Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Arc Dream Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by David T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/09/2019 17:48:56

I made a video review of the Agent's Handbook here: https://youtu.be/57CUWVQa4_I



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Control Group
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 10:50:37

Another excellent book from Arc Dream. Ivey and Stolze team up with the help of Detwiller's art, to throw players into different immersive environments. There are 3 initial scenarios starting with the infamous BLACKSAT. Surviving PCs then can be initiated into DG for scenario 4. Gripping, intense horror. Highly recommended! 5*



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Control Group
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The King in Yellow: Annotated Edition
by Nathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/20/2019 08:19:29

Judging this book by it's cover, which is sweet by the way, this leather back book has a gold embossed scarab on the front. Nothing fancy, just sleek and elegant. Opening this tome (or in my case the PDF) you'll be greeted with stunning piece of artwork by Samuel Araya. The book has several captivating pieces of art scattered amongst it's pages, all of which are beautiful and help to bring the stories to life. From there it moves on to the title page, publishing information and table to contents. I appreciate that Arc Dream put in a table of illustrations as well. Makes showing off the books great artwork that much easier. The PDF version is fully bookmarked. This undoubtedly time consuming effort by the editor is a massive boon for the reader. When I say fully bookmarked, I mean fully. Each of Ken Hite's annotations are bookmarked as well, and there is a TON of them. Ken's insight into Chambers' writing shows. Ken brings you into the strange, nightmarish world Chambers first created. Each nuance is dissected and historical context within the writing is brought into the light. These notes are what makes this version of the book truly shine (that, and the gold feathering). It's clear from the production value, to the lengthy amount of research, that this was a labor of love for those involved. Speaking of the production value, I want to quickly say that the text of the actual stories themselves is really nicely laid out, and easy to read. This in tandem with the bookmarks makes this version of the King in Yellow an unique experience.

The foreword by John Scott Tynes is a good read. Sharing his experiences with the King in Yellow and how the text affected his life, John sets the mood perfectly for the rest of the book. The stories of the King in Yellow are a must read for Cthulhu Mythos fans and a great read if you enjoy reading as a hobby. The main stories Mythos fans will want to check out are “The Repairer of Reputations”, The Mask, In the court of the Dragon, The Yellow Sign, and Cassilda's Song. Fun fact: Chambers actually borrowed the Carcosa setting from the short story “An Inhabitant of Carcosa” written by Ambrose Bierce in 1886. seems Lovecraft wasn't the only one to borrow concepts and terminology! Lovecraft actually makes mention of Chambers in a letter to Clark Ashton Smith saying quote

“Chambers is like Rupert Hughes and a few other fallen Titans—equipped with the right brains & education, but wholly out of the habit of using them.”

The only thing I don't like about this book is that I don't own a physical copy! There is a small limited print run of these (only 2,000 total produced) so if you're lucky enough to get one of these, definitely pick it up! And if you're unable to get a physical copy, do yourself a favor and get the PDF. To quote John here:

“ If this is your first encounter with The King in Yellow then you are in for quite an experience. If you know it well then you are in for a revelation. And while it may be a terrible thing to fall into the hands of the living god, it is a wonderful thing for The King in Yellow to fall into the hands of Ken and Sam—and now into yours. Hold it tight and it will never let you go.”



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The King in Yellow: Annotated Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Observer Effect
by Kennedy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:50:56

One of my favorite scenarios ever. A word of advice to the Handler who runs it, when you think you've got everything nailed down and are 100% confident in your knowledge of the scenario, read it at least once more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Observer Effect
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Lover in the Ice
by Kennedy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:49:00

Very good scenario, only for those who can handle mature themes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Lover in the Ice
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
by Kennedy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:47:20

Delta Green is by far my favorite tabletop rpg system. It combines the existential dread and squick of the Cthulhu Mythos with the secret government conspiracy of a Tom Clancy novel, but somehow more pessimistic. If you like Conspiracies and Horror, you owe it to yourself to play this system. the value for the price is also phenomenal, considering theres almost 600 pages in all, covering every single thing you could possibly need to know.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: The Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Need to Know
by Kennedy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:43:58

Absolutely worth the price. Sarcasm aside, it'd still be worth it even if this was a 10-20$ starter booklet. Come to think of it, I'd pay good money for a Delta Green beginner box.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Need to Know
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Future/Perfect, Part 1
by Kennedy S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2019 08:41:15

A fantastic starting point for introducing your players to the Delta Green system. The scenario is well laid out, with the necessary information easy to find. My players had a grand time as they completely screwed everything up and ended the scenario with only one of them standing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Future/Perfect, Part 1
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Control Group
by TIMOTHY D. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2019 11:08:01

BLACKSAT was my introduction to Delta Green back in 2013 at NecronomiCON Providence. DG immediately became one of my favorite RPGs. It's worth buying this pdf for that scenario alone, and you get 3 more fantastic scenarios to go along with it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Control Group
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
by TIMOTHY D. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/10/2019 08:58:22

This adventure fills two much needed voids in the current 5e universe: a short adventure module instead of a long campaign book, and quality sword and sorcery rather than vanilla fantasy.

I can't wait for the other adventures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Agent Dossiers
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/09/2019 13:43:09

Excellent resource for Handlers. Either for giving players PCs in one shots all statted out or for important NPCs. An essential piece of labour saving kit! And at a bargain price! What's there not too like?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Agent Dossiers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Delta Green: Control Group
by Joseph K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2019 11:53:38

Delta Green as always delivers great horror writing and immersive scenarios, which I recommend this pdf for anyone looking for a way to introduce new Agents into the conspiracy...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Control Group
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
by Ben F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 15:57:01

Love the adventure. Conjures up that pulp Swords and Sorcery vibe of Moorcock, Lieber and Howard amongst others. The art really helps too. Really enjoyed reading it and look forward to running it after the summer.

Shane Ivey is creating a unique setting which can be used/ cannibalised or discarded when using these modules. The Broken Empire setting which reminded me of the Elric! rpg and books. An evil empire which consorted with demons was overthrown…. 'civilisation' has imploded…. Creating a classic 'Points of Light' setting….. but with lots of nasty S&S adventuring sites laden with loot but full of peril.

Players are immediately thrown into the action. A storm hits their boat. When they get to the island, everything is very weird. Art very 1970s pulp S&S feel. The PCs delve into the temple in the rock…. Can they survive physically…. As well as spiritually?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Sea Demon's Gold (5e)
by Edward P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 00:31:32

I LOVE this adventure! Engaging plot, gorgeous art, and a atmosphere that is uniquely Arc Dream. I'm looking forward to running it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thank you!
Delta Green: Control Group
by Kevin R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2019 18:41:17

Yet another great release for Delta Green, other than being a must have, just what can one say.

The book is a series of scenarios, each one independent  of each other, yet the survivor's can be used in the last scenario.

It adds to the long list of great scenarios, with this collection you get some real gems.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delta Green: Control Group
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 193 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG