Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    by Oliver B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2012 14:50:04

    Well colour me impressed. When I saw that Mr. Nash and Mr. Whitaker were working on another edition of RQ I was frankly underwhelmed. Could they really change enough to make the rules worth buying? Obviously I was the one lacking in imagination. Having finished reading (or at least heavily skimming) the rules I am very impressed.

    I quite like the changes made to character generation. Instead of getting specific points in a skill, say Stealth 10 for a Primitive character you get a pool of culturally relevant skills to add points to. You also get to choose three skills from a group of Professional Skills (ones you cannot have without training like Navigation). You then add 100 points to any of these skills. This allows you to focus your character on areas your interested in while still being believable from a cultural viewpoint.

    Next you get to do the same thing with an occupation and then finally you get 150 points you can spend as bonus points on skills you already have plus you may have the option depending on the GM to add another combat style or professional skill.

    The other change that I like is the additional of levels of difficulty which substitute for the old modifiers. So instead of saying it's negative 20% to hit a running target with a ranged weapon the GM can say it's Hard to hit a running target which imposes a 1/3 penalty to the shooter (i.e. 60% becomes 40%). There's also a set of fixed values for the difficulty grades if you prefer avoiding all that math.

    They've also added Passions for characters so your character can love someone or feel loyalty to something. Or of course Hate an enemy. You can use these Passions to modify your skills or act as opposing skills. For example say you're representing the city you love but have to interact with someone you Hate. You could do an opposed roll of your Loyalty and Hate to see which Passion guides you.

    I quite the changes made to the magic systems available as well. Common Magic is now Folk Magic and the spells have been somewhat reduced in power but the colour surrounding them has been increased. Hard to explain but now Bladesharp instead of adding X points to your skill and damage rolls sharpens your weapon so it goes up one die level. For example a shortsword goes up to a D8 instead of a D6 for the duration of the spell. And stays sharp after the spell ends. Nice. The other four types of magic look really cool as well.

    As other reviewers have mentioned this is an extrememely well-laid out set of rules with lots of suggestions for the would-be GM. There are very few typos mostly grammatical in nature.

    A very worthy successor to the RuneQuest line. Bravo!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    by Billiam B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/07/2012 06:16:44

    This review might be a little premature, because I'm still at that excited-post-download phase when I'm feverishly clicking through the 458 pages.

    I'll say again ... Four-hundred-and-fifty-eight pages of RuneQuest goodness.

    This definitely has the look and feel of an older RQ or BRP title. The mechanics and the writing style is very accessible, with the occasional black and white ink drawing.

    The rules, setting and atmosphere (with a bent towards ancient, mystical, classical) is generic enough to adapt to different campaigns, whilst providing enough detail for interesting springboard points especially regarding character (and monster) backgrounds, magic, skills, "passions" cults -not to mention the gritty effects of chaos. As well as the dice mechanics, there's plenty of tips and guidelines and optional rules.

    I'm also happy to say that it appears to be an "everything-you-need-to-play" publication. (I hate buying supposed "core" books only to find that there's no monster list or many references to "essential" accessories.)

    As I type it's still $25 which is a good price for a volume of this size. I'm looking forward to seeing a hard copy -surely it will be a thick tome - so the PDF on a tablet will certainly be more portable for fast rule checking at the table.

    Nice work, Design Mechanism! This is a respectable descendent of a noble line.

    -Billiam B. http://bit.ly/rpgblog



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    by Alexander O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/06/2012 18:59:28

    This is the 6th Edition of RuneQuest, and it is something special -- a real thing of value. It's one of the few RPG books that have come out this year that I think should be enshrined as an example of good RPG writing.

    This book will turn you into an expert on the game of RuneQuest, and I don't say that lightly. It talks not only about the system, but also about the history of RuneQuest -- its prior editions, its importance in the early industry, and its many twists and turns. But that's only a few pages. The bulk of this 456 page book is constructed with solid gaming goodness -- a complete Fantasy RPG to realize your favorite setting.

    ON THE WRITING

    The meat of the book (the rules, character creation, magic, and so on) is written with succinctness and systematic clarity. For example, the section on Characteristics and Attributes follows the following pattern in its paragraphs:

    -- differentiation of Characteristics (basic stats) and Attributes (figured Stats) -- name of Characteristic / Attribute -- short explanation of what the Characteristic / Attribute represents -- general rationale for the stat -- what characters with high values in this stat are like (roleplaying-wise and mechanics-wise) -- what characters with low values in this stat are like (roleplaying-wise and mechanics-wise) -- what happens when the value is reduced to zero

    This approach is emblematic of the writing style of the game: in only 5 short pages, you're presented the rules for Characteristics & Attributes, the general game design rationale for them, their implication in terms of story and mechanics -- which includes tables for the calculated values of Attributes and the formulas for the basic skills whose starting values come from these Characteristics and Attributes!

    Added to these pages is a nice one-page excerpt of the character sheet with various callouts that display tables explaining how the information for each field is to be calculated or filled in.

    Added to that is Anathaym's saga -- an example of a character (and, later on in the book, her adventuring party) and how the rules in game system shape her life.

    It seems that the writing, organization, and layout of the game was really done with an eye to reducing page-flipping back and forth between sections (though there are really useful sidebars that identify other pages with related rules, an organized and surprisingly detailed 1 page Table of Contents in the front, and a lovely 9 page Index in the back to help you if you can't find something).

    THE CONTENTS

    RuneQuest is one of the earliest skill-based systems -- it's built around a character concept and random or limited resources to build that character concept. You can have a cantrip-casting warrior, a sword-swinging spirit talker, a martial artist wizard, and so on if you build it properly. This edition is no different, and in fact both streamlines and expands the options for character.

    Chapter 1 breaks down the basics of Character Creation, tackling Characteristics, Attributes, and Basic Skills

    Chapter 2 talks about Culture and Community, identifies different generic fantasy cultures lists the Standard Skills, Professional Skills, Combat Styles, and Cultural Passions associated with each. It also has a table for unique background experiences in a character's life, a table for generating Allies and Enemies, and an explanation of what Passions are (an optional rule that gives bonuses and penalties to the characer based on their drives, their loves and hates, etc.).

    Chapter 3 tackles Careers and Development, hitting you first with 70 example (!) professions and their related skills, with a nice table showing how they're grouped by cultural background. It then talks about the impact of Age, gives a broad view of Equipment and Magic (which have their own chapters) for finishing off your character.

    Chapter 4 talks, again in a very organized and succinct fashion about the nitty-gritty of Skills in terms of the types of skills, the different types of skill rolls in the game including reattempted skill rolls, augmenting skills, and opposed skill rolls.

    Chapter 5 goes through not just Equipment, but Economics as well. It covers not just things that adventurers might buy, but also income and social class, bargaining and bartering, food, clothing, and accommodations, vehicles, and siege weapons.

    Chapter 6 is the Game Mechanics section and, for me, shows that the game philosophy for RuneQuest is broader than mere combat (which gets its own Chapter, thank you very much), because it tackles a lot of things here beyond the typical character improvement rules, suggesting rulings for things like Asphyxiation, Blood Loss, and Falling, tackling the use of game resources like Luck Points, and a very important discussion of Action, Time, and Movement.

    Chapter 7 is about Combat, is grouped into headings and sub-headings tackling the various combat topics, including: Components of Combat, Combat Styles, Weapon Size and Reach, combat ranges, hit locations, and special effects.

    Chapter 8 talks about Magic in general, which you should not skim through lightly. It talks about what magic is, how they're tied to runes, and sets the basis for understanding the various magical traditions available in RuneQuest 6, such as: Folk Magic (Chapter 9), Animism (Chapter 10), Mysticism (Chapter 11), Sorcery (Chapter 12), and Theism (Chapter 13). Each of these establishes these various magical traditions, describes the 'spells' of each, and explains the various additional rules that really differentiate them from one another in terms of philosophy and game mechanics and game options.

    Chapter 14 tackles the Cults and Brotherhoods that explain the organizations and movements that can provide formalized instruction in the the magical disciplines tackled in other chapters. It really gives you a lot to create your own factions, old dinosaurs, movers and shakers, and up-and-comers in your own setting -- and what these mean for your players and their characters.

    Chaper 15 tackles Creatures and Spirits in terms of story and mechanics. There are rules here designing your own creatures, and rules on being able to have Player Character Creatures as well.

    Chapter 16 is focused on the GM and Games Mastery, including the "Petersen Rules of Good Gaming" (from Sandy Petersen, of course) and lots of advice on running games, sticky situations for GMs, and different styles of play using the system.

    Finally, we have a collection of Game Aids, including the character sheets, a series of tables for non-human hit locations, and a combat tracking sheet.

    THE TECHNOLOGY

    Just one last thing here: I purchased the PDF and was so intrigued by the system and the writing that I began to highlight and annotate my PDF using the default Acrobat Reader. I was surprised when I was asked to save the file -- and it asked me if I wanted to save it under another file name. When I did so, it began saving a lighter version of the file (optimzed for web browsing it said) that weighed in at around 40 MB, much reduced from the 104 MB filesize. I get to have a pristine version of my PDF & a highlighted / annotated version! Sorry, geek moment.

    Also, the hyperlinking is very useful in the PDF, and makes the whole thing easier to navigate through and read.

    I heartily recommend this book for Fantasy RPG enthusiasts looking for a detailed, but customizable system to help your create and realize your own setting!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2012 07:37:18

    If anybody knows about the seminal history of RuneQuest, and realize the work and passion that has gone into the making of this version of it, it's an instant download. Best fantasy system ever designed in my view, and that isn't (just) fanboy hyperbole. If you are interested in realistic simulation, anthropological verisimilitude and anything to do with classic myth creation, then this game has a lot to offer. The cover is nice too, and the interior layout is very clean and readable, and all the bells and whistles in search engines and the like. Plenty of support to, as you can utilize all the old RQ, RQ2, Legend and to a degree BRP supplements with it with no difficulty whatsoever.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    RuneQuest 6th Edition
    by david f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2012 03:56:14

    Beautifully laid out with evocative line art pictures. All black and white images, except the cover, so you won't waste expensive ink printing it. There is no irritating images behind the text making it hard to read on your tablet or a low res print outs. The text size is very readable on my android tablet. The pdf has useful bookmark, contents and page links, which go the correct place. I printed it on my 600dpi laser printer at 2up A5 size and it look wonderful, crisp and legible. I have not spotted and spelling or grammar mistakes so far, unlike in previous versions from else where. There have been many enhancement and improvements to the rules, some of them like the new difficultly rules may be controversial with some but work well in practice. The minor changes to combat create great effects like, spears being useful and dangerous, unlike in other game systems.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Glorantha Second Age Archives [BUNDLE]
    by iain s. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2012 07:46:05

    All you need and more to run an adventure in Glorantha.We started off with far less and enjoyed the games but this adds so much more to the setting.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Glorantha Second Age Archives [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Vikings
    by Christopher L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2012 08:38:02

    Awesome overview of the historical scourge known as the Vikings! Real life timelines abound, cultural information at every turn, and most importantly, whenever you play a Viking character you will find that there is no reason to create a backstory that makes your character want to kill and explore as this describes essentially every Viking that ever lived!

    I cannot speak to the system itself as I have not used this download in a RuneQuest II game, however, the information contained within this book/download was well laid out, easy to use, and I found it easy to convert to the system that my group uses.

    Highly recommended as both a RPG tool and as a amateur historian, a pretty accurate source of Viking context and information.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Vikings
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Glorantha Second Age Archives [BUNDLE]
    by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2012 18:00:36

    I can't say enough positive comments about the re-release of these and other RQ titles at the $1 price tag. Frankly, I wasn't planning on buying RQ6. With the release of the Runequest Archives at a dollar each, I just might to show my appreciation. As for the Archives, keep them coming.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Glorantha Second Age Archives [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Glorantha - The Second Age Core Rulebook
    by Paul-Michael A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2011 16:28:58

    An almost essential book for RQII but much less than it could have been: There's a lot packed into this book, a cornucopia of notes on religion, history, goods etc. But it fails both as an overview of Glorantha and as a reference for useful information during adventures. Someone new to Glorantha will get lost as it launches straight into pages of minutiae without any "mile-high " view of the material. Simultaneously, important features of Glorantha are found only in other books ("Races" and "Cults"), or handled in such scant detail as to be useful - try to find out about Pavis. (Try to even locate it on a map.) The practical "what's this place like" is eschewed in favour of historical and mythological detail. Disappointing.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Glorantha - The Second Age Core Rulebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Vikings
    by Asen G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2011 14:16:54

    That's a great supplement for any historical campaign, not just a Viking one! The supplement has three strong points. First, it discusses how to create a historical campaign, and gives an overview of possible problem and the different solutions. You are free to pick what works best for your group and playing style. With it, you can run a game that's as close to history as you want, or one that only uses the Viking age as a backdrop. But this backdrop will feel real! Second, it gives you a wealth of information on the daily life, the impact of customs - and why these were created in the first place - and the way people from this age used to THINK. This way, it is an invaluable resource for both GMs and players who want their Viking PCs to feel like more than "modern people in the viking age". It's all there, customs, religion, beliefs, and the way society works. Third, Pete Nash manages to present the information in a way that's more fun to read than many fantasy books! It's not like a manual, more like a good novel. Examples from the sagas help a lot, too, and add a nice touch. Now, there are minor inconsistencies in the historical information - or at least things I've been taught differently in history lessons - but they're so tiny they are not worth mentioning. If your campaign goes to other regions, you would do well to look for other supplements. But the Northern Europe of that time feels real, and any mistakes I have noticed are unlikely to affect a game to any great extent! And maybe I should check my own sources again? Either way, that's the only problem I have noticed, and it doesn't actually make this supplement worse! The main advantages of this supplement are not affected in any way. In short, I give it five stars, which should give you an idea how good I think this supplement is!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Vikings
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cults of Glorantha
    by Egil G. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/14/2010 09:09:34

    This is almost a necessity for playing a campaign in Glorantha and it is very good, but there is a large number of errors and outright inconsistencies in the details of the individual cults.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Cults of Glorantha
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Glorantha - The Second Age Core Rulebook
    by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2010 08:43:05

    An excellent overview of Glorantha and its cultures brought upto date with the new rule set. There is enough information (aside cults) to build a respectable campaign up within the book. The art workand layout is also much improved, we are even presented with a reasonable set of maps.

    The only negative point, and it is a real trivial one, the background Skill listings for each culture are little confusing to read at a glance, you end up using a ruler. If they where alterantely highlighted in light grey it would have been good. Other than that can't really fault this book and hope all the books that follow retain its quality.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Glorantha - The Second Age Core Rulebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cults of Glorantha
    by Paul B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2010 08:20:37

    This is a massive collection of Glorantha Goodness, it revises the cults from the previous edition and brings them in line with new MRQII rule set.

    It goes into further depth into the cult and pantheon mythos giving a bit more meat to help you portray your character. It really goes to town on the Draconic, Storm, Solar, and Malkion Pantheons - all are excellently detailed and give a good feel for the culture.

    I would have prefered it if the Nomad, Pentian/horse Nomad, Pamaltelan, and beast cults had been seperated out into distinct Pantheon/Traditions rather than lumping them together... still its only a minor point of preference.

    Not all the cults from the previous editions made it to the book... and some of the cults/paths mentioned in the Glorantha Core Book don't get a mentioned inside so the cultures remain unplayable unless your predispossed to make some cults up yourself until they fill the gaps, inparticular Teshnos, East Isle, Pamaltelan and the Chaos Pantheon.

    There are some minor error- missing spells, but hat said, this is a remarkable book, it makes the cults of Prax feel a bit lightweight.

    Paul



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Cults of Glorantha
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cults of Glorantha
    by Philip H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2010 04:45:53

    Loads of great info on Malkioni sects, and lots of grimoires for inspiration plus rules for creating minor saints' grimoires. Eurmal makes a long-overdue first-appearance in aMongoose publication, but Eurmali are simultaneously boring and overpowered, though, and nothing is said about the God Learners' Trickster Temple. Some significant errors mar this otherwise excellent publication - check out the Mongoose RQ2 forum for the errata thread.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Monster Coliseum
    by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2010 04:40:17

    A good spin on the usual monster manual affair, by theming all creatrures as potential combatants in a Roman style Coliseum. Actually services as a skirmish style game concept on it's own on this basis, should you tire of more elaborate storytelling.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Monster Coliseum
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 61 to 75 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product