Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Adventures in Filbar » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher
Map sheet (Hex)
Map sheet (Hex)
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 07:13:55

Decent solo adventure, exploring the boathouse of a wizard. Links appear to work, only spotted one minor error: in paragraph 2D, 7C should be bolded.

Strengths: some interesting and distinctive magic items, useful rather than powerful.

Weaknesses/Cautions: (i) some sensible actions, such as trying to avoid combat with unintelligent creatures, have little/no chance of success; (ii) something of a funhouse, it would make more sense to replace crabmen with looters (who can be reasoned with), or keep the crabmen in the dock area.

Would be improved by including a mystery to solve, e.g. did actions of the wizard create the gigantic bees?



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2020 14:12:25

Recently got back into DnD, and needed an easy way to shake off some rust. Ran my brother through it and it proved to be perfect. A touch challenging for a solo, 1st level character, so I freelanced in a way to get a couple of heals to him. Really well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 10:15:39

Fun solo adventure, 24 pages in length. A race against time to find a plant, located in a mini sandbox, before someone dies. Mainly combat encounters, but some variety, including an encounter where talking gains. There are some sources of healing, and a few treasure troves.

Possible improvements: (i) The odd typing error, see 16A line 6 "17Cation", and in 23B line 3 "knee" does not make sense. The only important change I would make is 2 rather than 8 lizardfolk in 12A: the previous description suggests 2, and 8 would likely overwhelm the PC. (ii) The mechanic for determining whether your PC returns in time (in 18A) is a bit underwhelming, taking no account of number of entries visited. I suggest the wife dies after 30 + 1d20 entries. (In various successful plays between 18 and 39 entries were visited.)

Replay value as different routes are possible. Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the review we really appreciate it! You are correct, we botched 16A and 12A (now corrected). The "knee" comment is a sports comment...take a knee aka take a breather! We like the idea on the timing mechanic but avoid them in solos because of the general difficulty!
OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
by Dawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 06:48:04

My players and I really enjoyed this quick dungeon. I made a few changes, like placing the crypt under their villa and beefing up the enemies to match their level. Well paced and fun to play.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

FT - Hill Valley Community
by Wraith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 17:45:06

While obviously different players have different tolerances for this sort of thing, I found any capacity to imagine myself in the place they were describing irreparably shattered by the fact that all the characters are not even thinly disguised characters from Back to the Future with their personalities and roles intact. (The innkeep is BiffTON Tannen, the womanizing bully, who presumably winds up in a pile of manure at some point.) This means I can't use the characters as they are presented, and would have to create whole new ones from scratch to fill this town... which makes it useless as an aid, becuase other than the NPCs, there is only the vaguest and most generic details familiar to anyone who's seen a castle town portrayed in any other setting. Even the map is essentially an oval wall with the same house copy-pasted and even facing the same direction.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
FT - Hill Valley Community
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 09:31:47

Great adventure for my son's party of R2, M3, wild elf F2T2, 1/2 ogre F1 and npc drow C2F2, Looking forward to F5.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Awesome we are glad you all enjoyed it!
FP2 – Under Castle Modum
by Celeste C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2019 23:23:14

i run a game for 4-6 players and the last couple of adventures I had done with them were heavily role play and problem solving centered. I had the feeling my players would enjoy an old school dungeon crawl with a lot of monster encounters, and this certainly fit what I was going for. I was able to tie it to my ongoing campaign which resolves around my PC's trying to investigate possible locations of powerful magic items to keep them out of the hands of an evil cult and the demons they serve. We played this adventure in 6-8 hours and had a very good time. It is definitely as I remembered playing D and D in the mid 80's. I had little problem fitting this into 5e just use new stat blocks for monsters and have at it.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FP2 – Under Castle Modum
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Fam1 - Köppen Tomb
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:21:20

Low level dungeon crawl, with undead to overcome, and grave goods to claim; there are some nice features, such as geographical obstacles (cliffs, water) to surmount, puzzles/traps which are simple and can be overcome by player skill, and signs of a previous expedition.

Recommended.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fam1 - Köppen Tomb
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OP9 - Phaegor's Manor
by Dawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 08:13:06

I recently DM'd this for a brand new player and was easily able to weave this independent setting into his story. The dilapidated manor house sits back from the road, begging to be explored. The enemies, traps and rewards are well paced and was a great way to refresh us on ability checks, combat and traps. The information is presented in a clear, succinct manner that makes it easy to keep track of things. We both had a great time and afterwards he was excited to get to town to brag about his prowess and sell all his newly gained treasures!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP9 - Phaegor's Manor
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OP18 - Stolen Sleigh
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2018 12:19:29

Great little christmas adventure. Always needs to have a bumble involved.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP18 - Stolen Sleigh
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

F1 - Zombie Curse
by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 01:36:46

Good little starting adventure for my sons new party. Human ranger, wild elf F/T and human magic user along with npc drow C/F. Some injuries but no one fully died. Looking forward to running F2 and F3.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
F1 - Zombie Curse
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

FC10 - Crone's Pursuit
by Bonnie B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2018 18:18:54

I used this as a beginning adventure to introduce my players to each other, and it ran well. Half my players were new to DnD, but the adventure was straightforward enough that they did not have trouble diving it. Additionally, the reward is a nice encouragement for low level players.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FC10 - Crone's Pursuit
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OP4 - Leprechaun's Luck
by Zee R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/13/2018 12:19:21

I like that it was pretty quick to get a first-time PC to pick it up and go! This is great for those that want to try their experimental Race/Class combinations. The difficulty isn't too hard and it's definitely not a stroll in the park either!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OP4 - Leprechaun's Luck
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

FT - Phillipsburg
by Marko G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2018 15:41:03

This is a great material for dm's to use with any campaign. Just read and insert anything into your campaign when you need a colorful settlement. Nice work. If there were ready descriptions to give to players as handouts, this would be 5/5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
FT - Phillipsburg
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

FVS1 - Zechariah’s Dungeon
by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2018 10:07:57

Zechariah's dungeon does a few things well, and a few things not as well. Fair play though it is definitely good value for money as the adventure itself was good for a single playthrough session and also provided me with a small dungeon to use as a DM in the future if I was looking for a quick single session adventure.

The Good: The dungeon is fairly easy to understand and navigate and the chosen creatures and traps are starightforward enough to not require a DMs interpretation to reslove encounters. A sucessful playthrough should yield enough XP to level up once and some interesting trasure but nothing so valuable or powerful as to unbalance future use of your same character in other games. It was a fun way to spend an hour and gave me a quick mini-gaming fix.

The bad: Personally I found the writing style to be a little dry, and that coupled with some repetitive descriptive text and creature use made it feel a bit more of an exercise in the use of mechanics rather than any kind of RPG experience. I also think a potetntial improvement would be either inclusing player maps of rooms or giving dimensions of room, this would allow individual players to better regulate the use of interesting character abilities (backstabbing, area effect spells, things like that).

Overall: Well worth the $3 but nothing that's going to replace the experience of a true session with a Dm.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FVS1 - Zechariah’s Dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 76 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG