Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Forager's Guild Guild to the Triantakohedron
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2012 22:52:22

    You either have one sitting in your dice bag, longing to be used; or you've been looking for an excuse to go and buy one...I'm talking about those rolly-polly 30 sided dice. This tome gives you 30 reasons to break out that die that rolls easiest (and might even move it up the ladder from least used to maybe even ousting the d12).

    There are a lot of fun charts to roll on. Some are basic (current weather conditions), some are silly/fun (30 cliches turned into magic items), and some are just good to have in your pocket (30 things found at the side of the road). There is something in here for everyone.

    In full disclosure: I am listed as one of the Dire Paladin's in the introduction of the book. Don't let that discourage you from checking out this book. Your d30 will thank you.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Forager's Guild Guild to the Triantakohedron
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Character Workbook: Universal for PFRPG
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2012 11:30:27

    If you are starting out with the game, or have been around the blocks a few times, this log helps you track how your character changes over time. I wish it had was a section for keeping track of significant events that happened while reaching the new level. However, trying to fit the changes for a level onto one page, might make this a bit difficult.

    In full disclosure, I do know the author in an online capacity. However, if you are a fan of Pathfinder, you might find this tool to be useful. It covers from level 1 to level 20.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Character Workbook: Universal for PFRPG
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Character Workbook: Universal for PFRPG
    by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2012 13:49:54

    Where was this when I played D&D? Is there one for Savage Worlds in the works? After using this handy log, you'll wonder how you managed your characters leveling up all these years without one.

    Full Disclosure: Berin is a friend of mine. That said, I don't write review for products I don't use a/o believe are worth my time.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Intervention: The Official Series Bible
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2012 18:08:38

    Another setting in the Official Series Bible line. Just the way I like it, no system required.

    In a twist from the Percy Jackson craze, heroes and demigods aren't exactly hiding; they've taken up new management and are acting as super heroes. As you would expect from an Official Series Bible, there is enough material to provide some interesting twists and intrique into to the setting.

    While the setting notes gets into the Christian deity, it does avoid trying to do much with that other than having some of the old gods working with the representatives of the new. It would have been interesting to develop the heroes of the Christian deity a bit more (perhaps that will be a future supplement).

    Disclosure note: while I have never met Berin in meat-space, I have know him online for quite some time. I have enjoyed his writing for many years.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Intervention: The Official Series Bible
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Intervention: The Official Series Bible
    by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2012 11:11:13

    I got notification of this product and my first thought was, "Oh a knock-off of the 'Percy Jackson' school of thought." Was I wrong, and in a very mind-bending good way. Berin has taken the myths of the Greek gods and woven them into a global conspiracy/superhero setting.

    Wow!

    Full disclosure, though I have met Berin face-to-face once, he is my friend. That said, it is his writing that brought the two of us together. I'll be glad to say I knew him when...



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bad Attitudes: The Action Movie Roleplaying Game
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/21/2012 15:08:01

    This is a fun beer and pretzels sort of game. Everything you need, including random adventure creation. If you enjoyed cop/action movies (especially from the 80s), this is for you.

    This was a joy to read; the whole game just oozes fun. The mechanics are simple and straight forward, with enough of a twist to keep it interesting.

    Well worth checking out!

    In full disclosure, while I have never met Berin in the flesh, I have read a lot of his words over the years. Bad Attitudes is a great representation of his work.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bad Attitudes: The Action Movie Roleplaying Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Bad Attitudes: The Action Movie Roleplaying Game
    by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2012 14:31:19

    Jump on the hood of the bad guys car and hang on. This game was a blast to read through. Gonna run it for my teenagers tonight.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2012 20:47:19

    Another great system-less release from Asparagus Jumpsuit. In Knights of Torque and Recoil, you are given everything you need for a modern/pulp setting where an ancient organization plots revenge. In six short pages, you are given a brief history of the setting; provided with some factions who compete (or at least interact with) each other; given typical roles that players might fill; given some sample NPC style important people for the setting; and quite a few adventure starters (here's the situation, what will you do type of stuff. It is up the the GM to flesh it all out).

    It should be noted that you will probably also want the Series Bible free book from Asparagus Jumpsuit as well. Some of the information provided uses labels such as "average" that might make better sense (or at least require a little less work for the GM), if you have read the Series Bible.

    This is well worth the slim buck it will cost you. If you are like me and hate to charge anything less than $10, you can use this to pad out another order very easily. You wil probably be glad if you did.

    In full disclosure, I do know the creator (even if we have never met in person), but I really enjoy books like this where you are given enough to go and do what you want with a setting and aren't tied down to a specific storyline. I believe that you will enjoy Knights of Torque and Recoil.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
    by Xose L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 13:25:30

    Very cool. The tone has just the right amount of quirk and I like the potential for blurring the line between the heroes' "real" exploits and their mass-marketed personae. Nice and pulpy with a modern edge, it's got sinister cults and their beastman minions versus two-fisted celebrity heroes with science(!) on their side and legions of blogospherical fanboys. It makes me want to play.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Knights of Torque & Recoil: The Official Series Bible
    by Steve N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/12/2012 08:46:08

    Wow! I can port this into Savage Worlds (my system of choice) pretty easily. Keep up the good work.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Forager's Guild Guide to the Compleat Shemp
    by Larry B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2012 21:06:32

    Are you a GM with so much time on your hands that you have detailed stat blocks and descriptions for every conceivable non-player character (NPC) that your players might encounter or are you a practical GM looking for opportunities to save some time? If you are in the first camp, you probably don't have time to be reading this review. If you aren't that crazy, The Compleat Shemp might be for you.

    The Compleat Shemp is one of my favorite types of gaming materials; it isn't tied to any specific system, genre, or setting. I can use it with Risus, and you can use it with your favorite system. The Compleat Shemp does not judge. It provides you with a philosophy for managing NPCs and only once even mentions dice (complete with a table to roll them against).

    Shemping, as a concept, is a Hollywood term. At its most basic level, Shemping represents shortcuts and tricks directors have used to re-use actors for various purposes in the move. The full story is included in the document and is worth the read (it is related to the Three Stooges if you hadn't figured that out by the term).

    The Compleat Shemp has two stated goals: "looking at supporting characters for tabletop roleplaying games from a cinematic point of view, and filling the roles of supporting characters quickly and easily."

    A movie's supporting characters come in many types: background characters, bit players, and supporting characters. It is sort of a scale of importance. As you can imagine, background characters are just there to make a scene feel real; bit players might interact with the stars of the show; while supporting characters might be on par with the stars and interact with them, they still take a back seat in this story.

    The Compleat Shemp takes these Hollywood tropes and applies them to your roleplaying game. It expands upon these tropes and adds in defining functions that Shemps play in their scenes, and provides advice for just how detailed you need to make your notes for a given NPC. There are also notes for ways of recasting old Shemps in a new light. With minimal effort, you can reuse a Shemp and your players will never notice.

    My personal favorite section of the document is regarding building character dossiers for your Shemps. This is a direct and meaningful method that works well for keeping track of your Shemps and what roles they have played in your campaign.

    If you are interested in handling all of the NPCs in your campaign with minimal work, The Compleat Shemp might be for you. It more than adequetly meets its stated goals and leaves you wanting to implement it's ideas. You get a 25 page primer on methods that worked well for the author and could easily be applied to your game as well. The text is entertaining with anecdotes and tips sprinkled throughout. The document is laid out in a pretty typical 2-column format with minimal art work. It won't kill your printer if you are of the print-and-read club. The Compleat Shemp is well worth the minimal asking price.

    Full Disclosure: while I have never met Berin Kinsman in person, I have considered him a friend for quite some time. I was happy to be asked to review The Compleat Shemp. I endeavored to provide an accurate and fair review of the project.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Forager's Guild Guide to the Compleat Shemp
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 121 to 131 (of 131 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product