Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Necrotic Gnome » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Øyvind H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2019 07:57:17

This is a really great and unique product. Both as a playing aid and a look into the early most basics of D&D rules. It's extremely elegantly laid out, very easy to navigate and the artwork is stunning and oozing of that good old school vibe 100% and sparking imagination instead of spelling it out. A supreme basis for your own home brew D&D ruleset or as a All-In-One guide to run a purist old school D&D game. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Referee's Screen
by Øyvind H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/08/2019 07:51:57

This screen is a work of art and invokes a really unique feeling you may or may not like. Personally I love it. The inside is tight, informative and well thought out. Highly recommended!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Referee's Screen
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Referee's Screen
by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2019 19:54:24

This is my favorite DM screen, worth it for the Mullen art alone. Can't wait for a physical product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Referee's Screen
by Jeff D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2019 07:09:34

Killer product. Layed out well and very useful. The art is fantastic



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Lex M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2019 17:25:21

Amazing. The layout and wording is the same great stuff we saw in B/X Essentials but with the EXTREMELY helpful addition of Ascending AC rules and some cool new art. If you play B/X you should be using this book. Can't wait to get the individual physical copies to pass around the game table. Also that alternative cover art is radical!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Purist Character Sheet (Ascending AC Version)
by Jordan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 12:46:24

This is the character sheet my group uses. It's got everything you need (except spells



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Purist Character Sheet (Ascending AC Version)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Eugene S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 10:03:16

This tome collects Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy Core Rules, Genre Rules, Monsters, Cleric and Magic-User spells and Treasures books under one cover. This Tome is the apex of easy and beautiful layout AND is the difiniitive and faithful issue of the original B/X rules, even though the ability to use acending Armor Class is introduced. This addtiion is very well founded seeing as the vast majoirty of people playing today, including new players expects to see it. My ONLY gripe with this tome is that there are no higher spells. That though will be hopefully done in future serpreate book installments.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Olivier S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 14:00:05

This is it, people, the wait is over! The OSE Rules Tome contains a complete and faithful re-statement of the 1981 Basic/Expert version of "the world's most successful roleplaying game". This book (and some dice, paper, and a pencil) is all you need to have literally decades of adventure. This book is truly a "deserted island" book, provided you strand there with a couple of friends. The author has done an incredible job researching, clarifying, organizing, and laying out the original game, and has assembled a team of stellar artists to illustrate the book. What the Rules Cyclopedia (RC) is to Mentzer's BECMI, this book is to Moldvay/Cook/Marsh's B/X. You'll regret not getting this, seriously!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Jordan V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 10:53:45

I've been playing D&D for about 5 years. Started in 4e and have been playing 5e since its release. While I love the modern editions, something has always intrigued me about older versions of the game. But those old books are just page after page of walls of text and complicated rules and references. It's not digistible or easy to learn. Luckily, that's where Old School Essentials comes in. OSE presents the 1e D&D rules in a readable, digestible way that makes sense to the modern reader. This is something my friends and I can actually play at the table. Everything is organized super well and the mechanics are clear.

I backed the Kickstarter and received the Hole in the Oak adventure, which has been fun to play. I've also purchased the Advanced Fantasy Rules, which is equally great. I fully intend to buy the print versions of these books when they're made available, now that I know how awesome they are.

In the future, I'd love to see Necrotic Gnome tackle some additional classes (mystic, psionicist?) and add additional monsters or even different genre rules. I would also be interested in a 2e clone that makes that edition clearer for modern players. I know Necrotic Gnome does good work and I would be first in line to buy any and all of these!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Byron H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 10:20:23

Honestly, the two reviews "above" have covered how great this update of the classic BX material is. But I want to add that the Tome's layout (along with the individual books, should you purchase them as well) is exceptional in its simplicity. Each section is either one or two pages and layed out in such a way that one can always have the book laying open and the complete information for the section showing. The illustrations are wonderful in their old-schoolness (is that a word?) and really PoP with fun!

Overall, this is a great update to the classic BX information.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Classic Fantasy: Rules Tome
by Alberto V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 09:57:16

The definitive B/X D&D! Gavin did an outstanding job with the layout, the commissioning of the art pieces (there's tones of them and they are all incredible) and the revision of the original text in order to turn the greatest fantasy role-playing game ever created in the best version ever produced. Unmissable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Genre Rules
by Are S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 17:33:01

if you want to play a Svirfneblin race-as-class, I believe this book is your only option. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Genre Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Druid and Illusionist Spells
by K H A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 09:17:01

This is a great addition to the OSE ruleset. While it includes Druid and Illusionist spells, these spells are also used by the Bard, Ranger, and Gnome classes. For those classes this book is all you need for spells (in other words: theres no "see the Cleric and Magic User spell book" text). Also, each spell is presented in a bullet point format that is easy to use at the table. The art is B&W, but use is made of green as an accent color that is especially handy in charts (familiar to OSE and BXE readers).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Druid and Illusionist Spells
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Genre Rules
by K H A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 08:18:07

This is another OSE (formerly BX Essentials) helpful book. It is designed to bring the ADnD 1e classes (with Unearthed Arcanna classes and races) into the Basic/Expert game (instead of making BX play more like ADnD). As such, race as class is still the default, but there are options for spitting the two. You do need the companion Druid and Illusionist Spells to get the most out of this volume. The Druid, Bard, and Ranger make use of Druid spells; the Illusionist and Gnome make use of Illusionist spell. NB there is no Monk. I have players using the Barbarian and gnome currently. They blend nicely with the other classes and no one feels overshadowed or nerfed. The fact that the classes are complete on a two page spread is really nice, no flipping back and forth. Also, it makes it easy to print out a class for a new player to use. The layout is helpful throughout and the art is wonderfully inspiring.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Genre Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Old-School Essentials Advanced Fantasy: Genre Rules
by M K B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 06:47:19

This is wonderful resource for adding a lot of depth tor a B/X game. Always nice to have class options in a style that feels yearningly like early AD&D.

And, as always, presented in that effecient, clear and stylish Necrotic Gnome manner.

Must have!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 104 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG