Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
    by Terrelle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/20/2021 10:39:31

    I used this map as the finale confrontation with my version of "Zhengyi, the Witch-King" who had built his "lair" in the Shadowfell. This map was great having the Adventurers exploring his lair, encountering various creatures and encounters, and then encountering the final battle with Zhengyi, the Witch-King in the throne room. The map esthetic was appropriate for a setting. I would like to see some additional add-ons for this map. However, it was great for the final encounter with this Lich in my campaign.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - The Lich's Lair
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - The Christmas Village
    by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2021 05:29:19

    This is one of the best looking, most high quality maps for D&D commercially available.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - The Christmas Village
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Storeys: Castle Darkspire
    by Njål M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2021 08:26:26

    Castle Darkspire is the most spectacular map ever made by Heroic Maps and is a stunning work of artistry that is easily the equal of the famous Castle Ravenloft. Unfortunately it does have two major flaws, one of them is about what the Castle isn't and the other is about the specific layout of the Castle which in at least one instance is bizarre to the point of ridicolous. Normally such a thing would not be a problem but it concerns the most important area of the castle for any DM hoping to use this as a location for the final dungeon of a Campaign or as the finale of a sprawling adventure and that is, of course, the throne room.

    In Castle Darkspire the Throne room is strangely remote and is tucked away at the top of the third floor, this is by itself curious but not really something that merits a deduction, it might even be an advantage as the throne room is often located too close for the entrance which can drastically reduce dungeon length. The actual problem is that there seems to be only one way to access the throne chamber and the path goes straight through the master bedchamber. If the throne room is the most public place in a castle then surely the bedchamber is the most intimate and for the two to be positioned so closely together strains suspension of disbelief. Throne rooms are the most natural place for a DM to prepare a big setpiece encounter and consequently are the area of any map that I scrutinize most closely.

    Perhaps its second issue is a tad unfair but I think it is nonetheless extremely important to mention and that is the poor versatility of this product, it features all manner of things you'd expect from a gothic castle and this includes cobwebs, cobwebs, even more cobwebs, dirt and some additional cobwebs. Castle Darkspire is a castle for Undead generally and Vampires specifically and while it excels in this the bitter truth is that while all DMs will have great use for practically any and all castle maps this spectacular example is probably not what you're looking for 90% of the time as it fulfills a very specific fantasy, this would not be as much of an issue were it not for the fact that most other Castle maps are ALSO vampire castles that feature cobwebs and dirt prominently and thereby drastically reduce a DMs ability to use these stellar pieces for the countless other scenarios that he or she might desperately need a castle map for. In fact, another fantastic castle made by Heroic Maps is Schloss von Nachtherz and that TOO is a Vampire Castle with cobwebs.

    Those are its issues as I see it, but make no mistake, this is a phenomenal map with dozens upon dozens of possible rooms, making it a megadungeon waiting to happen and if you DO need a Vampire Castle then either this or the recently updated Schloss von Nachtherz are easily the best options available. Regrettably though, the problems with the Castle are major enough that I'd consider it dishonest to award it anything more than 4 Stars. Though it very nearly earned a 5 Star rating regardless.

    Hopefully this is useful for anyone deciding whether or not to buy this product.

    Njål Randby Michaelsen.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Storeys: Castle Darkspire
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Hi Njål, Thanks for taking the time to review the map :) With regards to your comment about throne room. We didn't actually envision the tower throne as a 'public' place at all, and more like a secluded chamber where the vampire can brood for decades at a time, planning and plotting. The dining room and audience hall are the public spaces, and where they would entertain people (before eating them!) If you're looking for non-Vampire castles, you might be interested in any of these: https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/229565/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-Kennelfield-Winter-Castle https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/287160/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-Ragnars-Keep https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/308973/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-The-Moving-Castle--Forest https://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/243767/Heroic-Maps--Storeys-High-Edgmoor-Hall All the best, Joe
    Heroic Maps - Temple of the Demon's Heart
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 03:21:22

    Serioulsy awesome in full resolution. Exactly what I need to add flavour and sparkle to my Descent in Avernus campaign.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Temple of the Demon's Heart
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Maze of the Queen of Hearts
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/09/2021 03:20:31

    I like this as it has lots of flavour and I am really looking forward to putting my PCs through the maze using line of sight.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Giant Maps: Maze of the Queen of Hearts
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - The Dark Sword
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/27/2021 23:56:24

    Nice map I really think the colour scheme works well and I am looking forward to dropiing this into my Descen into Avenus rift game. I am looking forward to making the lava move using one of hte fantasy grounds effects



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - The Dark Sword
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Shedyet
    by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 05:14:23

    Excellent resource of high quality maps that you can put together to essentially create various dungeons with an ancient-Egyptian style theme. Thr artwork and detail is excellent. The maps work in virtual tabletop (VTT) programs easily. There is no lag or slow down, but maps retain the quality. I highly recommend this resource for Dungeons & Dragons games.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Shedyet
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Iunu
    by David B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/15/2021 05:13:40

    Excellent resource of high quality maps that you can put together to essentially create various dungeons with an ancient-Egyptian style theme. Thr artwork and detail is excellent. The maps work in virtual tabletop (VTT) programs easily. There is no lag or slow down, but maps retain the quality. I highly recommend this resource for Dungeons & Dragons games.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Desert Temple Iunu
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Jovasem Area Comms Bunker
    by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/14/2021 10:43:40

    A fantastic map that was a perfect setting for a sabotage mission!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Jovasem Area Comms Bunker
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of the Swamp
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 04:06:52

    EPIC! Really get the sense of dread and I love how you can arrange things so that monsters and critters can come at the PC from a range of directions. Artwork is awesome and adds to the feeling of the space for my palayers.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of the Swamp
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
    by Kristen S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2021 14:10:57

    This was a great map pack. For the most part, you can mix and match between map packs (save for heavy forest, which often has trees that extend off map). I have a heavily forested campaign, and this was perfect for it.

    The only thing that could make it better is if they had an autumn and winter pack, but for what I needed it for, this was excellent! :D

    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Blood Cult Temple
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 21:17:02

    Blood more blood and the blood foes from level to level down and down and down. I really think I might use this for Descent into Avernus.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Blood Cult Temple
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps: Doors
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 21:16:03

    This will be an open and shut review - doors get it! Good art and very useful to tweak maps the way I want to.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps: Doors
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - Medusa's Lair
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 21:14:47

    Fantastic art as always. I really like how it has so many pillars whicih can create great effects when using the line of site feature in Fantasy Grounds. Should give my player the willies knowing there is a medusa somewhere amount the pilliars (oh no- there's actually two that are twins)!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - Medusa's Lair
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heroic Maps - The Blackrose Pit Theatre
    by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2020 21:12:39

    I like this - the art is really nice. I feel this is an excellent map for use in Waterdeep Dragon Heist or a location for Storm King's Thunder should you visit the city of splendors. You can use it in any city campaign.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Heroic Maps - The Blackrose Pit Theatre
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 386 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product