RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme)
by Jorge J. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2019 17:40:21

The Return of the Blue Baron is the sequel to An Invitation From the Blue Baron, but it is designed to be played without needing to have played the first part, since it is the continuation of Blue Baron's story, not the PC's.

Return is a free two-level, medium-length collaborative dungeon written for Blueholme, the retroclone that emulates the first revision of D&D Basic. It is designed for a group of 4 to 6 adventurers, level 3.

This adventure includes some traditional elements (goblins, for example) and others that only seem traditional but have completely unexpected twists (ying / yang trolls; wait to see them and you will understand!). There's also a hole that is actually a huge mouth.

The adventure of Return consists of a contest. The Blue Baron has died (in strange circumstances), and his widow organized a competition: the first group that manages to find the body of the Baron, which is hidden somewhere in a dungeon, will be the winner.

The strongest points of this adventure are its originality and its cohesion. Although it was written by 10 people, most of the dungeons have a certain flavor that makes it plausible; that does not mean that there are not unexpected and surprising moments, it means that almost all the rooms are unexpected and surprising, maintaining the same tone during the whole adventure, with only few exceptions.

Speaking of tone, this is partly whimsical and partly serious. Many of the encounters can become hilarious for all players with the same ease with which they can be taken seriously; one could say there is almost no place for vanilla fantasy, because Return is more on the weird, or even gonzo sides of game style.

Other highlights are the depth of the plot (intrigue, and several factions that operate at the same time), the ability to play as a sequel or independent module, the rules to measure time (they have 3 days to find the body or escape of the dungeon), strange and original monsters, and the multiple endings according to whether or not they manage to find the Baron's body before the others.

If there are two things I can complain about, it's, first, the descriptions of some rooms are quite long; and the second is that the text appears in a single column, not double column. None is too serious a problem when found separate, but when they come together, reading becomes a bit more difficult and exhausting. The descriptions of most of the rooms are so interesting allow a funny adventure, though, but sometimes it gets alittle tedious to read through a not particullarly interesting room, which, fortunately, are few.

Other small details that are strange are the numbering of the maps (when reading room 1 there is no indication of where the entrance to the dungeon is; in fact, it's until we get to room 3 that we discover the entrance) and the appearance of rules when it seems that the adventure has already begun (the widow makes an announcement and the players can make their characters get equipped and roll for rumors), after that fake start, some more rules come, which causes confusion. But none of these details is too important, and when the exploration of the dungeon begins, which is the central part of the module, there is no interruption until the end.

In conclusion, Return is an interesting adventure that will challenge your most ingenious players. Will they be able to assemble the Baron's body in time?

Source



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Random Fungi
by Jorge J. V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/19/2019 15:29:52

Black humour, silly tables, story hooks, starting locations other than taverns, weapon names and everything else that will add a twist to your games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Random Fungi
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Random Fungi
by Kurt R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/18/2019 23:00:36

This is a great little resource that already after 5 mins has inspired me 1d12 times for a starting situation for my new game. I am sure to use this many more times during this game's progress!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
by dominika r. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2019 16:42:53

I love this. This has come in pretty handy, and inspired several encounters and plots!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme)
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2018 12:53:37

"It is with heavy heart that I confirm the rumors which you must have heard by now. My husband, Lord Gavanov Keiner, 23rd Baron Keiner, known to many as the Blue Baron, is no more.

Yet hope remains in the words of his final command, a rather unique funeral arrangement. The Blue Baron dares all brave and adventurous souls who would risk death in trade for fame and glory to come forthwith to Einhornstadt, arriving no later than three days before moonrise.

My Lord Baron calls on you from beyond the grave. Ignore him at your loss and peril.

Expectantly,

Maria Keiner"

So begins the savage introduction into The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme) From 3 Toadstools.

This is basically a free mid level adventure which is actually an advertisement for the Blueholmes retroclone system but don't let that fool you. The Return of the Blue Baron has some really interesting twists & turns to it. Clocking in at seventy five pages this dungeon adventure serves as a weird mid level testing ground for adventurers. Here's what this actually means in overall play at the table top.

The tricks & traps are original on the whole the adventure breaks down as follows:

2 Levels - A short & sweet way of doing a dungeon with several nights of actual play & that's not a bad thing because it gives the dungeon master & players a good run of sessions without bogging adventure events & combat.

46 Rooms - The descriptions of the rooms break down into a well rounded experience for the players with the challenges being well thought out. Balance is well OSR balance so its an interesting mix.

New Creatures - There are some 'Weird Tales' style creatures that can be ported over to a number of other adventures to keep the campaign flow going. There are some solidly done creatures.

New Artifacts & Magic Items - The artifacts are solidly done but some of the magic items will have to be weighted by the DM on a case by case basis for their over all campaigns. Make sure these items fit your home game style.

The cartography is decent & serves the adventure's style very well. The over all flow of the maps serves to heighten the feel of the adventure.

The Return Of The Blue Baron could be used as a mid point adventure for any number of old school Dungeons & Dragons editions including Advanced Dungeons & Dragons first edition. This adventure is ideally suited for Labryth Lord or Lamentations of the Flame Princess with the Blue Baron's holdings being put on the outer edges of the British Empire in Europe.

For a Sword & Sorcery game such as Astonishing Swordsmen & Sorcerers of Hyperobrea the Blue Baron's holdings should be placed near the Hyperborean capital within about 100 miles or so.

So now that I'm no longer on the OSR product merry go round & not the latest flavor of OSR blogging marketing hotness I'm pretty much free to pick & choose the best adventures out there in the rpg wilds. This of course is subject to my opinion & as such the mileage may vary. I've had very good luck with Three Toad Stool products in the past & The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme) From 3 Toadstools looks to be a blast to run.

I'll let you folks know because I'll actually be running this adventure in the Fall. Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog

Want to see more OSR original content & more? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Return Of The Blue Baron (A Collaborative Dungeon For Blueholme)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for the review Eric, We appreciate it. Looking forward to hearing about your player's exploits in this adventure!
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
by Mike C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2018 16:05:28

I liked this a lot. Some snippets are mundane and hilarious, a few might lead to a deeper conversation and adventure. I love the mundane ones the most because make the world feel real. I think it could be improved by having separate charts for adventure hooks and non-hooks. Entirely worth the price... I'd buy more of this if I could.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:07:39

Some of the things are meh but I do like a lot of the sayings. I wish it was more of a table format and that it was condensed more but I am not complaining. I will be using it for sure.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
d100 things found in pockets
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/27/2018 16:03:31

I love how it is printer friendly already and the list is actally pretty fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
d100 things found in pockets
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D100 Minor Magical Items
by Erik B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2018 06:50:38

Lots of fun stuff. Wasn't sure about needing a remove curse spell to take off the witches wart. Definetly fun and worth the grab!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Minor Magical Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

D100 Minor Magical Items
by Dave L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2017 16:50:24

These are fun - if for no other reason than to get the creative juices flowing for other single use magic items. They provide a good way to "test" a particular power in your game before giving a PC something more permanent that might unintentionally be overpowered for your campaign setting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
I'm glad you liked them Dave!
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
by Nahal A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/13/2017 17:57:51

I would like to give credits of the authour because of this book i was able to give some life to my tavern and many other places when you twist the words. I would definetly recommend this book if you're planning to spread rumours of what your players may encounter in the journey or for them to get intrested in finding the root of this rumour.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Things Overheard In A Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
That was essentially the plan! It's a bit of flavour to get you going. Thanks for the review I appreciate it!
D100 Minor Magical Items
by Bob P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/12/2016 12:24:29

Not for the Very serious minded but for the $1 I paid for it 5 stars. no frills very short descriptions, many very usable, escpecially minor treasure and low level settings!!!!!!! Very Light Hearted!!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D100 Minor Magical Items
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your honest review Bob, I appreciate it. If you haven't grabbed the other tables, there's a few good laughs and useable situations. Our gaming group has had a lot of fun with the backgrounds table. Thanks again!
The Mad God's Jest
by Michael M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2015 19:19:18

A very interesting one-shot adventure that could lead to a promising campaign for a Labyrinth Lord GM with plenty of imagination. As a concept for an adventure it is very cool like a episode of Star Trek with Trelaine or Q from the next generation, although in this instance more fantasy /Mad God. If you want to throw your players for a loop and have potential for repeat divine mayhem then give this adventure a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Mad God's Jest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Myrmidon
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/17/2015 00:29:49

Shane Ward of 3 Toadstools has put out some really wonderful OSR resources over the last year or so. Now he's given a the OSR mythological, sword and sandal or sword & sorcery campaigns. The class is intended for Labyrinth Lord but I can see far more potential then simply another Greek themed adventure game warrior PC class addition or option. What are Myrmidons? Well according to Wiki -

"The Myrmidons or Myrmidones (Greek: Μυρμιδόνες) were a legendary people of Greek history. They were very brave warriors: trained and commanded by Achilles,[1] as described in Homer's Iliad. Their eponymous ancestor was Myrmidon, a king of Thessalian Phthia, who was the son of Zeus and "wide-ruling" Eurymedousa, a princess of Phthia.

An etiological myth of their origins, expanding upon their etymology — the name in Classical Greek was interpreted as "ant-people", from μυρμηδών (murmedon) "ant's nest"[2] and that from μύρμηξ (murmex) "ant"[3] — was first mentioned by Ovid, in Metamorphoses: in Ovid's telling, King Aeacus of Aegina, Achilles' grandfather, pleaded with Zeus to populate his country after a terrible plague. Zeus said his people would number as the ants on his sacred oak, and from the ants sprang the people of Aegina, the Myrmidons. In Manichaeism, the name myrmidons is used to refer to a certain class of demonic soldiers that fight for darkness against light. This has been found by archaeologists in papyri known as Coptic Manichaean Psalm-books. These papyri were found in Medinet Maadi, Egypt" This fighter class is well balanced and works out very well for a sword and sorcery style game as well as the usual sword and sandal games. I've used variation of the class before from second edition but because I've been drifting lately more and more back to OD&D, retroclones, and near clones The Myrmidon was a welcome addition to my arsenal. These guys make excellent additions to Astonishing Swordsmen and Sorcerers of Hyperborea games. The fact that separates these PC warriors;"Myrmidon are mighty fighters, followers of Achilles (or some other great warrior). What separates Myrmidon's from typical fighters is their ability to survive under the harshest conditions and gravest wounds." This little addition marks these fighter types as just that bit different and puts me as a DM into the head space of pulpy adventure goodness. In case I haven't said to grab this then go grab it right now. Its free and incredibly useful for a DM planning on playing in a sword and sandal, mythological arena, or even a sword and sorcery campaign. Eric Fabiaschi Sword and Stitchery blog



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Myrmidon
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Vagrant
by Harry K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 00:21:29

This is a neat idea, although it seems more of something that can (and should) be accomplished through clever roleplaying rather than needing a class of it's own to get it done. However, it is a great jumpstart for ideas that can include both player characters and NPCs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Vagrant
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG