Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Flatland Games » Reviews
Browse Categories
RPG Backstory Template
RPG Backstory Template
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by George G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 10:22:41

This game is an icredible concept. I have been gaming since the early 80s and have played more than systems than I can remember, Beyond the Wall hits SO many marks. Character creation is actually FUN for once, that alone is a revelation! The idea that I as a GM can sit down with zero prep work and have a great scenario outline, with ties the the PCs, is a God send. I have run the same scenario pack multiple times with different results each time, even having run the same scenario pack for the same group of PCs. It isn't hard to comine scanrio packs to get interesting adventures, for instance I combined one of the undead related scenarios with one from the Goblin add one, it made for a fantastic adventure with lots of twists.

The system is essentially somewhere between OD&D and Moldvay-era Basic/Expert D&D, with some modern mechanics thrown in (ascending AC for instance). I have run the game in its base form and had good results. I happen to be more of a fan of the Chaosium/BRP mechanics though, and I found it VERY easy to adapt the scnenario packs and character playbooks to Basic Roleplaying. Really only had to do a couple things; where playbook gives Wisdom bonuses, put them to Power for BRP, add some skills to the BRP character sheet, and give BRP mechanics to some spells (which is very easy to do). I think it would be nealry as easy to adapt the scenario packs and playbooks to other systems as well, so if you have a system you prefer and like the Beyond the Wall concept you could still use these pdfs.

Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Craig T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2019 15:44:38

I decided to use Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures for a recent one off with my group that meets only once every few months (many of us have families nowe and time is very tight). The group consists of a mix of some experienced roleplayers and some players fairly new to roleplaying. We had 5 hours set aside for the game and spent the first 90 minutes walkign through the playbooks that each player had chosen. In that time the players all worked out their characters and got to learn the connections between the characters and the story of their village. Just that 90 minutes alone was some of the best time I have ever spent with a roleplaying game. The characters came out so deep in personality and connections! At the end of the session we have played through a scenario for which I had done almost no prep (15-20 min spent after the character generation session).

All of the players came away ravong about what a good time they had had and immediately asked when they could play it again because there were still so many areas fo their characters and the village that they wanted to explore. For example, who were the mysterious mercenaries that had come looking for one of the characters in the past and what did they want with them?

This group will be going back to the village of Last Wall again and again I feel.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Charles C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/25/2019 11:30:49

This game is amazing!!!!! So glad I found it, wish it would've been sooner. My gaming group has been turning into a bunch of number crunching, power gaming, murder hobo's. This brought the role playing back to the table. I've bought the Hardcover book and will be doing what I can to support this game and the company's efforts. I'm ready for a kick starter or something to help fund some more playbooks and adventures. A very big thank you goes out to Flatland Games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Benjamin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2019 19:10:01

It's been a long time since I bought a game that impressed me as much as Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures. My group of D&D players had enjoyed another game (Dungeon World), but felt it lacked the crunch needed for them to get their fix. They wanted something with as much narrative focus as DW but a bit more rules to sink their teeth into.

I came across BtW by accident, and it's now a happy accident. My group has been playing this game for a couple of weeks, and the feedback is good. These guys, who are all much younger than I am, have played everything...Pathfinder, 4th Edition D&D, 5th Edition D&D, etc...and I have longed to run an old school game like I played in my youth.

BtW knocked it out of the park. My players feel really attached to their characters thanks to the playbooks and really attached to their village and surroundings thanks to the rules for them helping to create the sandbox they play in.

Worth every penny I paid. Please make more supplements. I will insta-buy anything you put out.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Zachary A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2018 21:51:34

I've picked through a lot of OSR styled games before and have never been impressed. Then I learned about Beyond the Wall and the unique twists it put on the concept. Powered by The Apocalypse style playbooks expanded so that they tie together the PC's to eachother and the world.

This turned what I might have passed over into exactly my jam. The quick character and game creation tickles my narrative player and GM bones just right and the expanded rules for combat and game creation found in the Further Afield book helps lay the groundwork for a more expansive sandbox style campaign.

The included character playbooks with just the core rulebook alone are nice and the literally dozens of others avaliable for free or for a generous donation give a delightful amount of options for stories and group makeups.

Though all this talk of playbooks doesn't mean it doesn't have good ol' fashion roll your stats and pick your class character creation. And here's where it gets better smooth. With only three classes, Warrior, Mage and Thief with limitless options for hybridzing the classes (with proper GM discussion of course) making the kind of character you want to play is quick and virtually painless.

I don't think I'll be drinking deep of the well of OSR games myself but this particular game is going to be one of my go to systems for the kind of coming of age, small scale fantasy adventures that I adore.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
by Stuart D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2018 11:13:38

We had a blast playing this. I was pretty new to GMing PbtA games when we tried this. It pretty rules light - when compared to some of the more complex games. It's a great place to start with the system, but also a great time for the whole group. Creating your own terrible action movie with cheesy scenes, stupid catchphrases, over the top action and crazy stories is not only hilarious but really liberating as a group. We got to make bad stories on purpose! This is a must buy for the price and if you are a fan of this system. You will have such fun if you are a fan of role-playing and movies. Top notch stuff.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ACTION MOVIE WORLD: First Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Matthew G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2018 00:52:14

Beyond the Wall and other Adventures is, without a shadow of a doubt, the best new roleplaying game I have played this decade.

Eschewing complex rules and finicky balance, the authors have returned to what made early roleplaying games great. The rules are simple and streamlined with a really nice twist on magic spells and rituals for mages.

Character creation is one of the gems of this game - it's such an obviously wonderful idea, I really can't understand why other games haven't picked it up. By the end of character creation, the characters have intertwined backstories and a shared history that just cannot be replicated by traditional means.

The game itself does not have the Cleric as the character class, but that's not as bad an idea as you might think. Healing can be performed by magic, so it's easy to imagine visiting the local wise-woman or witch to get those boils cured, which is much closer to the perceptions of those living in the West in earlier times.

If you are planning to play for more than a few sessions, then I would suggest getting the supplement "Further afield", as Beyond the Wall is designed as a pick up 'n play game without much attention to long campaigns. However, a DM worth his salt with a bit of experience under his belt could easily run a campaign from this one book.

I ordered the hardback POD version of this game, and though it arrived with slightly rounded corners, the printing is beautiful and the artwork eery and dreamlike. I will forgive the printers the rounded corners as it had to travel 6,000 miles to get to my door.

If you don't own this game, then I suggest to anyone who enjoys D&D to order it now. It's easily my favourite fantasy RPG since Second Edition AD&D.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Jake S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/16/2018 17:11:47

Wonderful book, I will be excited to play with my college games club. With all of the free material you can get here it is well worth the price of a download. I love the ethos the writers are trying to make and the system is an excellent stripping-down of the D&D system to its basic components. The focus is on story, and I think if you and your players can immerse yourself in the mythology the game asks you to create you will have a blast!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Mike S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/29/2017 15:05:26

I truly love this system. Though it appears geared to new players and game masters and seems to be focused on single-night adventures the design method for both the characters and the environment give it a depth typically only found in full length campaigns.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Nicolas F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2017 04:52:39

This product really shines in two aspects:

  • Creating characters with an interesting, shared background, by rolling on random tables to determine your past. This ensures you have a history that includes bonds with other characters and plenty of story hooks (e.g. you rolled that your wizard mentor left one day without a word, but how and why is something you'll have to figure out at the table)
  • Providing Scenario Packs which are broad templates where you again roll on tables to determine the key aspects of the scenario (e.g. which villager is the cult leader or what does the fey king really want)

This makes the game excellent for one shots! However, besides this, the game mechanics themselves are uninteresting and uninspired. It's watered down 3.X DnD. The game apparently aims at keeping things simple to get rules out of the way, but does this poorly: somehow you still need to have 6 attributes, 6 corresponding modifiers, 5 saving throws that are totally unrelated to your attributes or the way you create your character. Worse, why do we need three different resolution mechanics? Skill checks need you to roll under your attribute on a d20, saving throws need you to roll over an arbitrary value on your sheet, and combat is d20+bonus against AC...

I'm definitely going to use playbooks and scenario packs, but I'm getting rid of the rest of the rules and keeping only the roll under mechanic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Matt C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/10/2017 11:15:12

I've played RPGs before, but had never been DM until last week. Beyond the Wall gave me the perfect starting point and framework to build plots and stories around, and the playbooks were helpful for players who were completely new to RPGs. The simplified rules (compared to traditional D&D of various editions and Pathfinder) I found massively helpful, while still containing elements that I found familiar and was expecting, like ability scores, alignment, etc.

The premise of all the PCs knowing each other and all living in the same village was helpful too, and makes the world seem more real, while giving plenty of opportunities for plot hooks and motivations.

I really liked this, and after purchase I downloaded the other free materials that contain plenty of ideas for future adventures, how to build encounters, monsters, villains, and the like.

There are a few elements here and there that aren't explained perfectly from a new DMs point of view (I had to read through how hit dice worked a couple of times) or don't seem to quite work (breath weapon saving throw to dodge things that aren't breath weapons) but there are alternative rules and workarounds, or you can just adapt these as you see fit.

Overall this massively helped me to springboard back into RPGs after a break, and was a lot more accessible than many other systems I've seen.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Travis H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2017 01:46:32

This is a gem aamongst OSR titles. The combination of familiar mechanics with story-game style collaboration in character creation and the game setting are lightning in a bottle. You can run this, as adveritsed, with minimal prep and have a great time. If you have the time to work on your setting/prep, it can make for a truly epic hex crawl with tons of heart.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Justin G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2017 19:29:03

My group had a blast playing this game! We spent easily two hours in character creation using the playbooks to really flesh out the bonds between our characters. Once we got going, the Scenario pack (we played 'The Angered Fae') let me produce a compelling story without doing any prep beforehand. The rules are simple and logical, and the magic system is truly one of a kind. If you're tired of spending hours in prep before game time every week I really recommend you give this a shot, it's like the best parts of a narrative game such as Dungeon World (or other PbtA game) combined with the feel of old school D&D.

Honestly one of the best tabletop games I've ever been a part of. Buy this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
by Curtis S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2017 12:47:12

I love the Sandbox Creation in this book. It is totally worth the purchase for that itself. Whether you plan to do an Open Sandbox where all of your friends contribute to the world or if you just need extra guidance on creating a world for your campaign, this is a MUST HAVE.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall - Further Afield
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
by Laurence W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 15:33:33

I feel very satisfied with the purchase; there are many good reasons why the system has such sterling reviews.

The book is the best written I've seen (compared with D&D, DH, WoD and Dungeon World), and has excellent alternative rules options to help make the game your own. The playbooks are fantastic and have made for some fantastic roleplaying from my group, which is a nice rarity.

Beyond the Wall is simply brilliant and brilliantly simple.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Beyond the Wall and Other Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 42 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG