RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/04/2018 13:04:43

The file HeroicMaps_High_Edgmoor_Hall_FirstFloor_Full_Jpeg_NoGRID is sized much smaller than the rest of the maps (note the 9K file size for the 100K for the rest of the maps) - it looks like someone accidentially resized this one much smaller than the rest of the maps before incluidng it in the zip file.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the heads up. That looks like we've put the VTT version in the wrong zip for that level. We're on holiday at the moment but when we're home and with good wifi we'll upload the correct file
Heroic Maps - Captain Bastide's Pirate Den
by Jonathan B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2018 13:33:57

Huge fan of Heroic Maps, but this is by far one of best maps I've used. The poker/game table alone is a piece of art itself. Every facet of this map pops with color and contrast, perfect for a VTT like FG :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Captain Bastide's Pirate Den
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - St Olfryc's Priory
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2018 14:38:40

This is another superb map from Joe and Sarah Bilton. The level of detail is breathtaking, such as the incredible artwork and variation in the mosiac tile, and the subtle lighting coming through the main windows. It sounds like a minor detail, but High Edmoor Hall has similarly excellent artwork, and my players commented on it. The layout of the priory/temple is very logical, yet sufficiently generic that it can serve a variety of purposes. In my particular instance, it will be the cathedral for the neutral goddess of death and rebirth in a large city, but you could easily use it as a monestary, a base for a knightly order, or any other type of religious building that doesn't have to be specifically evil looking. The only change I would have made is a little more living space so it could accommodate more clerics, perhaps as part of an optional second floor for those who want a larger cathedral? Still, this is great work and I look forward to using it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - St Olfryc's Priory
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for the review, Simon. We're really happy to hear that the detail and artwork in this map is appreciated, and will add something to your game. After a summer of visiting lots of ruined abbeys and cathedrals we just had to make a map that reflected that wonderful architecture and layout.
Heroic Maps - Edgmoor Manor
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2018 14:23:07

Overall, this is a very good map, with a well-designed layout and a high level of artistic quality. Also, the inclusion of both the "new" and "ruined" versions of the manor is a brilliant idea. I will be using it as the manor house for a minor noble who has fallen on hard times but still holds the family residence. It has the misfortune, in my assessment, of being compared to the superb High Edgmoor Hall, which I have already reviewed. I miss the high level of detail that's evident in the latter map. In comparison, Edgmoor Manor looks sort of empty and generic, and while this does provide greater flexibility as to what each space is for, I still dislike having essentially blank rooms. I also find the lack of doors extremely annoying. I know I can print out the free doors provided by Heroic Maps and glue/tape them onto my printout, but it's one more more thing I have to do to prep for the session. And really, doors? I didn't realize their placement was so controversial! Despite my criticisms, I still think this is a very useful map, and I look forward to using it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Edgmoor Manor
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi! Thanks for the review. Glad you enjoy the new/ruined aspect of the maps. There is a considerable difference in the quality and detail between this map and our new High Edgmoor Hall - that's the benefit of 5 years of practice and making over 400 additional maps! Still, we're really happy that this map is still going to add something to your game. The doors being absent, and the lack of furniture, is an artefact of the initial reason we started making battlemaps - as expansions for the boardgame Heroquest, where doors are placed with 3d model doors (in any position), as is furniture. Still, we're very pleased you'll find a use for old Edgmoor Manor :)
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Jungle Ruins Corridors
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/18/2018 13:13:28

This set is how a good brand matures to new level of service to its customers. Once again Joe and Sarah of Heroic Maps delivers with Modular Kit: Jungle Ruins Corridors. "Modular Kit" is an undersell.

First, artwork: The set of Jungle Ruins Corridors tiles artwork, like most Heroic Maps, are vibrantly colored and while listed as Jungle, they are depicted overgrown with roots/vines and mossy covered sand/tan/earth tiles that fit any "abandoned" or "forgotten" corridors that your adventurers may travail. They could be surface construction under a ground cover canopy of vines very close to the surface, a sunken deep below underground habitat, or the hidden underground corridors between or within ziggurats.

Second, design: The typical corridors and junctions are included, with the requisite transitions from one, two or three square wide corridors along with some very interesting variations on corridors and corridor junctions. Included are some jungle entrances, small rooms, and STAIRS (because we know they always need to go deeper). The standard walls are straight and are not notched for arches or alcoves (unless deliberate) so are easy to use.

Third, BONUSES: Now the set is modular with all of the typical requirements, but where Joe and Sarah of Heroic Maps have advanced the modularity of this set, is the included Floor and Wall textures. These allow you to use Jungle Ruins Corridors the way you display your map to your players and should be a standard in the industry.

Fourth, Usage: If you use the DMScotty 2.5D method, the Wall texture (the wall texture is the same wall texture shown in plan view for the tiles) can be used to paste to a full sheet of cardboard and then cut to size as needed or cut the wall texture oversize and “rolled” over the edges to cover the corrugation for a nice “premium” finish. If you utilize a standard 4x4, 5x5, 6x6, or 8x8 tile system the wall texture will provide the “fill” that can create a nice finish on the surface of your tile. If you utilize a virtual program, the pattern can be used to cover unexplored portions of the map or fill in the empty gaps between the tiles. The floor texture can be used to fill out any larger room, or other variations of room dimensions that you can imagine.

Fifth, overall: An excellent offering and a worthwhile set that answers my primary needs in dungeon mapping, beautiful art work and reusability. If I am going to spend the time and money printing while creating the environment, I would like to utilize my work more than just couple of hours of gaming AND have the option let the players to find new directions for the storyline. This set provides the tools to address these dynamic changes. Additional variations using your own tile overlays like pits, water pools/founts, wells, ladders, crypts, altars etc. greatly increase the usability of this set. This set has no doors, if you need doors, download their free door pack and create your own overlays.

This set works thematically with the other Jungle offerings, but works directly with Heroic Maps Jungle Ruins Pedestal (free), and Jungle Ruins Rooms. While you have the flexibility to recreate rooms with just this set "Jungle Ruins Corridors", the additional shadowing and artwork of these additional sets (remember, one is free) far out shine any cut and paste options you could create with Corridors alone. (in addition to the wasted time… use the tools available to you!) I hope you find this set as wonderful as I have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Jungle Ruins Corridors
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
by Simon C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/30/2018 08:13:32

This is the best battle map for a noble's manor house that I've ever run into, either stand-alone or from a published adventure. Most that I've seen are just too darned small, but this has plenty of room for bad things to happen, such as an attack on a nobleman's party, or an infiltration mission to sneak in and steal something. The layout is excellent, with plenty of doorways and places for someone to hide or flee through, which lends itself to a very mobile encounter going from one room to the next. The detail and artwork are excellent. And for anyone looking for the kitchen, it appears to be on the cellar level, directly below the dining room - brilliant! Really looking forward to using this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: High Edgmoor Hall
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Captain Bastide's Pirate Den
by Rachel B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 20:43:16

This map is so beautiful and detailed. It's even lovelier at full resolution. I'm so impressed by all the little features. Even the grids are elegant. I'll definitely be ordering again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Captain Bastide's Pirate Den
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Corridors
by William M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/12/2018 09:13:27

These are an amazing value. I have many sets, but this was one of the first to catch my eye. The diverse connectors and types of halls/rooms really make the product stand out.

Are there any plans to offer a collapsed corridors/tunnels expansion to this line, or really any of the lines? There are a number of maps I've made with dead ends and collapses that call out for that type of tile.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Abandoned Dwarven Hold Corridors
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Port Fanchone
by Aaron W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2018 15:30:34

Heroic Maps, in my opinion, are the height that other maps strive to reach. They are incredibly scalable with their insane maximum resolution, they come with all the options you would need for playing in any format, and they are so consistent with each other in their high quality that they make adventures feel seamless and enjoyable. Their maps are easily useful for both combat locations or just RP exploration. They make content that is so mix-and-match interchangeable that with a little creativity its not even hard to mix totally different sets in the same large map.

I could not think of any way these products could be better, and Port Fanchone is just another of the infinite goodness they provide.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Port Fanchone
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Church & Library
by Duane V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 05:34:17

The quality of these maps is excellent. Really looking forward to writing an adventure that uses them. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Church & Library
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Explorer: Forest Clearings
by Duane V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 05:34:00

The quality of these maps is great. Really looking forward to writing encounters that use them. Great work!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Explorer: Forest Clearings
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Discover: Valley of the Ancients
by Duane V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2018 05:33:10

The quality of these maps is excellent. Really looking forward to writing an adventure that uses them. Great work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Discover: Valley of the Ancients
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Lair of the Green Dragon
by Dennis F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/23/2018 12:44:41

This is a fantastic map. I was in dire need of a green dragon lair map for a game I was running and out of all the options I had I thought this was the best quality. I loved having options for grid, non-grid, and multiple file formats. I ended up getting his printed out as a 24x36 poster image for use in my dragon encounter. The players loved it! The terrain is interesting, it provides multiple strategies for both players and DMs. I would really like to say that the online images don't quite do the poster justice - it's quality really holds up when it's printed out. There's so much detail that it really helps create a story of the dragon's space. Really nice job!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Lair of the Green Dragon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Heroic Maps - Explorer: Sci-Fi Battlespaces
by Merlin A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2018 10:04:37

More sci fi is a must! These are great and there such a lack of good sci fi battle maps! Some of us don't play D&D!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Explorer: Sci-Fi Battlespaces
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the review. Glad you like them, and we hope they make your games more enjoyable. We're steadily increasing our Sci-Fi collection :)
Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Ice Base Khione
by Merlin A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2018 09:23:04

Their modern maps are top notch! This one is no exception. Wonderfully textured and laid out. Like the previous review, I also wish there was more modern maps to choose from. Fantasy is all over, but us Sci-fi and modern fans have so limited sources!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Ice Base Khione
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 273 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG