RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Mutants & Masterminds Basic Hero's Handbook
by Jon F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2019 22:39:56

Thus far I've purchases three copies of this book, two physical copies and a third pdf. I've been playing Mutants & Masterminds for a decade and this is hands down one of the best books supporting the system I've ever read. It is a great primer for new players, and a really helpful tool for experienced ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Basic Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Expanse Roleplaying Game
by Zachariah D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/11/2019 23:37:24

System isn't intuitive at all, had to read the character creation/advancement section several times to be able to even begin to understand how to level up a character. The book also spends a lot of time plugging other editions of the AGE system or seeking to "clarify" how this book/setting is different from other system books. Sorely tempted to take the setting and run in another system.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Expanse Roleplaying Game
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadowtide: A Blue Rose Novel
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 03/05/2019 15:17:40

The trouble with most "gamer fiction" is you can practically hear the dice being rolled in the background. Sometimes, and it doesn't matter how compelling the story, you can't bu help see or hear game terms being thrown about.

Thankfully that is NOT the issue here with Shadowtide: A Blue Rose Novel by Joseph D. Carriker, Jr.

Carriker gives us a story we can get into and characters we can care about, that is the job of all good storytellers; whether that medium is a novel, a play or a role-playing game. In this case, we get a good novel that preserves what we like or want from the RPG but still satisfies as a novel.

The story opens with the disappearance (likely murder) of two envoys from the Sovereign's Finest. The Sovereign is Queen Jaelin of Aldis and her envoys are tasked with helping out where they can and mostly fighting the forces of evil. The two envoys are tracking down a reported case of Shadow Sorcerery in the Veran Marsh east of Aldis. Shadow is more than just black magic, it is a taint of the unworldly, of the unnatural. Contrasts are turned up in Aldis, the evil are very evil and the good...well the good try to be very good, but as this book reminds us even the Envoys of the Queen, the very symbols of good, have to make hard choices.

The story begins with a trio of envoys. I would say "unlikely" but in truth the envoys are a varied lot. We have Soot who is a Rhy-Crow, or an intelligent crow with the abilities of an Adept. Morjin Brightstar, a lovable rogue and rake who works best alone, but is constantly falling love with whomever he meets. A note. Morjin is a character who in a lesser hand would have been VERY annoying. But Carriker invests a lot of attention and dare I say love into Morjin that you feel for the guy. He is a former Roamer, a nomadic culture similar to the Romany of our world, but he has been exiled from his clan. So it becomes easy to see how his happy-go-lucky, devil-may-care nature hides a profound sadness of what would be a good heart. Finally the last of our trio is Ydah (pronounced EE0dah). She is a Night person, or what might pass for a half-orc in other books. She is the fighter to Morjin's lover. She is also recovering from recent grief and hides her sadness behind a gruff exterior and a desire to beat the living crap out of people. Which she excels at.

The trio finds themselves in a hidden smuggler's town called Serpent's Haven. Where basically everyone is a criminal or descended from a criminal of some sort. Their mission here is to discover what happened to other envoys and figure out what the nature of the Shadow they were looking for.

I don't want to spoil the plot, but suffice to say it involves cults, crazed cultists, a Dark Fiend and the ever-present danger of Shadow to all that are around it, friend and foe alike.

Naturally, comparisons will be made to the Valdemar books by Mercedes Lackey, of which Blue Rose is inspired by, but those comparisons are mainly superficial here. Sure one can tell a "Valdemar" story with Blue Rose. One could also tell this story with Blue Rose. The differences to me lie at the heart of what Shadowtide and Blue Rose are really about. The characters of both the novel and game try to do Good with a capital G. But often the only choices they have are goods with a little g. They can't fix every problem. The difference I think then between a Blue Rose character and say a D&D character is that it is the good they can't do is what bothers the Blue Rose characters, and this makes them want to do and be better next time.

That is certainly true for our trio of heroes here. Morjin feels bad about how treats certain people when he knows he has worked towards the greater good. Ydah feels bad about having to kill (and kill she does) cultists, but she needs to stop an even greater evil. Soot, well Soot has some problems all his own and shows us how dangerous the cult they are dealing with is.

In the end, the characters care about their actions. They care about how others see them as envoys and they care about how others are treated. They know there is injustice in the world, even Ydah mentions the stares she still gets in "enlightened Aldis", but they are working to make things a little bit better. Because they care they are not the "murder hobos" of other games or stories and we care more for them as well.

The book ends, but room for a sequel is left open. I certainly hope so. The characters are entertaining and the mystery they are delving into is a fascinating one. Kudos to Carriker for giving us characters whose motivations I believe and whose stories are compelling enough to make me want more.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowtide: A Blue Rose Novel
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Hero High, Revised Edition
by Matthew H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/14/2018 22:01:19

Good: The Claremont Academy section and the premade teen characters are very useful.

Bad: The rest of the book. The advice for running a teen campaign is mostly very easy to extrapolate yourself if you've read the Gamemaster's Guide and have ever been a teenager, and the writing style is an incredibly cringeworthy attempt to sound young and hip from someone whose idea of "hip" seems to have been gleaned by observing 1998-2002-era teen culture from a great distance. It makes it incredibly difficult to read the first three sections without skimming, so it's entirely possible I missed out on some gems of advice within the dross.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Hero High, Revised Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/16/2018 08:42:37

This is a primer on the AGE system (used in Blue Rose and Dragon Age), it is (hence the name) fantasy oriented and it is not provided with an specific universe, the core three class and the mechanics are provided and a few specialties, spells and equipment plus several GM's advices.

I think the goal is to have a basic fantasy core book that a GM can build upon as it is less complete than Bluse Rose & Dragon Age but that's not the goal of this book.

Still a good product for beginners and people curious about AGE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fantasy AGE Basic Rulebook
by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/29/2018 06:37:54

On the whole I like the AGE system. The stunt mechanic is interesting, task resolution is generally fast and smooth and it is generic enough to build a homebrew setting around pretty easily. The system and this pdf do however have a few glaring problems that I find no one is talking about. First, the combat relies too heavily on the stunts system to add interesting choices. There are very few mechanical options in combat beyond "hit guy with my weapon using my most appropriate talent" and if you don't roll doubles or roll crab on your stunt die that makes for a very dull turn. Second, the mechanical effects of the different talents and specializations just feel uninspired and bland. It doesn't feel like there is really a significant difference between playing say a two-hander warrior and a sword and board warrior. Yeah you get a couple of small stat differences and very minor ability riders but nothing that makes the game experience notably different or varied. Third, I can't find animal statistics anywhere in the book. This is especially frustrating because they include mounted combat rules and animal companions (especially with the Beastmaster option in the Companion) but no actual animals to use. So several of the options that might actually make the game fun to play with aren't actually useable.

The pdf itself is very poorly put together. The bookmarks are an absolute mess. They are often out of order and there are sub-marks under headings that make no sense. For example, after the classes in the book there are a few pages dedicated to the final touches of your character (calculating defense, starting money, character goals, gaining XP and the like). Only about half of them are given a bookmark and all the bookmarks are submarks of the Warrior class bookmark. That is only one of a few example of very poor bookmarks. To make this even worse, the pdf is locked so you cannot even change the bookmarks manually.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Companion
by Cary M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2018 19:42:15

This pdf has been rigged so that if you print it the names of talents and the like do not show up on the document. I even using a print to pdf program and the names were not visible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy AGE Companion
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Basic Hero's Handbook
by Rory H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2018 00:28:01

For those people, like me, who didn't quite grow up with the depth of experience to master point spend-based superhero rpgs, this book delivers a very accessible, attractive game and system that can be played practically out of the box. The art direction is very strong too, with the use of a short comic strip inside to illustrate the possibilities.

While the system is the same used in the more advanced Deluxe version of the game, it focuses on easily recognisable archetypes (8 in total) and simply chosen packages of abilities and powers to build characters. The elegance of this is that both versions of the game are completely compatible and, along with the points buy and random tables found in the Deluxe book, almost every preference for character generation is provided within the game as a whole. Fans of class-based systems, however, will appreciate this book the most.

The Basic book is still pretty comprehensive as a self contained game (you don't need any other), with plenty of advice and resources, that can run pretty much any type of tale found in the comics and movies. The tone is decidedly positive and cheerful, rather than gritty (should you be looking for a darker style) but, in all, this product largely underlines Mutants & Masterminds claim to be the 'greatest superhero roleplaying game'. For me, this was the best product I have seen of it's type and genre.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Basic Hero's Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Expanse RPG Quickstart
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2018 21:52:43

Another fantastic product by Green Ronin. Looking forward to the full book!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Expanse RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
by Michael T. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/10/2018 12:53:48

When I kicked off my D20 Modern Call of Cthulhu campaign, I needed a training scenario to test the new agents. You might think "Danger Room"-type scenarios are common, but they're much harder to find than you might think. This scenario involves robot tentacles, heat seeking missiles, and lots of danger room madness that was perfect for my new players and helped them get into the groove. It was compatible enough for me to easily convert it to D20, but really I just wanted the training challenges so it worked fine for my campaign.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Beginner's Guide (For Second Edition)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Modern AGE RPG Quickstart
by John D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 15:42:08

I've read the Quickstart and reviewed it here. Check it out, or download the Quickstart now for some Modern AGE goodness!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Modern AGE RPG Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Cosmic Handbook
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 09:57:06

le supplément pour M&M que j'ai attendu une bonne partie de ma vie, le supplément pour jouer des aventures spatiales épiques...et cosmiques :).

This was the sourcebook I'v waited for most of my life, want to play cosmic and epic adventures, this is it :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cosmic Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Star Raiders
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 09:55:27

Vous voulez faire un remake des Gardiens de la Galaxie dans l'univers de Freedom City ? Maintenant vous avez les personnages pour le faire :).

Wanna make a Guardians of the Galaxy remake ? Now you have the characters to do it :).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Star Raiders
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Mutants & Masterminds Gamemaster's Guide
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 09:49:46

A very useful sourcebook for any superhéro gamemaster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mutants & Masterminds Gamemaster's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Supernatural Handbook
by YANN E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2018 09:48:36

A great sourcebook for combining horror, supernatural and super-heroes.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Supernatural Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 597 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG