’t the game, the interaction is. That’s not strictly true, it’s the dice that makes the role-playing a game.

    Next we have the key area of the game and this is where my issue lies.

    Three attributes: SKILL, FATE and HITS — Hits rather than Stamina but same-as. For SKILL and FATE, roll one die, ignore a six then add 5. HITS are 2 dice +12. You then get to add one discretionally point to either SKILL or FATE or 2 points to HITS. This gives your character a range of 6 to 10 (or 11) for SKILL and FATE, 24 for HITS. The minimum is 6, 6, 14 — +1 for the discretionary.

    There is a point-buy system offered added at the last moment. For the time being, let’s pretend that isn’t there as diced characters is the author’s preferred option.

    Next comes ROLE one of the bits that elevate this game beyond all the many previous attempts to bring Fighting Fantasy to group play. Your character’s ROLE gives you a peg from which to hang your concept. You’ll cook up some distinguishing features, gear and areas of defining abilities. If the area of expertise falls within your character’s ROLE you use the previously generated SKILL. If not, SKILL is reduced to 6 for the purpose of dice rolling.

    And that’s my problem. Your ROLE may be, “lauded professor of archaeology”, and when using abilities related to that ROLE you use the character’s normal SKILL. If the ability is unrelated, your effective SKILL is 6. As mentioned above, if you’re unlucky your character might have a SKILL of 6 meaning she’s just as incompetent at firing a machine gun as he is at excavating ancient rules. You’ll need to fix that. The points system does straighten it out.

    Checking for success is a chinch, if you are testing FATE or SKILL unrelated to combat you roll 2 dice, for a success you’ll need a result under the character’s rating rather than “equal to or less then”. In combat you throw 2 dice add your SKILL and compare the result to that of your opponents. The highest total wins that round. I don’t like to chop and change between different mechanics in such a simple game but it works well enough.

    The game covers critical success, fumbles and other common events that will take place in your gaming session. Simple and well-conceived.

    There are useful examples of powers and spells, a good base for your own creation. The default setting is low-power but you can change it up if you’d like; low work for me. Combat covers all the bases but a single hit always scores 2 points of damage unless the weapon is a rifle or pistol where a die is rolled to determine HITS lost.

    Vehicle combat and explosions are included. There’s nothing so satisfying as blowing something up, particularly a main battle tank or Mech.

    Enemies are up next and a good number of examples are provided. They run from SKILL 5 for a thug or goblin up to 14 for a dragon or jet fighter.

    The game comes with some sample settings. I love Tank World, a post-apocalyptic environment where the only thing standing between salvation and utter doom is the player characters and the tanks they pilot. Nice. Next there’s a section on creating adventure-packed with ideas to fit the plot around the action scenes, rather that the reverse. It fits.

    There’s an adventure generator to assist the imagination-challenged ref. but it’s bit too light to get my juices flowing. Closely related is the section on solo play. Action Dice is based on danger and excitement so prevalent in the game books so yes, good idea. The system presented here is not as robust as that featured in the latest version of Zenobia on which it is based so you could certainly crib ideas from there.

    The book rounds out with a very good section on improving your characters through experience points. However, this chapter tells us that character improvement is slow and steady as the characters are already at the pinnacle of their careers. If that’s so, I pity the poor archaeologist from my example above, she peaked at primary school.

    That’s it then, a great game that does exactly what it sets out to do — create a freeform action role-playing games that’s as simple as it is inclusive.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Action Dice
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Action Dice
    by Shawn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2021 13:03:40

    Action Dice is concise but complete set of rules that work well for solo roleplayers and small groups who will be on the same page about their game's tone (Cinematic, Action, Pulp.)

    Action Dice is clearly inspired from the beloved "Fighting Fantasy" gamebook system series. Specifically it is a cinematic spin on the Introductory Fighting Fantasy RPG - it makes a few changes to afford for the tone it is going for but without adding all the bells and whistles that Dungeooner/Advanced Fighting Fantasy did. It uses a clever "role" approach to avoid the burden of a skill system, has rules for everyone's favorite combat things like "falling damage", "explosions", "vehicles", etc. It also contains a freeform magic/powers system that I believe is a nice in-between the original Fighting Fantasy approach and the more detailed Advanced Fighting Fighting system.

    In general Action Dice feels like there's "just enough" crunch in the places you would want it within a rules light system. An example would be gear - like many rules light systems gear is largely "handwaved" but you are encourage to make note of the gear your character absoutely needs for their given role in the world and what happens if the gameworld causes the lost of one of these pieces of gear (effectively, a negative dm.) This kinda of guidance is given pretty consistently throughout the book - it frees the GM up to focus on clearing up the expecations of the roles and powers and know that all the fidely "boring" bits are already handled.

    I like the set of example settings in the rear of the book - these give the GM some examples of what prep you might need to do pitch an Action Dice setting to your players ("world summary", list of possible roles, list of possible powers.) There's a couple list of example enemies, vehicles, etc. An experienced GM should have no trouble scanning these and "reskinning" them on the fly.

    The artwork and layout is good - it is easy to read and find what the parts you are looking for. The character sheet is well laid out and easy to understand.

    I think the only thing I would like to see in the book would be something for group actions - something like Zozer Games' "Mission Machine" from their free "Classic Traveller Solo" supplement. This would be helpful for both groups and the solo player alike.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
    by Ian W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2021 22:31:11

    so good to return to my youth. Nicely laid out and easy to play



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/26/2021 00:44:30

    "43AD is a gritty military-style game with a slice of dark horror running through it. Life is grim and the world of the native Britons is painted in dark and horrific colours. Britain is a place of fear and death, terrors and torments, and the Iron-Age tribes live with these horrors. Celtic priests, the druids, contain them in lakes and pits and forests. When the legions step onto British soil, they step onto a land of ancient horrors of which they (as yet) know nothing. Life, honour and warfare amongst the tribes is explained for players and GMs alike.

    Characters are Roman soldiers, fighting for the emperor in a hostile land against the battle-hardened warriors of the tribes. This is the visible enemy, but beyond, should the Game Master wish to go there, lay the dark secrets of Britain, the night terrors, the death-bringing spirits of the wild, the night crawlers, the face eaters, the skinchangers and the rest of the monsters and wild things that infest Britain. "

    Let me tell you a little story, ages ago when I was little and sitting taking in the sights of a history book on Roman Britian bigger then I was. There was a picture of Hydrian's Wall. And I vowed that someday I would not only visit it but understand it as well as the reasons behind it. In 2006 we did just that & connected with several family members. The thing that struck me on the English side of the wall was the weight of how much history there is there. Reading through Zozer Games 43 A.D. is full on like coming home for me. The familiar history mixed with the wyrd in 152 pages & this is a passion project for the author/designer. The amount of detail here is incredible from skill set ups for Cepheus Engine style ancient PC's to the details in weapons, civilization, to monsters the details are bold. Highlights for me include: Spells Monsters Cultural information on Romans and Britons Character write-ups that fit on a single index card 10 minute character creation So without heistation I approached Zozer Games & we promptly sent a copy of 43 A.D. & this book is on another level. Sure there are copies of other horror themed historical rpg's sitting on my shelf. But is on another level without a doubt. This isn't to say that 43 A.D. is completely overwhelming on its hisory or game details. Far from it, the game reads like a combination of deadly campaign, detailed rpg, & action movie waiting to happen. The combat is bloody, the system sings along in a bloody way, & this game screams to be played. The game feels like Zenobia another Paul Elliot creation where the legions of Roman meet the forces of the desert.

    But 43 A.D. has the look & feel of Roman occupied Britian with a horror film twist or two thrown in. And this is a deadly little affair of a game. The PC's are strangers in a strange land & they are far from home. And this is a cold, dangerous, lonely little world to have a PC die in. And no its not depressing but its incredibly dangerous.

    But is 43 A.D. worth getting?! In a word yes! This is a complete unto it's game & while other books are going smaller & smaller with Cepheus Engine rpg rules. 43 A.D. takes this notion & kicks its teeth in to give the DM & his players a complete package for ten dollars! And its up to Zozer Games quality unto itself. So in a word yes 43 A.D. is very much worth getting for three reasons, one this is a game about Roman occupied Britian done by a historian who writes history & techinical books for a living. Two the maps & cartography are gorgeous! And three the setting is not one that I'd ever want to actually live in & I say this with all due respect! The idea of being in the middle of no place squared surrounded with no modern medicine, no real way home, & surrounded by people who will take your head off? No thanks but to role play in this world from the safety of your table with 2d6 system done by Zozer games absolutely! When it comes to the supernatural 43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Occupied Britain doesn't skimp. But instead presents a very different world to our own. This is a world where history & magick collide on three fronts. The Celtic, the Roman Empire, & the day to day lives of the Britanians who lived with both both of these powers. And also lived with the power of magick. And die by it! We have a full array of the dark forces on both the Roman & the Celtic sides Black Druids, Skinchangers, the Flayed Man, the Headless Killer, Fomorians, the undead Cauldron-Born, Face Feeders, and individuals such as Longinus (the Undead Centurion, the one who was present at Jesus' crucifixion), Scathach the Witch, and the Old Crone of Aberros all make their presence known. These entities filter through a 2d6 system that on the surface resembles the traditional Cepheus Engine & its deriatives is unique because of its legacy through the Zenobia rpg..

    This is because the occult & supernatural existed side by side with the gods for both the Romans & Celtic. But these powers didn't play favorites! The Black Druids, Skinchangers, the Flayed Man, the Headless Killer, Fomorians, & many others will take any PC they can for sacifice or worse. History reflects the source & times, the history is bloody & high handed with PC's getting the worst of it. Glorious! If you want to check out what we're talking about here?! Go to Zozer games & download Zenobia's free materials today!

    Note that A.D. 43 takes a vastly different take on the Cepheus Engine & does so with its own brand of style. Yes the systems are similar. But their different in two areas, application & principal. A.D. We're talking about the way armour work in this game, plus the the system for advancement, the easy way that the game handles the importance of advantages, & how magic is powered within it. All in All I think 43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Occupied Britain is a solid game in the Zozer Games line & a fine addition to any DM used to both the Cepheus Engine rpg & its lines. Paul Elliot does an incredible job with this game! Highly recommended! Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery blog Want More OSR action?! Please subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/ Thanks for Reading our Review!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    43AD - Roleplaying in Roman Britain
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Solo
    by David M. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2021 03:35:20

    This is a truly solo RPG in the style of Traveller. Basically when you come across a situation in the plot, you roll very few dice with few modifiers to decide what the OUTCOME will be, not the how, why details etc. Having decided on the outcome, you write in the details according to how well the event actually went. Now I liked this approach It's more akin to guided story telling, and at the beginning seems all wrong after years of concentrating on the details of a scene, shooting, making skill scores and the like. Here you decide how it went first, "The gang gets away,two of us are wounded, the enemy is really mad" You then get to write that into the storyline, which will affect future events. There are various types of adventure styles included, from classic exploring, trade, freebooters, and even military missions. They all have differing tables, though the basic framework remains the same



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Solo
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Warband
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2021 20:19:39

    " At that insult Leir gave the command. The carnyxes blew, and the two armies fell upon each other. Then there was hacking and smiting; heads were broken and limbs hewn off, there was neighing and trampling of horses, and the bitter cries of men meeting violent death."

    The High Kings, Joy Chant

    And so begins the seventy three pages of Warband rpg an add on book for Zozer Game's Paul Elliot whose work on Roman Britain's 43 AD rpg speaks for itself. This book covers everything about Britain's Celtics & its not pretty. This is a brutal warrior & druid affair of a game with systems covering the other side of the story;" The Roman invasion of Britain as described in 43AD is of course only one-half of the story. It is quite possible to play the game from the perspective of the tribes using all of the resources found in the main rulebook. What is needed is a revised character creation system enabling players to build tribal heroes. This book provides that." And this isn't history its something a bit more weird & wooly but its still history from a different perspective. The occupied perspective but it does it in terrifying & mature tones with all of the gore intact. And there's plenty of Roman & Britain blood splatter to go along in its 2d6 world of the Roman Empire. There is plenty of development & while the Cepheus Quantum & other engines go smaller. This book revels in its history explaining clan, family status, honor, & much more. This is an exotic world on the edge that we living in 2021 can scarily imagine;" Information of tribal life is not duplicated from 43AD, instead other resources are included here. You will find a detailed history of the Roman invasion, allowing the Game Master to select a particular campaign or era in which to set the struggle of the tribal resistance. Also included is a mass battle system. With a few rolls of the dice the great battles of history, or of your own games, battles involving tens of thousands of warriors and legionaries, can be resolved easily. If the heroes are involved then the rules tell us what happened to them, too." Skills, life events, etc are all here to flesh out the lives of your PC's and Warband does it in such an easy to understand & well laid out fashion that we find the world not as we want it. But it finds us asking the hard questions of our characters in quick & easy to follow succession. Paul Elliot has been designing games since the 90's and no where is this fact clearer then in Warband. Names, tribes, culture, is all here in lavish detail. Warband reads part game & part action film waiting to be sprung on players with sprawling wars with casts of hundreds. All of this comes in 2d6 action with the flick of a wrist to create your warrior or champion of your tribe. These are the warriors who challenged the legions of the Vallum Hadriani. You can also decide what era you wish to play in & what type of guerilla warfare you want to spring on your players. The information is all here for campaign play. Do you want a druid capable of shape shifting, magickal mayhem, or subject to the whims of the Fey or the Wryd then that's here as well. Magick is as real as the blood around these men & women. The old gods should be respected & no where is this more evident then in Warband. The world shapes the druid to be a tool of powers beyond the ken of men. These are druids that you actually want to play that have meaning beyond their magicks. The world of 43 AD is described, clans are defined, the honor of these clans is outlined. This is a wild world, a warrior's world, & the world of Warband in detail. The author defines, shapes, and highlights his works easily in terms, conditions, & common sense rules. This is the same approach that we see in the Zenobia rpg that we here in Warband. Casual writing that makes the history work & the fantasy elements however horrifying ( believe me they are) easy to deal with. 43 AD is a world that we want to game in.

    Warband takes place in a very alien world of the Roman empire where you are the resistance & from the ground up we are presented a game that is at odds with both itself & its surroundings. Warband is an rpg supplement is as much a love letter to it's subject as it as a game that you want to play. The details here are top notch. The works very well done. The layout is solid & well done. The cartography is well done & maintained. The subsystem for creating war with both the Roman forces & the clans is well done plus it hits the high notes in spades. This is a system that can handle itself & come back for more. The history is well thought out with the system providing the DM with the tools to handle everything from one end to the bloody other. This is a book for both players & DM's who want PC's that are 'just so' for raiding cattle, taking heads, & gaining honor for the clan! Top notch & highly recommended. Eric Fabiaschi Sword & Stitchery Blog Want More OSR action?! Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Warband
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Gunboats and Shuttles
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2021 14:28:39

    "Escape pods, lifeboats, shuttles, gunboats and dropships – vital smallcraft that play an important part in the gritty American Sector setting of HOSTILE. Nearly all of the smallcraft featured in the setting are covered here, with write-ups, external views and comprehensive deckplans. Included also are two pieces of shuttle-related fiction and a bonus: 11 pages scanned in from the ICO’s Flight Handbook published in 2178!"

    Gunboats & Shuttles by Paul Elliott has been sitting on the gaming table for a couple of months now. It stares at our gaming group like an angry marine waiting for its due. So after a couple monthes reading through the book. Using it & really diving into it helps to not take Gunboats & Shuttles for granted. You get a full spectrum of mid to small level ships in this book. These are not incidental & their very well done. These are working marines, roughnecks, spacers, & even cargo haulers ships. And in Gunboats & Shuttles you get a full spectrum of ships across the board: Neumayer Escape Pod Orchid Lifeboat Nomad Ship’s Boat Sabre Gunboat Starlifter Modular Shuttle (and 10 module variations) Halo Heavy Shuttle (all three versions) Thunderchief Heavy Shuttle Mustang Dropship

    The layout is really well done & stats are right at the DM's or player's fingers you get a whole lotta bang for the dollar amount for Cepheus Engine and the HOSTILE setting. And these craft could potentially be applied for other Cepheus Engine settings as well with the same tech axioms. Everything in Gunboats & Shuttles is oriented towards actual use & play.

    We really liked where the author took the craft giving us a very nice overview, application, & even possible game use in each entry. And this ties well into the Hostile setting as a whole. The ships here are very useful with artwork by Ian Stead, Algol, & Maxim Zhuravlevthat really makes it easy to show players yes this is what the PC is flying.

    The Heavy lift shuttle is extremely useful for Roughneck or Explorer with a really nice entry. Gunboats & Shuttles brings the heat for adventurers looking for solid mission profiles. And it really feels like a Janes Weapons or vehicle books.

    Gunboats & Shuttles is a great book for the DM looking to really add in a cinematic feel to their Hostile games. We get some great fake advertising & entries for Gunboats & Shuttles within the Hostile universe. And these could be used as in game player hand outs. Within this book are some excellent diagrams & maps for use with Cepheus Engine rpg games.

    Gunboats & Shuttles is an excellent support book for craft that you need for both Cepheus Engine rpg as well the Hostile setting itself. The craft here are great support ships for both marine & even explorer or roughneck PC's. Gunboats & Shuttles is an excellent quality book to add to your own Cepheus Engine rpg collection.

    Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery blog Want more OSR action? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Gunboats and Shuttles
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Explorers
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2021 08:38:51

    "Explorers is a supplement for Cepheus Engine and for the gritty HOSTILE science fiction setting. It provides all of the tools the explorer needs to tackle dangers and exotic encounters on remote worlds. Included within the book is a fully detailed survey ship, the USCS Castle Bravo; an in-depth look at both the Tharsis Armadillo All-Terrain Vehicle as well as the explorer’s habitat of choice: the Leyland-Okuda modular base series. The space suits of the HOSTILE universe are also featured, with a set of customisable options. Finally, survey and exploration procedures are explained with advice and rules provided which will allow the referee to create a tense, unpredictable and (hopefully!) dangerous survey mission. These come with 36 uninhabited world descriptions for use in your game. "

    Players & friends alerted me to the release of Zozer Games Explorers was shoved int erm came exploding into my email box by my players. The cover alone is what really grabs your attention with a creepy classic Science Fiction & 70's Alien style poster artwork feel to it. The supplemenrt dives into the 'Upstream' space mining & exploration faux industry magazine cover. But this is actually the first section of rules & organization over view. Shades of West End Star Wars rpg with the fake adds which were often used as player hand outs. This is gives a solid feel of the field of space exploration in the universe of Hostile. You get a quick arm shot of a common survey vessel & overview of the Armadillo ATV. And its very well done giving the DM a perspective on the ATV and it almost feels like you could actually drive one. And that's one of the things about Explorers as a supplement it feels very grounded in its own universe.

    The module base section is very well done & we get down, dirty, & very scientific within Explorers take on living the pioneer life on the edge of galatic discovery. This section has a very much updated feel of those Eighties faux NASA books such as the Mars Mission Manual. This is life on the bleed edge of surival & space exploration. This section of Explorers gives an excellent overview of the shelters, colony pop up dwellings, and bases that are going to be used by PC's.

    Next we get into some hard core space suit design & mission specific stuff with regards to the day to day workable skin of the explorer. This section is very well done & hits the high notes that Hostile does with added benefits of actually being another customizable PC section of Explorers. This is one of the best sections of the book because it allows the DM & players to work together to tie together the gear for the PC's missions.

    'How To Explore' is one of the best sections of Explorers which involves planets, systems, missions parameters, planetary characteristics, & much more. This section ties in nicely with Explorers especially for instellar exploration campaign. This section goes right into The Castle Bravo survey vessel which was introduced around a decade ago to compensate for the inadequacies of its predecessor, the North Star long range scout. And this is a perfect star ship for the players PC's and its a slamming ship!

    The Castle Bravo survey vessel reminds me of many of the classic original Traveller rpg ships. An actual star ship that the PC's can use for missions across the board. Its a real neat design incorporating elements of the classic 70's art Science Fiction ships with the Two Thousands bleeding edge space exploration. In many respects I really love the Castle Bravo survey ship class its really well done. Explorers within seventy one pages feels like an update of Paul Elliott, & Ben Lecrone's Orbital 2100 campaign setting with huge expansion of many of the ideas, adventure elements, space suits, ships, etc..

    Explorers takes the Hostile rpg setting into the outer bleeding edges of instellar space exploration. This means that its a solid drag & drop supplement right into the back end of the Hostile rpg setting. Explorers is a must add on for Roughnecks because the explorers are often the trail blazers or runners for the Rougneck's mining operations.

    Because of Explorers the way that the book is set up its perfectly tuned for adding in sci fi horror elements to make the lives of the PC's wretched. All in all Explorers is a solid add on book for the DM of Cepheus Engine campaigns & yes I'm really glad that I grabbed it!

    Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery blog Want More OSR Content? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Explorers
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Solo
    by Rr C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2021 13:58:10

    So I purchased this title with the thought of using it as a tool to explore to explore my stars without number sector and I am happy to report it works great for this, with only the slightest rule changes. The random tables are awesome as a story generating tool.

    If you are a single player roleplayer, using traveller, cepheus engine or stars without number I cannot recommend this enough.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Solo
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Camp Cretaceous
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 11:32:27

    " Player characters travel back into the Cretaceous period in this supplement for Cepheus Engine. There they carry out perilous missions in their attempts to study dinosaurs in their natural environment. A great game to play alongside young people and children. "

    One of the free game setting supplements that I noticed on Zozer Games is Camp Cretaceous a free setting book & 2d6 Cepheus Engine gaming system motor under the hood. This is a really good setting book for thos kids who are at that age where dinoaurs are the greatest thing on the planet. Or their 'whatever age' something or better parents or grand parents looking to further their own Jurassic Park experience or prehistoric education. This is a fast play game which can be picked up right away. Everything here is well thoughtout by someone who knows their prehistoric history. For a free game & setting Camp Cretaceous doesn't skip on the details, eventualities, factions, & of course dinosaurs. All of this comes in at an even one hundred & twenty pages. The one thing that stands out is that the author presents is his DMing & dealing with children players. There's extensive advice when it comes to dealing with everything from the table top level up. The Late Cretaceous campaign setting is well done with all of the dinosaurs, history, ecology, etc.. Camp Cretaceous is done in such a fashion that it will serve as compelling game for both the seasoned rpger or a beginner. Camp Cretaceous takes the setting material into the direction of exploration, discovery, & problem solving. The combat system is well done but not necessary for a whole cloth good time of play within Camp Cretaceous .

    Camp Cretaceous is a perfect add on for an adult DM looking to expand their Cepheus Engine rpg game campaign into 'lost world or time travel campaign themes. There are several reasons why this works one of these the game works to create expediations. So there's a perfect ' in' for DM's looking to exploit a Cretaceous campaign setting. For example with Stellagama Publishing's These Stars Are Ours campaign setting. Camp Cretaceous could be used as a supplement to agument a planet with a biological or ecological laboratory setting for the dinosaurs created by the Reticulans.

    This campaign adventure hook could be used for Zozer Games Hostile rpg with the xenomorphs using the dinosaurs as hosts. Perhaps even a combination of the two campaign ideas with the marines dodging dinosaurs & xenomorphs. Let's get back to Camp Cretaceous . There are several reasons why this game works:

    A lot of care & time went into the writing & creation went into Camp Cretaceous Camp Cretaceous was done by a historian & techical writer who knows his subject matter. Camp Cretaceous is a perfect game for introducing kids to rpging & actual history. Great game for those who have the attention span for action but want problem solving within their rpg's. Dinosaurs! Plenty of room for campaign expansion & add on's within Camp Cretaceous Plenty of DM ideas, hooks, & toybox stuff built into Camp Cretaceous Camp Cretaceous is a perfect game for an Athur Conan Doyle Lost World game campaign. Nice to see a kid friendly game & setting book that's free. Camp Cretaceous does an excellent job with that. Just go download Camp Cretaceous and have fun!

    Camp Cretaceous is a five outta five in my book. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want more OSR goodness? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Camp Cretaceous
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Modern War: Conversion System
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 17:18:40

    Gun runners & weapons manufacturers are going to have a field day with this fact & its one of the primary lights behind my use of Modern War: Conversion System From Zozer Games. This is a fantastic little system to put the guns,planes, etc. in the hands of the people. And in this case its a system that enables the DM to eye ball a piece of military hard ware determine stats for & then drop it right into their games. The DM's last night were really impressed with it last night. This is a solid addition to the Zozer games Cepheus Engine Rpg products. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Want more OSR action?! Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Modern War: Conversion System
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Hostile
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/21/2021 03:37:41

    This is a very well written source book that is compatible with Cepheus Engine, but in my opinion, could easily be used with otherscience fiction roleplaying games such as Classic Traveller or 1970's 2D6 Retro Rules.

    Pual Elliot is a very good writer who has delivered a number of gamesin both science fiction and historical settings. Hostile is set in the 23rd century. His setting is gritty and unromantic. Think movies such as Outland and the Alien franchise. If one is to think of timeline with titles such as Orbital in the near future, (Traveller)2300 in the middle, official Traveller universe in the far future, I would place hostile as being contemporary with 2300. It is much more gritty than 2300.

    I really enjoyed reading Hostile. The universe that Paul created is very detailed with lots of potential ideas for gamers.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Hostile
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Hostile Gunlocker
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/14/2021 00:51:43

    Before planning out a Cepheus Engine rpg campaign set within the stated guidelines of the Hostile Rpg. My group encouraged me to pick up the Gunslocker rpg supplement. And in fact they insisted on it. Why?! Rpgger & gamers love weaponry & ultra violence especially when going up against Xenomorph style alien life forms.

    "The complete compilation of firearms for Zozer Games' HOSTILE SF RPG setting. Here are all the guns from HOSTILE, the Marine Corps Handbook and Dirtside along with 18 new firearms and 4 new types of grenades. In addition there are two pages of firearms accessories and a fast-play rule for determining hit chance using the range band method. "

    Weapons for a Sci fi game are the cherries on top of a very well planned out system such as Zozer Games's Hostile rpg. Weapons Lockers is one of those 'must have' books! Why?! Every dungeon master worth his or her salt knows two things. You can never have enough monster books, dice, and weapons books. Every DM worth his salt knows three things?! Let's put it another way or as Hudson puts it to Ripleyi in Aliens [special edition]" [during the drop to LV-426]

    Private Hudson: I'm ready, man, check it out. I am the ultimate badass! State of the badass art! You do not wanna fuck with me. Check it out! Hey Ripley, don't worry. Me and my squad of ultimate badasses will protect you! Check it out! Independently targeting particle beam phalanx. Vwap! Fry half a city with this puppy. We got tactical smart missiles, phased plasma pulse rifles, RPGs, we got sonic electronic ball breakers! We got nukes, we got knives, sharp sticks...

    Sergeant Apone: Knock it off, Hudson. All right, gear up." And this is exactly what your getting here guns, gats, & gear to take on those threats to your adventurers, marines, & lawmen in the outer reaches of the universe. Did I mention that this is the Gunslocker is well done & well designed for the Hostile Rpg universe.

    The Gunlocker supplement does an excellent job of organizing, cataloging, & presenting the weapons of 2225. There's a very nice array of fire arms from revolvers to energy weapons all in forty five pages. The variety is solidly done & for a marine fanatic such as myself the presentation is on point. Ian Stead's artwork takes me back to '88 or so with the release of the Alien's Marine Handbook with Gunlocker's homages in his artwork & layout.

    Zozer Games has really been impressing me with their simple to use & easy access stats for their fire arms & energy weapons. The level of detail is top drawer without a Janes Weapons Guide level of detail that leaves the DM scrambling for a pillow or how to field strip an imaginary weapon. But the overlap into Cepheus Modern means that the DM has options to use these weapons in other Cepheus Engine rpg sci fi campagin settings. And all of this within forty five pages.

    Hostile Rpg Gunlocker Supplement brings Hostile rpg into a very military position with regards to setting specific weapons & the world of 2225 is a very dangerous one indeed. Military based campaigns are going to be bloody & very dangerous affairs. But its not always about the world of men is it!? The Gunslocker rpg supplement is solid, classy, & very well done & it should be in the shopping cart of any Hostile rpg fan in my opinion. This is a very key book for the marines & militaries of the Hostile rpg. Five outta of five because it fits its point & purpose really bringing home the Hostile rpg universe in spades!

    Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want more OSR action? Subscribe To https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Hostile Gunlocker
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Roughnecks
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2021 13:30:08

    Zozer Games's Roughnecks is a supplement that you can just about feel the 'Outland' vibe coming off it. The whole book fits the asthetic of Alien & Eighties sci fi so well. The PC's are not your typical heroes of 'Luke Skystalker' mode but working stiffs and miners at that. And lay out & production are so well done. Roughnecks works so well with Far Horizons that its not even funny. These two books together brings exploration of the outer solor system home. Zozer Games puts out fantastic products & again this is brought home with Roughnecks. You get everything you could want as a dungeon master for running Hostile Rpg Eighties sci fi hard core mining operation. One where you can run your people hard & they can play harder in the wastelands of space. And Roughnecks fits in with the asthetic of Eighties sci fi that I'm going for with our group of players coming up. Roughnecks works because it gives the PC's the tools to actually pull a profit from their operations. The DM has a a mini mining book to play out within the Hostile campaign. There's far more going on below the surface of the solar system that can be pulled from for the corporations. The solar system is last great frontier before the alien worlds of beyond but our own solar system is dangerous as Hell. Roughnecks presents mankind as their own worst enemies when it comes to the making of a profit. The corporations do what they do & even here their still faceless. There's a good chance for heroics even within Roughnecks but watch out for your fellow miners & bugs. All around Roughnecks works for me on any number of levels as a dungeon master highly recommended. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery blog Want more OSR goodness? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Roughnecks
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Hostile
    by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2021 10:31:22

    "HOSTILE is a gritty, near future roleplaying setting for the 2D6 Cepheus Engine rules that is inspired by movies like Outland and Alien. It is a universe of mining installations, harsh moons, industrial facilities, hostile planets and brutal, utilitarian spacecraft."

    So looking over the Hostile rpg is like looking into an alternative Traveller or Cepheus Engine rpg 'Aliens' universe. This is exactly the style of rpg universe setting that my players are looking for. The layout of the pdf is really well done. There's a real sci fi cinematic feel here for Zozer Games universe & its one of interstellar & military expansion. The PC generation is very well done here & the additional PC options present a uniquely sci fi alternative universe PC take on the classic old school Traveller style.

    The more that we slide into the the Hostile rpg universe the more that the every aspect of life here is driven by space exploration & expansion. The technologies, space craft, medicine, etc are all a pre Cold War mode but its done with style & substance. There's an inner working & logic that fits within the the Hostile rpg universe in spades. This is a universe that can handle a Blade Runner campaign or even a whole cloth military campaign against Xenomorphs. And its one that works very well & it really does have the spirit of those classic Eighties sci fi films. Add to this the fact that you get the Hostile Technical Manual pdf free & you are ready to go.

    And the Hostile rpg is a monster of a book at three hundred plus pages & it really does a good of defining its universe from the ground up. This is sci fi that I can understand in spades & from that view point it works very well for both designing interstellar adventures & for generating PC's. The whole package of the Hostile rpg. Overall I highly recommend the Hostile rpg from the standpoint of both player & DM. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want more OSR action?! Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Hostile
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 100 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product