Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Mongoose » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
by Bryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2019 10:43:43

What we have here is another book (29 Pages, 22 actual content) by JBE that this time covers a selection of Creatures that can be used in Traveller, but probably easily adapted to any other Sci-Fi setting with minimal fuss.

The book starts with a brief introduction that discusses how to use the creatures presented in Native Life, Dangerous Fauna, Vehicles, Pets and Entertainment. Each one comes with a couple of paragraphs describing each and then a suggestion or two for actual use. The content here is good and albeit obvious, it does provoke some thought.

The book then moves on to the actual creatures with a page dedicated to each. Each one is broken down into a description, Combat tactics, Ecology and Habitat and then some stats for each. For example, the Shark goes into small detail about how Sharks originated on Earth and were spread by Ancients throughout known space. The combat tactics talks about hunting whilst Ecology discusses where you would find them, types of bodies of water for example. The stats then offer up stats for a Small, Normal and Large shark. Each creature is laid out the same way and this provides some ideas for use and as a 1 pager can be very useful to have to hand.

Each Animal also comes with an image of each. The art here is generally good throughout the book. You then get an appendix which covers a series of benchmarks should you wish to create your own animals. A second appendix then offers up further details around each of the Traits.

All in all, a good addition to your library. My only criticism would be for the price, I would personally would have preferred a little more content, maybe even a 1-2 page scenario with some of the creatures in actual use.

Overall though, very good. Reads well and could be useful for any ground based adventure / campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Foreven Worlds: Creatures of Distant Worlds (MGT 2e)
by Brett K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2019 08:03:08

The PDF document consists of 29 pages, which includes the cover page, a disclaimer page, table of contents and 4 pages of ads at the end, which leaves 22 pages of content. Not too bad for $15 AUD, better if you can get it when on one of the numerous sales on DriveThru. The book starts with a great two page introduction with five different ideas on how to use the creatures in your own adventures. The information is detailed enough to hopefully get your imagination working but not so much as to tell you do this, this and this. I think there is enough information for even a new GM to use the creatures outlined in the following pages. Next come 17 pages of creatures, one type per page. Each page includes a description, combat tactics, ecology & habitat and one or more characteristic blocks of different varieties the creature. The characteristic blocks are standard Mongoose Traveller edition 2 statistics so are useable for most versions of Traveller. I found the description of each creature the most interesting for two reasons. First, the descriptions are clearly inspired, at least to my mind, by creatures from movies and tv shows. It became a fun little game as I read the book to try and work out where the inspiration came from. Some were self-evident, others not so much. The second reason I liked the descriptions stemmed from the first, knowing a source for the creature gave me ideas on how I could use the creature in my own games. The creatures are varied enough to use on almost any world your characters might find themselves. Oh and yeah, the artwork is great throughout the book and they definitely add value to the book. After the creatures is a page of stats for every day earth creatures, which gives you a good basis of comparison for the previous creatures. The final two pages are the Traits pages, which gives you an outline of each of the traits covered throughout the book. This is especially good if you don't have the core edition 2 Mongoose book and want to pick up Creatures of Distant Worlds for use in a non-Mongoose Traveller game. So overall a really worthwhile edition to your Sci-fi gaming collection. Good formatting, clean, easy to read with great artwork. Only two things I can think of that would make this book better. First, a little more detail into where you would find the large and gigantic creatures, as opposed to the standard versions of them, such as giant creature X is 5 times less likely to be encountered and even then only in X locations. I guess this does allow the GM to be creative but would be helpful to new GMs. The second thing that would make this book even better is more creatures! When is edition 2 coming out?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Drinax
by Robins T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2019 10:43:07

Hands down the best campaign I have ever seen put together for Traveller, or for any RPG for that matter. 10 very playable, open ended adventures along with sourcebooks for a sandbox campaign that players can take in a mutitude of directions. Highly recommend for those looking for a high powered Traveller campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Pirates of Drinax
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
by august c. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 16:51:38

Very impressed with this edition. The rules in this edition are a lot more flexible, and the system has been trimmed into something that actually supports the style of play the game is known for. The card system also gives the players a little more say in the narrative, and is a wonderful addition.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Red Clearance Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
by Dale M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 13:25:33

Product is password locked and I am unable to use the images because of it.

Please unlock this collection so I can use these images.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Character Portraits: Fantasy Heroines
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Widowed
by Travis R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 20:42:19

Best of the Mongoose short stories to date. If you've played the Pirates of Drinax Campaign, you know the Widows are one of the more fascinating but underdeveloped features of the campaign. This short story is an enjoyable read on its own merits, and also fills in a lot of the gaps in the campaign material.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Widowed
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Widowed
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/28/2019 01:50:34

This short story is a technological thriller that is fast paced with good character development and a solid plot. Widowed is set in the Official Traveller universe, but confined to one world and accessible to anyone who doesn't play the game. Like all good science fiction, it has a bit of allegorical social commentary relating to the role of the individual vs. the collective. My only complaint is that there's a lot more to explore here than can be done in 10,000 words.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
by Davis C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/12/2019 10:17:10

Service Pack 1 is the appropriate level of Paranoia for your current security clearance. This review was not written under duress or through coersion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Paranoia Service Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Perfectly Safe Gear
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 10:41:38

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Perfectly Safe Gear
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The RAM Deck
by Luis H. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/16/2019 08:09:27

I'm kind of flustered about this... I live in Brazil and it's too expensive to order real cards, so I decided to buy the PDF's, print them and sleeve them. The Secret Society pack is as it should, made in a way that I can print, cut, fold and sleeve without a problem. Every sheet has about 4 cards I think. However, this pack, as well as the Equipment pack, are NOT like that. Every card is a separate PAGE in the file! How am I supposed to print it correctly??? It's impossible to use it like this!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The RAM Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Frozen Watch
by Peter C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2019 16:27:56

A tightly written story very much in the spirit of the hard SF classics. A marine of the frozen watch has to use ingenuity and physics to stay alive - as moments after they awake they find themselves adrift in orbit, with no immediate hope of recovery. An easy, entertaining read, that never gets lost in the minutiae of canon but nonetheless has a strong Traveller feel. Entertaining, with a nice reveal at the end that challenges typical misconceptions of the genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Frozen Watch
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Supplement 9: Campaign Guide
by Stephen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 08:57:07

WAnt to run an entire campaing with no prep at all? Let the dice rule your world withthis giant book of tables!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supplement 9: Campaign Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside
by Mikhail M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 10:00:57

Pros: useful, makes you think, unique naval/space take on familiar concepts.

Cons: $6 for 15 useful pages, some entries bland.

To give some background for the review: I read "Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside" in one day on my tablet, and it is still fresh in my memory. I got it because I was looking for a pdf-only supplement for Mongoose Traveller 2E (New Traveller) while I am waiting for a discount on some physical books I want to get. My experience with Traveller is limited to the New Traveller: I have read the Starter Set, Companion, and High Guard so far.

This supplement promises "a miscellany of things to do and places to visit that are both interesting and memorable." That it does. Most entries either make you think about common pastimes in unusual (space/naval) context, or give you interesting bits of lore that make the locations come alive, or give the Referee little hooks on which to hang their adventures. The last one is a far fetch from full-blown adventure seeds, but it helps the Referee to start thinking.

With that said, some entries are just bland. One entry even tries to turn the blandness into a joke, but I would say it is not very successful at that. However, dull entries are in the minority.

The supplement consists of four chapters:

  1. PORTSIDE FEATURES. This chapter gives you an overview of what to expect in a spaceport and makes you think about its environment and surroundings. It also has stats for a robot, which most likely require the rules from Central Supply Catalogue.
  2. HOTELS, BARS AND RESTAURANTS. This chapter gives you a brief explanation of the role of these establishments in a Traveller's life and a list of nine entries. In my opinion, the forte of this chapter is not in the list of brands to drop into your game, but the background lore they tell you, such as naval-themed drinks.
  3. RETAILERS, MERCHANTS AND SERVICE PROVIDERS. This chapter humanizes the "shopping interface" of the game. This may be helpful for a referee who wants to spend more table time on, well, shopping. The chapter also has a couple of vendors who look more like plot hooks and a little bit of background lore. Personally, I do not think it is great as the plot hooks are underdeveloped and the lore does not quite feel right, but it is subjective. The chapter is still pretty robust.
  4. RECREATIONAL FACILITIES AND PLACES TO VISIT. This chapter made me go "neat, why didn't I think of that" a couple of times. Most of the locations (in a fairly broad sense) in this chapter can serve as unique backdrops for various missions. Some sites are a bit too vague or not as readily usable, but overall this chapter is excellent.

Overall, an entertaining read with a lot of neat ideas. I would recommend it even if you think that you can come up with various locations and things to do on your own. This supplement is more than a list of those things - it jogs the creative machine quite a bit and makes you think. If anyone has any questions about this review or the supplement though, leave a comment in the discussions tab, and I will try to respond.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Referee's Briefing 3: Going Portside
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
by Sean S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/28/2019 15:05:40

This is a free intro version, so I suppose one shouldn't expect much, but there are some glaring formatting and text registration errors in the copy I downloaded via Safari on iOS. I mention this because I haven't noticed this problems on other files I've gotten thru here, free or paid.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Book 0: Introduction to Traveller
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
by Daniel H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 16:28:35

Excellent supplement to High Guard and the Core Rulebook. Completely satisfied with all contents of this e-book. The level of detail present in the blueprints far exceeds anything else in this edition of Traveller (haven't looked at previous versions). The Naval Campaign guide is a fantastic resource that gives many additional rules on how to run a game taking place within a rigid command structure, the sort of adventures those Travellers will go on, and so forth. The ~80 page book pertaining to just the Element Class Cruisers is detailed and evocative enough such that the PCs will have all the information they need on all aspects of running the ship, and the referee has enough information to infer much about ship operations on other, less detailed ships. Highly recommend this book, and I would love to see similar products soon!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Element Class Cruisers: Ship Builder's Blueprints
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 759 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG