Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Christian Hollnbuchner » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Battlemap : The Barrows
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/08/2013 10:43:42

This map consists of a rolling landscape, grassy with scattered trees and bushes - and some mysterious piles of rock. Obviously left there on purpose, how long ago and why is open to speculation...

... although one suggestion, that they are grave markers over the burial mounds of long-dead heroes is a plausible one.

Up to you what is going on there and why, but it's an interesting area with plenty of scope.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : The Barrows
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book II000 : Commercial Liner
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/04/2013 08:48:38

Interestingly, this product describes somewhat of a failed ship design - an unarmed mixed passenger/cargo transport with underpowered Jump drives and expensive streamlining. Apparently this has made it unpopular, so if you are prepared to put up with these shortcomings you may find a bargain or two at the used starship lot!

Background text, full stats and a selection of Hollnbuchner's glorious sketches as well as more conventional deck plans present the full picture of a ship that basically hasn't decided what it is and so doesn't do anything particularly well!

Best place for these is operating in a small cluster where systems are close together, or even using it in-system if there's more than one habitable world. Or, as the text suggests, ripping out the passenger cabins and replacing them with low berths - pack 'em in with a low unit fare but enough of them to make some money!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book II000 : Commercial Liner
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book I00II : Geological Survey Craft
by Gregory W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2013 18:58:02

I was somewhat disappointed in the lack of detail in the deck plans. To be a really convenient resource for me, I need to pop something like this open and it be enough to go with without additional mapping on my part. Interestingly, I think the general layout was very good.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book I00II : Geological Survey Craft
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Quarry
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/25/2013 09:22:41

Quarries are good places to stage a confrontation, multiple levels and nothing too much to damage appart from your opponents! So here, in Hollnbuchner's usual crisp style, is a nice fairly small one to run about in.

Pay attention to the cover illustration to get the hang of the levels, as the shadows are somewhat oddly angled and do not contribute to a feeling of depth, always a bit of an issue with a top-down bird's eye view. The lowest level, in particular, has some scattered blocks and boulders... it is very easy to mistake them, especially the boulders, for hollows in the ground rather than lumps of rock standing proud of it.

There's a ground level (complete with grass and trees) and three levels of 'hole in the ground' so plenty to play with, to take advantage of in a three-dimensional combat. There are no scaling features so you will have to decide just how deep this quarry is, and how big the blocks strewn around on the bottom happen to be.

I'm sure players in many genres will find it useful... but to be really traditional break out a Doctor Who game - many of the early episodes were filmed in quarries!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : Quarry
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Moon Landing
by Graham D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2013 07:16:42

As someone who was born shortly after the last Manned Moon Landing, this map brings forth a certain amount of nostalgia.

You have a lander, a flag (UN?) and what seems to be the wall of a crater (Will we see the rest of it in future maps?). The map does indeed evoke the feel of the first steps offworld.

As the other reviewer noted, finding a use for this map could prove tricky, though it could do well for a 'first contact' situation.

A minor nitpick is that the designer neglected to include a top hatch for the lunar lander, in the Apollo program this hatch joined to the spacecraft that bought the lander to the Moon and on one mission the astronauts looked out this hatch to get their bearings before setting foot on the surface. Perhaps this could be included in an update?



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : Moon Landing
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Moon Landing
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/18/2013 09:08:44

A scene that hopefully will be enshrined for all posterity... this recaptures the excitement of the first Moon landing in 1969, taking me back to an excited small girl who stayed up all night to watch!

Of course, it won't look quite like this. Here we have the lander entire, ascent stage as well as the descent stage. The flag appears to be that of the United Nations rather than the United States.

Otherwise, however, it's wonderfully evocative. The barren landscape, which as you look closer has far more texture than you might imagine. The lander itself, in top-down view, in all its weird almost spider-like glory.

Not quite sure what you would use this for... but it's nice to look at!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APC : Chameleon
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/14/2013 12:30:52

Originally designed for cost-conscious (underfunded?) planetary militias especially on the less-explored worlds with lots of rough terrain, this is a useful military troop carrier with all-wheel drive and all-wheel steering. It carries eight troops as well as two crew, the troops having a rear door exit similar to several equivalent present-day military carriers.

As such, it's really about TL7 (today's tech level) but could be enhanced with more extensive sensor suites or weaponry. It comes from the factory with a couple of smoke dischargers (to provide a smokescreen to get away, but also good against lasers) as standard, but there is a ring mount for the purchaser to add a weapon of his choice. It's designed for use in atmosphere, having only limited life support capacity, and has a nice camouflage paint job.

There is a nice full-page illustration of the exterior, and full Traveller vehicle statistics as well as some background notes. An interior view and/or floorplan would have been nice, but there is sufficient to get the idea of what is coming down the road towards you.

A handy piece of mundane military kit for planetside work.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
APC : Chameleon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Moon Base
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/04/2013 08:07:16

This is a nice simple map of a small base on an airless, probably low-gravity, world (or indeed moon). There are two habitat modules each mounted on stilts and with a ramp from ground level to the entrance, and a further ramp leading down from a crater edge (or enscarpment) to the ground whereon they stand. Rather oddly, both have 'Habitat 01' over the door!

Use of shading gives a nice feeling of depth. although it would be nice to have an indication of vertical scale (i.e. height) on the cover picture - perhaps a standing astronaut? It looks as if the habitats are each about 3m off the ground, and the crater wall would then be some 15m high.

The top-down view is nice and clear, however you'll have to find some way of indicating people who have ducked under structures, as there's no way to accomodate this in miniatures use. Of course, this isn't a problem if you are just using this as a visual aid to show your players what their characters can see.

A nice little base, and remember - in space, nobody can hear you scream!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : Moon Base
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book IOI : Asteroid Monitor
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2013 12:04:58

This is an interesting type of boat that offers a rather potent weapon system, unfortuantely the type 4 power plant means only 50% of it's armament can be used at a time.

Also I am not comfortable with an all particle beam armament, which should be a single Particle Beam in a triple turret as I understand the Mongoose rules, otherwise no point in a Particle Beam Bay but it's quite easy to modify for MTU.

There a brief description of the vessel, some crew details (Lieutenant Sangarius is going to be one of my favourites), a breakdown of how it is put together, 2 page of colour exterior views and 2 pages of deckplans, which lack detail and a grid.

However, it's bargain price and reasonable value for money, so I don't want to appear too negative.

David



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book IOI : Asteroid Monitor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book II00 : Cruise Ship
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2013 11:52:45

OK, I was not anticipating a 20 kton liner from the description and I have not tried this ship in a game, as I'm not sure if it can actually make money in MTU.

However, there is a brief description of the vessel and some crew, a breakdown of how it is put together, including hit tables, 2 pages of colour exterior views and 5 page of deckplans. The deckplans lack a grid and aren't terribly detailed, but at the price are good value for money.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book II00 : Cruise Ship
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book I0I0 : Maintenance Tug
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2013 11:44:41

A neat litttle booklet with an interesting little 50 ton craft and one I find quite believable.

There is a brief description of the vessel & crew, a breakdown of how it is put together, 2 pages of colour exterior views and a page of deckplans.

My main criticism is the snsence of a grid on the deckplan.

Overall excellent value for money

David



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book I0I0 : Maintenance Tug
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book I : Pirate Interceptor
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2013 11:41:06

A neat litttle booklet with an interesting type of ersatz fighter and one I find quite believable.

There is a brief description of the vessel, a breakdown of how it is put together, a page of colur exterior views and a page of deckplans.

My main criticism is the grid on the deckplan is suitable for a larger ship, it is also rather dark.

Overall excellent value for money

David



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book I : Pirate Interceptor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Starships Book IO : Pirate Barge
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/28/2013 11:36:55

A neat little booklet with an interesting ship and one I find quite believable. There is a description of the vessel, a breakdown of how it is put together, details of the crew 2 pages of colour exterior views and 2 pages of deckplans.

My main criticism is there is no grid on the deckplans making it a little difficult to use.

Overall excellent value for money

David



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Book IO : Pirate Barge
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Photovoltaic Plant
by Megan R. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/18/2013 09:14:45

I am not totally certain why you should choose the middle of an array of solar panels to have a brawl, but if that's your intention - or you can come up with another need of a battlemap depicting this scene - well, here's a very nice one.

Depicted in Hollnbuchner's clean crisp style, the plan depicts serried ranks of solar panels between two dirt tracks. Viewed top-down, shadows are used to create depth for the panels. As the dirt tracks run through grass, this is suggested to be a rural area - solar power plants tend to need plenty of space after all - but temperate rather than desert.

Although it's pretty obvious what you need to do, assembly instructions are included. You will need to figure out a way to mark which solar panels get broken, assuming you are staging a combat scene here. Remember that some use quite nasty chemicals, as well as the more mundane problem of broken glass!

So if your intention is to disrupt power supplies, or you just happen to be mooching around a solar plant when your enemies catch up with you... or maybe something has been hidden out here that you want to find... here's the battlemap for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : Photovoltaic Plant
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battlemap : Confederate Camp
by Roger L. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/14/2013 06:45:28
http://www.teilzeithelden.de

Was mir besonders gut an dieser Karte aus Hollnbuchners Repertoire gefällt, ist, dass die Atmosphäre hat. Die klaren weißen Formen der Zelte setzen sich gut ab zur Vegetation im Umfeld. Gut ist auch, dass im Gegensatz zur Abbildung auf dem Frontcover die Fahne keine Nationalität zeigt.

Ich habe die Karte eingesetzt, um einem Pulp-Setting ein Lager von britischen Soldaten in Indien darzustellen. Meine Spieler als auch ich waren sehr zufrieden und konnten gut mit der Karte umgehen. Auch der Zusammenbau hat sich dank einer Übersicht leicht gestaltet.

Ich werde weiterhin Hollnbuchners Produkte nehmen, denn mir gefallen sie in ihrer sauberen Einfachheit. Würde ich einen Wunsch äussern dürfen, würde ich mir generell mehr kleine Details wünschen. Eine Munitionskiste dort, eine Eimer da. Das würde der Karte zu mehr Schönheit und Gehalt verhelfen



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battlemap : Confederate Camp
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 66 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG