Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Splintered Realms Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Echo City Sentinel Issue 1
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/24/2019 11:10:29

Support for Sentinels of Echo City is back, and it couldn't be cooler! In one page, you get two new superheroes, and one new supervillain for your game....and also for 50 cents! Heck, the publisher isn't even forcing you to pay that much! They also aren't stopping you from paying more than that, either, which is what I did. Get it! Encourage the creation of more issues!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echo City Sentinel Issue 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Stalwart Age Issue 2
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/17/2019 21:11:52

Another fantastic issue! This a perfectly bite-sized but power-packed product, filled with just enough short fiction and statted-out gaming goodness to make you really feel like you are taking a quick vacation into the Stalwart Age of the SOEC universe. Buy it, enjoy it, and encourage the author to make more of it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Stalwart Age Issue 2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words! I hope to have the third issue out in the next few days...
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition
by Quinn M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/22/2019 11:03:12

Better late than never? I regret not making time to review this RPG back when I first got it, but on the plus side I've had plenty of time to think about what to write. Maybe?

So, I came across the first edition of the Army Ants RPG back in 1997. Not sure how my local comics/game store even got a copy, but the cover and concept of anthropomorphic ants caught my attention and I bought it. From there I collected the Army Ant comics. Simple, B&W art with an interesting style and enjoyable characters. I bought the second edition of the Army Ants RPG the following year, which was a much higher quality product as far as production value. In 2013, I supported the Kickstarter and got a soft cover of the third edtion of the Army Ants RPG (this Legacy Edition).

The RPG game system changed quite a bit from the second to the third edition, but seems perfectly fine for the setting. Well, I've never liked having a level system in my RPGs since I started playing Chaosium RPGs back in the day, but that's more about me than the rules in this Legacy Edition being unplayable or bad in some way. I've only taken the time to learn three new RPG game systems in the past 20 years and I've forgotten most of how ONE of those worked.

So, all this time Army Ants has been on my list of RPGs I'd like to play in or run a campaign for someday. I'm still not keen on learning the details of the game system though, but I found out in the last several years that I really just need the setting details and an easy and familiar game system to run adventures in. I'm actually in the process of converting a BRP (Basic Role Playing) character sheet to use for an Army Ants BRP campaign. The BRP game system is easy to teach to new players (everyone gets it when you point them to their percentage chance with a Skill) and with no worries about remembering the rules I can focus on bringing out the fantastic setting. And that is the real strength of the Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition -the unique setting. At this discount price, just grab a copy and use whatever game system you want. Pretty much any RPG that can handle modern firearms can be used to play Army Ants. You may even prefer the rules as written, which would make running a campaign even easier.

Now, I gave it a four out of five star but I'd go four and a half stars if I could. I dislike leaving no room for improvement. No RPG game system is perfect.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Quinn, Thanks for the kind words. I agree about game systems; in the intervening years, I have found how robust the basic OGL engine can be, and I've been modifying and stripping down that system for years now. I am quite confident that I could release an Army Ants hack that uses the same rules I've used for Tales of the Splintered Realm and Sentinels of Echo City easy enough, but I don't necessarily feel up to writing an entirely new rulebook; I may release a hack at some point which is a free plugin that you could use with these rules. Thanks for the idea!
Tales of the Splintered Realm Module B1: 49 Dungeon Denizens
by Vladmir K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2019 06:19:49

This is very good. I'm enjoy every bit of it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Splintered Realm Module B1: 49 Dungeon Denizens
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, and for taking the time to review the book.
Cupcake Scouts the RPG
by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2019 10:50:02

I’ll admit that “Cupcake Scouts” was an instant-buy for me. So it already started with the advantage of being unique and something I haven’t seen before.

But I was pleasantly surprised to find it was a simple single six-sided dice system married to a very clever background.

In a quaint town, the monsters and have agreed to a sort of truce created by the bribes of baked goods. This mission is carried out by the Cupcake Scouts gathered by an elder spirit called the Scoutmaster. In addition to delivering a wide variety of baked goods, are also trained to do battle against cursed creatures of darkness.

So in essence, it’s “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” where every player gets to be a ‘chosen one’!

The system as a simple 1d6 difficulty system with the scout’s “level” added to the roll.

Levels in the Cupcake Scouts is granted by earning Badges.

It’s important to note that this game has NO attributes (Strength, Mind, Personality, etc.) and this may be a deal-breaker for some.

You have your Troop (class), Level and Health and your special abilities.

The difficulty checks are broken down into well-thought out categories that make it easy to adjudicate without adding any rules overhead. The checks are Attack, Knowledge, Resist, Skill and Social checks.

Like “Swords & Six-Siders” a roll of 6 is an automatic success and a roll of 1 is an automatic failure.

Advantages and Disadvantages are also given in the same manner as in the “Barbarians of Lemuria” game (and now I think even in “Dungeons & Dragons”) with easy to remember ‘cancelling out’ rules.

Combat is handled as an Attack roll against a monster’s “Challenge Rating” which serves an armor class/defense. Scouts have Health points and are merely ‘defeated’ when they reach 0 Health. Challenge Ratings are derived from a monster’s level.

Cupcake scouts are always supposed to exemplify good behavior - brave, capable, friendly, helpful and smart - but they are categorized by “troops” which exemplify certain behaviors and acts a ‘Classes’ for the game.

Each troop gives special bonuses and a spell-like abilities. The troops are well-done, being unique and following standard RPG tropes (cleric, wizard, ranger, bard and fighter). I like the way these are done, but ‘disguised’ but definitely given unique roles and abilities, though the smart/wizard-like troop seems especially powerful.

The brilliance of the troop idea is that every character must embody the scout trait - pretty much restricting bad behavior (or encouraging good behavior as you will).

Scouts are already geared up with weapons, magic gems, a backpack, cupcakes and their handbook.

The Handbook serves as a clue-finder/portable google that allows scout-specific knowledge (including magic and lore) to be gained on the trail.

The Backpack is a fully stocked bag of tricks for monster hunters.

Even the cupcakes (or other treats) have a chance of having magical powers.

Levels are gained by earning badges and provide all sorts of bonuses, including one optional ability per level.

Optional abilities work like talents or feats and it’s great that even in a simple game like this you have mechanical and choice-based ways of distinguishing your scout from the others.

Earning Badges including Baking, Hunter, Slayer and Troop badges. You do the straight forward thing a certain number of times to earn them. Baking, killing, more killing and being exemplary at your troop’s trait.

Its like experience points, but the adventure itself is what gains the advancement.

The Scoutmaster is given the common Gamemaster advice, but also noted that they are a character in the game as well. Rather a ‘Mary Poppins’ type of character. It gives an outline of a typical adventure that gives them an episodic structure. This might not work for everyone, but I like it a-lot.

It also gives simple rules for random events and guides on setting ‘challenge ratings’ (the difficulty levels that need to be rolled over), and suggestions on assigning Advantages and Disadvantages. Very thorough and well done for such a light rule system.

Now because the game has no ‘skills’ of any kind, it talks about common situations - climbing, holding breath, leaping, swimming. It also talks about the effects of darkness. It even has a sort of ‘challenge rating’ for determining the difficulty of the opposition. It’s things like this that indicate that the game has actually been played rather than just written and very much appreciated. Even in “rules-light” games, these kinds of things are very helpful and for me, determine whether something is truly playable or not.

There is a fairly typical “Treasure” section, though it admonishes that cash is not really a viable option. Against the code and doesn’t travel to the mortal world. I’m not sure I wouldn’t like to see a little more creativity in this area. Maybe something that had to do with earning badges.

The Creature chapter is suitably brief, giving monsters a single Challenge Rating Number and ‘Tags’ which seem to correspond to something like ‘creature type’. Corruptions, Cursed, Elementals, Lycanthrope, Spirits, Undead, Vermin, etc.

Special abilities are buried in the monster description. The monsters would not be out of place in a “Dungeon Scouts” game. So much so that it’s almost a disconnect. The rules are written to work with the game, but for example the bite of a Hellhound can only be healed over time. While there is plenty of healing in the game, doing it over time is never described.

The Adventures are suitably short, but thankfully each of them has a map which is always appreciated. The artwork in generally is excellent in its own quirky style and suits the game well.

There are four of them which makes for a very nice start. They are rather dungeony, though, and the rewards for them are mostly of the ‘monster’ hunter badge type. I’m sure it’s fine for a game played with your daughter but I could certainly see more variety in the types of adventures for cupcake scouts.

The adventures tend to suggest that the town of Raven’s Hallow may in fact be in a medieval fantasy world rather than the modern world. There is a gnome apothecary, a family of (apparently) halflings and faun’s running the town library. I guess it was never explicitly said that the scouts were in the modern world, but it would be nice to have this explicitly stated. Maybe it’s just not the kind of thing the audience for this book would be too concerned with, but I’d like to know!

Believe it or not there is a Campaign section. THIS is the place where it talks about the ‘world’ of Cupcake Scouts. I wish this chapter was a LOT earlier.

So it states that there is a “land of humans” but it doesn’t actually say if that is a modern land.

Well, at the end of the day its a charming, playable rules-light system with an imaginative background and a great premise that seems fun as hell to play.

I’d play it in an instance and buy a printed version.

I truly hope there’s more coming!

PS: The only reason it's a 4 instead of a 5 is that the background world isn't explained very well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cupcake Scouts the RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the detailed review. I am glad to see that you responded so well to many of the design decisions. The game really came together nicely, but I know that it absolutely fits a certain 'niche'; although I did think of it as a game that you would play with a Supernatural or Buffy vibe. For the record, it is a modern town that is basically a 'borderland' between the mortal and mythical worlds. So it's got kindly grandmothers who tend their gardens with the help of gnomes, and everyone gets along quite nicely, thank you very much.
Tales of the Splintered Realm Module A1: Core Rules
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/19/2019 21:42:21

In 16 pages, Mr Desing delivers a nice simple ruleset that provides a lot of flexibility in character development, monsters, treasures, GM info and a small dungeon. The archtype concept is a great idea that falls into the perfect balance between race and class being completely separate and race as class. The only complaint I have would be the lack of human archtypes, While the demi-human archtypes are well done and showcase one of the highlights of the system, not including at any human archtypes diminishes the overall ability to play the game right away.

I am looking forward to future releases in the series, hopefully soon, with the human archtypes, expanded Arcane and Nature magic,and the inclusion of Faith(Divine) magic.

(Updated Review) The four additonal pages in the latest release hits all the marks, making this a complete game, in only 20 pages.For me this game checks all the boxes in what I want in a RPG.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tales of the Splintered Realm Module A1: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words. I intentionally left the 'big four' out of the game so as to distance it a little from the source material... and I plan to get around to updates :)
Thanks for the review. Rather than putting the missing elements you mentioned in a supplement, I have instead expanded the core rules to include them. The more I worked on them, the more I realized they belonged in the core game rules. Thanks for your feedback!
Thanks so much for taking the time to update your review. I appreciate it!
Tales of the Splintered Realm Module A1: Core Rules
by sean w. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2018 06:05:07

Simple but robust rules with interesting tweaks (e.g. the magic rules), I like Saga of the Splintered Realm but this is the next level in terms of playability. Neat little intro dungeon too.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentinels of Echo City Deluxe Edition
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2018 09:40:49

Endlessly fun character creation, simplified rules that don't alter the game too much at all, and an expanded setting/background material section that is interesting and inspiring to read. This is my favorite supers RPG from 2015, made better, stronger, faster, and cooler. So, you could say that this is my favorite supers RPG of 2018. Sorry, Icons, but hey: it's a close race, I promise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentinels of Echo City Deluxe Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Shards of Tomorrow
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2016 19:34:53

hards of tomorrow delivers on what it promises; a "old-school" SF RPG which contains a ruleset that should look familiar to anyone who's played the earlier editions of Dungeons and Dragons and/or the numerous clones spawned in the last decade or so. It does have a few new innovations, though--it uses a comprehensive "feat" system that resolves skill checks, saving throws and the like which is clean, easy to grasp and simple to use. It also has a Talent system which functions like the skill/feat systems found in other rpgs that can be used to flesh out a character; normally, I have some dislike for such systems because they tend to over-complicate things and restrict player creativity, but this is only two pages in length and simple enough to avoid such pitfalls. Overall, the system is one you should grasp quickly after a cursory read-through--in fact, it's the same system used in the author's previous rpg, "Saga of the Splintered Realm," so if you liked that this should be up your alley.

The ruleset is 136 pages or so in total, but it contains everything you need to play, from a bestiary of monsters to starship rules and the like, and even has a starter adventure to help you get started. It should also be noted that there are a lot of artifacts from Saga of the Splintered Realm (which was, in turn, heavily influenced by D&D). For example, undead, giants and elementals exist in this setting (and many of the alien creatures in the bestiary are also traditional D&D monsters such as Black Puddings), and one of the alien racial classes is essentially a cleric, with a spell list taken directly from the Saga of the Splintered Realm's cleric. The setting isn't described in great detail, but it seems a cruel race of alien warmongers unleashed some sort of doomsday weapon that tore a rift in the barrier between our galaxy and another dimension, which in turn allowed such supernatural horrors such as the undead to pour through and ravage the galaxy. I don't mind this in the slightest, but people who want a system not so heavily influenced by D&D should take note.

All in all, this game seems to fill the same niche as the White Star RPG does; were I to run a rules-light sci-fi RPG, I'm not sure if I would use this, White Star or Stars Without Number. (Maybe I should stop buying so many new RPGs to make these sorts of decisions easier!) I only have one criticism, which largely comes from my having read Saga of the Splintered Realm, which is that I feel this game could have been fleshed out more. As a rules-light system, obviously this is not a game that should be loaded down with numerous options and excessive mechanics that would slow down play, but even so I feel that a few more character class options would have been welcome. There are only two human character classes, one being a generic adventurer with a spaceship (a "junker") and a Jedi Knight clone. Granted, those two options, along with the various alien and synthoid classes, are certainly enough to make an interesting range of characters, but I would have liked to see a human mercenary/soldier class and a Noble/Aristocrat class (such as the one that exists in White Star) to more fully cover the common tropes that exist in science fiction media such as Star Wars. Saga of the Splintered Realm had an index that featured a few optional classes (such as the Bard and the Paladin), and I wish this game had the same. A few more pages describing the setting in order to provide additional adventure ideas would also have been nice, though there's enough mentioned for a creative game master to use as an effective springboard. As such, I feel this game really needed another 10-15 pages to earn a five-star rating, but as is it's a solid setting that should appeal to a wide variety of gaming enthusiasts.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shards of Tomorrow
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Echo City Team Up #2
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/09/2015 20:55:02

This is a 10 page PWYW .pdf with an aquatic themed adventure that includes:

  • 2 Open Adventure Locales w/ Maps
  • 1 CL3 and 2 CL8 "Foes"
  • 3 CL6 "Allies"
  • 2 "Magic" Items
  • A Story Driven Way to Increase a Character's"Resources" Rating
  • Rules for CON checks to Explore Underwater

It also offers "Hooks" and "Fallout" to both lead your characters into the adventure as well as provide some lasting effects for later story development.

All in all, some very cool and useful stuff for underwater adventures.

I won't have an opportunity to work most of the content into my current game for at least a few sessions but the underwater rules are immediately useful since we've already been under the Heart River multiple times in our sessions.

Like the other Echo City products, things here are very loose and open to interpretation... which is a very good thing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Echo City Team Up #2
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Sentinels of Echo City
by Michael H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/06/2015 22:35:36

Sentinels of Echo City!

Oh... what a joy....... OSR = Omnifarious Superheroic Ruleset!

I'm writing this review for the SECOND time now because RPGNow decided to purge all but the first line of my last one.....

If TSR's B/X D&D procreated with their Marvel Super Heroes game, you'd get the first genetic version of SoEC... after that though you'd need to inject it with mutagen, expose it to gamma radiation, let it be bitten by a lab arachnid and then sprinkle it with cosmic dust.

This game is a ton of fun. The rules are lightweight and fast yet robust enough to adjudicate any situation that comes up. The game uses a unique "Trait" system that covers both Powers and Skills under one cleverly erected umbrella. It should be noted too that even though you can run full fledged four color supers, the rules also have everything you need to run low powered or even pulp type games.

The setting fluff is purposefully barebones and though there is plenty of stuff to branch off from, it takes a decidedly DIY approach to setting. Inside you'll find tons of npc's, adventure hooks and personalities but they are there to help you launch your own "Echo City".

The author has already released quite a few supplements for the game (including one that is a best seller right now!), and there's a robust G+ Community that is creating stuff too:

https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/105571392429158867533



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sentinels of Echo City
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Sentinels of Echo City
by Maxwell T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/14/2015 21:11:57

I am admittedly something of a compulsive superhero RPG "collector." So, odds are I would have bought this game any way, regardless of the pedigree. However, given the pedigree, I was even more interested, as I had bought and read through the author's previous "Mythweaver" and "Resolute" games, and thought both were very well done. My mouse wasted no time in hovering over the "Add to Cart" button.

Then it paused. The fact that this game was "based on B/X D&D rules" started to bother me. I had yet to check out this author's "Tales of the Splintered Realm," so I wasn't aware of how he had adapted the system for his own uses in that game. Still, the cover homage to the classic "blue book" Champions cover won me over, and I gave it a shot.

And am I ever glad that I did. This is a fast, flexible, easily understood game that takes the B/X rules and uses them as a basis to make something that feels truly original and very well suited to the superhero genre. There's a good balance between old school mechanics and new school flexibility (or just a new school approach to the old school flexibility that was always there).

There is a unified mechanic used for most actions (a "check", either standard or superhuman in scale), but there are a few subsystems (combat is "to hit AC", there are "FEAT checks" like saving throws, etc) to keep things feeling a little more old school, too.

Can you create every superhero that ever existed with this book? Not really. But, modifying the game to do so, or to suit any other idea you might want to try, would not be even close to difficult.

Also, the game is all open content (or some such thing, I'm not a lawyer), which means you are encouraged to tinker with it and make it your own.

Overall, this game has the refreshing mix of old and new school gaming flavor that makes for an RPG that I really want to get a chance to play.

Highly recommended.

(Note: the author is planning some additions to the core book soon that sound very cool, too.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Splintered Realm Book 1: Core Rules
by Brian R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/07/2015 23:20:59

Now I may have not been apart of the Kick Starter for this little gem. But I do appreciate the effort given towards this product. So I thought I would leave a little review about this product. So lets start this out by saying, its a blend of both old school D&D and an attempting at blending some elements from 5th edition and other variants of the sort. There is no all or nothing method, and offers different variations of the themes. Ability scores range from 2 to 12 but still keeps the same standard modifers.

Task resolution uses the d20 like most systems of this sort but are called a "Feat Roll" , but offers a mix of a bonus equal to half your level plus modifiers for other factors such as class , or ability score (or ability modifier). There are no saving throws, and no skills, everything has been condensed into the 'Feat Roll " mentioned. I would have liked to ahve seen some effort on adding at least background skills, to help flesh out a character beyond just class abilities and raw ability scores.

Damage, have been simplified and condensed into an easy dice range. (either d4,d6,d8, or d10). Hitpoints are the same regardless of class, so everyone has the same chances of survival.

What really makes this game shine for me, is the Talents system that was created for its use. Talents are special abilities, that players can add when they have reached an appropriate level. Which varies from class to class. But this lets you create characters far more unique then they would be with just a class. Now you can have a warrior that can cast a spell , or a wizard that can wear armor and cast spells!! or a cleric, that can sneak like a thief. or a thief that can turn undead!! The options are pretty open ended here.

Magic doesn't need much touching on, other than that it is split between arcane and divine. And ranges in power from 1 to 6.

The default monetary system is in Silver, thank you! I've always personally hated gold being the standard.

And in the back of the book, you will find callings. Which are like prestidge classes that you can add on to your character (but is more like a package of abilities, instead of an entire new class that you ahve worry levels about). Instead you pay a premium of experience to keep the benefits, making it far slower for you to level up.Such callings include, Druid, bard, palading, etc.. Just meet the requirements for the calling, and you can add it to gain the abilities.

Over all this is a easy game system, that has enough options that allow you to still come up with a character you wish. Sage of the Splintered Realm is a far superior game to the original basic Dungeons & Dragons I grew up with and 3.5 D&D In my opinion (which has grown too complicated and rules heavy with options). And I would definetly play this game, even though there is room for some improvements. Which can usually be hand waved with optional rules by a clever GM.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saga of the Splintered Realm Book 1: Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words, Brian! I appreciate the feedback. I\'m absolutely \'standing on the shoulders of giants\' here, and have had 40 years of good ideas to pick and choose from, as well as a group of great players who provided invaluable feedback throughout the process. I\'m proud of the way the game uniquely solves problems I had with B/X, and I\'m glad you like the Talent system. I agree that it adds a great deal of flavor to a character with almost no mechanical bloat, which was a big deal for me from a design standpoint. I really appreciate it that you took the time to read through the game and post a thoughtful review! Mike
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition
by Tomer Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/09/2014 16:45:08

It really bothered me that there are no reviews for this fine product so I have decided to step out of habit and make one.

I must admit I have really liked the Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition. It structure and layout is very clear and the writing is easy to follow and understand. No outstanding art though, but I am a content person anyway.

The setting is very unique in style, and basically you are playing a “humanoid” ant soldier or other insect such as beetle, Cricket, ladybug or Potato Bug (in some sense you can call it your “race”) in a fight against the evil wasp empire. Now, this is definitely not your standard everyday fantasy, sci-fi or steampunk setting but it is fresh and exciting.

The rules are simple yet give a rich, satisfying and elegant feeling (I must admit I am all in for light and simple systems nowadays). It is based on a combination of Level, Attributes and Traits using a point-buy method for character generation and development (each level you get Character Points to spend). There are only 4 Attributes covering all character activities – Body, Mind, Prowess and Spirit, with each Attribute assigned a dice rating in a scaling order (D4, D6, D8, etc. the higher the better). Traits are a mix of skills and talents and are rated with a flat bonus from +1 to +6. Some of the Traits rules, such as Moxy, Munitions, Mentalism, and Mysticism, are used in a very nice way giving a great flavor to the game. To perform an action you roll your Attribute dice and add the Trait bonus. The result is compared against an opposed roll or a difficulty target.

The rules are pretty extensive covering anything I could have thought about including all the regular RPG stuff, Vehicles, mass combat and even simplified cybernetics (yes, cybernetics for ants!). I have encountered with several dice scaling style systems but this one has put everything together most smoothly. The only thing I would have change is the use of levels and the level based Attributes feat rolls, making it a pure skill-based system (by the way, the system could be very easily adjusted and be adapted to fit any standard RPG setting. I myself have found it easily used for my favorite Mutant Chronicles dark techno-fantasy setting).

All in all this is a very good and interesting product, I have bought it at the original price and now that it is at such a low cost it is more than worth it for anyone looking for a fresh setting or a cool simple rule system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Michael T. Desing's Army Ants RPG Legacy Edition
by ff f. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/14/2013 00:49:09

I'm writing this, my first review of anything ever, so this piece of work gets more viewers, meaning possibly more players, meaning more people are enjoying this. I'm no exert on RPG's, but 5$(price during review) seems wayyyyy cheap in comparison to others I've seen, and based on previous experiences, this RPG offers roughly the same amount of game material, but is also packed wit ha whole new perspective of setting. I'm going to cover what I can be bothered writing about but TLDR- It's worth the money (5$- that's like as shell out from your parents, or at most two muggings).

Setting- The RPG provides a fascinating setting, giving detailed information of the fantastic 6mm factions masterminded by MTD. I highly recommend reading the comics the author produced if in need of more background fluff (or Micheal's online comic http://armyants.thecomicseries.com/comics/ ), but the setting is quite versatile. Micheal gives a run down of the various insect factions that inhabit the world, including the needed differences from a normal insect compared to the featured insects in order to give them smart missiles and assault rifles. The spectrum of allies,enemies and natural dangerous is quite vast, and although a detailed few pages are dedicated to describing the war torn backyard, I quickly found myself mapping out my own house and yard to become my groups RPG setting. I my be sounding like a salesmen for this game, but if you play RPG's for the same reason as me (To feel as though your a character in an entirely different world) Then this game is for you.)

Game play- The main dice mechanism presented in the book relies on about 5 different types of dice, but being a simpleton, I ended up using the D6 version of the game, Which still ended up being quite versatile.) Stats are simple, with four attributes covering nearly all situations. To resolve a action, you roll a number of dice equal to your char attributes, then add points based on your skills and try to have a higher score than a difficulty target. Quite basic, but I found it worked quite while, especially when you add in the attached rules for dice explosions, stealth combat and battling gargantuan, deadly sparrows and Gekos. Also in the book are some watertight but super entertaining and effective rules for massed combat and vehicular warfare, including super tanks weighing in the grams!

Overall- As I said, I'm not the best at writing a consistent paragraph online, but the general tone is that I really enjoyed MTDAA, and will have many a blast with my group fighting with and against, wasps,ladybugs,flies and earwigs in and around my meter high water tank. Without a doubt, This RPG is worth it, and if your question starts with does it have..? The answer is yes. BUY IT



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 55 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG