Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wizards of the Coast » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Spelljammer: Adventures in Space (2e)
by Thomas A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 22:01:42

For high fantasy, there's the Realms. Romance? There's Dragonlance. But Spelljammer? Well, it's for the real weirdos out there. We got antiquity-level physics. We got a legendary immortal spaceship. We got malevolent eel-spiders and giant snail shell spaceships and hippopotamuses who love guns.

That should be enough to sell you on this book, or else you've probably already closed the tab.

As far as print quality, the hardcover that I received in Summer 2019 is quite high quality. It's not blurry, and it's not missing letters, like it sounds previous scans had problems with. It's a little strange that the two books are printed in the opposite order that the original material suggests, but it's not a big deal. There are several pages where material gets lost in the fold, since it wasn't intended to be presented in this way. But if you're interested in this strange, strange universe -- which can link the Realms, Dragonlance, and any other campaign, by the way -- and you're not as concerned with collectability, it's hard to go wrong with this.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Spelljammer: Adventures in Space (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
by David H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2019 00:18:33

Fantastic module. Easy to scale up to 4 hours, and reskin to whatever loaction you like (I set it near Parnast to pair with the Bad Fruul Season 5 Tier One adventures). Doesn't take much to add a little flair to the games, food, or rides to stretch things out (Out of control rides, cheating carnies, a subplot on the barrel of cider the gnome is trying to sell from the begining, etc.).

I found my players loving the RP aspect so much that they didn't even notice there were only two combats (I actually added a third by expanding the farmer arguement into a brawl where they needed to intervene non-lethally).

Playing up the fools is key. I amped up the creepy/hate factor by using the main villain's abilities to learn personal information about the characters then pass it on to the fools so their mocking mimes were very cutting. This made the characters both furious and freaked out at how the fools knew so much about them.

Good for any level and number of players. Lots of spooky fun. Can't wait to run it again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-06 No Foolish Matter (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Keaton S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 19:59:44

There are already a lot of reviews accurately extolling the excellences of this mod, so I would like to specifically mention a feature of this mod that contributes to its awesomeness.

The maps. The maps are simple little graphics, but they precisely describe the quantitative and spatial relationships of encounter location components—and they have several such components, which expand the tactical and story-telling potential of each encounter that takes place there. There's so much going on in these locations, that some of the maps are even presented from multiple angles!

This level of detail inspired my players to take more creative approaches to encounter resolution, making use of terrain in clever and daring ways to raise the stakes, raise the tension, and raise the excitement.

For this feature, and many others, 5/5.

P.S. I used this mod as an intro for a new D&D player, and he—and everyone else at the table—said they had a awesome time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

C2 The Ghost Tower of Inverness (1e)
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 17:48:11

As a player I experienced this module MANY years ago so when I realized it was available in POD format I was very excited to get my hands on a copy and run it for my own group. In my case, I unfortunately found that my memories of how great this adventure was was heavily influenced by how much my own DM had invested into and embelished the module.

Ghost Tower Of Inverness is at its core a fun challenge-style dungeon that is well worth a play through. Having said that where it ages poorly (in my opinion) is that the trade-off for it being a challenge-style dungeon is that it is light on flavour, background and meaningful hooks. If a DM wants to run this as part of their own campaign it will require a lot of padding out and some consideration if you aren't playing 1st Ed with the pre-generated characters.

Having said all that, if your players like an old-school challenging dungeon that is less well known (and less mean spirited) than Tomb Of Horrors this might be the perfect adventure for you.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
C2 The Ghost Tower of Inverness (1e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
by Rob M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 17:07:41

This was an excellent adventure to run as a newer DM. Some nice characters to play and fun little moments with the tricks that can be played. It's a good adventure for new players as well as it shows a couple of different aspects of D&D with roleplay, puzzles and a good decent fight at the end. We played at Xmas time to give that additional seasonal flaire.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL00-05 Winter's Splendor (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
by Cody R. Date Added: 07/15/2019 01:35:54

Edit: the book that you purchase is NOT the book you receive. the index page lists it as Primordial Powers and isn't what the real EEPC is. this product is a ripoff and you get screwed out of $15.

Wasn't what I thought it would be. Does not have genasi or goliath races in it, nor does it have nearly all the spells that's been advertised as in it.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Elemental Evil Player’s Companion (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/14/2019 23:35:03

The content here is great. The hook makes sense. Each of the 5 mini modules makes sense. However, it's clear very fast that someone is getting to the cache ahead of you, which means a good strategy for the PC's is to skip to the fifth cache as early as possible to try to overcome that. So skipping content is likely. Also, our party of 5 level 1's would have gotten completely wiped by the badgers if I wasn't being awfully generous, and yet absolutely owned the steam and ice elementals in the final shrine along with the four giant owls outside. Seems to be a bit of an imbalance that needs to be overcome.

Otherwise the story is great and the content is really fun...there is just some clunkiness in execution.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
by Natane S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 20:25:41

Very thorough and interesting. Fun time for everyone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
by Abby P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2019 11:16:56

This adventure was a good introduction to D&D/AL - ran well and timing was good.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL4-01 Suits of the Mists (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dragon+: Six Faces of Death (5e)
by Jon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 20:56:02

This is a giant, awesome adventure, full of interesting adversaries, fascinating scenarios, and with a simple but compelling story. I love the planar lore tying Acheron, Modrons, and Yugoloths into the narrative, and the inclusion of the drow and shadar-kai factions makes perfect sense but adds a great layer of fun. My only criticism is that it's almost too gigantic an adventure. Since there's so much randomness (which is excellent) in which side of the cube is visited, which way the characters go, and whether a party deals with creatures via combat or diplomacy - it demands a lot of prep. To successfully run the adventure as it's meant to be run, a DM has really got to spend enough time to be completely familiar with Cube 1717, and that could take awhile! But beyond that little quibble, this is a stellar adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dragon+: Six Faces of Death (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 21:28:33

Ran this last night, party were quick to find info and surrendered pretty quickly after 2 of their number got knocked out in first round. The battle against the 'Dark Alliance' didn't seem to go anywhere for this party (Druid hangs back and supports with ranged attacks but only really has produce flame?) The Quippers were savage though, so much damage and they even got a crit on one of the halflings. The last fight was rough on everyone, between the guards and the bbeg bonking people on the head with a greatsword. Pretty good, will have a better opinion of it when I run it a second time I feel.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-02 Shackles of Blood (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Legend of Spelljammer (2e)
by Steven S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 16:25:26

Agree with the other reviewers that the lack of maps significantly reduces the value of this product. WotC, please add the maps to the scan. Other than that, this would be a five-star product.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Legend of Spelljammer (2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
by Nicholas W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 02:08:19

Ran this the other week without prior looking at, quite well written with plenty of content. Agrak is a nasty fight, charmed two of the party who then proceeded to knock another pair down, fortunately they figured that out quickly. Everyone enjoyed the level of challenge that was provided and managed to come up with some creative solutions to a few problems. Am gonna try and make this a regular for its clear delivery and challenge level.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX3-10 Quelling the Horde (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
by Benjamin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/06/2019 05:21:20

Fair warning, this module is a tough one, and is probably much lengthier than the advertise 4hr run time.

But its thematics are great and gloomy, it is a genuinely terrifyingly challenging module, my one suggestion would instead of the throwaway chaff NPCs accompanying you-know-who in the end, you move one of the heavy hitters (like the fire elemental) to be her support instead so that she has more time to ply her craft, instead of being bursted down almost immediately by a prepared party.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-14 The Darklord (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2019 19:35:02

My first experiance as a DM and they 2nd time only playing DnD and I decided to get this whole set. Only one of my players had done DnD before and they enjoyed it as well. This starting set of missions is perfect for a brand new DM and new players and gave me confidence to start working on my own Custom adventure. I highly recomend it to anyone starting out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDEX1-01 Defiance in Phlan (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 5556 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG