Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Grim & Perilous Studios » Reviews
Browse Categories
Vamp
Vamp
$2.50 $1.99













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Argonautica - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/20/2020 12:01:36

Some nice ideas in this, I think it's worth the money, but the layout needs some love. Text runs up too close to page borders and viewing it in facing pages mode results in some pages properly faced and others jarringly unfaced.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Argonautica - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

LGBT in a Grim and Perilous World - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by William F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2020 22:53:36

First, this is a book for any Historian/GM/DM/Keeper and while focused on the G&P World. This LGBTQ+ Ally was interested in the item as it's an area that needs more materials to make RPGs even more welcoming to everyone. As a player for 40 years, it's been frustrating to see various efforts to milk toast fantasy and historic fantasy RPGs. Equally frustrating for someone who is an adjunct history teacher, is the continual dismissal of LGBTQ+ in any historical, actual or fantasy, context as "completely unrealistic." Lilith comes out swinging and GOD BLESS THEM for doing so with this retort: "That, apparently, LGBT people started in 1969 when Elton John dropped his first album and before that no one of note in history was every LGBT and no country or region was every supportive of LGBT people." I would insert one of those "100% this" Gifs right here, because apparently RPGs have a demonstrated past of a "Queer-washed" and I will go further washed white, milk-toast concept of history, historic fantasy that like history, and public memory of it, needs to end. History, like life, is more complicated than simple two column boxes, and the gaining industry from miniatures, board games, war gaming, rpgs, and reenacting needs to make this a priority must change. Lilith, thanks for doing this in G&P.

Second, Lilith brings their full game to this essay. This essay is a wit-filled read that I highly recommend. I quoted above the 1969 origin story and that is just a start. With two LGBTQ+ kids, I gotta say this is an essay that strike out RPG and gaming, and you could give this to any group working on inclusion. Plus, it is a damn good read, despite the fact that it was not sent "into the Manager of LGBT affairs for review." That one still has me chuckling after reading it three times btw. As a historian, we constantly come across the "roommates" or "dear/good/life-long friends" as an explanation as to why two non-heterosexual adults spent their lives together. Again, a milk-toasting of history. From the ancient worlds of China, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Nubia, Greece, Rome, Celtia and beyond, the human experience has included LGBTQ individuals This essay reiterates that and honestly the "What does LGBTQ mean?" and "Sexuality is a Spectrum and is Weird" should be assigned reading everywhere. Read it and you will learn something, yes, there are other articles other essays about the same thing - podcasts from Dan Savage to articles in Psychology Today - got it, but read this too.

Third, this is an essay that covers playing the game for the love the game. That if someone is getting so hung up on gender or genitals, then it's probably worth having a discussion about how they can deal with dragons, demons, orcs, or witches and clerics, but not an LGBTQ+ character or NPC. Put another way, DUDE - roll the damn dice or find the door, although I think Lilith did this a lot nicer and with more explanation. But the translation is just that damn simple. If "history" is one hyper heterosexual actors, usually white unless they were great generals, and usually men, then that person is not talking history they are talking a Victorian mythology that needs to be left in the past with cholera. Lilith's nine examples of LGBTQ+ in history, under the title of "How Gay Was History?," helps emphasize that history has been inclusive in that history includes everyone - the people and their stories are there, you just have to look and SEE them. By the way, search social media (Twitter & IG) for historic artwork on many of the nine themes Lilith shared. Hashtags and historians have a tendency to work together - explore them and create some visual context for the well-presented ideas Lilith offered.

Finally, remember that DUDE above, ok, Lilith goes into some frank talk on how to be that DUDE. As a guy, I will say, it's always a DUDE - get over it and don't come at me, cause IT'S ALWAYS A DUDE. That said every Historian/GM/DM/Keeper needs to read, and as I did reread, the "Not Cool Dude" section on the troupes to avoid with succinct explanations of why they are part of the continuing problem - you will instantly recognize a group of them have been used and misused by Hollywood from Will & Grace to sadly to say an episode of Lovecraft Country. But, it's worth the read and the read followed by a good deal of thought and contemplation on the entire essay. Doing so will be a great start and part of the effort to make the gaming table, if not the larger place you live in, a bit more open so that everyone can be part of the fun of tossing dice and playing out the character they want to be.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
LGBT in a Grim and Perilous World - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ancient Magick - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
by Jack D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/26/2020 07:39:33

Great magical sourcebook for ZWEIHÄNDER RPG. Expansion features huge amount of good information to expand magick on your ZWEIHÄNDER games. New interesting magical professions, new magical lore (Cabal and it's Paths), magical combat rules and then new spells (and Rituals). Professional work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ancient Magick - Supplement for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Concordance of Freedom [BUNDLE]
by Th R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/27/2020 06:08:17

This is fantastic campaign, making full use of the ZH rules and the premises of the system: corruption, shades of grey, but also idealism and the achievement of small victories. The only blemish is that the bundle could come with player and GM primers to supply background on the factions, principalities and NPCs. Info is scattered about the various documents, but it takes a bit of work to piece it together: primers would go a good way to helping with that.

Still, highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Concordance of Freedom [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Black Road - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
by Louis J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 07:19:44

A great and fun setting for your Zweihander adventures. Well worth the money.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Black Road - Campaign for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Minuet Map Pack - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by Clinton H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 06:48:55

Excellent maps for a short river village adventure. An absolute must for "Their's something about Marie", but could be used just as easily for your own adventures. Whilst it's been drawn for Zweihander, it can be used for any game system or setting. I am using it for WFRP. Great job Pete!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Minuet Map Pack - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Zweihander RPG Adventures [BUNDLE]
by Lexington T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 13:14:40

"Adventures" is a huge misnomer here. "Adventure Ideas and Seeds" would be much more accurate. If, like me, you are looking for adventures that you can open up and play this is NOT the bundle for you.

The content here is well designed though could use a lot more proofreading. The maps are beautiful but only one has any scale reference and none have a compass rose showing north in spite of the author's repeated use of directions references, i.e. "east side of the map".

These all feel prety mailed in to me. They are a great start at salable adventures, but to leave so much undone and write it off to "I didn't do (xxx) because I wanted to leave it up to the GM". If I wanted to make NPCs, develop my own towns, etc. I wouldn't be paying what I consider full price for a few "adventures". Any GM knows that can change anything they want, that's a given, so we don't need the author's permission to do so. What we need, when we pay our hard earned money for an adventure, is NPCs that are built, maps that are complete and accurate, cities that have names with specific named locations, etc.

If you like making up most of your own adventures and need ideas, these provide some decent storylines built down to the point of acts and scenes but plan on making all your own encounters, villages, NPCs, etc. Personally, I don't lack ideas, I like the skills and time to flesh them out into full adventures, and that is clearly not what these are.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Zweihander RPG Adventures [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Clash of Clans - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by Jeffrey B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2020 13:08:40

This is a really handly little starter gambit or side quest for a bigger campaign. Alone, it isn't adventure, but it gave me what I wanted - a super quick and easy way to get some dice rolling and test out of the mechanics of Zweihander. Maps look great but without a scale reference are far from complete. This little gem is much more usable "out of the box" then the other pieces of the author's work I got in a bundle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Clash of Clans - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Complete Armory - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 20:49:11

Every bit of armor and weapons from the two big books al lin one place and for free. It is a impeccable reference tool whehter you have it printed out and in your notes or if you just have the PDF open and are referencing it while making monsters or some such.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Complete Armory - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Glad you like it. Just updated the file with a couple of items that were in the final version of Main Gauche that weren't in the Early Access version.
NPC Creator Sheet (Grim & Perilous Library) - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 20:44:39

Good stuff. Wish it were form fillable though. My handwriting sucks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
NPC Creator Sheet (Grim & Perilous Library) - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wrestler - Profession for Zweihander RPG
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 20:35:22

A profession with several different traits you can choose from. It caters to a few different types of professional wrestlers. Great resource for the price if you want to add a bit of sports entertainment to your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wrestler - Profession for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Animal Commands - Monster for Zweihander RPG
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 20:32:21

Great suppliment for people who want a pet as their iconic trapping or who has a GM that will let their character buy one somewhere over the adventure. You'll have to figure out your own price for the loan dog statblock that comes with the module which is a bit of a bummer but the real appeal is the rules for animal training, which are fairly simple and straight forward.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Animal Commands - Monster for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Golem - Ancestry for Zweihander RPG
by Jonathan F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/17/2020 20:29:36

Great new ancestry for the game. The only criticism i can think of is that the Golem could use some sort of innate damage threshold mechanic to represent things like animate statues designed in such a way that clothing and armor could not be worn. Especially considering that if you bleed you're pretty much dead unless you have a merciful GM that let's you start with aetheric fluid and have a craftsman handy (or possibly already are one). All of the ancestry traits are unique and interesting additions to a character. Subraces based off from material the golem is made of was a great decision too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Golem - Ancestry for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Character Creation Guide - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
by DJ B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2020 02:49:32

This is a good reference sheet for character creation. The only drawback is the formatting of the pdf itself. If you are in front of your computer, looking at the actual pdf, while doing chargen it's fine. However, when printed out the text is incredibly small and nearly impossible to read.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Character Creation Guide - Play Aid for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Plague, Famine & War - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
by Bradley H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2020 17:01:21

Talk about arriving in time for a big event. I had just ended a long out of city adventure and had all these thoughts in my head for what do do when they arrived back in the city. I couldn't have saw this pop up and become an available purchase at a more opportune time. Now I was able to keep my city and my NPCs yet add in a huge array of useful and well thought out parts of this. Also I was able to think about a new foe that will add to the group of demons, fiends, and horrors they are being caught up in... Layout is awesome, PDF/Book combo has helped a lot. Even though I'm now online for every game, our group is best at a table so I'll need the physical copy, plus I can write in it during the VTT. Now if Peter and Zweihander will release digital assests for the game I'd be giving them a 6/5. I know this will give hours of game time, and some lasting foes/friends that will be around for a long time.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Plague, Famine & War - Adventure for Zweihander RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 58 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG