Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Zozer Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Zaibatsu
by Joe C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2019 10:56:48

I feel this game gets the genre gaming. Streamlined combat that captures the sense of cinema as oposed to simulation. Running around Cyberspace has been handled beautifully The 2D6 Cepheus engine has been streamlined. Character background tables are great. Love the authors writing style. Get the book on Lulu email author get the pdf free. Can't say fairer than that. Looking forward to picking up Hostile next

It's like those two books were made for each other. Zozer are doing Cepheus mechanics proud. If you're looking for exciting ideas fleshed out and ready to go keep it Zozer Five stars × 2 Looking forward to picking up more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Pioneer Class Station
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/12/2019 07:18:56

knowing the past works of the artist the deck plans were bit disappointing, overall a well written addition, and very useful source related supplement.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Pioneer Class Station
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Hostile
by john b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 15:38:36

Hostile Review

I recently received a copy of Hostile and with great excitement. I’ve been a fan of the Alien film franchise for years and a friend who recommended Hostile to me said I wouldn’t be disappointed. I wasn’t.

Hostile isn’t part of the Alien franchise though. It’s more. Its covers more sci-fi movies from that era as well as being a stand-alone universe created by the writer and art team. It’s a rich and detailed back story with a strong but flexible game skeleton that you can add your own flavour at touches.

I particular like the United States Marshal Service and it reminds me of one of my favourite sci-fi movies Outland with Sean Connery. This gritty Western style law enforcer is a real added bonus to sci fi games.

I play war games as well as RPG’s and there is so much rich background I’m thinking of using Hostile for a wargames campaign. I’d like to build a multi-level version of the Hercules and play colonial marine units through it.

I thoroughly recommend this game if you’re a fan of the late 70’-80’s-90’s movies and want to play a game with that gritty edge. Moving carefully down dimly light corridors watching every hatch, floor grill and airlock for something deadly behind it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
by Rob L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/01/2019 14:19:32

Elegant and simple no-fuss combat/task resolution rules for Cepheus. Does what it says on the tin. If you want something faster and easier than the vanilla rules, this set of options may be just the treat. And at no cost, what have you got to lose?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
1970s 2D6 RETRO RULES
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Zaibatsu
by Kevin M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 06:36:31

Really enjoying Zozer's books, and this and Hostile are my favourites, it's fast, furious, and light, most of my favourite Cyberpunk tropes here.

Combat is "simultaneous", but separated into hand-to-hand, and weapon rounds, hand-to-hand hits first, which gives a nice cinematic feel.

The world (Tokyo 2225) has just enough detail, but it's easy to incorporate material from any of the early Cyberpunk RPGs.

Light cyberspace rules, and vehicles, and 5 short adventures to boot, definitely worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Low Tech Weapons
by Cody D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2019 22:05:23

Good little book! It has a pretty substantial list of archaic weaponry to make use of, complete with a few rules additions here and there to add character to them as well. Seems built for Cepheus, although as an MGT2 Traveller player I don't see much that impedes using it with those rules so long as you know your stuff.

The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it lacks a nice index/table at the end that has the item names and their statistics all clearly laid out for easiest reference. As it stands it's divided into groups, and descriptions follow the stats of any given group. Nothing wrong with that, just means more page flipping for when you're trying to quickly access stats. Add a complete table of items at the end and I'd give this book 5 stars!

The descriptions themselves are handy, although are in a some cases incorrect - but that's purely a nitpick, as they are "close enough" ;)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Low Tech Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dirtside
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2019 21:17:19

This review is based on a skim reading only. I am the author of the Traveller5 World Builder and take a keen interest in wilderness rules.
I am impressed. This supplement has a clear structure for quickly imagining and bringing wilderness situations into your Cepheus Engine or Traveller game. Accessible tables make travel and encounters easy to set up.
But it doesn't limit your imagination, providing concrete numbers for scales of maps and times that are easily adaptable to your imagination.
It also has a fantastic (and concise!) explanation and history of our beloved isocehedral world maps including a great projection of Earth onto one, the best visualisation I have seen that helps us make sense of it.
Definitely worth the very cheap price.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dirtside
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Marine Corps Handbook 2215
by Todd S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2019 22:04:28

Great stuff as usual from Zozer. In addition to being an indispensable supplement for the Hostile setting, this and the Alien Breeds supplement go together like jam and toast.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Marine Corps Handbook 2215
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Marine Corps Handbook 2215
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2019 15:09:09

Again Zozer delivers high-quality, in-depth material that is seemingly a never ending fountain of relevant and useful information. Att 110 pages most of what the future Marine Corps is all about is laid out in the incompromising detail and cool, to-the-point graphics we have come to love and expect from Zozer. As a military Sci-fi nut I can say that in sections it is as crisp as a USMC Field Manual, which is exactly the way I like it. And when compared to other publishers treatment of the topic, I think their efforts and thin results pale by comparison. Here you get your money's worth with a perfect balance of background, character careers, weapons, vehicles, air- and spacecraft, rules enhancements, and mission creation. A great work in all!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
by Mike H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2019 14:48:24

I am consistently impressed by the quality of the sourcebooks Zozer puts out for the Cepheus Engine and other 2d6 Sci-Fi RPG lines, and this is no exception. There is a lot here that is relevant, not only to a Cyberpunk Japan/Earth setting, but also to shoddy downports anywhere. At 220 pages I was starting to wonder if it would never end, there being so much useful material delivered page after page. Compared to other publishers, you really get your moneys worth Zozer's products when it comes to detailed, in-depth, insightful and well researched material with cool, appropriate and occasional comical relief, graphical framing that translates easily into a one-off or a campaign. Even having lived in the Kanto area for a couple of years I am impressed with the Cyberpunk Japanese jargon and overall feel for the area portrayed, consistent with my own on-the-ground experience. This is a landmark work, Paul!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Zenobia
by Elias R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 08:45:40

I have been looking for a game like this for years.

Quote: ZENOBIA was designed to satisfy my lust for adventure without the obstacles of class, skill level and character level. I wanted my characters to be good at everything and not have to calculate percentage chances or ‘to hit’ probabilities. I wanted to throw a couple of d6 and get on with the epic story line. And I didn’t want to alienate my players with new and sophisticated cultures - I wanted to mix familiarity with something more exotic, but something based in the hard-nosed realities of history. ZENOBIA was the result.

If any of this makes you feel all warm and fuzzy inside then this is a must buy.

Great work once again by Paul Elliot -Zozer who is a designer on par with the likes of Kevin Crawford -Sine Nomine. Hopefully he can get a greater market share and publish more material in the future.

The rules could use a bit of polishing/clarifications but if taken in an "OSR spirit" they are a great starting point. My personal preference would have been for a closer adaptation/modification of Cepheus Engine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zenobia
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Zenobia
by Darren K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/28/2018 16:53:48

A game that manages to condense all the good stuff from Old School games- the random tables and monster lists- but loses the restrictive Level/Class mechanics. It's like RuneQuest, with the same gritty Sword & Sorcery vibe in the mechanics, but the game is a lot simpler to play or generate characters for.

It's written by someone who knows what was great about the historical period it's set in but treats that history as an inspiration rather than a limitation. The material inside lets each individual GM choose what balance of historical accuracy and fantasy they want. You could go entirely one way or the other using the same rules.

The single best thing about this game, though, is the combat system. The fact that every single review about the game or AD43 (which uses the same rules) mentions it should clue you in to that. It's a simple "Both roll 2d6 plus bonuses and compare" system that's pretty much the same as the old Fighting Fantasy books at the core. But a few key tweaks to that system have transformed it into something truly inspired, where tactical decisions are important and life or death depends on the three factors of individual prowess, the weapons being used and the armour being worn.

Not only is this a great game in itself, but it's one that would be easy to adapt to any other Bronze or Iron Age setting. Whether you've got a favourite period of history or a particular Myth-cycle you feel like playing, this could be easily used to run these games. Not just obvious similar ones- the Trojan War or the Roman Republic, for instance- but I've had thoughts on running both Viking and Aztec themed games with it. Or for just about any Sword & Sorcery fantasy setting.

My only complaint about this game is that it doesn't have the option to buy a combination PDF & Print On Demand bundle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Darren, thank you the nice words! Zenobia will soon be available as a softback, but through Lulu, rather than Drivethru. I'll be able to refund the cost of your PDF at that time, details will be on the Zenobia product page at Lulu, and on Zozer Game's website.
Zenobia
by Peter K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2018 11:53:25

The game uses the same combat system as AD43 and Warband, a very fast and furious 2d6 system, that gives combat and task resolution a speed, virtually unknown in other systems, while still keeping a good dose of realism.

It's so good that I am using it for mass combat resolution in Harnmaster.

Concerning the game itself, I personally love the time and the setting. Real history with a touch of fantasy and a portion Lovecraft should be the right stuff for fans of Howard's non-Conan stories, or for pulp fans altogether. If you are into real history, too, so much the better.

The face-lifting from the nearly 20 year old original helped the game and it also took care of some errors or unclear concepts.

IMHO it's well worth the money, as is the rest of the ZOZER stuff.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2018 20:30:02

Neon lights, mirror shades, corporate warfare abound in Zaubatsu. Game is an awesome representation of Neuromancer-style cyberpunk. Highly recommend it and as a bonus, it synchs with Hostile perfectly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zaibatsu
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Hostile
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/26/2018 20:26:45

Excellent book all around. If you love the magic that are Alien, Aliens, Outland, and all things 80's scifi, this is your game. Game does an amazing job of capturing a pretty wide range of role-playing opportunities from bug hunts, to corporate intrigue, to long-haul spacers that receive a distress signal. Even if you aren't interested in the game itself, the environmentals, descriptors, and material within are a goldmine (i'm definitely using the environmental descriptor list, asteroid-mining rules, and adventure seeds in my Coriolis game). Rules are smooth and easy, the book is well stocked with setting material, and the bestiary is very familiar in the best way possible. Simply stated, if you like awesome games, buy this one and you won't be dissapointed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hostile
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 70 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG