Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Spheres of Might
    by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 18:00:48

    Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse! Spheres of Might just as unbalanced as the Spheres of Power system.

    I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

    The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

    My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

    As for design, I can only give this system three stars. The way the creators take action economy and literally IGNORE it is a pain in the derriere. Taking the notion of acting on top of other players' turns is just a horrible idea. Once may be acceptable, but over and over is not. It's a game designed for a group of people to play and enjoy, not for one player to take control of every other player's turns. It's honestly disgusting.

    In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players.

    Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres of Might
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ultimate Spheres of Power
    by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 17:48:44

    Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse!

    I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

    The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

    My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

    As for design, I can only give this system FOUR stars, because it just takes everything that the game was built upon and ignores it. I deducted another star because when I backed this on Kickstarter, it was sold as the ULTIMATE SPHERES OF POWER.

    Ultimate is an adjective meaning “being or happening at the end of a process; final.”

    This book is anything but the final collection and honestly, I felt betrayed by the creators. They continued to release supplements during the kickstarter that were not included and then continued to release supplements after the Kickstarter was concluded. I wanted to purchase the system in its final form, not the PENULTIMATE version. Be upfront with your customers next time.

    In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players. Deceptive marketing from the designers.

    Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Ultimate Spheres of Power
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Mythic Spheres of Power
    by JEROME M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2021 17:48:02

    Game Masters, Beware! Fun system for Players that is ripe for abuse!

    I read the glowing reviews from Endzeitgeist and thought, wow, this will be a neat system for the players. Little did I know that the players would take literally every opportunity to abuse this system that they could. They will take abilities that chop up their action economy and have them acting through and literally on top of every other player’s turn in the game.

    The system itself is quite creative. It uses a power points system that moves away from what smarky players like to call “Vancian Casting”. If you want to try a power points modular system, this is a good one to go with. The problem is that this system doesn’t take game balance, IE the literal math upon which the entire game is built, into consideration. It throws balance and game economy out the window.

    My recommendation to GM/DMs is to only allow this if you trust your players 100%. It is too easy to abuse, and I’ve had to learn over the course of three campaigns spread through five years that Spheres of Power/Might players will do everything they can to destroy the game balance and make the entire game about them and their single PC.

    As for design, I can only give this system FOUR stars, because it just takes everything that the game was built upon and ignores it. I deducted another star because when I backed this on Kickstarter, it was sold as the ULTIMATE SPHERES OF POWER.

    Ultimate is an adjective meaning “being or happening at the end of a process; final.”

    This book is anything but the final collection and honestly, I felt betrayed by the creators. They continued to release supplements during the kickstarter that were not included and then continued to release supplements after the Kickstarter was concluded. I wanted to purchase the system in its final form, not the PENULTIMATE version. Be upfront with your customers next time.

    In summation, an interesting system. Horrible for game balance. Too easy to abuse by power gaming players. Deceptive marketing from the designers.

    Recommended to avoid at all costs, unless you want your game destroyed. Only let your friends that you absolutely trust play with it. Otherwise, avoid it.

    Edit: The Mythic version utilizes LEGENDARY abilities which make the game completely unbalanced. I didn't think there was a way to make Spheres of Power more unbalanced than it was, but the designers figured it out. Kudos to you. Avoid unless you're a masochist.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Mythic Spheres of Power
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres of Might 5e
    by Shaun T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2021 16:14:40

    At first glance, Spheres of Might appeared to be just a new talent system to add to or replace the current Feats option in D&D. Those sorts of supplements tend to have issues with overpowering characters, but the concept seemed solid, the artwork was top notch, and really, who doesn't love spending talent points? After really digging into it, I quickly realized that this was one of the most in-depth, well balanced supplements that I've seen in years.

    The piece includes background traditions for building characters, new classes based on their Sphere system, and a complete martial skill system that is entirely customizable for each individual character. The amount of options presented is impressive and the fact that most of it is grounded in basic D&D skills and mechanics even more so. This supplement doesn't try to reinvent the game, but it does offer a whole new evolution. See my full review on the Drunken Dragon.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres of Might 5e
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Catgirl Handbook
    by Garrick W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2021 19:25:00

    The thing I love about Drop Dead Studios's work is that even the "joke" books have well-designed, high quality content. The Catgirl Handbook has some genuinely good options like a feat for applying Life sphere effects to shapeshifted targets and a much needed trait for Alteration's Retain Ability where you can shapeshift someone into a hybrid between their normal self and their new form. Even the silly options like purring feats and a maid outfit that turns you into a catgirl are well thought out. Overall, a fun read with useful options!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Catgirl Handbook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Catgirl Handbook
    by Tom G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 22:29:06

    Don't let the title fool you, there is a lot of genuinely well written and balanced content in this book, even if much of it has a silly cat pun for a name.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Catgirl Handbook
    by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/03/2021 19:42:16

    As with previous April 1st books, this book has a funny theme but is absolutely filled with excellent new talents, class archetypes, feats, and more. With many great puns but also references to mythology and lore. The breadth of options offered means that there's something for everyone, including a whole new line of feats that everyone from the fighter leading the charge to the animal companion in the back can make good use of, adding many flavorful new choices. This book strikes an excellent balance between silly themes and meaningful mechanics and is easily one of my favorites.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: Battlefield Manipulation Talents
    by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2021 07:16:47

    This book adds a handful of talents that allow for area denial or forced movment, and several that make playing a buffer even more fun. I highly recommend it for anyone who loves battlefield manipulation more than straight up sace-of-lose or damage.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: Battlefield Manipulation Talents
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    by Scott M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2021 07:14:22

    Finally, a reason for sorcerer to exist in SoP.

    This fits in nicely a more martial cleric or druid that isn't tied to specific spheres. While it lacks a good fort save, it gets martial talents as well. Don't think of this as caster to compete with incanter. This is a gish that can actualy make use of a lot of those stupid bloodlines that want sorcerers to get into melee combat.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres of Power 5e
    by Joseph M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2021 18:21:55

    I have been a fan of Spheres of Power ever since I stumbled across the Pathfinder version years ago. It has completely ruined vancain casting for me, in a good way. I can make any concept of character. NOW it is in 5e! I love this adaptation. I am not a big 5e fan, most of my friends and players are pretty much strictly loyal to 5e. I just get bored with 5e mechancially and how any sort of creativity is bending the rules of a spell or through flavor text. I'm got my start in 3rd edition as a crafter of weird items. An ocarina that summons horses? Done. A trumpet named Louis that casts gust of wind when you play a high C successfully? Done. A pair of boots that cast expeditious retreat if you have genuine desire to flee? Done. I could be creative like that with relative ease and autonomy just following the base rules. I didn't feel that in 5e as much, it felt to stringent.

    But with 5e Spheres I feel like I can stretch my creative muscles again in a way I haven't been able to for a long time unless I was the DM. I can make a barriers and use them as platforms. I can shapeshift with a level of finesse that lets me feel like a master shapeshfiter like Beast Boy or Kevin 11 (from Ben 10). I only have good things to say about this product. I hope it can invigorate your table and the love of 5e like has for me and mine.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres of Power 5e
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    by Taco G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2021 16:56:14

    My very first pathfinder class was the sorcerer, and ever since the concepts of bloodlines or inherent magic has been my favourite. spheres of power already had the ability to gain bloodlines and use their bloodline powers. but i think the way the inheritor archetype uses and expands on the bloodlines is very interesting and fun.

    the fact their wasn't a better way to play a martial sorcerer was very strange to me, as several bloodline powers centered around natural attacks, physical ability score bonuses, and other martial powers. it's logical that this archetype capitalizes on this to create a more combat inclined sorcerer, especially since spheres of power takes away so much of what makes a sorcerer good in the first place, granting it better bab and hit dice was necessary.

    this aside i think these changes make a very fun class and a very fun upgrade to an old archetype, and im excited to try this very fun take on my favourite class.

    As for the atavism feat, i have never used the berserker sphere before, but i enjoy the concept of martial bloodlines, and think a lot of the abilities are very interesting and i'll be sure to use some of them (especially on npcs). i was also astounded by the amount of content within that feat, kudos to the writer.

    Overall i very much enjoy all the content here, and it definitely plays to my personal taste.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres Apocrypha: Radiant and Righteous
    by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2021 01:54:22

    A really great apocrypha filled with paladin themed feats I love the blending of mechanical value and thematics that these feats bring to paladins or anyone wanting to protect their friends



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: Radiant and Righteous
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    by Nathaniel J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 18:45:44

    A great new archetype for the Sorcerer that makes it an interesting and viable choice within spheres. Lots of new content added with the Atavism changes and the new Improved Atavism Feat. It has enough diverse and meaningful options that just about any character could find a way to fit it into their build.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Spheres Apocrypha: The Inheritor and Improved Atavism Heritages
    by Gabriel E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2021 20:44:54

    Greatly enjoy the update to the eldritch scrapper sorcerer that the inheritor presents - the archetype and the accompanying feats give the sorcerer some much-appreciated (and arguably needed) love. The updated and expanded Atavism legendary talent (further vastly expanded by the new Improved Atavism feat) significantly expands a practitioner's toolkit in interesting and powerful ways. Personal favourite is the Animal options, but I could easily see taking any of the options provided on a wide range of characters. All in all, highly recommended.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Beast Tamer's Handbook
    by Zephrym B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2021 10:40:47

    Errata and QOL adjustments to existing beastmastery options so instinctive it leaves one wondering why things didn't already work as such, alternate rulings similarly natural, and new options for spheres and classes lending possibilities and viability to new concepts; exactly what a Spheres product should strive to achieve. I'm especially fond of the quality of life available to familiars, who have in my experience tended to lag behind in usefulness in a Spheres environment. With Improved Pet and an alternate ruling around familiar archetypes, they make too strong a thematic showing to be ignored.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Beast Tamer's Handbook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 227 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product