Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Monte Cook Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/20/2020 05:47:48

The Technology Compendium is one of my favourite supplements in Numenera.

This book starts with a chapter of how to use technology in your Numenera game. This is chapter is very useful if you, like me put a more technological spin to you game. The chapters breaks down Numenera into technology types helping you present the Numeneary in a way that makes more sense (more sense to you 20 century GM, not from ninth world perspective). At the same time this Chapter gives you a sense of the types of technologies the past 8 civilizations were delving on. Additional, you will find a new descriptor for artificial intelligence, which is a very nice bonus.

The following chapters cover cyphers, artifacts and oddities. A treasure trove of new resources to add to your game.

This supplement end with an super useful chapter where it breaks numenera (from all sources) into categories. It is great for when you want to find a cypher or artefact related to the datasphere or related to genetics for example.

All together I really appreciated the new insights this book gave me about Numenera as a source of technology and my players love all the great new chypers and artifactes that they got access too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Technology Compendium: Sir Arthour’s Guide to the Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Teratology
by Terry R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2020 12:18:37

Teratology may be the single greatest monster manual I've seen for a game. Every entry is dripping with imagination and possiblity and regularly inverts the "well, it's a bigger enemy, I guess we'll need bigger swords" trope. Many of the creature entries are designed not as enemies but as NPCs. Characters and creations with their own agendas that maybe comes to blows but doesn't need to. The three adjectives method of filling out a personality is remarkably effective. Combined with good entities are also interesting place descriptions, which is a step I don't always see in a monster manual.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Teratology
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Artifacts & Oddities Collection 1
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:17:36

Same as with the Cypher collection, this supplement gives you more Artifacts and additional oddities to expand your core collection. I love Artifacts and my players love them even more, so it is great to have more options to choose from. Unfortunately you only get a few pages of artifacts, but every bit counts when you are hungry for more.

This supplement brings a few interesting options to your game and it is great to have more oddities to choose from.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Artifacts & Oddities Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Cypher Collection 1
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:09:03

This supplement bring a bunch of new cyphers to your table. Cyphers are one of those things that me and my group cannot have enough of. It is true that you can do well with just the core cyphers, but eventually you are going to find yourself using the same one. It is extra fun if you have more to choose from to make your game more interesting in which case this product does exactly that.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cypher Collection 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Nightmare Switch
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 09:03:30

Simple but nice introductory numenera mini adventure. I think is great for injecting a "side quest" to your campaing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightmare Switch
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Invisible Sun
by Aisling S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/17/2019 01:23:09

Invisible Sun, by Monte Cook games is an imaculate game of collaborative storytelling. The rules are light and flexible but stable, consistent and well defined. The system is there when you need it, but gets out of the way when you need to step out of them.

Chsracters are interesting, rich, and unique. The PDF is a great first step, abd the files are all searchable. The art is inspiring, the text is well wriiten and imaginative, even the layout is perfectly executed.

My favorite bit is The Sooth Deck. It adds an almost supernatural element to the game, and provides fun snd interesting twists to interject into the game.

For my part, this is my perfect game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invisible Sun
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Devil's Spine
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2019 09:04:53

The devils spine is one of my absolute favourites Numenera adventures. I have run it four times and it never disappoints. I find it to be great to start Numenera campaigns specially if you are new to the setting, as it shows you different adventure styles and takes you through very diverse scenarios in the numenera setting. You can also play it’s different chapters as stand-alones’. The art is really inspiring and beautiful as anything MCG. The layout of this product is consistent with the Numenera source books, having this amazing, super informative side notes/references/comments that links relevant content from other sources, within the same book or just give you some intresting tid-bits of information that complements what you are just reading.

The devil spine is divided into four chapters/adventures that joined together can be played as a campaign. I personally find the story very fun and it takes you to memorable and weird places that will leave a mark. For example, all my players remember the main antagonist/facilitator “devola” as one of the weirdest encounters they ever had.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Devil's Spine
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Estate Dossiers
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2019 03:50:44

This is a must have supplement for the strange. It allows you to present your players with “top secret” files regarding the strange which will allow you to introduce them to the basic strange concepts and the setting in a very immersive way.

The art is very cool and the documents and props feel very realistic. It really allows you to start the game fully immersed in this amazing setting. I use it avery time I start a strange game, and my players always seem to appreciate the detail of it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Estate Dossiers
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Weird Discoveries: Ten Instant Adventures for Numenera
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/16/2019 03:44:46

I love this instant adventure format that MCG is putting out. This supplement will give you 10 Numenera scenarios ready to be used as either stand-alones’ or to be assimilated into your campaign. They all come with some great art to show to your players and are organized so that you can run them with minimum preparations time. They will give you an overview, and then present you the details in layers for quick reference and follow-up up. They are non-linear so you have lots of flexibility.

All in all, this supplement is a must have in your DM toolbelt. It has helped me out of thought spots when my players wander off and I need to pull out material from my hat ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Weird Discoveries: Ten Instant Adventures for Numenera
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Hideous Game
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2019 08:43:18

This is a very interesting Numenera urban adventure. The hideous game gives you an example of how numenera works for characters that like to stay on the comfortable confines of a city and still experience the weirdness of the setting.

I have played this adventure several times as a standalone on conventions and have also integrated into my own campaign. In all instances my players have were fully engaged and really enjoyed the challenges presented. I saw groups that emphasised on the political/social aspect of the adventure. Others focused on the detective/crime solving aspects, and others just enjoyed the thrill of the hunt and the confrontation of the enemy. In my opinion this adventure gives you material to satisfied most players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hideous Game
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Maps of the Ninth World 2
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2019 08:14:31

Like I said on the first installment of this supplement, Maps of the Ninth World.

I love the Numenera setting. The ninth world is an amazing, awe inspiring world. It has geographical features that are impossible to the natural world. Conveying the magnificence of this setting can be a challenge. Thankfully, the art work gives a great boost on this endeavour. Nonetheless, having a map of an area is the cherry on the cake, if you ask me.

This supplement gives you not only the beautiful, high quality maps found on the source material, but gives you the same version without annotations or political lines. Additionally it will present you maps from specific areas like towns, cities or Numenera devices. As a bonus you get to see the super continent in all its glory and the portions of it that has been mapped already! I love that feature! ... So much land to map :D

A must have for lover of maps or anyone looking to bask on the magnificence of this amazing setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maps of the Ninth World 2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Maps of the Ninth World
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2019 04:21:52

I love the Numenera setting. The ninth world is an amazing, awe inspiring world. It has geographical features that are impossible to the natural world. Conveying the magnificence of this setting can be a challenge. Thankfully, the art work gives a great boost on this endeavour. Nonetheless, having a map of an area is the cherry on the cake, if you ask me.

This supplement gives you not only the beautiful, high quality maps found on the source material, but gives you the same version without annotations or political lines. Additionally it will present you maps from specific areas like towns, cities or Numenera devices.

A must have for lover of maps or anyone looking to bask on the magnificence of this amazing setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Maps of the Ninth World
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Book M
by Nolan O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2019 00:32:44

If you're enjoying the Black Cube then Book M is one of the two things that I consider a must-have, the other being Secrets of Silent Streets. Focusing on what makes Book M so great, it gives you an additional heaping helping of everything the Black Cube gave you. Beyond the 200 or so cards of content, there's new Forte, Secrets, Spells, Rituals, and more.

Of particular note, I think Forte and Secrets are the most useful for your group. Those are some of the building blocks, big and little respectively, that you construct a character out of. Having more options not only lets you find and pick something that fits all the better. That alone makes Book M a treasure trove. Even better though, it gives you more and more ideas for characters that can populate your world.

Invisible Sun is an amazing setting but it paints in broad strokes most of the time, giving a few ideas for content in any particular area to get you going and moving on. However, this leaves an immense amount to be filled by your group. Don't get me wrong, that's some of the best parts of the game. But in Book M you can find all kinds of different, weird, amazing things that are both things that can be used by players and seeds you can grow NPCs out of, using the new ideas and concepts to expand out to characters that may hold those powers you never thought existed.

Back in the Kickstarter it was described as having more information to expand upon the Orders from the Key. If you were looking for that, there is nothing of that here. However, though I was sad to see that content didn't end up making it, that certainly doesn't make me disappointed with what I got in Book M.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Book M
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Invisible Sun
by Robert C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2019 16:56:53

Invisible Sun is a mad game about wonder workers in a surreal world behind, and superior to, the grey world we live in. It does this brilliantly in many many ways, though there are certainly places its lofty goals haven't quite been reached.

I'm going to talk about a couple different parts that really make an impression on me, good or bad: Creating characters, The World(s) of the game, the Rules and Actually Playing the game. I should also quickly mention, as others have, the Ambiance of the game is phenomenal. The art is gorgeous, the cards are perhaps a bit overwhelming but well made and attractive, the Black Cube is a freaking magical way of transporting/delivering you the game (albeit a HEAVY magic).

Character creation is Fun, which is a requirement for almost any game to be good in my eyes. Everyone is a magic-wielder and playing this game will make you hesitant to use paltry words like Mage or Wizard to describe them because they just don't do it justice here. The Classes/Schools/Guilds are interesting (except for Vances, that feel like the class to play if you just can't wrap your head around what this game is capable of)) and it makes deciding what to play a lot of fun, which is good because the rules aren't always super clear about the various bit mean (and there is a lot of new vocabulary in here to absorb).

Characters start pretty deep, which is wonderful. You not only create your character but work on defining/describing the people you know or who know you and why, Everyone starts with the strong possibility of having a house and income, a pretty shocking idea for most games, and there is a great mini storytelling session just deciding who your neighbors are! This provides a rich opening to adventures RIGHT out the gate. You can easily build a character and have 4 or 5 things YOU want to dig deeper into your character and where they live, day 1.

Characters are not defined by skills, which was a shock to me and took some getting used to (I only have three skills?!?) and is usually quickly remedied in-game if that remains important to you, which is might not. You have deeper things to understand than simply Skills.

The World(s) of the Actuality are well done at a theoretical level, but actual play has made me reach back to my Planescape days for deeper inspiration. The worlds of Invisible Sun are surreal and interesting but, perhaps intentionally, so vague as to demand that you fill in a tremendous number of blanks yourself. Again; this can easily be seen as a Feature, not a Bug. I'm perfectly happy to build them in the image my mind sees fit and believe the game all the richer for that lack of author-mandated definition. I DO believe that some GMs would be looking for more here, so in my mind this is a count against IS, but if you love inventing insane worlds like I do, you won't miss this much.

The Rules. Are kind of a beautiful mess. There are rules we didn't realize existed until after months of play. Rules we have decided as a group to ignore. The team did a great job of annotating "See page x in Book y" but there is simply a LOT here. Getting the PDF version so you can text search through it is strongly suggested.

I meant what I said about beautiful mess though, it has some Great stuff in this game! My favorite rules are How Characters Earn XP, How characters earn Despair and Joy and how you learn new things, the concept of Secrets, how you increase standing in your organization... some really really good stuff in there.

Actually Playing the Game. The ultimate test of any game is actually playing it, and while my group and I have certainly spent some time bemoaning various hidden rules or undefined things, that pales in importance because the Game is Awesome.

Within six adventures we were playing characters whose lives were worthy of any epic saga. Rich emotional situations and intractable problems, complex needs or desires and a built in group of friends to help you through them all. This isn't accidental, this is what Invisible Sun is really aiming for and holy cats they hit that goal straight on and full impulse. The game system of Joy and Despair MAKES characters intentionally choose or set up negative outcomes within their own personal stories and this is critical for their advancement. Having a system where characters get a needed reward for NOT succeeding at everything makes characters much more real and deep and interesting. Examples from my campaign: "I tried to understand why my character's Father was undermining all my successes and trying to ruin my standing and... well... I found out, but this knowledge just made everything worse. I have reason to believe I'm an illusion or a changeling or a spell gone wrong, that I don't even really exist!" "My character and her girlfriend had an instant bond, like we'd known each other for ages. The more we learn about each other the more we learn we MAY have actually known the other before and our mutual forgetting may have been because something terrible happened. Do I even WANT to find out?" These are pretty dark experiences for a character in game and where in other games this would entirely be the result of someone deciding this is what they want and the GM saying "Well, I guess we can have other people sitting around while you roleplay out your soap opera" in this game it is organic to the game and I cannot fully explain to you have fabulous the results are.

Another fascinating mechanic is one I have heard people use in other games but in this game really shines. The game comes with a "Sooth Deck", a tarot-like deck of cards with suggested meanings. Sure, you could just roll dice and get a Success or Failure but many situations are better served by having players state what they are trying to accomplish and drawing a card and riffing off of what is shows. "How did the big party I threw work out?", "I am going to ask the Spiders if they know anything about this Death Cult", "I have this strange orb of wild magic from a couple adventure ago. I'm out of ideas so I guess I'll just see what it does." None of these are clearly "make a roll against X" and pulling from the Sooth Deck gives you some really great ways of figuring out what could have happened.

The last thing I'll touch on is particularly unique to Invisible Sun: Time and Reality bend and stretch here unlike in any other game. You want to rebuild a character? Any time you want. You made a ruling you decide later is bad? The world has changed JUST NOW and that's just how it is now. The world is ever changing and changeable to a degree that few others can even conceive and you can weave stories here that would be impossible in other systems. You want to create a monster that eats familial love? Done. Want a form of succubus/incubus that doesn't seduce you but rather goes back in your timeline and replaces someone you love with themselves? Done.

I'd like to wrap up by saying how very impressed I am by the feeling of this game and the key mechanics it uses. The rules have some issues and balance is not always well addressed, but the game itself BLAZES. Every game we play digs us deeper into the stories about these characters in ways you don't often see until near the end of a long campaign in other systems.

Full disclosure, I’m a member of the MCG Asset Team, who demos games at stores and conventions and could receive swag through that program. I'm not getting anything for this, this is my honest opinion. This is the only game I have done this for, because I liked the game so much. I've run a couple games at a local convention to great success and am happy to tell you what I think, just ask and I'll expound!

TL;DR: The rules are a bit of a mess but game play makes some of the deepest, richest characters we have ever played and we're having a great campaign. One of the best storytelling games I've ever played.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Invisible Sun
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Nightcraft
by Luciano F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2019 05:01:41

When I read Into The Night, I could not wait to get my players started exploring the cosmos. The book gives you some options, but none is as beautiful as the Nightcraft. This supplement provides you with sleek, fully detailed spacecraft that my players loved since they laid their eyes on it.

This supplement also gave me all I needed to later create my own night-crafts once my players blew up theirs ;)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Nightcraft
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 400 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG