Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Game Designers' Workshop (GDW) » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
CT-S06-76 Patrons
by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2019 10:29:54

The scan is well presented, includes searchable text and a personalised watermark. The PDF page numbering is not synchronised with the page numbers of the supplement.

The suppliment is an excellent introduction to the Traveller universe, it gives the flavour of life in Classic Traveller. The encounters generally push the players into conflict with local law enforcement.

Four of these encounters are in Starter Traveller (1, 5, 6, and 20)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-S06-76 Patrons
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
by Dan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/25/2019 19:49:29

this is NOT the most up-to-date version. this is a first printing copy and requires TONS of errata to function. Now I have to track an actual updated copy.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
TNE-0300 Traveller: The New Era
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT- DT-Deluxe Traveller
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/23/2019 03:26:10

Very good value; classic science fiction role playing system still works great this many years later. Contains the "little black books," second edition of 1981 (1977, 1st ed.). Book 0 is useful for beginners. Map included. Adventure book included also not available except in the Classic Reprints series. The approx. 200 pages of material is not exactly the same as in The Traveller Book (1982). See the FFE Lost Rules suppliment for the differences between the '77 and '81 LLBs, as well as the Traveller Book. Text is pleasing to see and read. Design and art is classic sci-fi in the sense of having a precise but well organized almost computer-like aesthetic that is still managable to use. Character, ship, and world generation are games in themselves. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT- DT-Deluxe Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
by Luke F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2019 01:08:35

I used to have an original Traveller Book at one time. That was over 25 years ago. I am very happy with the reprint book. I would recommend this to any Classic Traveller Player and Referee.

Overall I love the quality of this book. Makes you want to start playing as soon as you open it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

T2000 v2 Twilight: 2000 2nd Edition Version 2.2
by John H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/19/2019 01:50:45

It is an interesting setting and a decent core-mechanic (roll a d20 under a target score, which is an 'asset' (a skill plus attribute) doubled, halved or quartered and so on for difficulty). The combat system is crunchy but reasonably simple once you get used to it and just as importantly, have organized the information you need better. The character generation system and background are conceptually fine but woefully implemented, since the designers have not quite thought through how these systems interact with the core mechanic properly. The rules for interacting with environment and surviving are excellent, as is much of the system dealing with encounters and NPCs and so on, although the GM is left to deal with some quite important issues (ones of campaign design on the one hand and on how to run encounters with large numbers of combatants on the other) with insufficient guidance. Min-maxing is easy: so easy that I am unsure as to whether the authors designed it purposefully that way or not. The rules are quite badly organized and bloated too, given the central simplicity. There is a good game in there, but it will need some help to emerge. The character system is too hardwired to easily do much about though.

I have a longer and more detailed review here, along with a short playthrough: https://thewhirlwindofthemaelstrom.blogspot.com/2019/07/twilight-2000-second-edition.html



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v2  Twilight: 2000 2nd Edition Version 2.2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
by Richard L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 09:51:36

This is more a review of the Print on Demand service than the actual game as the game is well known. The book took a month to arrive but the quality of the product is outstanding. Very sturdy and the pages have the same quality and feel as the old 1st Ed. AD&D books from long ago.

The print quality is clear and as mentioned by other reviewers in regards to the illustrations, the space scenes are slightly darker than the pdf with most stars washed out and the red is slightly different but it doesn't detract from it at all.

If you missed out all those years ago on getting this book when it was first printed, I highly recommend this version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Twilight: 2000 v1.0 [BUNDLE]
by Connor B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 14:19:30

Some of these scans are pretty poor quality. Not sure who provided them, and it doesn't obscure the content (thankfully), but still pretty poor quality. Surely there are better hard copies out there (I have most of these and they're in better shape for sure).



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Twilight: 2000 v1.0 [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Traveller5 Font 11 Compartment Symbols
by Alvin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2019 21:43:13

A nice, practical addition to the game for starship designers. I feel that T5 is best at the starship design game, and I am looking forward to more!

They may be interested in supporting more Traveller gearhead needs: I hope they'll look into it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller5 Font 11 Compartment Symbols
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Pierre S [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2019 15:19:16

The classic edition of Traveller is a great game, and no game has yet touched its fame for science fiction tabletop RPGs. Traveller covered all the "space" things in a detailed setting called the Third Imperium, a unified star community ruled by an Emperor. Traveller spawned an extensive series of supplements, which you can take or leave as needed for the emphasis of your particular game, whether star merchants or space mercenaries or explorer scouts.

Star sector maps are laid down in hexagons, each is a parsec (3.26 light-years), and starships have Jump Drives which depending on the engine rating of the ship can Jump from 1 to 6 of those parsecs but each Jump takes a week. There is no faster way to get news or goods across the stars, so the political feel resembles 18th-century sailing. The Imperium is held together but its size is causing strain. The Imperium also borders on alien empires which range from coldly neutral to hostile.

The Traveller Starter edition (1982) did some reorganization of the original LBBs (Little Black Books) of 1977 and presents all the tables of the game in the second booklet, cross-referenced to the pages of the rulebook. A third booklet presents two short adventures.

Traveller is "old school" and the best way to learn it is to take its systems one at a time. Randomly generating star-maps is particularly fun, a kind of mini-game within the game, with the main world in each system defined as to size, atmosphere, population, and government with rolls of six-sided dice (only). Nowadays the fans offer web-based computer utilities to instantly generate vast tracts of space, or use the huge, defined Imperium map already available online at travellermap.com.

Characters are generated by taking an unformed 18-year-old and choosing one of six military or other careers which are determined in 4-year Terms that you must survive. First you roll 2d6 six times to establish Characteristics by the names of Strength, Dexterity, Endurance, Intelligence, Education and Social Standing. High or low values of these traits may give you a Dice Modifier on Skill Rolls (in the most basic dice-rolling rules, you must roll 8 or more, "8+" by rolling 2d6+ a Skill Level). Characters without a Skill in something are penalized at -3, so even 0-Level Skills are useful to avoid this Unskilled penalty. Gain Skill levels and promotions each Term, but also run a chance of character death or dropping out of the career. Physical Characteristics have a chance to decline each Term starting at age 34, and even mental Characteristics may decline for seniors, an incentive to voluntarily "muster out" instead of collecting yet more skill-levels by being as old as you can be. Once your old career is done, you roll randomly for Mustering Out (cash or final benefits based on number of Terms). This leaves you with an older, more seasoned character ready to adventure. However, you can never directly pick your skills! You can place yourself in the desired career, and choose to roll on one of several skill tables but at the end of a term one or more d6 rolls determines what skill is granted! Again, as a game-within-a-game this activity can be fun for some. Characters who are failed or not-quite-right spacers can populate your universe as NPCs!

The personal combat system, in basic Traveller, is NOT on a grid-map but more abstractly defined with "bands" similar to a football field! There are also rules for trade (buy low, sell high of course), which is easy to do as you note the characteristics of the world you're going to (Trade Codes like INdustrial or Non-Industrial, Agricultural, etc.) which give bonuses or penalties to the negotiated price of cargo when it is bought at the source or sold at destination. Nothing is a sure thing, however, providing yet another system that is a fun economic mini-game within the larger RPG story! Use profits to fuel up (ships have fusion engines that will run on ANY source of water or hydrogen such as from a planet or gas giant, preferably refined to keep out impurities), maintain your ship, for life-support, for crew salaries (we love R&R) and pay off the expensive monthly mortgage on your ship. The starship combat, in the original version, is not gridded either, but takes note of what you have for weapon turrets and rolls the damage to the other ship and what sub-system was damaged.

Definitely a solid science fiction experience.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

T2000 v2 Twilight: 2000 2nd Edition Version 2.2
by Lachie H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 18:35:53

Probably one of the best military simulation games out there, although may be challenging for new players used to other d20 systems and the rulebook is desperately in need of some organisation as the layout can be confusing.

The following may help you interest and introduce new players:



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
T2000 v2  Twilight: 2000 2nd Edition Version 2.2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-2 FIVE Deck Plan Set
by joel R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/18/2019 15:48:42

T5 compatible deck plans are awesome. a very useful accessory to the Traveller 5 Universe.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller5 Starships & Spacecraft-2 FIVE Deck Plan Set
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2019 18:33:52

The contents of this book are well known because this work was first published in 1982 (if not search online for reviews). With respect to the printed version, the binding and print quality of this new hardback are top notch. Strong binding and heavy covers ensure a long potential life. In any format, highly recommended as an introduction to the foundations of Traveller. For aficianados of sci fi role playing the book is a work of art because the rules and design are coherent and whole. A classic that all serious role playing game players especially referees should have in their library.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
CT-TTB-The Traveller Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
by Robin C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2019 15:50:34

Essential reading and reference for any Traveller RPG fan, irresepctive of version. Could be expanded but this is undoubetdly an excellent start. The literature of scifi is at this point so large selections of types of scifi are needed for a readable work. Reviews of Traveller novels and other fiction seem fair and honest even while symapthetic. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

CT-ST-Starter Traveller
by Frederic H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 07:01:15

Unfortunately the PDFs consist of skewed scanned pages without OCR or table of contents. So full text searches are not possible. Would have been easy to add in the process.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CT-ST-Starter Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

T5 Traveller5 Core Rules 3-Book Set
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/19/2018 19:58:14

Note this review refers to version 5.09 last updated 7th June 2015 bought 2nd September 2018.

Traveller 5, oh how I wanted to love you.

Background, 1978 - Traveller was the first RPG I bought and I bought a most, if not all of the LBBs over the next few years. We drifted apart as I moved on to FGU's "Space Opera" and I never kept up with all of the subsequent versions.

Fast forward to around a year ago, I have a Sci-Fi loving, Fantasy hating son who's approaching "RPG age" so I decide to introduce him to RPGs via Traveller. I still have my LBBs but digging around on the internet I find out about all of these new versions. My interest is piqued in T5, but ultimately I go for Mongoose 2 because of a special offer on DTRPG but the Traveller 5 itch is still there, so, a few months on, I've taken the plunge.

First impression - Where's the Cover? Why did you not include the iconic Black and Red cover? When I double clicked on the pdf - that's what I was expecting - and not getting that thrill was a major disappointment. Not a good start.

Anyway, to give you an idea of the issues I've encountered so far, scroll through to the Contents page and have a read. Combat, page 210, so you type 210 into Adobe Acrobat and you are propelled over 30 pages into the Combat section. So, the Contents haven't been updated, but the page numbers have, and what's worse, the conversion factor isn't a constant - the further you go into the book, the more innaccurate the contents page is. I think the main reason for the discrepancy is moving the various early sections like Dice, Ehex, ranges and Distance to appendices - which seems to be a good idea. But, because it's not constant that's not the whole story, I feel - although as this is the only copy of T5 I have ever seen I can't be sure - as if section splash pages have also been deleted because the actual start of Combat is pretty abrupt with an unheaded page containing a description of the Combat round, followed next page by the heading "Personal Combat" So, in summary, the contents section is useless, and I have a strong suspicion some pages are missing.

But there is now an index the ommission of which caused much rage upon the release, let's look up "Combat" - Accurate but useless for anything significant. Let me explain; "Combat" has ten lines of page numbers with a mixture of individual pages and page ranges, clearly machine generated but not human-edited so the actual Combat section, the bit you're probably looking for, starts on line three of the combat entry and reads thus: 176-180, 182, 184-188, 191, 200... etc. What about pages 181 & 183? They're about Armor and don't happen to have the word "Combat" on the page, so they're not part of the index entry for "Combat" - logical for a computer. So, to actually find the Combat section you either have to "know" that you subtract 34 from the Contents page entry (210), or you have to "know" by looking at the ten lines of page numbers in the index which are the relevant ones. Good luck with that.

Oh, and whoever generated the PDF either didn't bother or didn't know how to generate bookmarks so you can't navigate that way.

So, in summary, you have a 759 page book with a reputation (according to reviews I've read) for having the content scattered a little haphazardly and there is no way to navigate the pdf... and FFE haven't updated since June 2015 - over three years ago. So, a potentially wonderful reference for Traveller referees regardless of their preferred flavour has been crippled by bad execution. Please guys, regenerate the table of contents and add hyperlinks to the contents page entries, add the Chapters as bookmarks at an absolute minimum, Re-add any missing pages and the iconic cover (which is the thumbnail used to actually sell the thing on DTRPG), and finally, if at all possible, send some brave soul through the index to actually do it properly - for obscure terms, it's great (e.g. "Waterskins" has a single, correct (but unlinked), page reference), for less obscure things, like Combat, it's useless.

With all of the poor editing, poor navigation, and missing cover/pages the general impression is of the sort of thing handed out free to Beta testers; not the full price ninth revision of a book published over five years ago. There is no excuse for this lack of polish at this price. Mongoose do far more polished products, heck, even veritable minnows like Gypsy Knight games display infinitely better commitment to the ongoing support of their products. As I write this, R. Talsorian games seem to be updating all of their Cyberpunk stuff from the early '90s (adding bookmarks) as I'm getting regular e-mails saying that new versions of the books I've bought are available.

Finally, an offer. Send me a copy as a "Word" file and I'll do as much tweaking as I have time for as a labour of love and thank-you for those LBBs back when I was a teenager. Contact me if you want to take me up on it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
T5 Traveller5 Core Rules 3-Book Set
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 509 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG