RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 12:34:58

This is a must-have for any superpowered setting. This book is almost completely front-to-back new foci for players to take advantage of, and I am sure people would be hard-pressed to find superheroes from their favorite comic book or movie that couldn't be made with what is in this book. One of my favorite features of the book is an example of character creation at the end of each focus, giving you insight into a possible build for such characters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Essentials, Mix Tape 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cruel Stars: Gear
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 12:27:05

This supplement is a great expansion into the science-fiction genre for any Cypher setting. I love the list of cyphers within this book, and look forward to running a game built upon the startship combat rules designed within this. Everything within is straight-forward and simple, a boon to any scifi game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cruel Stars: Gear
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mortal Fantasy
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 10:46:43

What Mortal Fantasy is, is so much more than Gods of the Fall. This book is the go-to for me when it comes to fantasy in Cypher, so much so I can't recommend it enough to people crafting their own fantasy campaigns and settings. You'll find this is a great resource for fantasy races and types (all the classic classes such as barbarians, paladins, and clerics and then more!), plus if you are running Gods of the Fall, you've now got what I consider an expansion to the setting. And a new adventure. I'm constantly coming back to this supplement and I know you will too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Characters: Crews
by Stephen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/06/2019 09:39:35

Crews is such a simple concept, and such a powerful character/party-defining feature, I always find myself coming back to it. The blueprint set forth by Chris is easy to understand and easy to expand upon. I recommend this to anyone running a Cypher game who wants to help their players feel like a cohesive team.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Characters: Crews
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Bug Hunt: The Children of Argent
by anthony f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2019 22:20:47

What a wonderful setting and this adventure is well put together, I am looking forward to what you havein store for this universe. Thank you for a great adventure!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bug Hunt: The Children of Argent
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Invisible Sun FREE PREVIEW
by Audrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 18:04:19

I own the entirety of the physical Invisible Sun game, but I wanted to check out the preview material to send to friends curious about the game and unwilling to drop the full price before knowing more about it. There's a ton of content in this preview! The fact that it goes through all the steps to character creation (without the specifics) means players can see how characters are built and know whether that style of game is for them or not. The example cards are a good include as well, and help to give a sense of just how much content this game includes.

The game itself is amazing, and is my favorite RPG I've played in a long time. The way the characters decide on their own priorities, and there's room to explore everything from beating bad guys to starting a bakery. Tons of different playstyles are represented. You'll definitely want a group that's invested, as it requires more decision-making from the players than something like D&D, but that just means you'll all be able to work together to tell an amazing story!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invisible Sun FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Teratology FREE PREVIEW
by Audrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 17:53:13

So excited for this book! I'm happy getting to see the actual table of contents and knowing that there's a whole chapter devoted to each Sun. The coloring of the headlines and backgrounds matching the Sun color is super cool! This should possibly come with a content warning, as there is a villain who uses shaming as a tactic and there's mention of suicide in its description. The villain is pretty interesting to me, but I think a warning about encountering that type of content would have helped me process it better. Anyway, the art is gorgeous and the content looks amazing. Can't wait to get my hands on the full book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratology FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Secrets of Silent Streets FREE PREVIEW
by Audrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 17:44:45

I love the way these previews give a taste of multiple chapters within the books! It allows someone on the fence to really know what they're getting out of their purchase. Secrets of Silent Streets, which I bought a physical copy of, is a phenomenal resource that really delves deeply into the world of Satyrine. I love the example neighborhoods, that make it so much easier for me as a GM to give depth to scenes when I didn't prepare specifically for the particular location. This book will be most useful for GMs, as the world information may not be as important to many PCs, and there's not a lot of spells / secrets for player characters to take advantage of mechanically. That being said, it can also add a lot to a PCs story, give them really interesting inspiration for arcs and their houses, and could be a great resource for allies and other NPC bonds.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Secrets of Silent Streets FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Book M FREE PREVIEW
by Audrey K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2019 17:34:27

Exactly what I've been waiting for! New fortes, the names of which make several stand out to me as possibly being my playstyle; tons of secrets, it looks like several for characters that are getting advanced, which is nice timing as my ongoing game is getting to higher "level"; and I obviously can't wait for all the spells. This preview is the barest of tastes, but I like the small exerpts from multiple chapters, as it gives me an idea of the whole of the book, and just serves to whet my appetite for the actual full book once its released!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book M FREE PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Numenera
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 00:03:12

This is one of my favorite game systems that falls between 'rules lite' and 'rules heavy'. The setting is also fun in that it's not just your run-of-the-mill fantasy; it's set in the ruins of previous generations' technology. A good chunk of the book is dedicated to describing and filling out that setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

What Lives Must Feed
by Tom F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2019 01:24:37

Amazing adventure! wonderful descriptions & explanations. can't wait to run this for my own group! very cool!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
What Lives Must Feed
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A Cold and Distant Hunger
by Tom F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/28/2019 01:06:45

Rally cool adventure! i snjoyed reading it and hope to run it for my group here soon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Cold and Distant Hunger
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Healing and Wounds - Cypher System
by Daryl S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2018 08:37:34

Just recently started learning the Cypher system in ramping up for a Numenera campaign. A long-time fan and user of the Savage Worlds system, I am seeing mechanics within the Cypher system that intrigue me, and others that leave me scratching my head. Of the latter one of the biggest stumbling blocks for me is how damage and health are handled in conjunction with stat pools. It makes no sense to my mind that someone can go to from being seriously wounded to fully restored after just having rested for a bit and making a few good recovery rolls. Likewise, while I can see using stat pools for effort, doing so should not leave you potentially closer to death should you get injured shortly thereafter.
Anthony’s answer to this is to incorporate as system of wound levels, not entirely dissimilar to Savage Worlds, for example, which is a mechanic I like very much.

I do think, however, the way Anthony works this out adds more ‘crunch’ than I would be comfortable with, particularly in a system that is trying to avoid crunchy game play. For example, applying this mechanic to the NPCs seems like it would make opponents harder to manage in combat, resulting in longer and more administratively burdensome sessions. I also took a star away from production value, and I think the explanations and examples could have been clearer. Overall though this is an interesting and thoughtful system tweak that, even if not used exactly as written, can give you food for thought for your own Cypher System house rules.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Healing and Wounds - Cypher System
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
by Mike P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2018 02:36:28

This book offers an absolute ton of creative, quasi-magical, and downright alien devices, each with a to-the-point description of its capabilities but some with highly ambiguous origins or intended mode of use. Even if you don't run Numenera at all, if you have any interest in sci-fi-themed campaigns or if you're just looking for new twists on magic items then this book is a treasure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creatures of Blood and Flesh
by Megan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 17:34:05

I really love this inventive setting for Cypher. It includes Foci, Descriptors, and Classes so that your characters can easily fit in with the setting. It also gives you a lot of information on what to pull from the core Cypher book and how it fits in. if you're looking for some good scifi for your Cypher game, this is the perfect place to set your game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creatures of Blood and Flesh
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 298 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG