RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Scrawl
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 20:31:11

Excellant solo system.All of the add on modules make this a must have for solo rpg fans.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scrawl
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Explore to the Core (A SCRAWL supplement)
by sean m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 20:29:40

Great hexcrawl supplement. Any chance of a hyperlinked version to make it easier to move around the pdf?Also an index would be cool as well. Just love all of your solo modules for use with Scrawl,it is a fabulous system that is evolving.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Explore to the Core (A SCRAWL supplement)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Many thanks for your great review and your excellent idea. I will include hyperlinks in SCRAWL. The grand plan is to put all the modules into one big volume and hyperlink that. I have 4 things left to write - caves, ruins, forests and jungles. Many thanks for your custom and I hope you enjoy future products!
Temple of the Fool God
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2016 20:59:22

This project really hits the correct definition of chaos. Not evil. Just random, creative, and in places irrational and illogical. in short, gangs of fun. And since it is so random, very easy to play again if you are masochistic enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Fool God
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Khazan City Chaos
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2016 12:57:48

If you can get past the opening sentence "You never thought that as an adventurer could be so boring." and ignore one or two other such that leave out a word or three, (fortunately never vital omissions) this is a very good solo. Yes that was a run on sentence. So I will admit being a hypocritter.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Khazan City Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Trailblazers!
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/24/2016 12:32:05

The Author takes 15 pages to explain the newest version of T&T which give so much more than the older versions. That in itself is well worth the price. And then the solo itself about colonising a new land is excellent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trailblazers!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Wayfarer core rulebook
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2016 00:53:31

I like the 1d6 method. It is vastly simpler than working out all the adds, and doesn't reguire classes etc.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Wayfarer core rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Test of the Warrior
by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2015 19:02:30

I liked it. It used its own system, of pick a path type adventure. Which is the down point since you have to go from paragraph to paragraph on a computer. Once past that annoyance, it went well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Test of the Warrior
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Legend of the Wayfarer core rulebook
by Sean M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/10/2015 03:58:35

Not much to this book and nothing special that I could see.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Legend of the Wayfarer core rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
You\'re right, it is the bare bones rules. As I write more books, I will amalgamate them into a book on the world (I might even think of a name for it!). I will also put the special rules from the books into the rule book and expand on it. Legend of the Wayfarer is a work in progress and the more books there are, the more you will get a feel of the world and the rules. I would love it if you tell me what you would like to see - a list of monsters? A history and geography of the world? Adventure ideas? All these will become more clear with the more books I write. I hope you stick with it and see what happens - and when the books are free, what do you have to lose?
Temple of the Fool God
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/03/2013 19:12:44

Steve Jackson (the American version) once complained that there wasn't enough "silly" in RPGs, that they were taking themselves far too seriously.

He should enter the Temple of the Fool God.

One of the conceits (?) of solos, especially TnT solos, is that your character is willing and eager to enter into an arena type of game in which he or she is most likely going to be killed. Of course, there's the promise of Great Reward if one survives, but one has to wonder - just who is running these arenas and how do they make a profit if there is no paying audience? (Only Roy Cram has an answer for that in his two Gamesters solos.)

Nonetheless, our PCs gleefully enter into these death traps with all the survival instincts of the cast of either version of "the Haunting." And in this case, that's exactly the sort of mentality which will give us, the players, the most fun. (Not the PCs, of course, the pitiful fools!)

The previous review may have given you some idea of the puns, the Pythonesques, and the expected twists on RPG cliches that you'll find herein. Let's just add for the proper seasoning, that this was written by the inimitable Stuart Lloyd, who never disappoints, and the art is by Mr or Ms Public Domain, who was not available for torture and questioning.

Someday, someone is going to gather the funniest TnT solos in one volume, and we'll never get around to playing them because we'll just laugh and laugh while reading them. This belongs in the front of that book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Fool God
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Khazan City Chaos
by Chet C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2012 19:51:29

Possibly the craziest solo I've played. It's not that the plot, characters, or options are crazy in themselves -- it's crazy in that there are so MANY ways this could play out. This could and should be played many times, to see if it comes out different each time. I played it four times, and it was different each time - and no less dangerous!

I want to see more solos by this Slloyd14 guy!

*jeep! & God Bless! --Grandpa Chet, the MormonYoYoMan



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Khazan City Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Trailblazers!
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 04/09/2012 18:25:57

Stuart Lloyd is changing the way we play Tunnels & Trolls solos and he is changing the way I look at T&T as a whole.

Rather than moping back to Edition 5 of T&T (which would be my primary instinct when writing a solo game) Mr Lloyd takes 7.5 with all it's suggested talents, he embraces the opportunities for customised skill checks (SRs), adapts to the new types/classes and tackles in-book spell-use head-on. Text sections provide options to perform "stunts" which make even the most mundane encounter memorable to play. The situations in Trailblazers! are refreshingly original. The plot can switch from the lowly to the epic - from scrambling about about to saving the day - of this stuff heroes are born.

There's a sprinkling of humour and chagrin, very much in the style of older T&T solitaire games, so T&T old school regulars will like this. The replayability factor is very high. (Do not be discouraged by the charming public domain art! This is high class content! High-production values of the mind!) - I should also add that his solos are easy on the ink cartridge and his PDF prices are kept extremely low. As well as a one off, you can also play Trailblazers! as the third in the series of T&T solos Stuart Lloyd has written.

-Billiam B. bit.ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Trailblazers!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Khazan City Chaos
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2012 09:50:54

Khazan! Possibly the most famous city in the T&T universe! Chewing up and spitting out players in countless adventures.

This may appear to be a small solo, but you will find that if you're playing this thoroughly enough that you will pass through a good many of it's 56 sections. A lot of the scenes provide the reader with the opportunity to test different abilities with Saving Rolls. This gives this solo a high "replay" factor, so believe me when I say that you are getting more than your value for money.

That's what this solo is all about: -money. Lucky fortune -and a fight- at the beginning will provide your low level character with more cash than they will see in a entirety of adventures. It's a pity there's no option to walk away at that point (not to mention that if you're a freshly generated character the introduction will provide you with a sack of cash). Now, I've played too many shoot-em-ups to know that free health and weapons usually means something big is around the corner... So let us a assume that a fool and their money is about to be easily parted. But you, the player, are no fool because this solo will probably cost you less than a dollar.

The author explains in the preface that he his developing his own standardised solo rules for Tunnels & Trolls – in this case the 7.5 edition. It's perfectly possible to play a warrior without spells talents and maybe even a character from 5/5.5 or earlier editions, but you'd be missing a treat, because Khazan City Chaos is extremely comprehensive in the instructions as to how to employ Talents and Spells from the 7.5 lists. T&T 7.5 in many ways encourages improvisation and special moves in combat -but this requires a creative and judicial GM to be on hand, which is not possible in solo texts. Less confident players also like to be led by the text in the section as to what they are able to do (despite some T&T solos claiming that the broadest interpretation of the text should allows player to do whatever their characters feel like). Mr Lloyd's genius here, in addition to all of the spell guidelines, is the implementation of “stunts” in combat – these are special saving rolls based on attributes or talents, which allow for dramatic and memorable moves. Many of the stunts are totally optional, which may come as a relief for fast-play players – just give 'em the MR and let 'em get on with it! ;)

The extra options reminded me a little of gamebooks, like Lone Wolf, where the character has options to use skills to effect the outcome of an encounter – they was always something strangely satisfying in this (when compared, to say, standard Fighting Fantasy). The stunts add a lot of flavour to combat. These along the many tests in the adventure result in a sense of ingenuity and achievement of behalf of your character – even when some of the trials in the urban world may seem without the thrill and zap of combat (although combat is only ever a section away).

Stuart Lloyd's narrative style is impeccably balanced between the do-or-die thrill of the quest, peppered with light hearted commentary about the characters and their environs, which fits perfectly with the traditional style of T&T solos. He appears to be planning a whole series. So be warned! By purchasing this you may find yourself collecting all of his titles as soon they hit the press!

This solo will entertain new players and be refreshing for the veterans too. GMs of all editions of T&T may like to take a look at this solo since talent guidelines, the stunt descriptions and many options to use attribute (or talent) SRs makes for inspirational game-planning.

-Billiam Babble http://bit.ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Khazan City Chaos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Temple of the Fool God
by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/07/2012 21:10:08

Generally I have mixed feelings about the idea that Tunnels & Trolls games should often be light and humorous, but Stuart Lloyd provides a feasible background for such japes. By taking on the patron god of fools (who's name in short form takes up most of a paragraph) you are forced to put part of your sensibilities aside. Chaos truly reigns. Like with many T&T solos, some sections are sub-games in their own right, where the player can choose to raise the stakes for higher gains - random treasure tables also provide a bet like dice rolling flutter. Sections can be revisited and considerable ground can be covered and replayed - giving Temple of the Fool God a lasting game life. The Monty Python-esque humour might be a little much for some, but for others it's a jolly evening in. 'Fool God is written for the T&T 7.5 edition, which is good, because dedicated solos for that edition are still thin on the ground, compared to mighty back catalogue of published and amateur adventures written for 5/5.5. Fool God is a packed read with 190 sections. All of the sections are properly hotlinked which means you get straight the right section when using an on-screen reader or a touch-tablet. It is ideal for both new players and veterans (for 1st level characters - with equipment provided in the text). Challenging nonsense. ;) Billiam B. bit/ly/rpgblog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Temple of the Fool God
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG