Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Assassin Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Painted Stag
by Colin A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2020 14:44:19

This is a really great piece to just pick up and drop into any campaign!

The Inn itself is pretty unremarkable, which I think is perfect for any town, crossroads or outskirt village to have. Running a campaign, I often forget about the "regular" people who would otherwise inhabit the world around my PCs. This small tavern gives a fantastic little dip into NPCs who not only live in a larger uncaring fantasy world, but are affected by it and have great minor motivations about it. I can definitely see how these small goals and tasks the patrons of the Inn have might turn into huge obstacles, moral quandaries and great encounters for the PCs. Some of these characters could be featured as much larger roles in your campaign. The vagueness and mystery of their histories truly adds to the versatility of this module.

This has found a placce in almost every classic fantasy campaign I'll be running.

So useful!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Painted Stag
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wanted
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:20:42

I've found a lot of these simple adventure ideas useful for urban adventures. I run my campaign episodically, and these short adventures are easy to piece together with others for a session.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A Collection of Poisons
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 14:36:40

I've found these useful in my 5E campaign. Additional ideas for poisons and how to make them is a good supplemental resource that especially helps with adding some flavor beyond just mentioning generic poisons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A Collection of Poisons
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A Collection of Poisons
by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2018 23:41:34

Excellent formatting, balanced rules, and overall a good product. The only complaint I have is that the refinement and poison process doesn't really hold the simple and elegant design that has made 5e such a great game.

If you are or have a player that wants to use poison, and you don't mind a higher level of complexity (and that doesn't equate to depth), this is a solid choice.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted
by Dai-Wei P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2018 21:47:05

Perfect for those spontaneous sessions where you don't have much time to plan or inspiration. Thow Wanted into your relevant campaign setting, give the players a plot hook and with a little improv, you've got the recipe for a really good session.

For example, last night I ran the 'Grapes of Wrath' bounty, and set it in Balder's Gate. I tied in a couple of main story points and expanded it by leaving a trail of clues in an investigation. It turned out to be one of our best sessions. The simple but interesting bounties give lots for a DM to work with. 10/10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Player Supplement: Feats (Starfinder)
by Chris V. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2018 17:20:27

A simple and well thought-out supplement of new feats for Starfinder characters. Some of these are things I had thought of as combat modifiers for the OSR games I used to create for, but never got around to publishing.

I know I certainly would players to use these.

Well worth purchasing and at a great price too!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Player Supplement: Feats (Starfinder)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Random Urban Encounters
by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 16:30:20

Exactly what I needed to flesh out some of my dwarven cities! Provides enough to spark an improvised encounter without getting heavy into the mechanics that will bog me down at the table.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Urban Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

5th Edition Supplements from Assassin Games [BUNDLE]
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 11:50:32

This is an awesome bundle that really is a boon for DMs. I've used many of the encounters and short adventure hooks in my 5E campaign. Highly recommended! You can read how I adapted the adventure hook, "The Raven" from the Wanted supplement here: https://thulaen.wordpress.com/2017/12/01/session-11-the-jackdaws-the-raven-and-the-rat/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
5th Edition Supplements from Assassin Games [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Village of Darganford
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2017 13:51:33

The map is beautiful and there is a version included without those letters (i.e. Player and GM version as png, GM version also as pdf). I have printed it (png) out on DIN A4 and really love it (5475 x 3672px)! So I totally recommend. There should be more maps like this one at assassin games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Village of Darganford
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wilderness Encounters
by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 08:49:14

Excellent supplement to add flavor to your campaign's wilderness treks. Some entries are combat encounters, some are interesting opportunities for skill checks, and some are flavor descriptions that add narrative interest to otherwise uneventful overland travel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderness Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Free Virtual Map Collection
by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2017 17:42:13

First Impressions: Well, who can complain about free maps? I guess I can. Though I like these maps and have no problem using them in my games, they could be so much better. They are all certainly usable, but none of them are artistically inspired, nor have they actually been optimized for VTT use.

See the full review here: http://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/entry.php?233-Free-Virtual-Map-Collection-by-Assassin-Games



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Free Virtual Map Collection
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A Collection of Poisons
by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2016 01:14:20

A decent set of poisons, but game mechanically it does not feel like 5e. The poisons in this supplement feel much less imaginative than the ones found in the DMG, and still utilize mechanics found in 3.x edition such as Ability Score damage, which isn't used in 5e.

While the poisons are cool and unique, the mechanics behind them just don't fit the system. These are great 3.x poisons, but not 5e poisons. The reliance on a strict primary and secondary effect setup is one of those mechanics lingering from an older system that just holds it back.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
A Collection of Poisons
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
This product was released prior to the DMG.
A Collection of Poisons
by Josie J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2016 16:36:09

A really nice collectinon of poisons that all have in depth info. They can easily be used as inspiration for other editions. Nice collection with good layout.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild Magic Cards
by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2016 23:36:12

These are fantastic! I bought the actual cards and they add a very fun element the game when a mage fumbles a spell. They are generic enough for a GM to apply to any game system they are playing (5e, Pathinder, Arrowflight, etc) I highly recommend a set of these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wild Magic Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wanted
by Francisco B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/06/2016 17:10:07

Great product. I like running small adventures for my kids. These are perfect. Simple enough for a short adventure. The simplicity also makes it flexible so you can add more to the adventures if you want.

I also appreciate the extra notes, like how to do a chase scene. I had heard a chase scene playthrough on the Critical Hit podcast and am glad to have instructions on how to do it.

One suggestion: I like the parchment background on the pages. However that eats up ink when being printed out. I think with PDFs, you can include a setting to choose if you want to print that background or not. If you could please add that option to your documents, that would be fantastic.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wanted
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 44 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG