Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Onyx Path Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Slarecian Vault GM Bundle [BUNDLE]
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/05/2019 16:41:13

Travis never dissapoints, whether 5E or the Story Path System his books are top notch. He does the research before he puts pen to paper and it shows. I wish I could give more than 5 stars because his stuff always impresses.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Slarecian Vault GM Bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
That's incredibly sweet! Thanks so very much! -Travis
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Simon H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2019 19:17:04

This is a weird one, the complaints about this book are legitimate but...

The best way to think about Scion is that both books (Origin and Hero) create an excellent setting and what you need to begin. When I think back upon the pair of them as a whole I really can't think of what I would cut outside of a little duplication. It's not all perfect, there's definately some questionable choices on organization, confusing concepts, and a few things that are either poorly explained or contradictory. But overal everything fits together into what looks like a very smart AND clever setting, both in world and system. Having said that... book one REALLY comes off as the worse of the two. It's a bit like seperating the classic D&D players manual and GM's guide... and then printing off three quarters of the GM's guide first. It's all still there and really works but as an individual book... yeah, three stars at best



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Exalted: Map of Creation Poster
by Benoit L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2019 00:35:32

Great map! Super Map!

But the fack that it's just 2272 x 1600 pixels does not fit with what I need in my game.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Exalted: Map of Creation Poster
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

C20 Player's Guide
by Chazz K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2019 15:21:02

This book expands the world of Changeling the Dreaming into lands not before explored in the context of the Dreaming and offers a bevvy of options for political play. For our complete thoughts, check out our podcast review: http://thestorytold.libsyn.com/episode-32-changeling-the-dreaming-20th-anniversary-edition-players-guide-review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
C20 Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Many Names of Heimdall
by Edgar R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2019 00:08:29

I'd like to start by saying that if you like Scion, and you have any interest in the Aesir, this is an affordable, interesting, and fun way to expand your Scion story.

Our author begins with a preface explaining the book's purpose and some good advice on doing your own research into the Aesir. The meat of the book continues first with with write-ups of different aspects of Heimdall, including new Knacks to make your character's mechanics fit the theme better. This is followed by a couple of example Hero tier scions, two story hooks to integrate the material into the game, and a new Terra Incognita to flesh out The World.

For what you pay, you get a lot. Even if you cherry-pick a few things from the book, the lore alone is a valuable resource for any Storyguide to have in their collection.

If I were to have any say on changes that I would like to see (if this were to become a series, say,) then I would have also included an Origin sheet for each example Scion. I would have also liked a more on-theme Terra Incognita, because the one we got feels slightly 'tacked on,' but I understand the connection and I like what we were shown.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Many Names of Heimdall
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The God-Machine Chronicle Anthology
by Erlan P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/28/2019 09:16:12

A very fine collection of short stories. Each one have their own very distinctive flavor and you can take ideas from them for your chronicle. Severa of the stories are not really God-Machine ones as we know from Chronicles of Darkness. These are pro-God-Machine, and are compiled from books that later would inspire the God-machine setting. Still very enjoyable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The God-Machine Chronicle Anthology
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Scarred Lands DM Screen (5e)
by Jean H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2019 17:47:07

Beautiful colors, beautiful layout. I chose to buy the print version as well as the pdf. Handy reference panels on sturdy cardstock. I am very happy with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Scarred Lands DM Screen (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A Light Extinguished (A Jumpstart for Scion Second Edition)
by Vincent M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 22:49:14

Very little to no explanation about the nature of the scion/demi-god in the condensed rules or characters descriptions. No clue about how the murder was commit, no possibility to inspect the victim body, no clue how the "suspects" are related or why (very poor reasons in some case) they have been choosen as suspect. Usually you should get that information up front. I've run a lot of investigations adventures (Cthulhu/Vampire) and this one was pretty bad. I suppose you should own the rulebook before playing this adventure. No longer any interest in buying it after reading this Jumpstart.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
A Light Extinguished (A Jumpstart for Scion Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A Mishap of Ill Portent
by Jason B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 17:02:19

This is simply a great introductory adventure to a setting that's not known by as many. It provides a clear pathway for the GM to introduce some lore to the players, while also keeping the information overload from happening. The adventure itself feels like a great challenge for heroes that are starting out on their journey, and it does what it's supposed to brilliantly. We had a blast navigating a building on fire, and the care that was given to creating maps for each phase and describing the state of important things and people in correlation to time was super useful. This is a definite recommendation from me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Mishap of Ill Portent
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Jason, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review! I'm glad you enjoyed it! thanks, Travis
Desert of Lost Relics
by Preston B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 14:20:58

Desert of lost relics is another fantastic entry in the Vengeance of the Shunned campaign. This module again opens with one of my players’ favorite things, Handouts. So the hooks to get them invested in the module happen before even chapter one starts. I am not sold on making my players bored. I understanding that it is setting a tone, but it may take a better game master to pull this off. AFTER the desert part though the module really gets going.

The initial scripted encounter with the unredeemed Asaatthi is truly devious, and even a middling DM will be able to make this encounter rather shocking. The turncoat slaves are a great touch and allows the DM a lot of flexibility when it comes to dramatic tension.

The fortress itself is very well designed. Honest, I could gush for a page about how consistently fantastic Anne Gregersen’s cartography has been throughout these modules. Suffice it to say that the maps in this adventure are wonderful. If your group is into pushing figures around the table then these maps are perfect for you. If you use a VTT then the modules have you covered. If you are into a more theatre of the mind approach to encounters, then, again the module is set up so that isn’t a problem. Dungeon ecology is an art and Vengeance of the Shunned has nailed it thus far.

Again, in the fortress we have a random encounter table. These aren’t cool for me as a DM. (I prefer to plan out my players’ encounters a bit more, and enjoy milestone advancements), but they are here if any DMs want them. The scripted encounters though are very well done with some new enemies and some old classics.

The monsters section brings back some old classics. I do think that the art choice for one of them is really odd as the artist drew the giant mantis derpy, but also with equipment and a spear, while the monsters, as presented, are Intelligence 3 giant bugs. This is a fairly minor nitpick. Overall, I would say that Desert of Lost Relics, in my opinion, may not be strongest entry in the Vengeance of the Shunned campaign, but it is still a 9 among 10s. A lot of what takes away from it, for me, come down to personal DM preference.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Desert of Lost Relics
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Preston, Thank you again for your incredible review. I am thrilled to hear that the campaign is continuing to be enjoyable. I look forward to your thoughts on the next installment! Thanks, Travis
The Treasure of Magister Yama
by Preston B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2019 14:37:57

One thing that players love is handouts. The area map for this adventure is a perfect handout (it looks great printed on legal paper even if you don’t have fancy parchment.) Not only that, but there is the opportunity to have some journal excerpts as well. These two small details really make this already superior adventure one that your players will remember for years if you implement them well at your table.

The other really well-done aspect that isn’t directly related to the adventure itself is the quality of the maps. I have a local group so I don’t use a virtual Table Top, but the maps are there if you do, and they work great if you don’t. Well done maps are one of those make or break things for some encounters, and in this module the encounter maps are fantastic.

So, how is the adventure? Well, I have biases, so I am likely not the best judge for this entry into Vengence of the Shunned campaign. See I have a huge soft spot for Lovecraftian horror, and this module knocks that aspect out of the park. The text box on page 3 really seals the deal and offers some amazing advice for dungeon masters. The village of Lapo is presented in such a way to make it very easy for DMs to evoke the creepy aesthetic of stories like The Colour Out of Space.

The adventure is longer than the previous two coming in at about 20 pages of adventure text. There is a new template for some encounters that make sense in the adventure as well as two examples using the template and an NPC that utilizes that template. There is another new aberration also in this module. There are a new true ritual and a magical hazard as well. Overall this is a fantastic core adventure for the Vengence of the Shunned campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Treasure of Magister Yama
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Preston! Thanks so much for the detailed and thoughtful review! Dan's writing and Anne's maps have been pure joy to see come together, and I am glad to see you have enjoyed them as well! Thanks, Travis
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by Michael W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2019 22:57:15

If you have even a passing interest in Werewolf the Forsaken Second Edition this book is MUST BUY. So many antagonists and deeper lore on the setting you can't miss out on it. The nature of the Void, Wounds, and how utterly wrecked Ghost Wolves can get is something that can enhance any game. Seriously, pick this thing up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
by Costan S. B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2019 22:30:12

I love Scion first edition, but Scion second edition just breaks the whole background and feeling of the first one. The World (the new setting) is based around ancient gods never leaving and yet history hasn't changed... and this makes no sense. First edition took quite some time to explain why gods had been forgotten and history was as it was but, if gods have not been forgotten, why would people stop believing in them? I mean, if a preacher comes to talk to me about Jesus or Allah, for example, and yet Thor comes every week to say hi, what can they offer? No miracles my old gods couldn't do. So, the new setting has been developed in a way that makes no sense and breaks the immersive background of the first edition.

As for rules, they've changed everything. Some things look prety interesting by reading them, some things look worse, as it stands it looks like I'd need to play a game of Scion 2nd Ed to find out if I like or don't like the Storypath system. And, considering the background, that is highly unlikely. Play the new rules on the old background? Not sure if it would work, seems like the new system generates differente mechanical effects that would change how core things like Fate work in first edition, so I don't think it's possible to translate one rulebook to the other background. So I guess it'll just lie in my collection and never be played, while I keep on playing first edition.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Scion Second Edition Book One: Origin
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Signs of Sorcery
by James H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2019 19:37:41

This book expands so much on Mage the Awakening 2nd Edition and I shall do a quick summary based on chapter detailing a lot about what it does to make you want to ingest everything within the confines of this book.

Chapter 1 - We get details about the Supernal Entities presenting us with some of the boons these powerful beings can bestow as well as some of the explanation of what "Iron Seals" are to the Seers and how they came about their discovery. We also learn a little more about the Ministries and how they operate. We also get a more indepth explanation of how the Supernal Realms represent the other Arcana and explaning why the Inferior are inferior and how they are Inferior for each Path. We get expanded mechanics on Mystery building for Focused Mage Sight as well as some very cool merits to expand on the capability of the most widely used tool of a Mage in their daily and supernatural lives. We also learn more about the mysterious Aedes and how they affect the world around them and the Mages that investigate them, very cool mysteries to add to any chronicle.

Chapter 2 - Details more about Yantras including those that are not simply a wand or an artifact discovered by the Mage but through their actions and use of magic to create very different and useful Yantras based on specific needs. Yantras are a big part of making spells work and is such a great thing to have expanded upon in ways that don't always include Merits and you can have 2 dedicated tools!

Chapter 3 - Gives some much needed errata on Imbued Items as well as goes into detail with various other ways of crafting Imbued Items along with the use of Soul Stones and also finally gives more information on the Perfected Materials that have only been teased or hinted at with 1st Edition.

Chapter 4 - Goes into the art of creating grimoires and palimpsest to make spells more powerful or add new elements to rotes making them unique and much more useful when compared to standard rotes.

Chapter 5 - Goes into artifacts and the various types expanding on their mechanics and usefulness to Mages explaining why their are such coveted items and the different kinds that might be used by the Seers.

Chapter 6 - Goes into the Awakening itself, laying down the mechanics/system necessary to produce an Awakening while also leaving several more mysteries about Mages that awaken to the same watchtower or awaken at the same time to the same Path and how this changes and effects them.

Overall, an incredible book that expands on a lot that we have desired in Mage the Awakening since 1st Edition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Signs of Sorcery
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/22/2019 13:58:46

I've been looking forward to this book for a long time. In short, it gave me everything that I wanted and more.

Essentially the book is a huge list of potential antagonists and hooks. Some are classics that have been expanded on, like the new Gifts developed by the Pure Tribes (though still obtainable by Forsaken characters). Some are wholly new monstrosities that should add new dimensions to any Forsaken game, like the Void Reivers and Geryo.

As the largest Night Horrors book, Shunned makes use of its wordcount and is packed with new stuff. In typical Onyx Path fashion, there's something for everybody in here. I'd call it a "must-have" for any Werewolf Storyteller.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Night Horrors: Shunned by the Moon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 31 to 45 (of 1132 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]   1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG