Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Design Mechanism » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mythras
by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/01/2020 15:23:58

This is a great book, great rules, great RPG. Literally my only complaint is the small typeset makes the book difficult to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Classic Fantasy - TDM500
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2020 10:32:02

For decades, Fantasy RPG's were dominated by... the game that shall not be named. This presented a problem for those of us who first tasted a fantasy game that was a little more... gritty... as in ACTUALLY gritty... not based on the setting, or on the... aviance... no... a game where your MIGHTY WARRIOR can literally be killed with a single assassin's blow. Where your MIGHTY WIZARD still fears a dagger in the spleen, and your MOST EXCELLENT HIGH HOLINESS CLERIC might get his throat cut by an unscrupulous rival.

Well, here is Classic Fantasy, translated to Rune... right, can't say that... to FRP. Same crunchy bits, same devious foes... but now, you hold in your hands the translation from the... game that shall not be named... to a more RQ... BRP... or Mythras.

You will never be SO high a level, that the dagger in the dark is not a threat... your Warriors, Wizards, Paladins, etc... will have to rely on their skills, their wits, and ultimately, their own abilities.

Like RQ... you have your backgrounds: Barbarian, Civilized, Nomadic and Primitive. If you choose another race (other than human), you will choose your Racial background. Half Orcs and Half Elves can choose either their Demi Human parent's background, or their Human parent's background.

Then choose your class. Keep in mind that this is an RQ/BRP system... so though the usual complexity of the magic system isn't here, you still must put points into the requisite skills to cast spells (for Magic Users: Arcane Casting and Arcane Knowledge, for Clerics: Channel and Piety). You'll recognize the classic classes from the 1st edition of the.... the game that shall not be named. But here is the difference... YOU define your character's skills, etc... based on what you select. If you choose a fighter, are you a Melee fighter, or more of a ranged fighter... are you a Fighting Cleric, or more of a Medic type? You are provided a standard set of skills, then you take your skill points and build from there.

Now... Rank. Rank is like level, the only difference is: Rank is defined in words, skill points, etc... the equivalent of a 1-4th level character is called a Fresh character... then comes Low Level, Mid Level, High Level and Epic... each with a range of "levels" per the old system.

Magic. All the classic spells are here. Those who can use Magic or Clerical Magic use Magic points to cast.

So... this is a translation from BRP to Classic RPG's.

If you've ever wanted to translate your classic high level character to a BRP type... this is your guide. All in all, a tremendous effort that really brings the OTHER game, to a BRP style game.

Oh... and don't mess with dragons... in Classic... they are fearsome creatures that will SERIOUSLY eat you for lunch...

This is Heroic Fantasy without the classic "damage sponging."



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Classic Fantasy - TDM500
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Casting the Runes Preview
by Erich G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2020 17:45:07

I also got the full pre-production pdf from the kickstarter in January, it is awesome!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Casting the Runes Preview
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Lyonesse: Fantasy Roleplaying Based on the Novels by Jack Vance
by Jamie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2020 21:51:23

A high watermark for a hardcover RPG book, Lyonesse is filled with beautiful illustrations and wonderfully rendered maps, all neatly organized in a sharp and elegant layout. The prose is delightful and immersive and the rules (as you'd expect from the Mythras lads) are utterly water-tight and clearly exhaustively playtested. The black and white illustrations are excellent, and the full colour maps are some of the best I have seen in any recent publications. The world of Lyonesse is so evocatively described, that I have been compelled to read Jack Vance's books for the first time. An absolute treasure of a book. Well done to all involved.

However, this was my first experience ordering anything from a POD service, and I must say I was a bit underwhelmed at times with the print quality of some of the pages. Some maps were slightly pixelated and some of the text looked slightly blurry. Not an absolute dealbreaker, as most of the pages seem fine, but something to consider.

This book will take pride of place on my shelf. Pick it up!

-Jamie Banks



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lyonesse: Fantasy Roleplaying Based on the Novels by Jack Vance
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras Combat Cards
by Jason D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/22/2020 11:21:43

I have found this combat cards to be very helpful. The PDF is organized wondefully and the addition of the Strobus Codex is nice. The physical cards are of good quality and work well at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras Combat Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2020 16:41:17

Un grand merci à l'équipe derrière Mythras qui nous offre un jeu très bien écrit, élégant et bien équilibré.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Lyonesse: Fantasy Roleplaying Based on the Novels by Jack Vance
by Nick J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 12:36:04

I'm still worming my way through it, but as a huge fan of the Lyonesse books (and Vance in general) and the BRP family of games, I can safely say that so far, this is the most impressed I've been with a product since I picked up Elric! The layout is superb, the prose is great, the magic systems seem inspired, and (this is the big one for me) I can't think of anything I would house-rule or change as I read it.

There have only been a handful of other games that I had the same initial reaction to (Elric!, and Dungeon Crawl Classics perhaps?). It's everything that's great about Mythras, but tuned to perfection to capture what makes the Lyonesse books so special.

I can't wait to start my next campaign here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Lyonesse: Fantasy Roleplaying Based on the Novels by Jack Vance
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Take Cover!: Mythras Combat Module - TDMCM002
by Orietta M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2020 05:36:19

When I first read Mythras, I immediately understood how intuitive and yet immersive the combat system was. But this series has helped me realize that the game is even better than I thought. Dan True, the author of this scenario, brilliantly uses the rules to teach players how to fight and, above all, how to think. Strategy and tactics are the main pillars here.

An absolute masterwork.

Dharman



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Take Cover!: Mythras Combat Module - TDMCM002
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras
by Ville K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2019 09:14:17

Thorough and elegant, easily best iteration of the d100 ruleset. One of the best written rpg books I've read.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythic Britain Companion
by James G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:48:04

Can't wait to play aroundBamburgh

There was a giant wyrm there that'll be a battle.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Britain Companion
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras Imperative
by Brendan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 23:29:16

I have yet to actually run a game with the rules, but this quickstart did a phenomenal job of explaining the system in a quick, digestible fashion. I read the whole thing over several days on my phone while waiting in line, eating lunch, waiting for the elevator, etc. Even though I read Mythras Imperative in such a casual manner, I feel completely confident in my ability to run a game using the rules. Furthermore, this quickstart has convinced me to shell out for the complete Mythras core rules. I highly recommend Mythras Imperative if you are undecided on the system. It's free and explains the system with excellent clarity and reasonable brevity.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras Imperative
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
by Michael D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2018 19:43:25

As others have pointed out, this is the Mythras/Runequest adaptation of the Luther Arkwright stories.

If you have a love for creating parallel worlds, if you love Dr. Who, or even if you just want to really mess with your players, here is your Holy Grail.

Players will be cast as Valhalla agents, crossing dimensions to thwart the Disruptors, and set things back on course.

But if you aren't a fan of Luther Arkwright... use this as a sourcebook for all things dimension and time hopping. It even has tables to help you design new worlds/parallels.

Definitely worth the price. AND it's a D100 system... so think Chaosium BRP, Runequest, Mythras... M-Space, Call of Cthulhu... the possibilities are... well, quite seriously, endless...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Luther Arkwright: Roleplaying Across the Parallels
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras Firearms
by Evan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/10/2018 08:59:16

As a gun guy and a big fan of Runequest I was very excited to see this product and the price was right. Sadly as a gun guy I can see that the stats have a LOT of problems, especially ranges do not make sense for the weapons. A nice attempt, but flawed, so flawed I will not be using.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras Firearms
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythic Constantinople - TDM230
by Derrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2018 16:34:24

Excelent work on a period often ignored by games and history. This contains a lot of detail, they include a disclaimer that this is not a textbook and goes for playability but the overall accuracy of the history and life of the late Roman Empire is amazing. Despite its size it is an easy read and does not bog down players or GMs with too much.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythic Constantinople - TDM230
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Mythras
by Douglas N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2018 20:34:10

I purchased runequest 6 a couple of years after it came out, on the recommendation that it would be good for a Hyborage Age game that I was planning. I bought Mythras immediately upon release based on my experience with RQ6. Since that time, it has become my go to system for a large number of games.

Mythras is in the d100 family of games, and is derived from the Mongoose RQ2 rules (by the same authors actually). Having seen these rules since, I can see how they have evolved to make them more understandable, more elegant, and more in line with a game that might work for multiple settings. I would call it medium-crunch, with most of that crunch being up front at character generation. Skills are percentile rated, as it is a member of the d100 family. I like this because it is very clear what your chances are - 30% ina skill means you have a 30% chance of success.

Mythras uses the standard STR/CON/DEX/SIZ/INT/POW/CHA setup for stats, and all skills are based on combinations of these two, rather than static values seen in some other d100 games. Skills are broken into two categories - Standard skills which everyone get some base value in, and Professional Skills, which you may not have any points in.

Culture and Career define how you get your skills - each provides a set with points to distribute among them. Careers cover a broad range of medieval professions (though see Mythras Imperative for more modern ones), and Cultures cover Barbarian, Civilized, Nomadic, and Primitive. Each has a distinct flavor to them, and there are careers recommended for each. Family history and family events are also covered, providing for a more lifelike character. I find that this makes characters make sense within a society, and gives them a sense of belonging that doesn't come in every other game.

Skills can be utilized in a number of ways, but somewhat unique to Mythras is the notion of a differential roll. You compare levels of success (Critical, Normal, Failure, and Fumble) to each other and gain a number of bonuses based on this. This is used extensively in combat, but some guidance is provided on making use of it in other scenarios.

An economics and equipment section is presented as well, complete with standards of living and rules for crafting, bartering, and haggling, as well as all of the weapons and armor you might need for an ancient to medieval campaign. Siege weapons and vehicles round out the mix. One notable part of weapons is their use of Size and Reach. Combat (detailed below) makes use of this extensively. It allows for Spear and Shield users to have distinct advantages over Hand Axe and Short sword users.

The game provides an extensive section on rules for a variety of situations. Fatigue is one of the most notable here, as it is used for bleeding and asphyxiation, and heightens the tension in combat. Many of the other standard things that you expect to find in many more detailed RPGs - encumbrance, survival, falling, poisons, etc. can all be found here.

One notable call out are Passions. Passions are a measurement of loyalty, hate, love, or other emotional bonds to people, places or things. They are rated the same as skills, and indeed, in the right situations, may be used as skills. Thus, if defending your king, and you have a great Love (King), you may augment your combat skill with your Love (King) passion, or even replace it if the situation warrants. These are highly recommended in bringing your character some nuance that may not be immediately present. These can also be added to a character at pretty much any time (pending GM approval of course) so that you can grow your character quite easily.

One of the most engaging features of Mythras to me is the combat system. Mythras uses hit locations and hit points, as well as action points to determine number of actions and initiative to determine when you act. Attacking is active, as well as defense if you desire. Damage is done and armor reduces the damage. Defenses can be via parrying or evading. Abstracted, it doesn’t work on a grid, instead relying on engagement between melee combatants and movement ranges.

As noted above, differential rolls are used extensively here, and power the use of Special Effects. These reflect disadvantageous situations that the attacker or the defender may inflict upon their foe, making combat much more lively than a simple back and forth of attacks and defense. These can be Tripping your foe, Pressing your Advantage, Impaling with your spear, and more. They are not limited to attackers, as defenders can defend, even if the attacker misses, gaining their own special effects like Overextending their Opponent, returning a Trip, or Blinding with a shield. Special effects go a long ways towards making the combat more tense, interesting, and providing opportunities other than whittling down bags of hit points.

I should note, however, that Special effects can take a bit to get used to, and this is probably my strongest criticism of the game. There are quite a few options, and the novice player can become overwhelmed, or focus on simple effects like striking the head. I would recommend taking a look at Mythras Imperative with its slightly smaller list of special effects to ease into things. Or limit your players to some specific ones until they get the feel of things. Soon they will see how other options can be better. One of our first games, I suggested that the GM strike at another player using Trip as a special effect instead of striking at the head. The head shot would not have killed the other player, but the trip ended up delaying him long enough that my character did die.

Mythras has an extensive magic section, clocking in at 80 pages and covering 5 distinct magic systems - Folk Magic to cover small spells the common people might use, Animism that deals with the negotiation with and binding of spirits, Mysticism which brings a high-flying wuxia feel, highly flexible Sorcery for covering (rather intuitively) sword and sorcery campaigns, and Theism, which brings a decidedly different view of magic bestowed by deities upon their worshipers.

Each one of these is presented in extensive detail, and you are encouraged to tune and refine these to suit your campaign. Guidelines for low, medium, and high magic campaigns are provided, as well as different ways to recover magic points - not all need apply in your campaign, and may apply at different levels. Advancement is covered in detail, of course, and each can be tuned - folk magic may be quick, and sorcery may be slow to learn. Mythras’ magic systems are one of the gems of the book, in my opinion.

Rounding out the book are three sections - one for cults and brotherhoods, an extensive creature bestiary, and a games mastery section.

The cults and brotherhoods provides an excellent framework for building organizations for your campaign, including ranks within them. Many examples are given as to using them with the above mentioned magical schools, and including Gifts - special powers like Immortality or puissance in a skill - that may be learned as one gains ranks within the organization. Geasa, Taboos, Superstitions, and Oaths cover a variety of restrictions, making it so one might need to swear allegiance to a Lich-lord to gain knowledge of raising the dead.

The bestiary provides rules for creating many new monsters, as well as covering more than 50 different mythical and non-mythical creatures. Some are less traditional like the Bagini or the Acephali, and traditional goblins, giants and dragons can be found here as well. Some non-traditional PC races like minotaurs and panthotaurs can be found here, as well as more traditional elves, dwarves, and halflings.

Another real gem in Mythras is the Games Mastery section. Unlike many of these section in other RPGs, I feel Mythras’ really gives excellent guidance of how to run a Mythras game. How to use passions, how to run social conflict, how to do investigations and use of traps. The combat section here talks extensively about some of the common misperceptions of the system - options other than death, action points being the only mechanism for winning, and how to use rabble (mooks) and underlings to get a particular feel. It really talks extensively about how to give cults flavor and life, and more than just faceless organizations that the PCs ignore.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mythras
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 75 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG