Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Mongoose » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
High Guard
by Troels P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2020 03:48:41

There is not much useful in this book. There are mistakes in the numbers/calculations. I ended up not using it at all.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Knights of Solaris
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2020 16:43:14

Obvious facsimile of the Force and its users from Star Wars, but very well done. Good for those who want to bring the concepts of the Jedi and Sith into the Traveller ruleset.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Infernum - Book of the Conqueror
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 07:00:00

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. Being focused on the domain-running, social mechanics and mass combat angles, this is probably the least immediately useful of the Infernum trilogy; it's definitely worthwhile getting it to complete your collection if you can, and the social mechanics angles can really add a lot if reverse-ported to D&D 3e or Pathfinder, which traditionally have been rather lacking in those departments, but it's just not as inherently useful as the Book of the Damned and the Tormentor.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Conqueror
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Infernum - Book of the Tormentor
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 06:55:42

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. As the primary lore-focused splatbook, the Book of the Tormentor is hands down my must-pick of the three; the Book of the Damned provides the player-immediate information about demons, mortals and angels, but if you want to know about Hell as a place and the history of the Infernum, you NEED to read this book. I would use the Infernum in place of Hell or the Abyss or Hades or any of the other Lower Planes of D&D in a heartbeat, that's how much this book speaks to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Tormentor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Infernum - Book of the Damned
by Jonathon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2020 06:53:27

Hands down, Infernum is and seems fit to remain my favorite "demonic/diabolic" planar layout of all time. Even as a hardcore fan of the World Axis, D&D has never made its demons or its devils or any of its other myriad fiends as inherently interesting and gameable as this setting does. It was Mongoose Publishing's finest work. For the Book of the Damned in particular, this is primarily a crunch-focused book; if you're familiar with the D20 mechanics, you'll generally know what to expect going in, but the race-as-class system and the mutations system is definitely worth checking out. I found it most interesting for the lore. My one gripe is the Sorcery system, and this is purely a matter of personal taste; I like magic for its destructive and combat-capable elements, and Infernum's firm slotting of magic into purely utilitarian spellcraft works, but isn't personally very satisfying to me.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Infernum - Book of the Damned
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
by Ernest B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2020 10:40:13

This is a fine adventure for the price, the only quibble I would have is that more maps and diagrams would be helpful. It's a good start to the author's proposed series.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mystery of BT-SHT 365
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Traveller: Makergod
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 16:31:11

Since starting Drinax in 2015, I had long wanted to take my players to icy, untamed Oghma. Potential 'fall guy' for the Drinaxians vis-a-vis the Punitive Flotilla, testing grounds for the nascent Pirates and their crews, or just a dangerous place with dangerous people, the planet had its mystery and reputation (and uses). The PCs were going...and it was going to be a lot of work!

Fortunately for me as a harried GM, there was suddenly a nearly fully-developed treatment of the world, its inhabitants, geopolitics, a lead-in scenario, technology and a sandbox (icebox?) the likes of which one usually associates with boxed sets (Tarsus?) or full softcover books (a la Sword Worlds), costing 3x as much or more. The cartography and schematics are first-rate, and the more modest endgame maps and plot twist inspired me to a much bigger effort of my own linked to other elements in my campaign-something I could never have done without the foundation this book provided. It is shaping up to be an epic conclusion to the current arc of the campaign and I must say-this book is the single most impressive Drinax-related Traveller product I have purchased other than the full campaign itself, which I backed on Kickstarter.

While capsule descriptions and short stories (cf. Arunisiir, Torpol Cluster, various Drinax fiction) are of some help, few feature such a broad and nicely detailed approach as the Makergod product. If this author creates more such books set in the Reach, I will put my money down without question!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller: Makergod
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

High Guard
by Roy M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2020 09:41:43

Excellent book overall. As with almost all Mongoose books, I find the organization a bit haphazard. It is sometimes hard to find what I am looking for in the book. My biggest complaint is that the pdf is locked in such a way that I am prevented from adding my own bookmarks. I can still copy it and share it I don't care about copyright issues, so I'm not sure what they are trying to prevent. The book looks very nice and has a very large assortment of ship stats and layouts. The new isometric maps look great, but I wish there were 2D maps that would be easier to use on a VTT. The sale price of $30 is suitable to what is offered, but I think the full $50 price would be a bit steep. If you are playing game that focus on ship improvments this books is a must have. The core book does not include very much for upgrading or building ships, and high guard has a lot of detail in this area.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
High Guard
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MgT Traveller Map of the Trojan Reaches Sector
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 22:14:35

Very sloppy work; art overlays text in several places, leaving the vuewer to guess what was meant from the two or three letters visible.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
MgT Traveller Map of the Trojan Reaches Sector
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Traveller Core Rulebook
by Morgan G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/30/2020 17:01:16

This book improves on the 1st edition of Traveller in many ways. The art is considerably better, and many of the careers look to be improved, with handy charts for navigating the complex character creation that Traveller has always used. It fixes many of the problems I had with 1e. So why 2 stars? Because it's $30 for less content than the 1e corebook, despite a higher pagecount. While the book has retained one of the quintessential traveller rules bits - world/universe creation - it has needlessly omitted starship design. This is a huge part of the utility of Traveller and vastly reduces the books value as a single volume RPG resource. This would be less irritating if the book didn't waste pages with overly designed tables (the weapon tables are tremendously inefficient wastes of space) and functional advertising for upcoming products that look like they'll be mandatory to get the same material we got in the 1e corebook.

Is it bad? That remains to be seen. The mechanics don't look like the same level of disaster that 1e's Vehicle books or Mercenary was, but in their incomplete state and the clear assumption that future supplements will be mandatory purchases, along with some issues related to the files (wonkiness with the printer friendly version, etc) ensures that I'll be looking elsewhere for my Space Opera fix.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Traveller Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Knights of Solaris
by Tyler K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/24/2020 21:25:10

Knights of Solaris is a fantastic addition to, or basis for a Traveller campaign. The new abilities and equipment are a lot of fun to use, and seem really well balanced. Looking forward to more material for the Solaris setting!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Knights of Solaris
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
by Kaladorn O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/28/2020 04:47:38

I got mine in the Kickstarter. I've played Traveller since 1981 (38 years...) and I've loved ships, deckplans, and the advanced character creation, esp of various militaries. However, for a long time, there was nothing really usable as a way to run an active duty campaign. Now, for small ships like a Gazelle class close escort (about 3x as large as a Free Trader), you could probably ad-lib that one as a GM. But the books about major fleet elements had destroyers, cruisers, battleships, carriers.... nothing you could play with except as a wargame of sorts. You are pretty small on one of those 500,000 dTon battlewagons.

Then, along comes this Kickstarter and we get a 'big' ship compared to most of the ship's players will ever own. About the only close examples I can think of sizewise might be King Richard liner or the Azhanti High Lightning Class Cruisers. But none of those took the time to focus on the role playing aspect of "How do I play an active duty campaign on one of these?". That's where the magic in this product lives. It not only gives you the huge pile of cool deck blueprints and some description of what and where, but it deals with how you can actually have a role-playing campaign amidst such a vast vessel.

Now, from the KS, but not in this, we got the first adventure (and there are several others) that form a campaign which will give even more info on how to run a long campaign from a big ship. It's a kind of gaming many of us imagine we'd love to do, but never really had a good guide on how to do it and how to not simply make the players the senior officers and then watch them try to become bandits with the Dread Death Planet Roberts.

This product and the adventures that need this as a base are as good of a take on how to actually run an active service campaign as I've ever seen in any game that involved large military vessels or big units (grounside). The campaign style is different to your 6-vagabonds-in-a-40-year-old-tramp-trader. These people operate in a world of ranks, rules, laws, and orders. They also live in a world of tough fights and a lot of things that force can't solve directly (and some good practice at other means of dealing with situations). I think this is such a breath of fresh air for players old and new that most of us, finances allowing, should add this one to our collections.

I just wish I'd had the money to join the Great Rift kickstarter too. This one won my heart though. And my wallet, and I don't have as much to spend as I once did. I have a redhead in middle school that has first call on available monies. (Pity the mustering out benefit for some PCs isn't 'child support' or 'a dependent NPC').



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Jeremiah Thunder Mountain
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 08:23:09

This is great add on to the Jeremiah D20 Modern RPG. I watched the TV series and really enjoyed it. When I found the 20D Modern Rules for the Jeremiah Universe I knew I wanted to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jeremiah Thunder Mountain
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
by David v. H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 08:22:03

I watched the TV series and really enjoyed it. When I found the 20D Modern Rules for the Jeremiah Universe I knew I wanted to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Jeremiah Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Book 1: Mercenary
by Michael B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2020 17:10:07

Contains an amazing amount of information, especially for the standard "Third Imperium" universe. Great value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book 1: Mercenary
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 778 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG