Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Monte Cook Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Mortal Fantasy
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2020 08:35:11

Angel's Citadel just did a review of this supplement. The short version? Two thumbs way up. For the long version, have a look HERE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Consent in Gaming
by Martin K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/11/2020 08:19:03

It's an incredibly useful tool for any session zero, and a must if your campaign frequently touches on topics that could be potentially painful or damaging for players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dreadfully Simple Cypher System Character Sheet
by Rebecca B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2020 08:49:21

Absolutely perfect. These are nice and clean, easy to read, and not at all hard on my poor printer. Thank you so much for making these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dreadfully Simple Cypher System Character Sheet
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Consent in Gaming
by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/20/2020 10:49:15

EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS. this is an essential document for literally anyone playing RPGs ever. fundamentally RPGs are bsed in social contracts, which in turn rely on consent. Thus everyone should understand what that really means and what's involved in it. Even if no one will ever use it, simply having safety tools makes every table better. The concepts here are explained comprehensively and understandably. I love it. As the book explains, and as some reviewers don't get, it doesn't matter how close you are with someone, establishing clear boundaries is key to any relationship, and it doesn't matter how close you are with someone, if you cross a line that's never good. No one has "no limits." You don't have to change any of the content in your game! this is literally just saying that you should get your fellow players consent (that includes GMs too) before including something! We play games to have fun. And thus we should only be doing things we want.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Consent in Gaming
by Lee S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2020 07:43:12

What's really needed is just a paragraph or two in the Gamemastering section or DM Guide about reading the players and knowing if/when to avoid things that appear to bother them. If a player is uncomfortable and the dm doesn't respect that, they should just find a different group or dm. WWGGD (What would Gary Gygax do?)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Monolith
by Brian S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2020 14:58:38

For owners of Numenera 1st edition or Numenera Discovery looking to play in DnD 5e: The majority of this book is reprinted setting and gazetteer with a few new pieces of art. Arcana of the Ancients is basicly mandatory to play effectivly in 5e. The only crunch to be found in this book is:

  • Ninth world mundane weapons/armor/gear with a note about converting DnD gold into shins
  • Creatures mentioned in the gazeteer but not included in Arcana of the Ancients book
  • A medium sized list of NPCs covering the CR scale from low, mid and high tier
  • 5e stats for playing Varjellan and Lattimore characters
  • 5e stats for being members of the core orginations

Other than that if you already own the 1st edition core book or Discovery you have everything else printed in this book. Arcana of the Ancients is a must have for playing Numenera in 5e but unless you have a visitant player or desperately need the stats for an abykos you can manage without this book. 3/5 Stars

For Numenera Cypher System players and GMs There is nothing new here for you at all. 0/5 Stars

For DnD 5e players and GMs looking to play in the Numenera universe Welcome to the Ninth World! This book is mostly setting fluff, but it does a decent job introducing new players to the world of Numenera. Please note that the Arcana of the Ancients book is almost mandatory to get the most out of this book. 2 new playable races, some adventuring gear, and few monsters and NPCs are included. 4/5 Stars



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Beneath the Monolith
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Story, Please! An Adventure-Building Deck for No Thank You, Evil!
by Bill S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2020 18:00:06

WOW - They LOOK and FEEL GREAT!!!!!

Professionaly Printed with Rounded Corners, Low-gloss UV Coating and Double-sided Color on VERY nice card stock!

A Premium Product that was printed and delivered quickly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Story, Please! An Adventure-Building Deck for No Thank You, Evil!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Consent in Gaming
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2020 03:44:59

Excellent product for those that wish to help make their games safe and inclusive for everyone.

I would give it 6 stars if I could, just from the enjoyment of reading the ridiculous comments that somehow think respecting peoples feelings is ruining gaming.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cybernetics Flavor
by Katrina B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/01/2020 08:49:13

This has several fully fleshed out cybernetics your PCs can choose as they gain XP. It's not quite as useful for my Numenera game currently but it definately gave me some ideas for if I ever introduce my players to the Datasphere and my cyberpunk d&d game. Maybe I'll even throw a nano npc into the next big city they get to and offer them one or two of these abilities if they have enough XP for them.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cybernetics Flavor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Arcana of the Ancients
by Nicholas B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/11/2020 22:46:13

I appreciate how Arcana of the Ancients was organized, and I love the new flavors it adds to the game, and how smooth it was incorperated into play. It really fed my imagination as a DM, and my players have enjoyed diving in as well. Well worth, in my opinion.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Arcana of the Ancients
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cypher System Rulebook
by Todd M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 13:51:15

Maybe I "just don't get it," but from what I've read thus far, the "any character, any setting" thing is hype, save in the sense that you could say that about most any RPG. After all, you COULD use, for example, "Bunnies and Burrows," by FGU to run a dystopian super horror game, but I wouldn't want to try it, esp. when there are games that accomodate such out of the box.

To be fair, if you want something that is rather fast and flexible, that also permits a great deal of latitude in settings and characters, then you could do worse than Cypher.

Without the hype, and the feeling of being suckered by yet another game, on those terms it would be at least a four-star game.

Again, though, from what I can tell, this isn't what was advertised.

Just tell the truth? Honesty is the best policy, MCG.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher System Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Consent in Gaming
by Jérôme V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/11/2020 13:16:03

Very useful and helpful, conveys the basis despite the short format. On the downside, the checklist seems to be protected. It would be nice to have a fillable version.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Consent in Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mortal Fantasy
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2020 08:27:01

Again - I am no expert on the Cypher System, I will be up front with that in that I can't fully attest to how mechanically balanced this is. But, what I can say is this: Mortal Fantasy explores the various tropes and different types of fantasy within the umbrella genre in the eyes of the Gods of the Fall world which offers demigods with the power-levels of Shonen characters and the edginess of Dark Souls bosses. The flavor and art pours out of this thing, and I already want to learn more about Cypher so I can use this book and play it! So, if you are looking for something really differet for your Cypher game - check out Mortal Fantasy. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mortal Fantasy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Changing Seasons - Emperox's Road: A Cypher Adventure
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/08/2020 07:52:05

While I am a complete noob to the Cypher System and have only ever made a character for Numenera which I am not sure is Cypher - Changing Seasons is unique in that up front it gives you options on how to dial the darkness of the adventure up or dial it down, depending on your group or the level of maturity you want to reach for. Oozing elements of Event Horizon or some of Cronenberg's films (whom is credited as being an inspiriation behind this adventure) and adds that body-horror element to a twisted fantasy noir adventure all in 8 pages. If you want to add some Bloodborne style fantasy to your Cypher game, look no further. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Changing Seasons - Emperox's Road: A Cypher Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Subtle Cypher Deck
by Jeremy G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/24/2020 17:36:44

I was very much looking foward to this deck. I'm going to use it, however I feel a little disappointed in a few different ways.

First, while I've not looked through the enitre deck and 100 doesn't divide evenly by 3 perfectly, it seems like there are three copies of nearly all of the cyphers in this deck. Perhaps if I had read the description better I'd have noticed? In any case, there's a lot of duplicates aside from the numbers on the bottom.

I believe it was a great idea adding d6 and d100 rolls on the bottom of these cards, but I feel they missed a real oppertunity in not putting d20 rolls on the cards. While the GM doesn't roll in Cypher and I love that about the system, having d20 rolls on the cards could have been great for times when there's a group of people who want to play but forgot their dice. Or when rolling dice is less practical than drawing or cutting cards.

If this deck had d20 rolls on it, for example, I could pack the deck of cards and take it camping, and while on the car ride there (as long as I'm not the one driving) I could have used this deck, alone, to draw random d20 rolls for the players in the car. Or, at a picnick table the players could cut for a d20 roll. With 5 sets fo d20 rolls in a d100 deck, given time I could divide the deck up into 5 decks and let the players shuffle and draw themselves.

Giving us d6 and d100 rolls was smart. Leaving out d20 rolls I feel was a major missed oppertunity.

Sure, sure, its rare people will be without dice, but then why bother putting d6 and d100 rolls on the cards at all with that attitude?

I may buy other Cypher decks, and look forward to using this one. But, I find myself less excited about this than I had anticipated I would be, now that I have it.

Hopefully the edit and add in d20 rolls for future purchasers. (I would go as far as d4, d8, and maybe/maybe on d10... because they're not used in Cypher and this is indeed Cypher specific. But d20 is the core die to Cypher, so it does seem a miss opperunity.)

=-=-=-=-=

If it was only the d20 misisng thing, I'd probably gave this 4 stars. However, between the d20 missing when the idea crossed their mind to add dice, and the fact that there's so many repeats of the same cards aside from the numbers on the bottom making it seem the main reason for 100 cards is the d100 roll... I feel its a 3 star product. Though, I hope to have a lot of fun using it and perhaps my feelings will improve over time.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Subtle Cypher Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 416 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG