Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2020 22:58:43

Let the Streets Run Red is a collection of stories for Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition (V5). Each story presents a unique tale to tell at your table and unlike many prior campaign books or supplements provides options for how to run each one from either the Camarilla or Anarch point of view. Storyteller Player Characters are given full character treatment so that they don’t end up feeling one-dimensional and there’s enough material to continue using the setting telling many stories of your own. The book contains several new Lore Sheets for V5. There’s a good mix of them that are tied directly to the characters or locations within the stories and others that have a loose affiliation or no connection at all that can work in any setting your game is occurring in. Included are several pre-generated characters that can be used for groups new to the game, existing games that want to take a break and try something different, or just more ready-made SPCs for the Storyteller to use. The four stories present a variety of different challenges for the players to face. Power Prey - The focus in this story is what lengths will the characters go to in order to protect their touchstones. The Dying Fields - This story takes the characters out of the city and brings them to a town with more corn than people. Innocence in Blood - Honestly I wish this story didn’t suffer at the constraints of page space. There’s a lot more that Milwaukee and Indianapolis have to offer and this story could have been the foundations of its own supplement. Rusted Jungle - For anyone who knows the history that Vampire the Embraced has with Gary Indiana, this story will feel like an old friend. For those who don’t, it still is a fun story.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Let the Streets Run Red (Vampire: the Masquerade 5th Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Pugmire Core Rulebook Phone PDF
by Zachery N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2020 20:41:41

I really did enjoy Pugmire. I've played D&D twice in my life if you don't count the original Baulder's Gate. Both of those games were 20+ years ago and I was under mind altering substances at the time. The point I'm making is that I no almost nothing about the 5E/OGL system. It didn't matter, this book was written well and in a very helpful manner for beginners so I at no point felt lost.

The phone formatting makes it a lot easier to read on a mobile device compared to a book's normal pdf format. It's easy to use and is a great reference.

It has dogs. That's really the big seller hear to be honest. I've had plenty of opportunites to look into other 5E systems and haven't had any interest. Honestly I'm just not really into the mideviel fantasy setting. But tell me I can play a dog? Sold!

The author does a good job of presenting the material, be it by talking to the reader directly or through Princess Yosha Pug or Pan Dachsund and their helpful tips.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pugmire Core Rulebook Phone PDF
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
by Moros F. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2020 17:59:31

The Knacks, Relics, Guides, and antagonists are good and are welcome additions to Scion. However the lore and Creatures are overall bad. The Creatures are not built in any way like how the rules for building one is described in Hero, the lore in general with the exceptions of the Kami, Orisha, and Deva are often poorly written, nonsensical and often arbitarly ignore mythology for conflict that is often more boring or lesser then the conflict already present in the source mytholog. The biggest example being Nidhogg who for some unfathomable reason has himself but spelled properly(Nidhoggr) as his rival when he already had a clear cut rival in the mythology: the eagle at the top Yggdrasil, a rivalry forged on constant insults they send to each other. Which is replaced by a riverly with his properly spelled self over who's the real Nidhoggr? Worst of all Nidhogg's write up contradicts the devaloper's assurance that Scion Dragon would not be treated as canon by the rest of the gameline, except Nidhoggr is a full Dragon in the Scion Dragon sense. In general the lore feels like the worst parts of 1e's lore, nonsensical changes that add nothing at best and at worst are activly worse then the conflict already present in the source material which is the worst kind of change



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Frostlands of Fenrilik
by Simon K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2020 18:31:03

Frostlands of Fenrilik succeeds as a supplement on two fronts. It's a good survey of a frozen setting that presents just enough material for a variety of traditional D&D adventures, working especially well for beginner characters (and players, since the setting information is really easy to digest). It gives a home location, areas to explore, threats to combat, and opportunities for diplomacy and roleplay-focused scenarios. It also succeeds as a Community Content primer. Its overview gives enough common ground for writers to have the opportunity to maintain consistency with each other and enough setting content to develop in a variety of ways through supplements and adventures.

A more detailed review is available at https://thetabletopalmanac.wordpress.com/2020/10/28/rpg-reviews-frostlands-of-fenrilik-scarred-lands/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Frostlands of Fenrilik
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you SO MUCH for your thorough and thoughtful review!
Exalted: Map of Creation Poster
by Ronald G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 21:46:33

I wanted a high resolution map. I cannot even read the writing on the map when zoomed in (there are a couple of scrolls on the map). I personally was hoping that this would be of a high enough resolution that it could be printed as a 44x34 poster, but sadly it cannot. It is good enough for 11x17.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: Map of Creation Poster
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
by Kostas K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2020 15:21:25

i absolutely love this book, the art is amazing, the system is pretty helpful and it leaves a lot of room for the dm and players to make their own world and use the rules to their advantage. Very well written,l easy to understand.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire 20th Anniversary Edition: The Dark Ages
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

C20 Cup of Dreams (Part 4 of the Immortal Eyes Saga)
by Joseph T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2020 15:11:17

Good story but shame on Onyx Path for not editing the manuscript before publishing it. Innumerable spelling mistakes, random spacing or lack of spacing, and formatting errors plague this book, taking the reader out of what would otherwise be an engrossing story.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Cup of Dreams (Part 4 of the Immortal Eyes Saga)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
by Mathias K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/19/2020 06:49:30

This is one of those books that makes it difficult to use a five-star rating as a medium, but I will endeavor to try and clarify what I think of this book and why, in spite of genuinely enjoying the majority of the book, I ultimately gave it a somewhat low grade.

Firstly, let me preface this by saying that the mechanics of the book are absolutely top-shelf stuff, both for giving player Scions access to new tools and for running more antagonistic Scions. The antagonists section, while it does have its misses (and we'll talk more about thise later) is a very good collection of antagonists for a Hero-tier group to face off with, and some of them are interesting, novel takes on old myth that are still very firmly grounded in an understanding of these mythologies. If what you're looking for is a good collection of systems to help you run your games, this is not a bad pickup.

However, the first section on Titans is, in my opinion, hewing closer to Scion First Edition in all the wrong ways. While many of the writeups (in particular the Órisha, Deva and Shen) take great care to present Titanic threats that problematize the Gods and are simultaneously grounded in tangible legend, many of the other writeups seem to be made up from wholecloth with uninspired and, in some cases, frankly offensive ideas.

Some of them are benign, if frustrating: Why does nobody know Thor's mother is Jord when we, in the real world the World is based on, have several texts where she is named as his mother? Why is Kronos, ruler of the Golden Age of Man and a god associated with fruitful harvests, a tyrant who represents entropy and cold? Why is Indech, a prodigious warrior-king who killed the king of the Túatha Dé Danann, a Doctor Frankenstein-esque mad scientist? Why is Bres' dethroning via satire, a cosmology-defining moment, completely omitted?

Others are not so benign. Why are fully half of the Túatha Dé Domnann not based on Irish figures? Why does one of them have a specialization in 'Primitive' art? Why is there an implication that Balor caused the Great Famine in Ireland? Why are the Fomoir fish-people who salvage things out of the oceans like the Fomorians out of the Dresden Files? Why is Ymir, the primordial being whose very body and being was used to create the Nine Worlds, hanging around so the art could have a nice 'earth, fire and frost' motif when there's no shortage of not-dead hrimthurssar who could have filled the position without having one of the deadest beings in Norse mythology be still-present? Why is the only reference to the Bretons a twisted version of the Ankou, further stepping on a culture that's already facing attempts by the French government to stamp it out?

They smack of a development team that thought their source material wasn't 'interesting' enough and decided the only way to remedy this was to fill in the blanks, and doing so in a way that is disrespectful and stereotypical rather than respectful and thoughtful, as most of the rest of the game line has generally succeeded at being. And while I'd like to give a higher rating to a mechanically strong book, I feel that the additions made to the setting in the book have done more harm than good to the World as a setting.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Titanomachy (A Collection of Threats for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2020 16:46:09

The first city supplement for the Scarred Lands, this book was a shot off the bow of most d20 fantasy games, which had cleaved extremely closely to standard D&D in hopes of capturing a larger portion of the market. Instead, Hollowfaust makes a bold statement about necromatic magic, which the players must navigate not necessarily to survive (it's a city - city environments, by their definition, are hospitable to many different kinds of people), but to thrive in the way that D&D pushes its characters to thrive. You won't just feel like you're in Fantasy Canada (the Forgotten Realms - a setting I love) when you come to Hollowfaust. You will feel the pressure of magic and possiblity on the world in unusual and eye-opening ways. GMs will find that Hollowfaust lets them talk about how ancestors and memory both empower and are exploited by the present.

If I had to name something to improve about Hollowfaust, it is that the city is a fantasy city first and a D&D city second, perhaps the only area where it doesn't excel. There are many areas of pressure to explore which D&D heroes will have no means of fully interacting with. In a way, it's more of a fantastic experience than D&D, with its romantic and escapist nature, can ever embrace.

It's perhaps the best fantasy citybook of the d20 era, and well worth your time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hollowfaust: City of Necromancers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Scarred Lands Campaign Setting: Ghelspad
by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/17/2020 16:37:16

The second best feature of the Scarred Lands was, as it was in Planescape, was the incorporation of the alignment into the cosmic setup of the world. Rather than being a dumb 9th grader's idea of what morals and ethics might be, instead, alignment became the embodied will of cosmic entities - the gods, in Ghelspad.

The best feature, of course, is that Ghelsad desperately needs heroes exactly of the sort D&D is set up to deliver. No matter where you go, the cosmic conflicts of the Scarred Lands cause suffering and injustice, which heavily armored magical superheroes can repair. This book is a comprehensive look at Ghelspad as an adventure setting, combining exploratory culture and ancient treasures. It's everything you want D&D to be.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scarred Lands Campaign Setting: Ghelspad
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

V20 Ready Made Characters
by Johnathan Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 14:53:48

It's a good starting book that is very cheap for those who don't know jack S*** about V20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
V20 Ready Made Characters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
by Edward C. O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2020 10:28:19

i bought both the PDF and Hardcover, so i will be primarily talking about the hardcover.

what can be said about Changeling the Lost that hasn't been said? well written? well told? one word i can definitely say is beautiful tradegy. this game, is really well told! the gaming sessions are fun yet when the drama hits, it hits, and my players walk away with a sense of wow, we all had a moment together.

Changeling is definitely one of those games, that if you really want a mature, adult theme game, while just happened to be a fey creature, outcoming tramua and ptsd, this is the game! on page 13 there is a content warning because this game allows for those kinds of topics to be discussed and explored, it also has a section which other games refers back to as well, the "Safe Table" system, and i don't mean that in a sacastic tone. its a system to protect the players first, while maintaining the adult themes of the game, though playing a game in any of the WoD/CofD games, it should be established, i digress. from something simple as allowing players to walk away from a scene if it gets too intense or fade to black, to setup a green, yellow, red system and debriefing after session. this game is really good and definitely has the World of Darkness feel.

the book is gorgeous! i love the thorns and the hedge themes in the pages, again placement of information is a constant problem, but it's par for the course when it comes to that.

of all the reimagining, in my opinion, THIS is the game to play. definitely worth playing as your first Chronicles of Darkness game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Changeling: the Lost Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Scarred Lands Creature Collection (OGL 5e)
by Sebastian F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2020 11:32:52

What a great book! Amazing nostalgia and update of infamous Scarred Lands critters reborn as 5E. The artwork, design, and overall appearance of the book is as clean and professional as I could even ask for; the book, from cover to cover, conveys a consistent feel and image for the Scarred Lands. Very importantly, the book does NOT waste a chapter on rehashing definitions of game terms related to monsters (or potentially worse...there is no "redefining" or tweaking game rules just for the creatures found within the book). There is literally a splash page with the title artwork, then one page of credits, then one page of Introduction (explaining the page-edge icons), then the monsters start on page FOUR. No wasted space or regurgitated fluff in this book!

Even aside from the book being designed for that setting, it is just packed full of monsters that can appear in any dungeon or campaign. I particularly like the page-edge color-keyed icons: fan the pages just slightly and you can see where in the book the CR16+ critters are....or the critters who primarily inhabit mountains (or whatever other terrain). People who buy the pdf can also benefit from a handful of battle maps at the end; they are full-page and ready to be printed, displayed on a virtual tabletop, or displayed on a tabletop panel. Plus, each battlemap is a different and fully detailed encounter with various nasties in the book.

5/5 for value, 5/5 for content, 5/5 for production.

(Note: I have the PDF and printed version of the book from backing it on Kickstarter. I do not know how the PoD versions look)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarred Lands Creature Collection (OGL 5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

They Came From Beneath the Sea!
by Henrik J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/01/2020 20:07:44

I've made a video review of this game on the link here: https://youtu.be/-Abh1O7tCP0



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
They Came From Beneath the Sea!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Skirmish at Khantze Lu Ge
by Benjamin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2020 08:23:42

Here's the headline - Trinity Continuum: Æon Storyguides; buy this, for the price you won't regret it.

Now for a bit more detail...I would say that this is easily the best introductory Æon scenario currently available for purchase. It does right what "Quantum Entaglements"# (the official quick start for Æon) gets wrong.

  • There are detailed suggestions on how to get characters involved (and why they would stay involved).
  • Before the adventure proper there are a series of introductory exercises that both teach the systems of the game but also fit with the rationale of the story. This is ideal for both new players and storyguides.
  • The adversaries and NPCs have clear goals and motivations, again something that is perfect for a starter adventure or kicking off a new campaign.
  • The story itself also manages to clearly portray key aspects of the setting without getting bogged down. At the end of the scenario players should have a keen idea what aberrants are, why they are a threat, what psions role is in defending and protecting humanity and also Earth's relationship with it's extra solar colonies and the part the jumpships play in that - a perfect grounding for lots of spin off stories.

Now the gripes....Unfortunately the scenario does play fast and loose with a few bits of "canon". For example the starship that the players serve on is described as an Orgotek Scarab but the illustartion looks nothing like a scraba as presented in other sources and, possibly worse, it doesn't match the ship as described in the main rule book e.g. it has too large a crew and passnger and doesn't carry figther complement. That's easily hand waved by saying that it's a larger class of Orgotek starship but it still an error. The other thing that grates a little is that the mission starts on "Thompson Spaceport" - a Luna location which doesn't exist in the setting. While it's easy to corrcet that to Mare Ingenii or Yutu Yinchon (two of the space ports that are officially on Luna) it's a silly detail that does not need to be there.

All in all I would recommend it but purists may want to tweak a few details to line up with published material.

For my in depth comments on Quantum Entanglements check out my review on the product page on Drivethrurpg

Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skirmish at Khantze Lu Ge
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the thoughtful and in-depth review! I'm glad you enjoyed the book. A couple quick points of clarification regarding the numbers with the ship: the normal compliment of fighters is replaced by the VARGs in the hangar, and the supplies and personnel being moved on the ship. The two fighters that are normally docked with the Scarab, are among the fighters that escort the frigate to the surface. These shifts in cargo and personnel should fall well within the capabilities laid out in the frigate's stats. Thanks, Travis
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1281 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG