Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Atarashi Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Yeld Paper Monsters: Spell Casters
by Ryan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2019 10:50:50

I absoulety love these. If you are play Yeld these minatures are a MUST have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yeld Paper Monsters: Spell Casters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Yeld Paper Monsters: Fairy Warband
by Ryan D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2019 07:57:20

This pack of monsters is amazing! I am really excited to use them in our next adventure. The quality is top notch. These guys never disapoint.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Yeld Paper Monsters: Fairy Warband
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Magical Land of Yeld
by Newton P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2019 09:22:23

I originally bought this game to introduce my kids to RPGs. It has a lot of great kid-friendly art (I later found out one of the authors writes a comic: modest medusa). As I started flipping pages, I was blown away by the sheer amount of content, and clever ideas (some rules I'll be now using for my grown-up rpgs!).

At its core, the main mechanic is a simple d6 pool, where your stats/attributes (called "core dice") and things like weapons and special abilities all add aditional dice to your pool. The total of all your dice is compared to the Game Master's target number, or in the case of a competition, the other player/monster's total.

Player Characters (called "friends") will gain dice (either in their stats or special abilities) by advancing in a class (called "Heroic Jobs") or through some roleplaying challenges. Players create a "friend" based on archetypes like: Big Sister, Bully, and even a Dog. Heroic Jobs give access to special abilities (including magic) and uniquie abilities that are only available to that Herioc Job.

Combat is always repersented on an 8 x 8 grid (obviously for simplicity, although I don't see any reason that couldn't change). Your attack pool (which includes weapons) is compared to the target's defense pool (which includes armor) and if you have the higher total, you remove 1 of thier core "Tough" dice.

So far, all of this is pretty standard rpg material (purposly so, to help kids learn the rules). But there are some very clever twists on traditional rpg rules:

Combat initiative allows the Players to always go first. But introduces an "Excuse Me" rule, where monsters can try to interrupt and take their turn instead. Based on rolls, this means each round of combat has an unpredictable initiative order - keeping everyone on their toes.

Teamwork is the key to winning fights, as every success the previous player gets, allows the next player to get a culmaltive +1 bonus die to thier pool. This means you are excited to see your fellow players succeed - and slowly ramps up the action.

Hiding and Sneaking is brilliantly done, allowing the stealthy "rogue" types to hide, removing themselves from the battle board. If they come in at the end of the first round, they can enter any 'edge' of the board. If they sneak further, coming into play after the 2nd+ round, they can place thier charater in ANY square on the battle board. Of course there is risk to this, and a monster can use it's action to try and spot/stop them.

Magic allows your character to use any spell they know, but the more powerful the spell, the higher the Target Number they have to roll to successfully cast the spell. But your spell roll is also used by monsters to 'resist' that spell. So rolling great has its rewards. However, magic can also be "fumbled/backfire", if you roll two or more "1's" in your pool. These can have very chaotic (and fun!) results.

No one finds it fun to die or go unconscious (loosing all your Tough pool) during battle - especially kids. But the game introduces "ghosts". While you are temporarily out of the fight, you may have "ghost" actions, which may aid friends, 'haunt' enemies, or even do battle with other ghosts. This is a great way for to ensure players can still have fun, even if thier character is temporarily disabled.

I could continue to ramble-on, mentioning scores of cool magic items, the great villians/campaign that is built in, how important calandar dates and the "friend's" age becomes important, and how it uses lavish illustrations throughout to walk you through the rules.

If I had to give one negative to my review, it would be about the organization of a few of the rules. Often I found myself flipping back and forth to find rules. For example, spells are introduced early in the book, but magic backfires are explained later in the book. Or how weapons are described in one section, but how some weapons require 2 hands to wield is descibe in a different section.

This is a stunning game, and while it is geared for kids, it would make a valuable addition to any RPG collection. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical Land of Yeld
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Magical Land of Yeld
by Robert H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 19:33:23

The good: Excellent artwork and interesting character concepts. The gameplay is fairly simple, as well, and I can think of few RPGs where a party of dogs is viable.

The bad: At present, very few win conditions beyond beating the Prince and leaving Yeld, the dog characters have few obvious lose conditions the way the human characters do, and the PDF lacks bookmarks at time of writing.

Additional thoughts: Playing as monsters and trying to save the world would be worth exploring, as well as some more written bits to help one get a feel for the tone and action a group can expect a la Shadowrun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical Land of Yeld
by craig h. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2018 17:27:56

Fun way to introduce RPG's to kids, fantastic artwork, fun to play. lots of content.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classroom Deathmatch
by mark b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2017 05:16:10

Great theme, mechanics and gameplay. if the GM reads thought the PDF very easy to run a game with players with next to no experience. A full session can take from 4-5hours so best cut into 2 sessions or one long session. Really underrated gem, but be prepared for total brutality. (My one gripe is there are a few pages missing from the pdf. A sentance seems to end halfway trough and it looks like about 3pages are missing. Unsure what this is but I would like to see them.) 8/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classroom Deathmatch
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ocean
by Dan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2015 14:55:52

It's clear if a little purposefully vague, but what appeals to me most with this game is the unique setting and the character system based around amnesiacs literally recovering their histories and uncovering mysteries. It's a streamlined, thematic system and charming (in a dark kind of way) illustrations.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Panty Explosion Perfect
by Ilias L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2013 11:42:16

Great game! Any chance we could have access to the cover so I can print the book? Thank you in advance.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ocean
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/06/2013 15:01:50

Ocean is an example of how simple an RPG can be and still be effective.

In Ocean, the players are all people who have woken up in an underwater Station with no memory of how they got there, who they are, or what the monsters are that are stalking and picking them off. They will try to solve three mysteries involving their situation, and survive to escape to safety.

The mechanics of the game are freeform with respect to everything except survival and mystery. Players develop the mystery through rolling dice to find clues to each of the mysteries (who are we? what are the monsters?) and to find supplies that will help them survive and escape. The supplies (weapons, keys, files, etc.) are described in detail.

As a LOST fan, I really like the "castaway" element of the game. The characters are isolated and must work together to succeed in a situation they don't understand. The deck is very much stacked against them mechanically - it's extremely unlikely that everyone will escape together. But with good planning and skillful play they may have a chance.

This competitive/challenge element is not something you normally see in narrative style games of this kind, and it works very well. It also sets up situations where one character might sacrifice themselves for the group, or might throw someone to the wolves (so to speak) for their own benefit, which are highly dramatic and interesting character actions not normally given mechanical weight.

This is a solid game that you will want to run more than once, to compare what was created across several groups. It's also an ideal convention scenario, with almost exactly enough content to learn and understand in a single session with a tight ending.

The presentation of the material with a comic book style to help people understand the tone and mechanics is also innovative and good (though the really constricted text gets a bit old at times.) Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Panty Explosion Perfect
by Thiago R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2012 07:01:05

A good narrative game, with simple rules and good art. The art could be better in a few spots (sometimes the eyes look very very weird) and the rules look like rehashed FATE concepts, but it just fits very well, so it's not really a problem.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Perfect
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Magical Land of Yeld: Mermaid Hunters
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2012 00:22:07

I could say a lot, but I will just say this - Mermaid Hunters represents everything that is great about The Magical Land of Yeld. If any part of you adores the adventure of childhood fantasy then buying this will render it a service.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical Land of Yeld: Mermaid Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Sea Dracula Wave 2
by RAISTLIN W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2010 05:07:07

I love this. It's easy to learn. It's quick to play. And it's completely insane.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sea Dracula Wave 2
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ocean
by Michael K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2009 09:29:23

This game is really cool. I really enjoy the concept of being survivors in an abandoned undersea lab and solving the mystery of how the characters got there, what the lab is for, and what the heck the "monsters" stalking them are. Has a nice, rules-lite system with no GM whose dice-pool betting mechnics really does a good job simulating how things happen in survival horror / thriller movies. While the mysteries you solve are set by the game you will solve them as a group, as there is no GM to create the story everyone gets a chance to narrate, describe scenes, and have their character discover clues. It's less structured and more interactive than some games and that may turn-off some people. I think this is a great little game to run as a break from your regular session and try something different.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ocean
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Magical land of Yeld [playtest edition 2.0]
by Miguel d. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2009 16:51:05

The Magical Land of Yeld

This game it is so new it is still in beta. The pdf ebook (which can be read by almost every computer on earth, I presume) costs just $2.00 -two bucks- and it will give you a lot of punch for that money. It is a game that would appeal to younger children and would not scare parents. Nobody can die, when the adventurer party is wiped out, they just appear back in home. It’s incredibly funny, with many subtle references to Japanese anime for kids. In other words, this game speaks your children language. Most of the game world is left to the players. They give you a blank map and tons of ideas to fill it up. And not just combat and persecutions and those boyish jolly stuff, there are holidays and parties too!

And you always have an adventure. That is, you have arrived to the Magical Land of Yeld but you want to return home… which is a wee tricky, you need to collect keys, badges and very cool equipment. Kids would love that.

Rules are super easy to catch and the character sheet is a sweet to understand. And in this game even the GM has to obey the rules, and plays a character too. (GM = the player who “tells” the story for you non-roleplayers )

Beta means it’s rough around the edges. No flashy pics, very simple format (your printer would love that) and there are few typos, but for $2.00 I’m more than willing to forgive those. (Plus you can email the authors and tell them how to improve the game). Seriously, I’m loving this one.

Excerpt from my blog eldietario.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Magical land of Yeld [playtest edition 2.0]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Panty Explosion Classic
by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/19/2007 00:00:00

Panty Explosion

Panty Explosion is a game that I am not the intended target for. The game is about Japanese Psychic Schoolgirls. I understand that this is a genre within the anime, manga, and live action movies Japan has. I am mostly unfamiliar with all of that. I read list of items the author used as inspiration and I had not heard of let alone seen any of them. So, while I am new to the genre the role playing game aspect is something that I am very familiar with and I can easily say I like what I read here. Panty Explosion is a game for a very tight audience. It is not a game that can do other things; all of its focus is on this genre and it works. Panty Explosion is a relatively new RPG by Atarashi Games. It is written by Jake Richmond and Matt Schlotte. It comes in a small ninety six page book. The art is all very respectful and of realistic looking Japanese schoolgirls. I use the word respectful because the title can make people wonder otherwise. The book has a very cool lay out that makes it look like it was written in a school note book and there are the occasional little doodles and scribbles in there. The character sheet is provided in the back of the book and it is made to resemble a student?s Permanent School Record. They do a very good job with the art and look of everything to reinforce the school setting of the game. Panty Explosion is at its core a horror game. But it is really hard to tell that from just a casual reading and understanding. The players are playing Japanese schoolgirls that are trying to just survive school. And to make it worse there are demons that want them dead. Not all the characters will be psychic. It is a blessing and a curse and the book does a very good job of demonstrating that. On the surface the game may deal with the characters getting read for school and dealing with bullies or being the bully, popularity, after school jobs and activities; there is always the fear of strangers and demons. I think if I understood the genre a little better I would have a better grasp of how it all fits together. Panty Explosion has its own mechanics and character generation. This is a character driven game and everything really enforces that. One of the items with character creation is blood type. Apparently the Japanese place a lot more into blood type then I ever knew. Blood type does not dictate personality it does though help to define it. type is important as it defines personality and certain blood types are seen as better then others. And then each person has a trait based on their blood type. It is a bit more of a defining characteristic like people know they can rely on her, asks the right questions, devil?s advocate, or always thinks before she speaks. Then one selects the month the character was born in and this once again will help define the character?s personality. A trait based on the month will also be selected. I really like the defining of the character?s personality and focus on that during character generation. It really does a nice job of showing what the game sees as important. The closest the game has to stats is with the five elements. Each character basically fifteen points among the five elements of Earth, Water, Fire, Air, and Void. Each point represents a die that will be rolled to accomplish tasks. Each element covers different types of actions. Each one is also strongly associated with certain personality traits. So someone with a strong Earth would possible be stubborn and confidant. They like to see things remain as they are. Each of the elements has traits with them as well and for one?s character the player picks the element they feel fits the character best and assigns one trait associated with the element. Each player will then also pick a trait associated with their family and one about their hobbies. Traits are important as they allow one to roll higher dice. If the character gets to roll d6?s, when they try to do something related to one of their traits they get to use d8?s. Each character has a best friend and rival. These are other player characters. One player can claim another character is her rival and that character can have the first one be her best friend. This is important later as the game is played. When a character succeeds in an action the player playing the best friend describes how the success happens. When a character fails it is her rival?s player that describes the failure. It is a very interesting mechanic that makes the players much more involved in the game. It can also be a challenge for people not used to basically doing some of the Superintendent?s job. The Superintendent is the DM of the game. At the beginning of each game each student selects an agenda that the character is trying to accomplish. These are important because the demon is reinforced by unresolved agendas. Once an agenda is succeeded the character acquires s a trait that reflects the completion of the agenda. There is a long list of sample agendas in the book and I think this will be really helpful for people not sure of what to do with their characters. It is a nice and simple way to give a focus of what the character will do and a goal for them to go towards. The last bit of importance for the characters is popularity. Before each game there is a secret vote to see which character is the most and least popular. Anyone with psychic powers can never be the most popular. This determines what dice one rolls to accomplish tasks. The most popular uses a d10, the least a d6, and every one else use d8?s. In a given sequence of events each character has a poll of dice depending on their elements. Once a character uses all her fire dice for instance she can not take actions that are governed by fire. This should help players get a little more creative and it also helps scenes come to an end. There is a lot of conflict but rarely is it going to be deadly. It can be dealing with tests, and bullies and other things people encounter in schools. I would have liked to see a sample adventure or something more to get an even better understanding on what happens in the game. There is a section that explains it and a good portion of the book is dedicated to the setting and the feel of the game. As a novice to the genre though I felt I needed a little bit more. The writing for the character generation is interesting and involves the reader. The setting writing reads a little too fact based. There is some colorful characters and the first half is fun to read. But then the tone changes as it goes into the Japanese culture and what their schools are like. At times it seemed like something one would hear on a news report. It is very informative but little else. Panty Explosion is a game that covers an area that no other game I have seen does. It has a very interesting and well done character generation system. I really enjoy the use of traits, the simple mechanics, and the way the game involves different people at the table. How the game runs and what a session looks like though is a little harder for me to grasp.

<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Panty Explosion Classic
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG