RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Ian Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2019 15:02:53

Came from Rolegate, looking forward to using these.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2019 15:01:56

Learned about this from RoleGate and had to get it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
by Darrell C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2019 10:33:11

This is exactly what I was looking for in order to play Classic Traveller/Cepheus Engine solitaire. I purchased the printed cards as well as the pdf. The printed cards are printed just like playing cards, and the print quality is excellent. Each card is double-sided and easy to read. The color scheme used for the SciFi cards works well for me. The included SciFi Adventure Guide is also very helpful with ideas on how to use the various elements of the card. The examples included in the adventure guide work well on their own, but can be easily modified to fit your needs.

The pdf quality is also good; however, I did not want to print and cut out the cards. Self-printing can be done if a person does not want to purchase the printed cards, but I prefer commercially printed cards to doing it myself on cardstock.

I'm using the SciFi cards in conjunction with Paul Elliott's SOLO for Cepheus Engine. The combination of the cards with Paul Elliott's SOLO has created an exceptional experience with my Classic Traveller and Cepheus Engine solitaire role-playing game. The narrative of the story has been enhanced with the use of these cards. They have certainly helped my imagination with creating an interesting storyline for my campaign.

I can see this as a useful tool for science fiction writers, as well as GMs who need ideas on the fly.

Tom



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
by Devon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 15:29:40

I have a setting I've developed for tabletopping that I love but none of my players ever seem interested in, so I decided to use ALONe to play a solo game in it. The first proper session I played (just one Beat), was fantastic. The story immediately kicked off in high gear, and the rising tension system created a perfect little arc to the scene, culminating in a 2-on-2 battle that ended up destroying an underwater base. My heart was pounding by the end, and I can't wait to get back to it.

The cards become pretty intuitive to use pretty quickly, and really keep the story moving. The only sticky point was that character creation felt pretty open-ended, and it took longer than I expected to finally get my character in shape (backstory etc.) and start playing. I think that'll get easier with experience, but it does create a small barrier to getting into play for the first time, and the play was really awesome.

Even as a BETA this is a very playable system, and I'm looking forward to getting some more of the genre-specific GMA decks to enrich the experience even more. Really fun!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Devon P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/15/2018 15:16:01

The first time I used a draw from this deck to help me spice up a scene my players got us into in one of my tabletop games it generated a really fun fight. I've also used them with the ALONe engine to do some fun solo rpg. Great tool, very fun to use. Gonna give a few as Christmas gifts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2018 11:19:05

I love these cards. I don't use them as much as I could. I could use them to replace all my dice, for instance, but I still like rolling dice. I don't use them for randomly generating adventures, but I could. I use them for inspiration, NPC names, and creative prompts, and for that alone, I'm glad I bought them.

As time goes on, I'm using them more and more often. I started bringing them downstairs to use when I play online. I started considering using them to replace dice. I'm very happy with them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
by Evandro N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2018 02:07:10

The included subset of the GMA deck is a great source of inspiration!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice [BUNDLE]
by Catalina G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 15:30:19

I first encountered the original GameMaster's Apprentice deck one day I was searching for tools to boost solo-RPG games, and I must admit it was love at first sight. However, after searching for more info, I found that the original deck was just one out of a set of 7 decks: original, sci-fi, horror, steampunk, pirates, fantasy, demons... There were so many options available, and they all were so unique, I knew getting one was not an option. The problem was that buying them separately was quite expensive. So, I added the decks to my wishlist, and waited.

Fortunately, not so long ago, I found that there was a bundle available! It included all 7 decks printed and ready to be used, along with some nice digital goodies! The best part, besides all the aforementioned details: the price! It was actually a really affordable price! FOR THE WHOLE SET!

So, long story short: It took the package a little bit more than a month to arrive (due to my current geolocation), but it was worth it. I'm really happy with my purchase, and now I may solo-RPG to my heart's content!

Thank you very much for offering these great tools under one single bundle!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Catalina G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/23/2018 15:05:45

I've just got my GameMaster's Apprentice deck collection, and even though it took the shipment a month or so to arrive due to my current geolocation, I must say it was worth the wait. The overall quality of the cards is fantastic, and the different designs are top notch! I definitely recommend them!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Sarah H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2018 18:05:25

Great idea great cards one glaring problem, There are no backs to the cards. so when printed you have a deck of 60 cards and no idea how to randomize what side to use. I really like the idea and the card designs but it is hard to know what side is the one to use as they dont even gave evens on one side and odd on the other. It is a huge mess.

I would suggest doing 120 with a standardized back. If they were to fix it later.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to leave specific feedback! If I do another edition, which would you prefer: A deck of only 60 card faces with a standardized back on each, or a deck of 120 cards with a standardized back (to preserve all the randomizers and content, but at the cost of being harder to hold/shuffle)? Or something else? I usually use the cards by simply flipping over the top of the deck, or cutting them and looking at the top card I cut to, so I'm not 100% sure what would solve your problem the best. I actually tend to GM while standing, so I carry the deck in my hands and idly shuffle, and then whenever I need something I can just cut and look and then keep shuffling, and my players have no idea if I was rolling for their perception or trying to build a new NPC fast :-)
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
by Thor S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2018 22:39:08

I do not often use my time to write a review about a product, which is a praise for this product in itself. I have been GMing games for almost two decades and thus I am always looking for good aids, especially things like this product: something that cuts the prep time for games. I got this product for multiple reasons, but the greatest was the need for random scene/story seed creation. And this simple deck of 60 cards surely delivers.

I love the verb, noun, descriptor combo, the symbols, Catalyst and Location. Those are the things I wanted, and I got them. The sensory snippets are decent, though I find that some of them are harder to use than others. The dice result, difficulty scale and likely odds work well and are a welcome part of the cards especially while travelling, even if I personally like to rattle the dice whenever possible. The names, Virtue&Vice and belongings make it an easy and pleasant to whip up characters on the fly.

The only small thing that irritates me sometimes are the belongings. There are a great variety of things, but for some reason, for me, many of the things feel... only complementary. The reason is that I would like to use the belongings as one key factor when deciding what the created character actually does (class, occupation etc.). As is, I nowadays use them mostly as a way to give a character some surprising items, thus it is only complementary, adding to something I have already created. It should be noted, that despite the word count used, it is only a very minor thing.

All in all, this might just be the easiest to use complete GM-tool, which can be used without anything else, even without dice should it come to that. Great value for money!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Paul M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/11/2017 07:32:37

After purchasing and using the basic, scifi, and horror decks for some time now, it was a no-brainer to back the fantasy deck on Kickstarter. I use these decks in every game I run. I've always used the basic deck when running fantasy games, but now I have a dedicated deck for such occasions. There is so much information on each card, it's ridiculous. Especially if you are a GM who likes to wing things and improve a lot, these are the fastest way I have found to gain a bit of inspiration at the table. I highly recommend them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Boris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:25:41

I backed this on Kickstarter and can't say a bad thing about it. This is essential for both solo RPG and games mastering fantasy RPGs. As others have said there is so much information on each card with absolutely no wasted space: random names, directions, smells, belongings, dice rolls, elements and many more. This is a very well-thought through system and is essentisl for any fantasy RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
by Boris L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/10/2017 16:16:52

ALONe comes with a promo version of the Games Master's Apprentice (GMA) and both work together as solo roleplaying game. Rules include character creation and lots of examples and explanation of how the game works. One of the wonders of this system is that it can also be used as a solo GM emulator for other RPGs. The GMA can also be used to aid a games master in any RPG adding flavour and randomisers (directions, names, runes, elements (literally, as in air, earth, fire and water), smells, belongings, etc.).

I've used the system a couple of times for solo play and find it inspired; one of my favourite aspects is tension levels and the ability to add random events using the GMA.

This is a beta version and I know that the creator is going to be working on it soon, however I feel that it is perfectly useable as it is. The GMA deck that comes with beta is only half the size of the standard deck but allows huge amounts of utility. The full GMA deck is an indespensible tool for both solo gamers and games masters. There are also decks that are genre specific such as fantasy and sci fi.

Bottom line: this beta is free and fantastic. I can't recommend this product highly enough: get it now!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
ALONe: A Solo Game Engine BETA
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
by Dan A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/04/2017 20:59:14

This is hands down the best RPG resource I have ever come across! Every inch of the card is used to maximize the space available. This deck has soooo many possible ways to use not just the cards themselves, but given pieces of info on the cards. While I have found some digital resources that come close to accomplishing what there cards can, this product is quicker to use and NOT digital. The designer did a tremendous job! Just in case you think at first glance that there may be too much going on with these cards, I can assure you that with the effective instructions you'll have it down in minutes. This is also a blessing for solo RPG play!

In short, I'm super happy with this product!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 41 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG