RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Xd6
by Matías M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 10:32:34

Para lectores en español:

Xd6 a primera vista tiene muchos elementos en comun con otros sistemas genericos gratuitos. La primera vez que lo ví, lo sentí similar a Risus pero enfocado a lo narrativo. Al ver como se articula el personaje, me doy cuenta que no estaba tan alejado de lo que originalmente planteaba; pero al conocer las fuentes originales que dieron vida al sistema (Fate, y un sistema llamado Sd6) logré profundizar en una intencionalidad de tratar de tener el sistema lo mas simple y minimalista posible, muy al contrario de Risus que te invita a chapuzar y agregarle mas detalles a su exo-sistema.

Este libro, sin embargo, no esta orientado a los que empiezan el juego por primera vez, aunque una persona con experiencia puede usar el sistema para introducir a los recien llegados de manera muy simple y sencilla. El hecho de que los pocos reglamentos escritos aquí esten dirigidos a los experimentados, hace las cosas mas complicadas para quienes nunca han jugado rol y desean iniciarse por vez primera de forma autodidacta.

Si buscas algo mas bien narrativo, donde lo primordial es la historia, y donde las escalas de poder son aterrizadas a un nivel, llamemos "humano", este sistema es ideal. Este el sistema pretende dejarte ambientar toda clase de escenarios, aunque no se le da tan bien ambientando escalas super-heroicas o épicas.

Este es un sistema que, aun sin querer hacerlo de parte de su autor, da espacio para customizarlo y arreglar temas como la granulidad en torno al progreso de los personajes (que sin duda alguna es muy baja) o la carencia de reglamento para equipos, que por cierto es adrede ya que el autor empuja al director a trabajar directamente en ello, sin ahondar, una vez en escalas de daño o algo similar.

Si bien, hasta hoy busco inclurile cosas que permitan estandarizar el juego para toda clase de personajes, tratar la salud como una caracteristica a parte de los rasgos, entre otras cosas, debo decir que es un sistema que me encanta. Con lo que hay aquí, puedes improvisar un buen juego y mantenerlo de forma solida por un buen tiempo. El sistema ya ha sido utilizado para poder escribir un juego llamado Ablaneda, en español, y sin lugar a dudas el juego resulta muy divertido de llevar a cabo.

Si buscas experimentar sistemas narrativos para alguna ambientacion que haz inventado, vale la pena darle la oportunidad de hacer a Xd6 el motor que haga correr tu juego.

For english readers:

Xd6 at first sight have a lot of elements in common with other free generic systems. The first time I saw it, it felt like Risus but focused on narravite terms. Seeing how you structure a character, it seems i'm not too far away from what i originally show. But knowing the sources of inspiration that gives life to this system (Fate and a spanish system called Sd6) I could perceive an intention to make the rules as minimal as possible, very contrary to Risus how invites to change and modify his exo-system.

This book, however, is not oriented to those who wants to play roleplaying games for the first time -but a person with experience in playing can use this system introduce easily new people to the roleplaying hobbie. The fact very few rules written here are directed to experienced ones makes things complicated for those who never have played an RPG for first time and goes to the hobbie by themselves.

If you are looking for something like storytelling, where story is primordial and power scales about a level -let's call it "human"- this system is your option. This system pretends to let you do all kinds of scenarios, but it doesn't go very well for "super-heroics" or epic moods.

The system, even when the author doesn't want it, gives you some room to customize and make arrangements with problems like character progression, or make room for health as an appropiate characteristic, or the lack of equipment -Last thing is because author wants it that way so the game master makes all the work on weapons, tools in the adventure, and such- without looking scales of damage and stuff like that.

I must say -even when i try to make my own customs like a better health system apart from traits and such- I love this system. With what is in this book, you can improve a good game and make a continuum for a good time. The systes has been already been used in an Spanish RPG called Ablaneda, and the game without doubt the game happens to be quite fun.

If you want to make experimentation with narrative systems for a ambience you happened to create, it's worthy to test Xd6 as your RPG engine to run it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Xd6
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ryuutama - Cartas de terrenos, climas y encantamientos
by Marina J. S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2018 10:30:00

Maravillosas, preciosas y en perfecto Español. Con mucho color, dibujos detallados, tacto de una carta normal (es decir, no es papel fino, es más gordito, muy de agradecer). Le da mucha más vida al Rol y lo hace más fácil para los viajes sin tener que ir recordándo todo el tiempo el clima que hace o el hechizo utilizado. Lo recomiendo si vas a rolear mucho con Ryuutama. 10/10

Psdt: Recomiendo comprar unos sobrecitos transparentes, tamaño carta, para meterlas dentro y así prolongar más su vida, evitando dobleces y manchas.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ryuutama - Cartas de terrenos, climas y encantamientos
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Ryuutama - Las Cuatro Estaciones
by Lori W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2018 21:11:30

These adventures are a must-buy for new Ryuutama players. They're in Spanish, but are very playable even just quickly run through Google translate, so don't let that stop you. They give you an excellent idea of how to run Ryuutama adventures outside of the tutorials in the book. They stick to the flavor of Ryuutama while doing some very interesting things. My group has been loving them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ryuutama - Las Cuatro Estaciones
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Phlogiston Books Vol. II: The Stone Heir - English
by Timothy B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2018 21:37:08

My first impression was that I was impressed by the professional quality of this book. From the beautiful cover to the layout to the old school black-and-white art, the whole thing is visually appealing.

I plan to use the content within, too. How often do your PCs move from the 0-level funnel to their 1st-level adventure as if a switch had been thrown and they went from a nobody to a stereotypical "adventurer?" Perhaps not everyone does this, but I suspect it's pretty common. This volume offers an adventure that bridges the gap between the funnel and the first "real" adventure -- a concept I don't recall having seen before.

If you've played enough funnels, you've likely seen the same mundane trade items used repeatedly by the characters. There's an article here that will help add some spice to your starting equipment by allowing you to barter for hundreds of other items -- but you don't know what you'll get! You might get something even more useful, or you might get stuck with something worse. You get to roll on a series of tables, old school stye.

I'm a big fan of "reskinning" monsters, classes, and other game elements. Not everybody is as comfortable with doing that, so there's a helpful little article that shows you how you can use the racial classes in DCC as humans in an all-human, sword and sorcery setting with just a few tweaks. Dwarves become the defender class. Halflings become the rogue. Elves become the warlock. These are just label changes, though. In a manner that reminds me of Pathfinder's archetypes, racial abilities are swapped out for flavorful new class abilities.

I would recommend this book for DCC judges who are looking for some low-level adventures, 0-level options, or classes for their sword and sorcery setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Phlogiston Books Vol. II: The Stone Heir - English
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Phlogiston Books Vol. I - English
by Markus A. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/21/2017 16:00:15

Splendid value for money! Has many useful ideas, items, tables, game mechanics etc. for any DCC RPG campaign. Hopefully a Vol. II is coming up!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Phlogiston Books Vol. I - English
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Los Salones Verticales
by Tilmost D. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/08/2015 05:31:28

La idea me ha gustado, y aunque tendré que hacerle unos ajustes para adaptarlo a un sistema genérico (ya que no juego al juego para el cual se creó esta aventura), creo que será una aventura muy intensa para mi grupo habitual. Ideal para one-shot.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Los Salones Verticales
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Vertical Halls
by Paul W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2015 17:09:17

The module is very portable, cuts to the Appendix N ideal of unique threats and interesting locales, and is very well produced. The art is exceptional, the writing has a great gallows humor tone that really offsets the horror of the monsters and situations encountered. Physical book is high quality. Overall, these guys did a great job. Pick it up. Run it. Scare the crap out of your players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vertical Halls
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Vertical Halls
by Daniel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2015 15:04:44

Players of earlier OGL games will recognize many of the monsters, but they are redrawn for DCC, and they work well. The main conceits are well done, and should be entertaining in play. The maps are great, and definitely have the DCC vibe that the official maps do (i.e., they are drawn with side illos ala the great Mr. Kovacs). The backstory is not only entertaining, but the players should be able to at least glimpse it through play, if not figure it out entirely.

The author makes sure to tell you that it is okay for the PCs to fail. This is good advice.

My verdict is a Thumbs Up. Get this one!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Puerta de Ishtar
by Sergio d. l. C. M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2012 11:43:06

Como Narrador testeador de este juego no puedo sino elogiar el trabajo que ha realizado el señor Rodrigo/Wachinayn:

  1. Está escrito muy bien, de forma didáctica (me encantan los resúmenes de final de capítulo, incluidos los de ambientación), amena y, ¡oh, sopresa! Sin faltas de ortografía.

  2. La cantidad de información que encontraréis sobre el mundo es tan grande, tan evocadora y tan completa que no echaréis de menos ningún suplemento que "la complete" (aunque los hay)

  3. El sistema de juego es sencillo, intuitivo y que se enlaza perfectamente con el tipo de historias que narra la Puerta de Ishtar.

  4. Los secretos del mundo, la brujería, lo "alienígena" de ciertas razas y la oscuridad que envuelve a todo os harán devorar la información hasta el tuétano.

  5. La creación de los personajes de verdad consigue una unificación de grupo en el que los personajes están verdaderamente relacionados entre sí (y también unas historias muy interesantes a nada que dominéis la ambientación).


Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Puerta de Ishtar
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

La Puerta de Ishtar
by Jaime B. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2012 06:50:49

Uno de los pocos juegos que aprovechan el potencial estético de la más antigua civilización del mundo, transformándola en el entorno idóneo para llevar a cabo aventuras de fantasía oscura inspiradas también por las obras de autores como Lovecraft y Robert E. Howard. Una combinación tan perfecta que parece mentira que nadie hubiese hecho algo con ella antes.

En cuanto al sistema, La Puerta de Ishtar escoge elementos narrativamente muy potentes de sistemas como FATE o Burning Wheel y los combina eficazmente con elementos más clásicos tales como atributos numéricos determinados al azar y profesiones que recuerdan al Dragon Age RPG de Chris Pramas, dando con un inteligente término medio que da lugar a un sistema bastante versátil y que premia el desarrollo del personaje y la inmersión en el trasfondo.

Uno de los productos más interesantes de los último años, en mi opinión.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
La Puerta de Ishtar
by Imanol B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/18/2012 06:37:05

Juego inspirado en la antigua Babilonia, muy recomendable tanto por la ambientación como por el sistema, sencillo y dinámico potenciando la narración y la interpretación. Imprescindible en la Biblioteca de todo Rolero.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG