Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Heroic Maps » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Heroic Maps - New Atami Plaza
by Neal H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/30/2019 01:06:54

New Atami Plaza is a beautiful and colorful design with lots of depth to the central location as well as the surrounding buildings and structures. I particularly like the noodle stands around the plaza.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - New Atami Plaza
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Day & Night: The Pumpkin Field
by Kyle S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 10:39:45

A great spooky playing field for any Halloween themed games! I especially like the road and path, great for ambushes or investigations. Fits well on any table, allowing for large encounters, with minimal space wasted.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Day & Night: The Pumpkin Field
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - The Delacrane Family Vault: Bandit Hideout
by Toby G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/15/2019 18:11:10

I was in the throes of adventure design when I saw this beautiful map. An abandoned crypt with bandits was exactly what I needed!

I even used the Delacrane name, albeit with a small change.

Now the last scion of the accursed Delakrayne family lolls drunkenly upon a Throne of Skulls in the midst of his family's ancestral crypt. He sends out his bandits to bring victims to slake the thirst of the implacable Delakrayne Gods.

But all the time his beautiful and evil Sister plots to supplant him. She wordlessly communes with the hideous denizen of the tomb in the corner of the map.

She eagerly awaits her brother's death - perhaps at the hands of adventurers - for on the day that his lifeblood stains the stones of this crypt then 'Grandfather' will be freed ...



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - The Delacrane Family Vault: Bandit Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Basic Cave
by Matthew P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2019 16:16:02

These are great for making your own tiles. I printed them with a color laser and they look fantastic. It comes with instructions on how to print them that are spot on.

There aren't any instructions on how to cut these out or piece them together, so here's how I made my tiles:

Warning: this is a fair amount of work!

  1. Print the tiles in color with grid lines at the recommended scale. I printed on letter page with 91% scaling so I'd end up with 1" squares.
  2. Go to your local art supply store and buy some 1ply chipboard. I paid ~$5.00 for 2x ~32x40" sheet
  3. Buy some 3M spray glue.
  4. Buy a box knife, or snap-off blade tool, and some replacement blades.
  5. You will need a ruler, straightedge, and/or t-square so you can cut and measure things. Buy what you need.
  6. Cut out the cave tiles. Use that ruler to get nice straight cuts. Change the blade as necessary.
  7. Here's the tricky part: the pages that have the word "Tile" on them have an extra grid column (less than 1") of overlap. Use the gridlines to trim this off. If you do it correctly, the two pages (in order) will line up nicely.
  8. The pages that don't have the word "Tile" on them are end pieces and they are perfect 1" grid squares already. Don't trim these.
  9. You should now have a stack of 5x10" tile pages.
  10. Cut the chipboard into 11" strips length wise (you want these straight so use that straightedge), you will end up with 3 of them and a left over piece.
  11. You are going to place two tiles next to other horizontally and then move down the 11" strip and place another two and then move down and do it again. Since two tiles are 10" and the strips are 11" you want to allow for some margin on all sides of each tile. You are going to trim that off.
  12. Follow the instructions on the spray glue and spray one of the 11" strips of chipboard with glue.
  13. Place a row of two tiles. Don't try to line them up with the edges or each other. Just get two up, in a row, with some margin around them.
  14. Repeat this for each strip.
  15. With the left over bits of chipboard, glue any remaining cave tiles you have.
  16. If you have any chipboard left over save it for your next set of Heroic Tiles.
  17. Let everything dry.
  18. Using your ruler, trim all of the tiles nice and square, lopping off the bits of margin here and there. This is tedious and takes time, but you will end up with some very nice tiles so take your time.
  19. When it is all said and done, you should have 33 reusable tiles!

All and all, even though it was a lot of work, I am really happy with how these tiles turned out. Recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Basic Cave
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed and helpful review. I'm sure many others who want to make durable tiles from this set will find this very helpful. Thanks again, and happy gaming!
Heroic Maps - Storeys: St Bernard's Cathedral
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2019 07:55:23

Expertly designed by the creative team with lots of detail. The map is good whether you stay on the level, climb onto the roof or delve down below.

The church design allows itself to be used by multi-level combat scenarios or for flying battles or critters - perhaps the lair of the holy beholder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: St Bernard's Cathedral
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: Kennelfield Winter Castle
by Oliver D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/08/2019 07:12:31

I've been meaning to pen a review for some time now, for the incredible work the Heroic Maps team puts out. Trouble is, the work Heroic Maps does is so good that I've bought so many, that each time, the writing a review thing becomes less and less appealing because of the sheer volume I'd have to write.

So instead I am writing a combined review for the recent maps I've purchased. This include the Hall of Portals, Fortress of Fire Mage, Ruins of Aerineya, Drabdon City Sewers, the House of Chaos and Lost Temple of Morahga’s Eye. But it is this product, the Kennelfield Winter Castle and accompanying Gatehouse product that really sets the bar sky high.

The attention to detail is incredible. The storeys approach to the castle can be quite intimidating to run as a DM for a group of quite demanding players, but by doing this, the castle gets everything it needs: a courtyard, stable area, dining hall, temple, library, throne room area, royal quarters, a mage tower (I'm using it for that, anyway!), a cellar full of other neat areas like a jail cell area, a crypt...the list goes on and on. There are arrow loops ('slits') than you can reasonably lay your hands on archer minis for and the rooftop is ideal for a pesky Horizon Walker ranger to snipe from. Until a dragon swoops in, that is.

I'll be running a gigantic pitched battle with over a hundred minis on it and can hardly wait. When you combine this map with the Kennelfield gatehouse, you invite siege warfare and the frozen moat looks awesome.

The other maps I've bought all have stand-out features and there are too many for me to go into here, but if you are in need of a striking map, or fancy a special exception (like I did) to the dry-wipe Pathfinder grid products (they've seen their fair share of use I can tell you), then I can't recommend Heroic Maps enough.

I'm not the most tech-savvy and I find in general with printers, if they can go wrong, they will. Which is another reason I recommend Heroic Maps - the files come gridded and ungridded, but best of all, they come in sliced up pages that you just print and then lop off the borders. The imagery on the pages is contiguous and is represented in such a way that the edges 'overlap', making it easier to spec out and glue to card.

I honestly don't really have any criticism of the products I've bought from Heroic Maps. Perhaps a suggestion for a future map - I've not managed to quite find something suitable for a grand throne room of an Emperor (along with his private quarters and a couple of side rooms). There are other maps with a sort of throne room or hall in other castle type maps, but I'm talking about the ruler of most of the free world - huge, lavish and ridiculously OTT. But there will always be more ideas and here Heroic Maps excells - the back catalogue is enormous and I often wonder how the team comes up with new ideas so often.

Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: Kennelfield Winter Castle
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
by Ken J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/23/2019 13:57:14

Update! Make sure you check into their Patreon page. Once again a wonderful set! Fantastic details, an excellent subject and presented in the outstanding way that this publisher has consistently done throughout their lines of maps. It could be said that every cemetery looks the same, what varies is what lies beneath and this set offers all of the variance that is needed in a game/campaign. Spending time or money to print something that you can utilize again and again across many sessions is all you can ask for and this set does deliver. I can be cynical in reviewing a map, sometimes nitpicky, but this product does stand out as a set that defies criticism or wishfull rework. Cannot recommend more highly the value, versatility and advantages of having this set in your bag of GM tricks. The reason you should check into their Patreon page https://www.patreon.com/heroicmaps/overview is that they have added an additional vault "Crypt of Azaek" which stands alone, but fills out this product with a nice add-on. You do not NEED to get on Patreon for them, but supporting Joe and Sarah will be beneficial to your long term mapping library!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Discover: Old Lychen Cemetery
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind review! We're very happy the map will be useful in your games
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Dog Arms Inn District
by Jörg P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 11:02:56

I consider this map as a highlight in the line of creations of Heroic Maps. Perfectly usable for 28mm scale, easy to print out, rich in details and full of nice little somethings. The quality of the works of Heroic Maps definitely increased over the last years and from my point of view they are the best battlemaps available nowadays. Usually I develop an adventure and then look for appropriate maps and sketch them if necessary. With a huge collection of Heroic Maps products at hand I occasionally chose another approach in letting a map inspire me and create an adventure on the basis of these works of art. My players enjoy them not less than me. I sincerely advise all fans to support Joe and Sarah at patreon.com hoping they will present us more of these eye candies.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Dog Arms Inn District
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Streets & Houses
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 07:00:56

A fantastic collection of single and double storey houses from simple one room dwellings to more luxurious town houses. Lots of cobbled street sections and alleyways too. Combined with the shops kit you can pretty much map out an entire village/town etc. Love it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Streets & Houses
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dungeon
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 06:48:54

Excellent dungeon tiles with lots of options for different combinations. A very nice tool.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Shops 2
by John Q. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2019 06:27:03

Very nice shops for most village/town/city settings. Two floors. Gridded or ungridded. An excellent pack.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Town - Shops 2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Village Core Set
by Jon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2019 21:37:52

I wanted to like this so much, but printing it yields squares of wildly different sizes. I have burned thru an ink cartridge and have nothing to show.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Geomorphs: Village Core Set
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jon. I've replied to your email. As I said there, I think you've misunderstood the concept of the Geomorph range, and so there's no single large map to make, but instead it's a set of 5 10x10 tiles that you can arrange as you see fit. Each page of the pdf prints one half of a 10x10 tile, with a slight overlap for alignment assistance. And for additional help, you can see full previews of each tile in the product description here, to help you piece together the sheets.
Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
by Jonathan W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 09:54:52

The maps themselves are beautiful, but most of the the jpgs have a pixel or two of white border around them making them not lineup seamlessly.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Hinterlands Geomorphic Set [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of St Pixtus the Martyr
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2019 15:19:22

A really nice map that creates a sense of place for the characters. The multi-level aspect ensure that you can cope with a range of gameplay.

If you like Chapel on the Cliffs by Goblinstone Games (available on Drivethru) you could use this as an alternative map for the church and add additional encounters within it (useful it you decide to run that for higher level parties).

The lower level could also be connected to other maps produced by Heroic Maps (just add a secret or trap door via theatre of the mind).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Storeys: The Church of St Pixtus the Martyr
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Sewer
by Reinaldo R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/26/2019 18:22:44

I'm really dissapointed in this product, I bought this to try it out before buying the complete bundles for my VTT group. Even though it says that it's VTT ready, the tiles apparently have different dimensions that makes them unable to be completelly aligned, not even using the snap to grid feature, and when "aligned" manually they show a small border in all sides wich looks awful and it breaks the unity of the map.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Heroic Maps - Modular Kit: Sewer
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 316 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG