Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    FS8 - Ransom of the Thane's Daughter
    by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2021 10:28:43

    I ran this with minor cosmetic modifications to suit my game and two players instead of one.

    Thematically I quite enjoyed the adventure. A kidnapping, a search for the hidden lair and then the rescue, a classic set up. The story is easily transferrable between settings and locations. While I used the original swamp idea, I could see it being adapted easily enough with tweaks to the random encounter table. The hexmap exploration is an interesting aspect, however I ended up skipping it due to not wanting to hand out a map of the area to the players just yet and handling it without one would be difficult. Instead it was easy enough to give them a heading, roll up a couple of random encounters on the way and then set them at the hideout itself. And this makes it an easily adaptable, as you can alter things without losing the idea of the adventure.

    The dungeon itself was nice, in my opinion. Perhaps a little too small for my two player party, but there is always an option to add extra rooms if needed. The base design, however, was solid and should prove enough for a lone character who has just survived the trek through the swamp. As for the enemies, I found that it offers a very similiar feel to FS1 Fortitude Dungeon when it comes to the encounters beyond the primary antagonists of the adventure and a player who had played that one did ask if this was from the same designer midplay. However, the primary antagonists feel a little too dangerous for a solo character to face against. Not only do they have a good chunk of hit points to spare, but there is also the threat of them being able to take out a non-warrior character out in one strike. While there are certainly room for clever players to maneuver into advantageous situations, the relatively high armor class and hit points make it a bit more of a dice game than is comfortable for level 1 characters.

    Despite that, I found myself enjoying reading through the adventure and running it. It offers a fun, short dungeon crawl for a quicker session, especially if you forgo the exploration aspect. I would say that the adventure itself should provide a good 5-8 hours of fun in a fantasy world, depending on how swiftly the player(s) act. Overall a good, if challenging, module in the FS-series. Certainly a favourite that I will gladly reuse again at a later date.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    FS8 - Ransom of the Thane's Daughter
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you very much we are glad you enjoyed it! Excellent job on the modifications as well :)
    OP36 - Errand for Endle
    by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2021 18:25:14

    This two page adventure is for D&D Fifth edition, but I used Feline Dream-O-Naughts. To solo it I used a solo engine that I have been testing out. I used four cats which were in the dream of a man. In this adventure, the questing man did a bit of walking, talking, and carrying things for the cats. He was a bit confused (the cats were talking after all). On day one they picked up a quest from Farmer John. He wanted a fox to be killed. The questing man built a fox trap with the help of the cats. The trap caught Grump Cat. They released him. On the second day, this same trap caught a two pound rat. They killed it and they then discarded this quest. On the third day they encountered an invisible wall across the road. They climbed trees to get over it. Later, they received a quest and food from Farmer Endle. Next, they encountered a young wolf. They bribed it with food and made a pet out of it. During the last half of the adventure they had to fight two rats, two stirges, and the big climax was the battle with the dire rat. It did kill Chonk the Cat. This was a fun adventure. Give it a try!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    OP36 - Errand for Endle
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    LOL we love that take on it and are thrilled you enjoyed it!
    FS9 - Water Weird's Wake
    by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/20/2020 16:38:30

    I ran this by setting it in another gameworld (Greyhawk) and in a very different kind of location than described in the adventure. Overall the adventure idea is good. Help the local druid to gather some magical components to battle a water weird. While it provides a nice change of pace from dungeon crawling and shifts the setting to a more natural world, I failed to get the most out of the module itself as I differed in my location from the module's own village, Xanadu.

    The map provided in the adventure details the region where the village and spell components are, it will need to be used as is, instead of just dropping it where ever the DM wants. For me, the village had been changed into one in the middle of a deep forest and thus the map was already out of the picture. On the upside, you can run this without a map at all and just insert the encounters from the map wherever you feel like having them. However, drawing a new hex map to place the locations in the nearby area is recommended, as otherwise they may appear a little suddenly. Also the spell components could be a little different, as they do not feel all that much like the components of the potion of waterbreathing that is supposedly crafted from them. Something of note is that it provided a lot of experience points for the PC, as several of the enemies (using AD&D 2nd edition monster manual for the enemies) had higher xp values than anticipated. A welcome change from the previous one I ran, where the rewards were on the low end due to missing out on a couple of healing potions.

    Some things were not explained very well, such as if other adventurers can bring in some of the components as several had been sent out and how that could be handled. Also the hex map offered no scale or travel time notes, which would be crucial for time sensitive situations that may happen. And while I did not end up using the drowning rules included, I found they did not answer for a situation of drowning damage applied to a multi-class character.

    In conclusion, the module requires some amount of work to adapt when not run as is. It did provide me with an interesting way to introduce a new village to my campaign area and a good four and a half hours of adventuring. In the end it was an interesting idea and with some additional work it could have been a very good experience. However my subjective opinion ranks it mid tier for the additional preparation required when adapting it to anything else than how it was written.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    FS9 - Water Weird's Wake
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thanks for the review, sorry it didn't fit in exactly but we're glad you made changes to fit your needs!
    FS2 - Tabernacle of the Ka-Sik-Fal
    by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/11/2020 17:37:55

    I ran this today in a kind of a continuation for the FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon. While not quite as good as the FS1 in comparison, it was a fun little adventure in itself.

    The beginning, I feel, is a little too split. The two hooks, while nice, are both compelling enough not to stay to listen for the other. I tried to slip them both into my game and bring them up naturally to the player, but I only had time for one as after that the player immediately set off to find the adventure before I could really deliver the other one. Perhaps they can be delivered both at the same time without monologuing the opening speech, but I didn't manage it. Also some additional pointers for how to find the Tabernacle without holding the player's hand and leading them there would of have been appreciated.

    As for the dungeon itself, the only thing I'd say is getting some more variety in the enemies offered. FS1 had a number of different enemy types and in comparison this had clearly fewer. Something different in the mix would have been nice, or even with a greater mix of weapons. For low hit point characters even a club or a stuff can be deadly, which was less of a problem with FS1.

    On the other hand however, the dungeon itself was quite nice as was the way enemies were located. I especially liked how it was noted how certain types of routes would lead to chances of surprising enemies, which is quite crucial for a thief, and in my case, mage / thief. The dungeon itself was considerably larger than in FS1 with greater amount of truly threatening enemies moving around. The spacing of the enemies was also good. Offering both chances for quiet assassinations and (for my player) dreaded straight up combat.

    At the end of the adventure the player had managed to somehow survive, despite some very scary situations. The session ended with a good mood and the lust for adventure had been sated!

    As for the true solo section of the product, I have not really looked into it as it was not the reason I picked the adventure up.

    All in all, I would not hesitate to run this again. It was a solid and relatively quick (we took about 5 hours with it), one session adventure for a lone PC. Tho again I'd recommend straight up mages to exercise extreme caution!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    FS2 - Tabernacle of the Ka-Sik-Fal
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Glad you enjoyed it and thank you very much for taking the time to write out the review!!!
    FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon
    by Iiro K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2020 23:18:03

    I ran this as a kind of a "get to know AD&D" adventure for a friend and found it to be perfect for it.

    The encounters were a good enough challenge for a lone first level character. They were not overwhelming and each proved to be a danger to contend with for the heroic mage/thief. I imagine a pure mage would of had terrible time in the dungeon, however, without the sneaking and backstabbing from the thief side.

    I also found that the adventure was easy to slip into basically any campaign universe as a good first step for a solo adventurer. In my case I used the Village of Hommlet to introduce as a starting village and Fortitude Dungeon was a good fit for a forgotten hillside outpost some miles away from the village itself. Including character creation and the before and after dungeon village events we ended up clocking around ten hours of AD&D goodness out of this adventure. For the dungeon part itself, I think we spent somewhere between three or four hours exploring it one careful step at a time.

    Bottomline is, I would recommend this adventure for a good solo adventurer experience and it fits as a perfect bridge for bringing my friend towards future adventures set around Hommlet, some of which might just be other FS series adventures.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    FS1 - Fortitude Dungeon
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for the review Iiro and we are thrilled that you were pleased with the scenario! Thank you very much :)
    TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/14/2020 07:13:55

    Decent solo adventure, exploring the boathouse of a wizard. Links appear to work, only spotted one minor error: in paragraph 2D, 7C should be bolded.

    Strengths: some interesting and distinctive magic items, useful rather than powerful.

    Weaknesses/Cautions: (i) some sensible actions, such as trying to avoid combat with unintelligent creatures, have little/no chance of success; (ii) something of a funhouse, it would make more sense to replace crabmen with looters (who can be reasoned with), or keep the crabmen in the dock area.

    Would be improved by including a mystery to solve, e.g. did actions of the wizard create the gigantic bees?



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    TS5 - Boathouse of Whitecap the Wizard
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
    by [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2020 14:12:25

    Recently got back into DnD, and needed an easy way to shake off some rust. Ran my brother through it and it proved to be perfect. A touch challenging for a solo, 1st level character, so I freelanced in a way to get a couple of heals to him. Really well done!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    OP10 - Pickle in Flavortown
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/23/2019 10:15:39

    Fun solo adventure, 24 pages in length. A race against time to find a plant, located in a mini sandbox, before someone dies. Mainly combat encounters, but some variety, including an encounter where talking gains. There are some sources of healing, and a few treasure troves.

    Possible improvements: (i) The odd typing error, see 16A line 6 "17Cation", and in 23B line 3 "knee" does not make sense. The only important change I would make is 2 rather than 8 lizardfolk in 12A: the previous description suggests 2, and 8 would likely overwhelm the PC. (ii) The mechanic for determining whether your PC returns in time (in 18A) is a bit underwhelming, taking no account of number of entries visited. I suggest the wife dies after 30 + 1d20 entries. (In various successful plays between 18 and 39 entries were visited.)

    Replay value as different routes are possible. Recommended.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    TS4 - Unicorn's Mane
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for the review we really appreciate it! You are correct, we botched 16A and 12A (now corrected). The "knee" comment is a sports comment...take a knee aka take a breather! We like the idea on the timing mechanic but avoid them in solos because of the general difficulty!
    OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
    by Dawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 06:48:04

    My players and I really enjoyed this quick dungeon. I made a few changes, like placing the crypt under their villa and beefing up the enemies to match their level. Well paced and fun to play.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    OP19 - Kalar's Crypt
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    FT - Hill Valley Community
    by Wraith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2019 17:45:06

    While obviously different players have different tolerances for this sort of thing, I found any capacity to imagine myself in the place they were describing irreparably shattered by the fact that all the characters are not even thinly disguised characters from Back to the Future with their personalities and roles intact. (The innkeep is BiffTON Tannen, the womanizing bully, who presumably winds up in a pile of manure at some point.) This means I can't use the characters as they are presented, and would have to create whole new ones from scratch to fill this town... which makes it useless as an aid, becuase other than the NPCs, there is only the vaguest and most generic details familiar to anyone who's seen a castle town portrayed in any other setting. Even the map is essentially an oval wall with the same house copy-pasted and even facing the same direction.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    FT - Hill Valley Community
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
    by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 09:31:47

    Great adventure for my son's party of R2, M3, wild elf F2T2, 1/2 ogre F1 and npc drow C2F2, Looking forward to F5.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    F4 - Hall of the Dwarf Lords
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Awesome we are glad you all enjoyed it!
    FP2 – Under Castle Modum
    by Celeste C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/26/2019 23:23:14

    i run a game for 4-6 players and the last couple of adventures I had done with them were heavily role play and problem solving centered. I had the feeling my players would enjoy an old school dungeon crawl with a lot of monster encounters, and this certainly fit what I was going for. I was able to tie it to my ongoing campaign which resolves around my PC's trying to investigate possible locations of powerful magic items to keep them out of the hands of an evil cult and the demons they serve. We played this adventure in 6-8 hours and had a very good time. It is definitely as I remembered playing D and D in the mid 80's. I had little problem fitting this into 5e just use new stat blocks for monsters and have at it.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    FP2 – Under Castle Modum
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fam1 - Köppen Tomb
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/05/2019 12:21:20

    Low level dungeon crawl, with undead to overcome, and grave goods to claim; there are some nice features, such as geographical obstacles (cliffs, water) to surmount, puzzles/traps which are simple and can be overcome by player skill, and signs of a previous expedition.

    Recommended.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Fam1 - Köppen Tomb
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    OP9 - Phaegor's Manor
    by Dawn H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2018 08:13:06

    I recently DM'd this for a brand new player and was easily able to weave this independent setting into his story. The dilapidated manor house sits back from the road, begging to be explored. The enemies, traps and rewards are well paced and was a great way to refresh us on ability checks, combat and traps. The information is presented in a clear, succinct manner that makes it easy to keep track of things. We both had a great time and afterwards he was excited to get to town to brag about his prowess and sell all his newly gained treasures!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    OP9 - Phaegor's Manor
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    OP18 - Stolen Sleigh
    by Craig H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/26/2018 12:19:29

    Great little christmas adventure. Always needs to have a bumble involved.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    OP18 - Stolen Sleigh
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product