Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Urban Chase Cards
    by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/17/2020 01:44:44

    This is an awesome idea and I will incorporate it. I'm only giving it 3 stars because I'm going to have to modify formatting to use it extensively, and I was hoping to just get rolling with it. I bought it the day before a session expecting to GM a big chase and wound up not being able to use it (the players took a different path anyway, go figure.... but I wouldn't have had this if I had needed it).

    First what you get - It comes in multiple pdf files, including a printer-friendly version with limited graphics/ no backgrounds, a full version with front and back graphics/ colors/ backgrounds, and a system-licensed version for use with Open Legend.

    There is also a one-page instruction sheet that talks about how to use the cards.

    The cards look very nice, and the effects range from the very ordinary (dodge the contents of a chamberpot being emptied) to the very outlandish (you catch sight of a former lover and must test to avoid being distracted). For a group interested in "playing through" this will be a lot of fun.

    Make a test to pass a card, otherwise suffer some effect and your opponent puts another card between you or closes the distance, if you are the one running away.

    Some of the cards will require modification or embellishment to fit specific circumstances and/or specific characters. With a little imagination, all of them can be made to work and deliver a fast-paced, high energy chase.

    Each card presents a situation the character must face, and most cards present 2 possible tests to avoid the situation, along with the consequences of failure. For example, an alley is filled with garbage and debris, making footing difficult. Make an Easy (10) Reflex save to avoid slipping and falling, or make an Easy (10) Athletics check to climb a nearby rooftop and continue the chase.

    I like the way the tests are laid out. Even though the tests show a specific number, it would be very easy to just use the stated difficulty and apply them in any system desired - I will probably be using them in Cubicle 7's Warhammer Fantasy Role-Play (WFRP) 4th Ed even though the checks don't match up to that system.

    Like I said, great idea. Now, what would I change?

    The main problem is in the printing and actual use - unless you have a printer that can print playing-card-sized cards (and card-sized stock), you'll have to reformat the pdf to print it, and that's almost as much work as just drawing up a set myself.

    All 3 pdf files show 1 card per page, and most printers aren't going to handle that well. It would be really nice if one (or more) of the files was presented in an Avery-standard or MPC standard format, for printing on say, business-card stock or the MPC playing card stock. As-delivered, these aren't even going to be easy to print on straight-up cardstock without reformatting. In my mind, this is a must-fix for usability.

    It would also be very nice to have a one or two-page GM reference chart that showed what all the cards do, possibly keyed to a standard card deck (again, eliminating the printing problem). This would be especially helpful if each "suit" of cards (and maybe each number or face) was keyed to a particular type of test or circumstance (clubs = rooftops, hearts = people obstacles, etc). It would help in quickly filtering these cards out, as some circumstances won't be applicable in some settings, on some chase paths, or for some groups. For example, I'm having a hard time imagining the average adventuring character chasing an evil minion stopping to help a lost child find their parents...

    Some blank cards would be nice, for making my own additions appropriate maybe to the campaign or to a specific, scripted chase (That guardsman you've been avoiding? Yeah, he's right in front of you and at least one of you is going to be surprised...). Of course, a well-prepared GM could use that missing reference chart for effectively the same thing by prepping in advance...

    Overall- great product, I would buy it again, and I want to see MORE (Rooftops, Mounted, Wilderness, Battlefield chases all come to mind....)



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Urban Chase Cards
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Painted Stag
    by Colin A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/04/2020 14:44:19

    This is a really great piece to just pick up and drop into any campaign!

    The Inn itself is pretty unremarkable, which I think is perfect for any town, crossroads or outskirt village to have. Running a campaign, I often forget about the "regular" people who would otherwise inhabit the world around my PCs. This small tavern gives a fantastic little dip into NPCs who not only live in a larger uncaring fantasy world, but are affected by it and have great minor motivations about it. I can definitely see how these small goals and tasks the patrons of the Inn have might turn into huge obstacles, moral quandaries and great encounters for the PCs. Some of these characters could be featured as much larger roles in your campaign. The vagueness and mystery of their histories truly adds to the versatility of this module.

    This has found a placce in almost every classic fantasy campaign I'll be running.

    So useful!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Painted Stag
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wanted
    by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/30/2019 16:20:42

    I've found a lot of these simple adventure ideas useful for urban adventures. I run my campaign episodically, and these short adventures are easy to piece together with others for a session.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wanted
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    A Collection of Poisons
    by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 14:36:40

    I've found these useful in my 5E campaign. Additional ideas for poisons and how to make them is a good supplemental resource that especially helps with adding some flavor beyond just mentioning generic poisons.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    A Collection of Poisons
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    A Collection of Poisons
    by Bryan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2018 23:41:34

    Excellent formatting, balanced rules, and overall a good product. The only complaint I have is that the refinement and poison process doesn't really hold the simple and elegant design that has made 5e such a great game.

    If you are or have a player that wants to use poison, and you don't mind a higher level of complexity (and that doesn't equate to depth), this is a solid choice.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Wanted
    by Dai-Wei P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2018 21:47:05

    Perfect for those spontaneous sessions where you don't have much time to plan or inspiration. Thow Wanted into your relevant campaign setting, give the players a plot hook and with a little improv, you've got the recipe for a really good session.

    For example, last night I ran the 'Grapes of Wrath' bounty, and set it in Balder's Gate. I tied in a couple of main story points and expanded it by leaving a trail of clues in an investigation. It turned out to be one of our best sessions. The simple but interesting bounties give lots for a DM to work with. 10/10



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wanted
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Player Supplement: Feats (Starfinder)
    by Chris V. D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/07/2018 17:20:27

    A simple and well thought-out supplement of new feats for Starfinder characters. Some of these are things I had thought of as combat modifiers for the OSR games I used to create for, but never got around to publishing.

    I know I certainly would players to use these.

    Well worth purchasing and at a great price too!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Player Supplement: Feats (Starfinder)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Random Urban Encounters
    by Kyle M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/15/2018 16:30:20

    Exactly what I needed to flesh out some of my dwarven cities! Provides enough to spark an improvised encounter without getting heavy into the mechanics that will bog me down at the table.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Random Urban Encounters
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    5th Edition Supplements from Assassin Games [BUNDLE]
    by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 11:50:32

    This is an awesome bundle that really is a boon for DMs. I've used many of the encounters and short adventure hooks in my 5E campaign. Highly recommended! You can read how I adapted the adventure hook, "The Raven" from the Wanted supplement here: https://thulaen.wordpress.com/2017/12/01/session-11-the-jackdaws-the-raven-and-the-rat/



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    5th Edition Supplements from Assassin Games [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Village of Darganford
    by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/13/2017 13:51:33

    The map is beautiful and there is a version included without those letters (i.e. Player and GM version as png, GM version also as pdf). I have printed it (png) out on DIN A4 and really love it (5475 x 3672px)! So I totally recommend. There should be more maps like this one at assassin games.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Village of Darganford
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wilderness Encounters
    by Robert N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/15/2017 08:49:14

    Excellent supplement to add flavor to your campaign's wilderness treks. Some entries are combat encounters, some are interesting opportunities for skill checks, and some are flavor descriptions that add narrative interest to otherwise uneventful overland travel.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wilderness Encounters
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Free Virtual Map Collection
    by Dan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/02/2017 17:42:13

    First Impressions: Well, who can complain about free maps? I guess I can. Though I like these maps and have no problem using them in my games, they could be so much better. They are all certainly usable, but none of them are artistically inspired, nor have they actually been optimized for VTT use.

    See the full review here: http://www.fantasygrounds.com/forums/entry.php?233-Free-Virtual-Map-Collection-by-Assassin-Games



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Free Virtual Map Collection
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    A Collection of Poisons
    by Andrew L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2016 01:14:20

    A decent set of poisons, but game mechanically it does not feel like 5e. The poisons in this supplement feel much less imaginative than the ones found in the DMG, and still utilize mechanics found in 3.x edition such as Ability Score damage, which isn't used in 5e.

    While the poisons are cool and unique, the mechanics behind them just don't fit the system. These are great 3.x poisons, but not 5e poisons. The reliance on a strict primary and secondary effect setup is one of those mechanics lingering from an older system that just holds it back.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    A Collection of Poisons
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    This product was released prior to the DMG.
    A Collection of Poisons
    by Josie J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/28/2016 16:36:09

    A really nice collectinon of poisons that all have in depth info. They can easily be used as inspiration for other editions. Nice collection with good layout.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wild Magic Cards
    by Brian J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2016 23:36:12

    These are fantastic! I bought the actual cards and they add a very fun element the game when a mage fumbles a spell. They are generic enough for a GM to apply to any game system they are playing (5e, Pathinder, Arrowflight, etc) I highly recommend a set of these!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wild Magic Cards
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 45 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product