RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Tactical Waifu
by John C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2018 17:44:00

The nature of the "____" & "____" core system, originated by Lasers & Feeligns, generally keeps the games simple and accessable. This can be a good thing if you're just looking for something to pick up and play for a random session, but can get a little stale long-form. This is, however, not at all Tactical Waifu's fault. I picked upTactical Waifu as part of my on-going quanderances into the nature of the "" & "" system, in an attempt to see how far it can be pushed, what ways it may be expanded, and what the true potential of a waifu-based tactical RPG may be.

To this end, Tactial Waifu is easily one of the best-presented L&F spin offs I've seen in my exploration. Channeling IPs like Upotte, Girls und Panzer, or even Gunslinger Girl if you stretch it a little; all the thematics and softcore snark you'd expect from a game with it's thematics, are efficentyl prsented on a single page of rules. If you really wanted, this could be used as the base for anything from Grenadier to Strike Withces, with only moderate modifications needed; based on what sort of game you're going for, obviously. I would highly recomend this game to anyone looking for a fun little side-campign to run on off-days, or to anyone like me looking for a base game to build off of.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Waifu
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tactical Waifu
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2017 11:42:38

I never knew I wanted this. Now I cannot live without it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2017 14:20:05

Even if you never want to play a historical Vietnam RPG, there is much to recommend here. The alignment system and how it effects how the various soldiers react to fatigue and stress is great. As things happen in the game, characters react differently to various events based on their outlook and how tired they are. It does encourage PC vs PC conflict which I am reluctant to use but I would certainly use it as a guide for NPC actions which seems very real for Vietnam conditions. I could see the increasing doubt mechanic applied to a bunch of rpg games of all types. Players can smoke and drink (or worse!) to help them manage their doubt. That alignment and doubt mechanic alone is worth the price of admission. The players are encouraged to write after action reports which they can write characters up for misconduct. Completely fitting the Vietnam time frame and military aspect. The turn tracking sequence and the action templates make things clear as to what is going on especially during combat.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
by Nathaniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2017 03:23:04

A very captivating successor to Recon! Like Recon was capable of I'm currently using it to run a morally ambiguous Western Mercenaries game in a Cluster of "Imagi-nations" dealing with corrupt local governments, extremist militias and Shady Spooks running in the "Saigon Gothic" flavor. It all works wonderfully. I eagerly await my opportunity to consume all the expansions. Even if vietnam is not your thing this is simply the best military RPG on the market and as someone who deeply appreciates work in this underserved genre I can't recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Ugly Motherfucker
by Charles E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2017 09:36:21

This game is gloriously stupid and I love it. The players are a bunch of macho action heroes apart from one who plays a monster hunting them. They're picked off bit by bit until one survivor's left. It's super-short, ran with no prep or rules knowledge ahead of time. The endgame needs tightening up a little and with a very co-operative group the bidding mechanic for control of the monster was unnecessary, but these were easily overlooked. This game allowed us to play Predator in 90 minutes and for the low price of pay-what-you-want, that's fantastic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Ugly Motherfucker
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Pisskids and Ratbags
by Jarrett C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/23/2017 11:33:51

This short free hack of Laser and Feelings is hilarious! I don't watch the show it is based around but now I kinda want to just to see the train wrecks that you can adapt to the game. Mechanically simple and well presented.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Pisskids and Ratbags
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PATROL: The Trench Raiders
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/13/2017 19:18:13

Every single thing that made the previous system great, that I mentioned in my review, is here in this expansion.

Hell, even the stats for the Ross Rifle are exciting and functional.

Best ten dollar expansion I ever saw for an RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PATROL: The Trench Raiders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

PATROL: The Trench Raiders
by Sean L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/20/2017 06:49:47

As a game about Vietnam, it makes a lot of sense to make an expansion to PATROL based on the Great War, another huge, intractable mess that tended to be especially stressful for the soldiers who fought in it. Unlike its cousin book which took a more holistic approach, TTR is laser-focused on replicating the act of Trench Raiding. Movement is simplified from the dozen or so actions found in the original book to just one, called Pathfinding, which is only used when crossing No-Man's-Land. This makes sense, as wide ranging patrols through varying terrain in Vietnam necessitated more complex rules. In World War I on the Western front there is essentially only 3 places that matter: Friendly lines, No-Man's-Land, and Enemy Lines directly in front of you, so the rules only need to handle moving from one line to another. Some of the new psychological rules make me a bit apprehensive. I really loved the subtle way the fatigue and victory point system gave players a mechanical reason to act like a real asshole to people, and the interplay between your desperation as a player to not suffer negatives on your mechanics and your character's desperation to find any meaning out of the war he can were really cool. The Trench Raiders simplifies Doubt and Fatigue into a single Status called Doubt. As fatigue was the means of determining XP gain to level up, there is also a revamped advancement system tied into the new classes (called archetypes). Doubt is increased by certain events occurring based on your archetype and decreases after a certain amount of time. After 5 points of doubt your character reaches "despair" which alters their behavior in some negative way. However without the really elegant coercive mechanics of the base game I could see this being annoyingly hard to implement, especially for less experienced Roleplayers. I don't know, I'll have to see how these changes actually play at the table. The other big change to the social mechanics is Leverage. Leverage is a resource you gain over another player. If you spend a point of Leverage you can force that player to perform a simple action for you or take one Doubt. Mechanics like this can be very scary in unskilled hands and can really mess with some players so please for the love of God mention it to the players before you start a game so they aren't blindsided by it. That said I think it's a great way to represent the sorts of bonds and relationships people build up. They are generally morally neutral and so can represent anything from owing someone a favor to being manipulated or even feeling guilt, depending on your template and how it gains leverage. Beyond that most of the new additions are fairly small. A revamped stealth system, a gas attack section, a section on Trenches that's actually one of the best introductions to trenches I've read, the requisite vehicle rules, 4 new skills, and a 1910sified equipment list. Overall these are all really solid expected things to be in a setting expansion and they're all pretty well done (he even managed to wring some mechanical differences out of different bolt-action rifles, not an easy task) except for one rule that really bugs me that gives your Bayonet a 33% chance to break every time you kill someone with it. That seems a bit high. Honestly 1/6 would have seemed a bit high. The last section is Derek Chappell's now-patented Big Huge Patrol Infodump, a 50-odd page collection of historical background and context for the war. For GMs I'd consider it essential reading, even if just for the first page, which reminds the reader that World War I has been vastly oversimplified over time. It was a brutal mess of a war, but it was also one that most soldiers survived and it's important as GMs to not pointlessly and indiscriminately kill your players just to fit with your clichéd interpretation of the war. You're here to help create a story. It ends with small but useful timeline giving a bit of context to each year and what equipment changes are necessitated in each. It even has a section on doing a campaign set in an alternate wwi in 1919. Overall the Trench Raiders seems like a great addition for people that want to do WWI themed games (though your options are severely limited anyway). If you can handle the more focused ruleset and more free form Roleplaying you should get a lot out of it



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
by Patrick S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/01/2017 02:58:37

I was really looking forward to this game. After trying several Vietnam era RPGs and not getting exactly what I wanted, I had high hopes for Patrol. But unfortunately those got burned as I was trying to understand the rules and writing a CheatSheet.

First the Pros:

  • Nice layout and okish but fitting artwork
  • The authors seem to really dig the theme, you can feel the energy invested in writing this
  • The basics rulewise are understandable and seem to work pretty well
  • A clear map
  • Printable goodies for playsupport

Now the Cons:

  • The rules seem easy at first, but I just got smacked in the face by loads of sub rules, special rules and rules snippets hidden in the text.
  • The amount of tables, which are really needed all the time as I understand the system, is stunning for a “fast-paced” game.
  • I am not sure if I understand the system at all, especially the Turn/Action structure. Since a typical Turn Sequence is laid out in the Basic Rules section, but not fully explained (Reset Player Suppression?) and the Combat Example is a mess, I am very unsure of me understanding anything correct.
  • The Combat Example: As I said before, this example does nothing to clarify anything. There are things/rules mentioned which are not explained before but after the Combat Example, like the rules for radio charges for example. How does the player fire artillery? There is dice pool for the crew mentioned, but I couldn’t find anything regarding this
  • Why do People, Vehicle and Aircraft need different To-Hit rules?
  • I don’t get some rules regarding Skills. Skills don’t have Ranks, but at one point one can read of a Stealth Rating which is the sum of several other ratings, including the Skill Rating/Rank?!
  • As I understand, the gameis trying to implement some mechanics similar to PbtA Games, which would be a good thing. If the mechanics would have been explained better. For example the Roundel reminds me of the Clocks, found in several PbtA Games like The Sprawl. But again, this pretty cool game aid gets bogged down by special rules written on the aid itself (which are, again, not explained in the rules section). Or the Actions, which are the heart & soul of the system, are quite similar to PbtA Moves, but holy shit I counted them:68! And I think I missed some which are not part of the tables but scattered throughout the text. And Every. Single. Action. has its own rules.
  • All in all Newstand Press seems to force the picture of a rules-light game, but only highlights the obvious facts (e.g. 3 stats), but says nothing of those tons of additional stats and rules. I am not sure how some of the other reviewers came to the conclusion that this is a light game.

Maybe the Q&A would clarify some things, but the link doesn’t work.

So finally: Maybe it’s just me. Maybe I just don’t get it. Maybe I’m too dumb for this game. Possible. But at this stage I can not give a higher Rating, even if I wanted. And to come to a conclusion: Like I said, I really wanted to like this game but could not. This leaves me kind of sad.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hey my dude. Thank you for the review. I don't disagree with the thrust of your points; this isn't really a rules-light game in the PbtA sense. The goal with this game was to have enough crunch to justify the harsh (and sometimes frankly cruel) consequences of the environment, without being obsessed with simulating real-life procedure (exact distances, body positions, short timespan turns, etc) like a lot of games which get "tactical" like to do. Like, no, it's not a game that gets all the basic rules out in 15 small pages of text... but it's also not 300 solid pages of rules about attacks of opportunity. This might be fairly light to some people, even floaty and bullshit, but way too crunchy for others. I get that. This game comes from a bit of an older tradition than Powered by the Apocalypse and such; it's intended to be a reimagining of a game called Recon, written in the early 80s, which was one part roleplaying game, and one part mini wargame. (It sounds like The Regiment, a PBTA game about military action, might be more your speed.) If it helps clarify the basic thrust of this game, ideally, the players are telling the GM what they are doing in a purely narrative way, reacting to consequences with action to create a story, but the GM is kinda running a simplified tactical wargame behind their screen. It's aiming for a bit of a best-of-both-worlds; it might not hit that mark for everyone. I agree with you completely about the tables, by the way. During regular play, you only really need two, the Movement Speed Chart and the To-Hit Table, and To-Hit is fairly easy to memory for regular circumstances, as you only really need to know Close, Medium, and Long most of the time. I've actually put together a GM screen for this game, and your review reminded me that I need to upload it as a printable! RE: the Roundel, the rules contained on the Roundel are actually detailed in the book itself; the text on the roundel is just a reminder. But I can understand missing that after burning out reading a game you don't like. Again, thank you for the review. PATROL was a challenging learning experience for me; it was my first big game and I know I made a lot of mistakes. There's a reason the game went a year and sixteen patches between the initial release and the print version. I'm sad to hear it wasn't for you, and I'll keep your criticisms in mind moving forward.
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
by Timothy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2017 23:20:01

This RPG is not only cheap, but it's a pretty long read that doesn't seem to waste your time on any of it's pages. I can't think of a better RPG set in the Vietnam War and frankly most RPGs with firearms are either too complicated or well....too complicated.

The stats work, there is a lot of different options for play, many many factions and NPCs, lots of features that show the glory and horrors of combat, and page after page of detail on the conflict itself.

After two years of American History in High School and College, I didn't expect to learn anything new but I did.

Looking at the system now, I'm frankly suprised all the weapons are so balanced and the most recent patch I keep hearing about is so good.

I'm incredibly, almost manicly excited for the supplements and I believe this rpg deserves every sale that Twight 2013, which is a garbage system of complexity and bad writing.

In fact the system is so good, I use it as a resource for third world D-20 based RPGs, because it's just full of ideas and infomation.

Hope more footage of people playing this game is uploaded, it's fun to watch.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patrol - A Vietnam War Roleplaying Game
by Andrew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/12/2015 16:36:09

I am interested in games about people facing difficult choices, and this one delivers. Patrol has some really innovative and interesting takes on a how to approach a squad based game. The roundel marking time and the asymmetrical way PC decisions directly impact on each other is a great addition to the genre. It is like Recon for grown up gamers. While I am drawn more toward the story-telling aspects and simplicity of Derek's story games like Turncoats and Hell on Treads, I can't help but admire the scope of this one.

I just wish my game group was as keen as me to play games not set in a fantasy world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Point Man
by Aaron G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 09:28:00

For a one page game, this is really solid. I'm pleasantly surprised with how put together it seems. Still haven't played it, but if it plays roughly like Dread, it should go well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Point Man
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tactical Waifu
by Alfred R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2015 08:40:55

A hilarious reskinning of the quality and to-the-point Lasers & Feelings ruleset.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tactical Waifu
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hell on Treads
by Arakar G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2015 11:10:39

This is a great and original game! It is well designed with a professional touch! The author should seriously consider creating a plethora of settings to sell along side with this product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hell on Treads
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Can Do! - A Game of Meeseeks
by Evan N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2015 12:19:52

For context: I am a huge fan of Rick and Morty, so this idea tickled me. Also a great product for its price, heh.

The limited amount of material leaves something to be desired, however in about an hour I decided how I would clarify some of the tricky areas and develop this into a drinking game. I am looking forward to convincing friends to play by yelling at them at parties.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Can Do! - A Game of Meeseeks
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 27 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG