Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Pirate Crew Set
    by lesley R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2021 13:35:20

    Another great set. It not only rounds out the other pirate sets, but it will also be useful with other sets for gunpowder and sail settings. Something for British (or French) soldiers to go against in a "Sharpe's" style game



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Pirate Crew Set
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Invasion
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/02/2021 11:16:16

    A solid treatment of an X-Com like response to hostile alien intrusions. All player Characters are humans with a couple extra “base” skills and two new optional skills. Since there are no arcane backgrounds there are no arcane skills. Several edges have been removed as not appropriate for the setting (including all Weird and Power edges). While no new edges are added, Leadership edges are expanded to cover the PCs as well as NPCs. Gear is appropriately laid out but is mainly focused on military hardware (and money is ignored focusing on assigned materials and limited options). The game assumes players are mainly heading out to battle the invaders, collect bodies or prisoners, and return. Healing will primarily occur between missions with extra characters encouraged so a wounded character can (and should be) left behind to heal up if not at full health. Military rank is addressed, relying on character rank for advancement. Personally, I would change this as it doesn’t make much sense for a “squad” of 6 Captains to head out with no more than two other soldiers with them. Based on the focus, I would have kept the advancement in the lower ranks up to Sergeant. A new rule for ammunition loss is included that leaves it to a special dice rolled (die type based on the weapon) for each Shot taken. Fear and Panic are also addressed. Gear is well written but does not follow the gear (particularly armor and armor piercing) progression in SWADE. Advanced Gear is part of the very nice BASE development rules. These allow the players to choose which advance their base receives (that they qualify for based on what they recovered from the mission) after each scenario. This includes both human and alien research. The mission Generator has been given a lot of thought. Much like X-Com, this covers most of the basic entries – Crashed UFO, Alien Raid (called Invasion), Infiltration, Collaborators, Rescue, and Terror attack. Combined with randomizing where (both continent and location) the event happens and the recommended use of google maps to identify the combat area, this becomes a real treat! The scenarios are scaled to increase in difficulty as the number of missions (and thus, the rank of the PCs) increase however this might be too fast based on the fact the PCs, unless the same one is used in every mission (discouraged), will soon be left behind by the alien invaders. A game master might use the table as an average of the ranks of the PCs’ rather than the number of missions played for both the difficulty and the opportunities for Base Advancement. The final section gives a nice Bestiary of Aliens including really nice survivor descriptions, from different points of view, as well as the statistics and powers. Only issue I have here is all the Aliens have boosted Toughness that is not recognized in the “Special Abilities,” ranging from 1 to 6 points.
    Allowing this to be used for donations to Doctors Without Borders was inspired. It was well worth the price and can easily be adapted for other ideas in the genre!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Invasion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Combat Companion
    by Terry d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/13/2021 19:22:56

    This book is fantastic. Even though it ostensibly contains options for expanding the Advanced Fighting Fantasy game, I would consider it an essential addition to the core rulebook. It manages to make various aspects of combat in the AFF game much richer and more engaging, while still retaining the simplicity that is fundamental to the system.

    In addition to providing more choices to players in desgining and playing their characters, this book contains a lot of information useful to Directors in planning and running games, such as will help to keep even experienced players a little more on their toes.

    I was also pleased to see material applicable to characters other than 'pure fighters' - for example, the inclusion of rules for combat magic, and mounts of various kinds.

    Finally, the appendix at the end indexing rules and options from all the rulebooks published so far is extremely useful.

    In summary, if you're a player, get this book even if you're not playing a straight fighter. It will enhance many aspects of your game, whatever your character. If you're a Director, just get this book - you absolutely will not regret it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Combat Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
    by Joel L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2021 13:35:41

    I have all the first editions of the AFF system so wondered whether it was worth my while getting the 2nd edition version. I'm glad I did as everything seems far more slick and more straightforward. I'm working through the adventures from the original books using the new system, it is a shame these couldn't be included, but there do seem to be a lot of adventures written under the AFF system available.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
    by Scott R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/08/2021 14:41:20

    Awful. I was scammed by Drive Thru RPG. I paid for a hard copy to be sent, they said it shipped, but Purolater confirmed it never did. Drive Thru RPG refuse to contact me to resolve issue. Avoid buying anything from this company. They are a scam.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Hi, Obviously this is beyond our control, but if you email me at admin at arion-games dot com, I will ensure that another hardcopy is sent to you immediately. I will then try and find out from DTRPG what has happened here. Graham
    The Warlock Returns Issue #02
    by Kelly-Jeau L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2021 09:24:20

    DUNGEON MAGAZINE MEETS NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC

    TheWarlockReturns is, naturally enough, a relaunch of the one published byby games Workshop in the mid to early 1980. This new version, like its predecessor, focuses on Arion Games Advanced Fighting Fantasy Games.

    The beauty of this magazine it holds much needed information into the readers hands. They have sections Denizens Of The Pit, Jungle Mania, Mini-Adventures, Character Sheets, recent and upcoming releases and much, much more

    This is a must have for anyone who enjoys the Fighting Fantasy Worlds. It is well put together magazine in either pdf or print version. Personally, I purchase both as each serves its purpose.

    I would like to continue to see Stellar Adventures, and Titan sections. That said, I would love to read articles on AFF Horror and AFF Super Heros too!

    I originally commented that I was willing to pay $40 for a subscription (4 issues a year). After reading issue 2, which appears to an oversight with the contents, I'd actually pay $50 a year for quarterly subscription. It's well worth it!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Warlock Returns Issue #02
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Warlock Returns Issue #01
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/01/2021 09:31:47

    From 1984 to 1986, Penguin Books and Games Workshop published 13 issues of Warlock, a magazine devoted to the Fighting Fantasy Books by Steve Jackson and Ian Livingstone. Warlock Returns is the spiritual successor of that long-gone publication, a quarterly devoted to Advanced Fighting Fantasy RPG. The Fighting Fantasy Books were a cherished party of my childhood, so I was eager to see if Warlock Returns lived up to my nostalgia-fuelled expectations.

    Warlock #1 contains:

    Denizens of the Pit: The inaugural edition of this regular bestiary column details the three races of chaos dragons. Legend holds that when Death walked the lands and breathed chaos into hidden places slumbering dragons were affected, transforming them into the various species of chaos dragons – the bilious Yellow Dragon, sinewy Orange Dragon, and the corrosive Purple Dragon, all of them warped by hideous mutation (roll on a chart; results ranging from tentacles to a breath of sulphur). Each entry hints at adventure by providing colorful lore regarding where these loathsome beasts have spread their foul influence. I love the originality of this article. Jungle Mania: short, one-page article that offers equipment for use in preparing for expeditions into the wilder parts of Titan, including mosquito netting, mosquito repellant, machete (as a short sword, but +1 damage vs. plants and -1 damage against all others; clever) and blowguns. Sizing Up Monsters: practical, well-considered advice for measuring adversary power levels to ensure balanced and enjoyable adventures. Great advice (especially for new Directors) offered in a really fun style. Welcome to Arion is an eight-page adventure. Essentially, a playful god of mischief (think Mr. Myxlpyx from DC Comics) has decided the city of Arion is too orderly, too boring. To spice things up, he has placed a curse upon the city’s residents. Characters have to race around the city, solving a variety of riddles, in order to satisfy the god’s playful impulses and free Arion of the dark magic that has shrouded it. It’s a decent enough piece, and certainly boasts a unique set-up, though it really begs to have been fleshed out further. Suggested Reading Material: What happens when a room description mentions a bookcase filled with exotic tomes and one of the players has the nerve to inquire about their contests? This article rides to the rescue, with 20 sample books. Very useful, and perhaps leading to new adventures.
    Notes and Letters from Arion provides 20 scripts that can be found on corpses, while picking pockets, or in a writing desk. They can used to add colour or inspire adventure; either way, they’re valuable. Another useful resource for Directors. Authentic Chinese weapons, ranging from the Jian (a double-bladed sword) and fearsome Fue (wicked polearms, their blades decorated with mythic monsters) to the Shengbiao (a dart affixed to a long rope) and the famous dao (short sword). Accurate and balanced, this is an outstanding article. In their Element, a map with brief room descriptions for an elemental-themed dungeon. Great inspiration for an adventure if the GM is willing to put some elbow grease into it. The map is pretty ingenious as it incorporates into its design symbols for the four elements, as well as the metals copper, silver, gold and platinum. The Legend of Gareus, a comic strip featuring the cowardly anti-hero Gareus. The art is good, and there are a few chuckles to be had here. Torra, a planet for Stellar Adventures. Ash and wind blow across great expanses of barren, inhospitable desert between the handful of domed cities. Residents of these cities are little more than prisoners; for most, travel between districts, let alone between cities, is severely restricted, and venturing off-world is virtually unheard of. The privileged wealthy classes maintain control through jackbooted law enforcement. The pressure being placed upon the lower classes is slowly building to a boil, and rebellion is a distinct possibility. The article forms the foundation of something interesting -uncaring oligarchs oppressing the masses in the cities and Mad Max-like nomads wandering the wastes between - just awaiting development by a Director and his players. It should be noted, however, that the setting isn’t complete; Warlock #2 includes factions on planet, necessary to providing a holistic view of the planet and its adventuring potential.
    *Rounding out the zine is a well-designed character sheet

    With well-written articles (several of them rules agnostic, making them useful in any fantasy rpg) and solid artwork, Warlock #1 more than lived up to my expectations. It’s a fine publication, a must for AFF Directors and of interest to gamers of other fantasy systems as well.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Warlock Returns Issue #01
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Titan Map
    by Matt G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2020 06:29:18

    Despite what the other review says, this is the newly drawn map of Titan, not the old one that's included in Arion's reprint of the book "Titan". It's of the same world, so it's very similar, but has got a few more cities (though still not as detailed as the old continent-by-continent maps in "Titan"), and notably has Gundobad located in Khul, which fans had speculated about for years.

    Because of the process that was used by Steve Luxton (the same artist as the original map), a long time was spent making it as plausible as possible as real planet, including projecting it from a sphere instead of drawing it as a 2D map to begin with.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Titan Map
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Warlock Returns Issue #01
    by Alessandro V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/30/2020 12:14:36

    Nice fanzine, with lots of good stuff and great quaity of the hard copies!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Warlock Returns Issue #01
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Maelstrom Rome
    by Kip C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/26/2020 13:28:26

    I'm a big fan of historically based games. Horror RPGs work best, in my opinion, where the players are invested in their characters from the beginning. The lifepath mechanic is a great way to generate unique characters that can capture a players interest. Also the toughness of the combat and the fragility of the characters is a great way to generate good tension among players at the table.Excellent game. It would be nice to mash this system with some Cthulhu Invictus scenarios for a unique flavor.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Maelstrom Rome
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Aliens II Set
    by scott j. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/31/2020 20:03:37

    Product contains images that are clearly the IP of others, including the Aliens, Starship Troopers, and Starcraft franchises.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Aliens II Set
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
    by Jay G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/27/2020 22:30:12

    If you like your fantasy RPGs old-school this is the go-to choice for me.

    Really straight forward core-mechanics combined with the old-school mentality that encounters should be lethally dangerous without being unfair really lands as intended. I really like the experience system allowing characters to feel like they're legitimately improving and growing without having the uneven power jumps present in some level based systems.

    If you're a fan of old school british RPG art and concepts or simply want a fantasy RPG that hits that game design sweet spot of 'easy to learn, difficult to master' Advanced Fighting Fantasy is a great choice.

    MAY YOUR STAMINA NEVER FAIL!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    AFF Advanced Fighting Fantasy 2nd Ed
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fantasy Heroes Set
    by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 01:52:57

    Very nice cardboard minis. I used them for a pathfinder game years ago and they worked great.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Fantasy Heroes Set
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Humanoids Set
    by William B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2020 01:52:12

    I used these for a pathfinder campaign years ago before switching over to gaming online. For bases, I superglued a paperclip to a penny, then simply slid the cardboard figure into the paper clip. Worked great.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Humanoids Set
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Invasion
    by Jennifer C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/21/2020 12:53:25

    I’m really impressed with the Game and it will be hitting the table right after the current Game finishes a) Characters – all characters are members of the IATF (International Alien Task Force) and are usually soldiers. They are created using the normal SWADE rules. Certain Hindrances (‘Wanted’ for example) have little value and so are excluded. Everyone gets the core skills at d4 AND Fighting and Shooting. There are some new skills, but not usually available to characters at the start. All characters get a starting package of gear (Kevlar armour, combat knife, assault rifle etc. This can be customised so the team gunbunny can have a light machine gun.) It is also advised that each PC has two characters due to the potential lethality of the missions! The team will also get to define their IATF base. This has starting elements (hangar, command centre, research lab etc.) but then may be expanded by taking Edges bought with points gained by capturing alien technology. b) It is suggested that a standard campaign consists of 20 missions, starting at Novice and proceeding up to finish at Legendary. There is scope for non-standard side missions. Note: Only non-Wounded soldiers may take part in a Mission and soldiers do not fully heal automatically between Missions. One reason to have 2+ characters each! PC’s advance after each Mission, but only if they took part. A Strike Team consists of six soldiers, if there are not enough PC’s then they may ‘double-up’ or take Extras. Mission Generator: Similar to other SWADE Mission Generators, but concentrates in a lot of detail. It uses the card draw system. Okay – let’s give it a go! This is my first Mission, which makes it Novice level in terms of the opposition. Card 1: Ace. This makes it a Terror Mission, the aliens plan to spread as much terror and panic as possible; whilst killing and/ or abducting as many humans as possible. There are five humans at risk; the Strike team must save at least three of them or the mission is a failure.

    Card 2: The Terror site is a suburban area of South America. The abandoned 2016 Olympic facilities of Rio de Janeiro spring to mind.

    Opposition: The Terror site is the toughest Mission and there is likely to be quite a lot of Aliens. 5 card daws on the Novice Table gives: - 2 Robosnakes 5 Probes 2 Writhers 7 Grey Alien soldiers 5 Knids (insect-like creatures)

    Ok, this is a tough Mission as a start; but would certainly start things off with a bang!

    My first thoughts are to place the aliens in the disused indoor swimming venue where they have set up a laboratory. They are kidnapping local residents to experiment on and the Knids and Writhers are roaming wild, killing and eating anything they come across.

    I would start the PC’s in media res, they have infiltrated the venue where there are five hostages that they have to rescue. Me being me, I would have the PC’s believe that they were just Special Forces going up against terrorists and only as the Game progressed would I reveal the aliens.

    All of this was done as I wrote this; it hasn’t been tweaked to make it fit. In fact, I like it so much that it will probably be my opening Mission.

    Here is also an example in the book of a Season Mission, generated like the one I just did.

    c) All of the aliens and creatures are described and fully statted for SWADE. There is also a player’s page for each type, to be read AFTER they have met the alien. This contains some info from soldiers, scientists and civilians about the alien; it may not be 100% accurate!

    d) The book finished with useful weapons charts, a character sheet, a Base sheet and an index.

    There are no off-time rules or anything like that, SWADE handles these quite well anyway and as the authormentions at the start, this Game is emphasises the struggle and the battle – if you like, it is X-COM.

    Highly recommended and I can’t wait to get it on the table.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Invasion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 1030 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
    0 items
     Hottest Titles
    There are currently no reviews for this product