Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » post world games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Praxis: House of Keys
by Ruth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2019 09:34:06

This is a great gaming book. The material is well written I really enjoyed this book



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Praxis: House of Keys
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

GMZero Introduction Document, Getting Along
by James F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/15/2019 18:56:52

You don't need a PHD to understand the concept discussed here, but some of us don't know that "it's a thing". The days of a GM just running a game and everyone being happy are gone. We need to be careful of people's feelings and beliefs. I like the way Jim brings this point home. You don't need 50 pages of text to make a point. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GMZero Introduction Document, Getting Along
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Praxis: Dying Memoryes, Vertigo
by Tadd M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2019 03:45:56

Played this a couple weeks ago. As always with Praxis, the game setup and characters provided fertile ground for a creative group to make a fantastic story. Our own group delved through scenes ranging from mixed-up dreams to what turned into a murder investigation examined from multiple, not always reliable, points of view. We did manage to wake and survive but even if we hadn't the end result would have been no less satisfying.

For those already familiar with Praxis, the modification of Trepidation into Psychosis resulted in players being far less willing to quickly accumulate misfortune to reach the ending. It added a lot of tension and depth to that dimension of the game.

Overall, highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Praxis: Dying Memoryes, Vertigo
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Drama
by Ruth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 17:42:23

This is a short GMless game. If you are familiar with playing games designed by Jim Pinto you will understand how this works and recognize the concept of the scenes. If this is your first GMless, read the instructions all the way through before you start. The instructions are short, simple and easy to follow. What I love best about this gaming system is the story constantly changes - you can play it one night and have one experience and then next time you play it can be something completly different. With DRAMA the gane involves acting and it is so much fun! Plus you can pick any time period you want to play. Maybe you are working on an old silent film - or maybe you are working on the old musical. The setting can be whatever you want it to be. You get to make the game a different experience each and every time you play it. This is a 5 star game. Try it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Drama
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Bloodwraith Rule Book
by Ruth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 17:28:34

I hate leaving reviews. I am never sure exactly what to say. I think the game is great - that's why I purchased it. Seriously though, buy this game and then on page 2 read the Credits. Pinto explains how he wrote this game "for spite." Apparently he was the child on the playground you didn't dare him to do something because he would do it!!! Lucky us!! This means we get a new game. If that isn't enough to get you to take a look at this game, then his comments on gender and diversity are. Trust me... get the book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodwraith Rule Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Bloodwraith Rule Book
by Ronald J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/08/2019 15:18:56

I like it. I like having a world with background not like the all the other fantasy worlds to run or play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alphabet Soup, GM Advice Document, 100 Warning Signs
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2019 20:50:56

Fun little document, it's some nice flavor for my game that's not just my voice or creative style- it helps give the world character.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Alphabet Soup, GM Advice Document, 100 Warning Signs
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Praxis: Odin's Eye
by Tomer G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2019 17:54:44

Praxis is a really nice framework. It gives you a GMless structured game to play, which really helps teach the players how to play with scene framing. Each archtype/character has a number of scene types they can play with and must cycle through: Ensembles, Interrogations, Interludes, flashbacks, and so on.

That, combined with a small number of simple, infinitely interpretable Milestones, helps the players play-to-find-out with their characters, but in a way that provides just enough structure in play to keep things moving.

If you are unfamiliar with GMless games, this may be a little strange to run. But Jim writes some good tips, tricks, and lots of little sample play text to help you along.

This game system says it's built on his prior Protocol engine, which also provides a looser framework for GMless story-forward games, but has much less structure. I think Praxis is a beautiful way to teach folks new to GMless games and GM-ing and story games, how to do the thing. I've run it with players new to GMless games a number of times.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Praxis: Odin's Eye
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Praxis: Odin's Eye
by Tadd M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/27/2019 01:14:57

Hey there, long time reader and player, first time reviewer. Tonight we played Odin's Eye at a game day for the first time. We had a mix of players from three people who have played several installments of the Black Monk series to one player who had never played any post world games and another who has once but was out of her usual comfort zone. We used the story milestones but no plot twist or other variant rules. However, our new player picked the Passenger (sold separately), which heavily influenced the direction of the game.

As is usual for Praxis, the story ended up with too many threads for me to completely recount here as every character pursued their own milestones (or trepidation at least as often). The main plot revolved around trying to keep our injured ship from being dragged down by the alien beacon's tractor beam, then after being unable to avoid it entirely as we located real stranded people on the planet, escape the planet by equally heroic exertion. Meanwhile, alien influences in my Analyst's brain were trying to turn her to loose a terrible imprisoned entity, the shapeshifting passenger tried to replace the Captain, and the captain, after nearly dying, unmasked and killed the shapeshifter. This was triggered by trepidation and was thus what the Passenger's player chose. So, crazy enough as it sounds for a Praxis game, all but one character escaped safe and alive (alas, we are lost somewhere in space).

The excellent story prompts generated a lot of energy and enthusiasm at the table. There was plenty of out of character laughter as we batted around possibilities even though most of what happened in the game world was quite serious. Starting setting details were far more up to us than in the Black Monk series (we never even had a name for the planet) but we were able to agree on the broad strokes of the setting fairly quickly. Our greatest difficulty was in trying to help the less comfortable player choose scenes to direct without impinging on her agency, which is a problem a book can't solve for us.

After the game all the feedback I got was very positive. We really loved this game and the change of pace from the dark fantasy of Black Monk. Players who embrace the GMless structure will get a lot out of this or any Praxis / Protocol game. Highly recommended.

PS. In the Designer's Notes section, I saw Jim talks about this game's predecessor, Joan of Arc, being influenced by Planetfall. I was flabbergasted - Planetfall as in Floyd, the Stellar Patrol, 'Blather is a trotting krip!'? That was the first Infocom game I ever finished on my own. It taught me some puzzles aren't meant to ever be solved (such as, "Where can I get a radiation suit without being killed by radiation first?" (answer: You can't, so just don't go there)). Dio, Queensrÿche, Planetfall... I wonder what surprise I'll find next. I really tried to pull the game in the Rendevous with Rama direction but it didn't last. It's just as well.

PPS. If you get the print-on-demand, make sure you also get the PDFs, which includes a file of just the role/character sheets. In any Praxis game, you'll want clean copies of those every time. I suppose the POD-only option must exist for Kickstarter backers who only backed at a PDF level and later wanted to upgrade, but I kinda wish the prices of POD vs POD+PDF were closer together so as to make sure people won't buy the book without the PDF. Probably doesn't happen but the worry still crossed my mind.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodwraith Adventure 2: Earthly Riches
by Ruth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2018 15:05:46

this was great! the game is awesome! check out this game



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodwraith Adventure 2: Earthly Riches
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Protocol Fantasy Omnibus, A Guide to GMless Gaming
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2018 15:17:31

I can't say enough good about this. To go 'GM-less' you have to re-think how you and your group are going to approach gaming. It's more like an egg-spoon race than a 100m sprint. The players must work together to carry the story, or you're not going to have a good time. The same really holds true for GM-ed gaming (Jim wrote the book on that too, several times). I found the book insightful and it provided insights on gaming and gaming structure I had not considered before. Would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Protocol Fantasy Omnibus, A Guide to GMless Gaming
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Irresponsible Hero
by Sebastian R. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/08/2018 17:08:23

One of many good ways to know and try Jim's creations. And if you like it, can pay for it later on or even buy some of the many other RPGs available...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Irresponsible Hero
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Bloodwraith Setting Book
by Sebastian R. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 07:49:51

as always Jim surprise me with a great and excellent setting. I can't wait to delve into the next two books! And today he give to this setting a first adventure. This can only get better...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Bloodwraith Setting Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Bloodwraith Setting Book
by Jason P D. d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/01/2018 13:02:32

Bloodwraith is an awesome setting that feels both familiar and alien at the same time, which means a GM/DM can run it believably and yet there's a "mystery of the unknown" feel, too. it can be used with any game system out there which is great for folks like me who don't tend to stay married to any one ruleset, and who homebrews damned near everything. the races are solid, the bloodwraiths themselves are great, and the monsters presented are exactly what i was looking for. one thing this is not is yet another tolkien-derived setting (to be fair, i have ZERO problem with settings that ARE tolkien-derived), and that was what i came into it looking for--an answer to the question: what can this guy come up with that is outside of the tolkien box.

i may even try to adapt thing for use (at home) with shadowrun, which i suspect the author will greatly appreciate, as shadowrun is a great system. (okay, so that's a totally subjective thing, but i'm still sure the author would love the idea of this work being used in conjunction with shadowrun.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GMZero Introduction Document, A Primer for GMless Play
by Sebastian R. R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2018 04:32:48

a short but great intro to what Gmless gaming is all about done Pinto style. This is even better because you can have it for a reasonable price to see how it works and then can decide to pay for other products they offer from Post World Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GMZero Introduction Document, A Primer for GMless Play
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 88 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG