Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    by Greg H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/13/2021 06:48:16

    My single favourite and most-useful GMing tool. I've stressed a lot creating homebrew sessions weekly, but a few shuffles of these cards can easily make up random events, characters and story locations with a bit of help from my imagination. I also have the Story Cubes, a much more budgeted product, which are cool but have the problem of being a bit too open to interpretation at times. I find these cards are a brilliant middle-ground which have options for "open interpretation" but also some good specific words and ideas which help speed up the content-creation process. For example I tried to think of a random event and I got a location as "Good Planes", which seemed too out-there for my low-level campaign, so instead I decided that the NPC was FROM the good planes - an angel. I also got the keyword "Heartbroken". Immediately I came up with the idea that this angel had fallen in love with a seductive and clever mortal witch who had been seeking power and secrets from the greater planes. So now I have an angel disguised as a mortal, a powerful wizard with secrets from the celestial planes, and a great story to go along with it. Of course the angel doesn't want to corrupt their soul with vengeance, but are struggling with it, so in comes my player! Hasn't played out yet but I look forward to it.

    That is just one example, I have used the cards to create a lot of content for my homebrew campaign and they have been so worth the money. I also ended up getting the base, horror and sci-fi decks for future use or playing solo games as I sometimes do that.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    I just had to say, that’s one heck of an example! I try not to respond to all reviews individually, but I really appreciate hearing that something that cool came from the cards, and it’s exactly the kind of good news I needed in these pandemic times. Stay safe, and I hope the cards continue to serve you well!
    The Deck of Tales
    by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2021 12:08:32

    I already owned the GMA cards and these are nice supplement to those. They allow for quick reference and more images. I use them to customize foes and features of the environment. I would recommend them to solo players especially. Great product!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Deck of Tales
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by Sandor A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2020 10:54:55

    If you spend hours browsing writing prompts and imagining all the scenarios in which they would make sense or you got into solo role-playing because playing online doesn't cut it for you and you're not allowed to hang out with your friends because of some virus, you'll appreciate this product. Heck, they're great if you just want to unplug and cruise your imagination for a while too.

    The quality of the physical cards is on par with a standard deck of playing cards but since there are 60 of them it's a bit of a fight to get them into a standard-sized box; it works, but it's kind of like your dad trying to wear skinny jeans.

    Anyway, these are a good buy.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by Geoffrey F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/18/2020 16:31:07

    Very cool. These cards are perfect tools for inspiration. I bought these to use for both writing prompts as well as playing some tabletop RPGs solo to learn the rules of different systems and these cards fit the bill perfectly. Well worth the price. The print quality on these cards is great too. I'm going to sleeve mine, but even without sleeving, they feel like they'll last a really long time with regular use. I picked up several different genres and I look forward to playing with every one of them.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    by John R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2020 16:24:21

    I got the fantasy and science fiction decks. The price dropping during this pandemic helped me in deciding to pick these up. Plus I appreciate the gesture of lowering prices to help keep gamers home during these trying times. Shipping was fast and the cards are incredible. I am a very happy dungeonmaster/wannabe writer.

    ![(https://photos.app.goo.gl/4zZA1nekc8iwzA9L8/)]



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by Helen M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/16/2020 07:17:04

    A beautiful set of cards. This was my first p.o.d purchase from DriveThru and I'm not disappointed (I also bought the Fantasy and Steampunk decks at the same time). The quality of the cards is great, and there are just so many options for new characters, I can't imagine ever running out of ideas. The cards were well packed and shipped quickly, arriving surprisingly quickly to Australia (shipped 30/8 and arrived 16/9). I definitely recommend going for the printed cards!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 17:20:19

    I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen. When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

    I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

    The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

    I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.

    The one bit of feedback I have on the Fantasy Deck specifically: I feel like all the fantasy illustration makes the content on the cards hard to read. The layout and design of the Base Deck is much more clean and organized. The Base Deck illustration is tastefully done and stays out of the way of the content.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by Chris P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/09/2020 14:19:55

    I think the Gamemaster's Apprentice is one of the coolest GMing tools I've ever seen.

    When I first got it, I thought it was an interesting device, but now that I've had some time with it, I have come to use it for so much more than I had initially thought I would.

    I use it not only for random die rolls and names, which is plenty useful, but for sensory, directional, environmental, and story-telling inspiration, both in-game and during the planning phase. The information on the cards are game- and genre-agnostic, which allows the GM to take whatever the Gamemaster's Apprentice gives them and fit it neatly into their story.

    The card stock is very nice and great for fidgety card shuffling.

    The layout of the information on the base deck is nicely organized and very easy to read because of the fonts used and color scheme.

    I can't say enough about the Gamemaster's Apprentice. I recommend it highly.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
    by Victoria N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/05/2020 16:17:48

    A few weeks ago I bought the cards on PDF and printed to cardstock to try them out. Fantastic! I’ve run DM sessions where I struggled for a name or some sensual observation other than “what you see” and “what you hear”, and these were the perfect answer. Now, some of the sensations/names/etc. are duplicated from deck to deck, but so what? It’s far cooler to pick out the deck that “matches” the theme/genre of the game I am running and I love to support small business and creators. Win win here, folks.

    So… I did it. I went ahead and ordered the actual cards. All of the sets.

    They are stunning. They’ve got a great weight to them and shuffle so much more easily than cardstock (I know, Captain Obvious here). The printing is crisp and legible, and the little touches on the cards elevate them to a whole new level of coolness.

    My only question is: when are you going to create a Film Noir set? Or maybe one with a Greco-Roman history theme? hint hint



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Sci Fi
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Wow--thanks for the kind words! I hope the cards serve you well! Film Noir and Greco-Roman are interesting suggestions... I'll add those to the list of ideas ;-)
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
    by Aaron K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2020 20:07:29

    These cards are beautifully crafted and filled with inspiration, events, details, and more. Just flipping through them gives me ideas for plots and adventures. The cards are also sturdy and well made. I will be using these in my RPGs and writing every time. These are great.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by James B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/25/2020 03:24:19

    Really useful randomizers. They take some getting used to, but if you use them enough and figure out how they work and how to use them in your games, you could show up to a game session with nothing but a page of notes, this deck and maybe some monster/NPC stats and you can run a dynamic, unpredictable game.

    The Genre suppliments, alone solo engine, and universal instructions are well written and thoughtful, although I wish they were a little prettier and more distinctive than just simple black text on white fields. Having each page have a unique look would help with quickly flipping through to find what you're looking for.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2020 14:44:48

    Hands down the best purchase I ever made on here. I play solo and with my kids a lot and these decks (I also bought Sci-Fi and Fantasy) allow me to enjoy myself to an extent that escaped me before. They are so versatile and useful, easy to use and hack. I use them to help generate loot, create NPCs, answer questions, and so much more. It keeps me feeling honest and prevents that feeling of cheating you can sometimes feel when using a GM-simulator system. I tired Mythic and it is fine, really good actually, but this has all I want and more. Just get them!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
    by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:25:07

    NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

    I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

    Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

    Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

    Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Universal Instruction Cards
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:24:44

    NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

    I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

    Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

    Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

    Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Fantasy Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    by John S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/29/2019 16:24:27

    NOTE: I bought the Base Deck, Fantasy Deck, and Universal Instruction Cards, so this review is for each.

    I debated whether to buy these or story dice, and I don't regret going with these. If you get them, I highly recommend buying the protective case as well. Also, you don't need a printed copy of the Universal Instruction Cards, but it's worth it if you like having the instructions with the decks.

    Some things I like: --They're printed on paper that feels like regular Poker cards, none are off-center, and the ink quality is very good. --They have just about everything you need to get a story going on the fly. --There is some overlap between the Base and Fantasy Decks, but the differences are enough to justify buying both. --I received them a day earlier than expected.

    Some things I would change: --As others have noted, there are only a few Vices and Virtues. More would be better. --The Universal Instruction Cards include one card that can be used as cover art, and I wish every set included one of these. --The GMA Key card (included with the Universal Instruction Cards) is printed on both sides so that I had to keep flipping it over to learn how the cards work. It would be better if these were separated.

    Overall, my gripes are minor, and these cards are easily worth the purchase.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The GameMaster's Apprentice: Base Deck
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 63 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  [Next >>] 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product