Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Fantasy Flight Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Archetypal Species
by Chris M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/07/2019 15:38:51

For me, a GM just learning the Genesys system, this additional info on species and archetype creation is fantastic, and really helps me understand the process a bit more. I love learning these new little nuances. I liked it so much, I went back and bought it again for a fee, even though it was initially free! Thank you so much for this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Archetypal Species
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for your kind words, Chris!
Zephyr Knights: An Aeromancer Supplement for Genesys
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/02/2019 20:26:33

This is an awesome PDF detailing an organization that can be incorporated into many setting with Talents and and ideas to feed a campaign or add back ground to any story.

8/!0 Stars

Would only like to see some specialized equipment to go with this.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Zephyr Knights: An Aeromancer Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Shadow of the Beanstalk
by Colin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/28/2019 22:06:45

An excellent setting, with very deep background with lots of character. It feels very alive. Combined with Worlds of Android (and the fiction), you can get as deep into this setting as you like. Plenty of great options for players to choose from - clones, bioroids, loonies from the moon, martian revolutionaries.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Beanstalk
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Expanded Fear Guidelines: Genesys Rules Supplement
by Guillaume T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/25/2019 11:13:57

Neat

This one page document makes it easier for the GM to use fear checks. While the CRB (page 243-244) presents suggestions for spending symbols, it is badly organized. Now this document gives you a nicely and properly formatted table with the author's personal suggestions on symbol usage, as well as basics tips for when making fear checks as well as using the Fear motivation when making these checks.

While it was made as a small supplement to Something Strange setting, there is nothing setting exclusive inside this document and it should be considered as a generic supplement.

For anyone running an adventure in which you expect to roll fear checks, it's a cheap and useful document to have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Expanded Fear Guidelines: Genesys Rules Supplement
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
by Reece F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2019 17:13:22

A great addition to any setting, this product is well thought out, high quality, and an excellent example of why Genesys Foundry is so great for the game. One hundred pages of amazing ideas that will inspire characters, even whole settings, and all the rules needed to implement your wildest creations. Ready...Fight! is a must for any GM or player thats passionate about Genesys.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ready....Fight! An Unarmed Combat Supplement for Genesys
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Power Play: An Android Mini-Campaign
by J.P. L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/18/2019 15:40:43

Very good, well written mini campaign for Shadow of the Beanstalk (could easily be used in almost any cyberpunk setting, really). To me the story of the campaign is exactly what good cyberpunk stories are about. Should be easy, at least for an experienced GM, to flesh out to an even bigger campaign. For $5 an absolute bargain. Hope to see more from the author.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Power Play: An Android Mini-Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
by Giri R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/13/2019 12:34:46

The something strange setting is great supplement for Genesys wether to play in a modern setting or use as cool tools and inspiration for other games. Set in a supernatural version of our own modern world it gives you simple but powerfull tools tell a varity of stories.

Its well designed and has excellent production quality.

Its does not feature alot of lore and story but explains elements of supernatural to be placed in a modern world. The book does explain the common types of supernatural elements of vampire, werewolfes and magi and the adversary section gives great inspiration for setting up plots and encounters drawing alot from urban legends and fantasy.

I can highly recommend the Something Strange setting for Genesys



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MegaCity Magic
by Andrew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2019 15:18:06

MegaCity Magic does a good job of adding a bit of Shadowrun to Genesys in a simple and straightforward way. I found that the addition of advancements during character creation is a great way of integrating SoTB content into the fantasy races. It adds an extra layer of customization without being too complex and is definitely something I would like to see more of. The additional items, careers, adversaries, and talents are good examples of meshing Terrinoth content with SoTB in a nonintrusive manner. Some rules for magic users, with a main focus on shamans and the superhuman gifted, seem a bit weighed down by their ties to the existing magic schools of Genesys and it may be hard to determine which rules take precedence in certain situations. Overall, MegaCity Magic feels like a good starting point for anyone wishing to place fantasy elements into their cyberpunk games.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
MegaCity Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to review and rate MegaCity Magic!
Instant Adversaries
by Benjamin O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2019 22:10:36

Making balanced NPCs is the bane of my existance, but no longer with this document. It is a great supplement that allows you to create stats for toons. It is generic in nature, with base ideas that you can modify for the setting that you are playing in. I hope to see more specific setting specific options in the future, but that is just me being greedy!

Overall a very use full document to have for those who struggle wih stating your own NPCS or vehicles on the fly.

Thank you Sterling Hershey!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Instant Adversaries
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

MegaCity Magic
by George B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/07/2019 18:55:41

This product itself is decent but it is a very poorly veiled Shadowrun adaption. Nothing really new here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
MegaCity Magic
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
The genesis of this product did indeed come from my home group's Shadowrun/Android-setting mashup. While the initial version of what became MegaCity Magic was written for that game, the announcement of the Genesys Foundry prompted me to compile the setting modifications, clean up and expand the notes, and make them presentable for a wider audience. Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review MegaCity Magic!
Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
by Timothy F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2019 09:33:46

Something Strange is a supplement for FFG's Genesys RPG, released under their Genesis Foundry licence. The author has categorized it as a Modern Horror Setting, but the supplement will work equally well for Urban Fantasy.

The supplement only spends a few pages detailing the "Setting", but that's because it doesn't need to. Set in the modern world, but with a supernatural twist, there isn't the need for a lot of exposition detailing the world. In fact, that very lack of detail gives the GM and Players using Something Strange the freedom to tailor the setting to their tastes. Without naming specifics, this could be used to emulate any number of book series, movies, or television series with very little effort.

There are a number of new Archetypes and Careers that are suited to the genre, but that could be used in any Genesys game, along with a large selection of new Talents.

Additionally, a few new rules help emphasize the theme, but they are simple and therefore should be easy to implement.

Something Strange has a small but useful section devoted to equipment and vehicles that should cover most situations.

The Adversary section covers some expected monsters (Vampires, Werewolves), but also some unusual choices (Chupacabra, Moth Man), and even named NPCs with a brief backstory ready to drop into a campaign. One of the strengths of Genesys is the ability to easily re-skin Adversaries, meaning a GM can use these in any game (or use Adversaries from any other Genesys product for a Something Strange campaign).

I purposely left one aspect of the supplement to the end of my review: Vampires and Werewolves. The author devised a brilliant way to handle these "monsters" as player characters. He uses Talents to represent them and their abilities, allowing a PC to become either a Vampire or a Werewolf (both not both) after character creation (although they could also spend some of their initial XP to start as one), and then grow in power over the course of a campaign.

It also means that an all Vampire or an all Werewolf campaign could be run using Something Strange, and the characters can all be unique (not to mention adding a twist to the default "Modern Horror" premise).

All in all, this is a welcome addition to the Genesys system!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Something Strange: Genesys Modern Horror Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Familiar Setting Sourcebook
by Mark S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2019 19:29:46

An excellent fum game I can't wait for an adventure to come out for it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Familiar Setting Sourcebook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 10:10:46

This is an interesting dark fantasy setting that tells a story with familiar elements in a new and compelling way. There are some great new options that really spice up the setting, and the world has a lot of hooks to work with.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Inquisition: Genesys Medieval Dark Fantasy Setting
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Brain Drain: Android Genesys Adventure
by Matthew M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/28/2019 00:17:09

This is a fun story that's well-constructed and beautiful. It works well as a stand-alone adventure or broken into pieces to fit into a larger campaign. A GM can prep to run this pretty quickly.

I will disclose that I took part in a playtest of a few encounters.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Brain Drain: Android Genesys Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Hope Prep School Freshman Handbook - Genesys Edition
by Noah M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/23/2019 19:52:29

I would like to preface my review by saying; I loved this setting, but hate the mechanics. The actual setting that is described within this PDF is really good. A lot of time, energy, and care went into creating all the lore within this book. The fact that each teacher was given a syllabus for their class room was amazing. I really enjoyed reading about how the different sports teams work, and it was very easy to read. The author made a great decision by designing this as a student's handbook; it sucked me in immediately. The notes and comments from other students were also really well done. I am currently planning to run my next super hero game using this setting, but it won't be with Genesys. I'm going to be using it with a different system.

Almost all of the mechanics section of this book was done either very lazily or just very poorly. It really feels like the author took a great setting and just bolted on Genesys as an after-thought. This book adds 0 new archetypes, it just tells the reader to Use any balanced Archetype from the Genesys Core Rulebook or from other sources." This really struck a negative chord with me and sets the tone for the rest of the mechanics section. The new skills are poorly explained and very unbalanced. There are way too many knowledge skills and the Power skill is not well balanced. All super powers using the same skill is extremely broken and all supers end up looking very similar. It's the reason that base Genesys breaks up the combat skills. The way the magic skills (Arcana, Divine, & Primal) are handled in this book are also extremely confusion and feel tacked on, especially because implements are removed and are really important for the way magic works.

The only things I like from the mechanics sections are how the super powers are constructed and how Cliques replace Careers. Using the magic system to build super powers and tying it to a talent works great. I really liked the idea of Cliques and that changing from one Clique to another could actually change your career skills. This really sparked my imagination and thought it was very creative. I just wish the rest of the mechanics were as good and interesting.

In summery; This is a great setting and I will be running it. Unfortunately I won't be using any of the Genesys mechanics presented in this book. The Genesys mechanics feel like they were added with the absolute barest minimum of effort possible. The only reason I'm not rating this lower is because I loved the setting so much. It feels like this was made for a different system and the Genesys logo was added to reprint it and make some extra cash with little effort.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Hope Prep School Freshman Handbook - Genesys Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 274 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG