Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Five Free Races
    by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2019 17:02:09

    My campaign is just fine without these races. They are not necessary in any way,



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Spells of Mischief
    by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/23/2019 15:36:44

    In general, not a fan of "joke content" and I don't know if it really entertains, however, I think two of these spells can have very interesting implications, "Quickl Switch", if you have a potion of poison, can serve to quickly ruin an enemy's plan to drink a useful potion, and secret reservoir can perhaps cause people to leave a tiny hut, or something similar, if the DM approves.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Spells of Mischief
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Enchantments
    by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 07/06/2012 09:52:54

    Seven enchantment spells to use in your 3.x/OGL/Pathfinder games. Nothing here that will break your game and the price can't be beat. Good spells. Frankly I liked Power Word Laugh and Haunting Melody.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Enchantments
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Illusions
    by David K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/10/2010 13:03:22

    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Illusions offered a great new look to deception magic. More than simple ethereal monsters or geographic modifiers for disbelief, the Seven Illusions magnified the role of an illusionist. This four page file condenses seven spells onto two pages (the other two pages include a cover with quarter-page art, and a final page of legal information). The illusion spells offer a wide range of utility, and target uncommon things like money and language and spell-caster familiars. Even one of these additional spells helps the illusionist fill a special role in any party. Surely, there are two combat related spells rife with trickery and imagination. Personally, I liked the inclusion of the “Shadow Puppet” for an immediate feel of this publication. Designed for 3rd Ed. D&D, the utility for illusionary magic also fits with typical Sword & Sorcery magicians. For example, these spells could certainly be easily modified to Barbarians of Lemuria or Broadsword RPGs. The spell casting complexity ranges for moderate power levels with good humor; these spells should not unbalance any game. For the price (free), consider adding Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Illusions to your shopping cart before it disappears!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Kressmer's Bizarre Grimoire: Seven Illusions
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Book of Templates
    by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/26/2009 16:44:44

    This book contains around thirty templates for use in d20 fantasy games. Templates are applied to monsters in order to give them particular abilities, or boost or lower them in power.

    Some of the templates seem awfully specific, as if targeted directly at someone's home campaign and not much use outside. Others are off in their calculation of how much the template affects the Challenge Rating of the monster. However, there are many that are very creative and some that are downright fun. Mixing and matching templates and monsters will give a GM lots of cool things to do when preparing and running monsters.

    There are no particular special features for the PDF, but the length is such that this is not an issue.

    A solid outing and the price is right.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Book of Templates
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Book of Templates
    by Davin P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/16/2008 19:27:39

    All of the templates are interesting and inovative. The biggest flaw is that the CR adjustment on some of them are miscalculated.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:21:58

    These races are nicely presented and well designed. Any one of them would make a nice additional to a campaign setting to add a bit of exotic flavor to a strange locale. Some might require slight tweaking before allowing as playable races, but none of them are overly powerful that it would be too much of an issue to use as is. The writer did a nice job of providing useful background information for each race that can help give GMs a better idea of how to use them.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Twisted Menagerie
    by Bo V. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/11/2008 22:34:33

    Twisted Menagerie Old school variety and style. If you like monsters, you'll like this book.

    Silverthorn Games is well known for its template books. Like a chemistry set of strangeness, they have offered DMs a way to twist and modify standard monsters into something new and, more importantly, unexpected. But what if you don't want to mix the monsters yourself? What if you're sitting down to design or modify an adventure and you just want something imaginative, already written out? This is the focus of Twisted Menagerie. Monsters with full stats that you can drop into your games. The authors have allowed themselves a little time to apply their templates and show off the results. It means less work for the busy DM who wants something for right now. I like many of these monsters. They will find a way to my table – but more of that later.

    Twisted Menagerie is 71 pages long with enough meat to get lost for a while. It has a fun, chaotic mix of offerings. I counted 36 'Monsters', including 11 unique creatures and 21 examples with level adjustments. A few of the 21 LA critters would be interesting PC races while others would be good NPCs. There is also a gang of 5 monstrous humanoids. For each entry there is line art, a short background followed by a statblock. The graphics are black and white. They are reminiscent of the old school monster manuals although I think the artwork here is better. The bookmarks throughout the work are decent. The index at the back, by challenge rating, is very helpful. I liked the monsters - this is a nice eclectic grab bag. Twenty-seven of the challenge ratings are between ½ and 7 and nine are 8 or above. If you're tired of Orcs and Goblins this book is a good choice. The selection hits a useful sweet spot for populating adventures. I think the monsters themselves stick out against other offerings for being a little different and interesting. Some books have done very well with situation or race centered categories – I feel that Twisted Menagerie is more flexible because the choices are so chaotic. I especially like the monstrous races: The Gnasher (GnomeBadger), The Gray Nymph (ElfNymph), The Pseudokin (SpellcasterPseudo Dragon), The Spheth (Fey Touched Lizardfolk), The Stone Children (GargoyleHumans), and the Valco (HumanGoats). These alone makes this PDF a welcome addition to my library. The Stone Children and the Pseudokin are arcane creations but I think they are suitably balanced to become a regular irregularity in my game world.

    If I have a criticism of this work it is in a sense an unfair one - other monster books have set the bar so high for monster publications. Colour art, expanded backgrounds, longer entries and sheer numbers of offered monsters are widely available amongst the competition. But quantity is not quality. Reading this book suggested multiple plots and fun adventures – that is the measure of a publication.

    If there was a way to give a 4.75 that would be my rating for this book. As there is not I have to give it a 4.

    All in all, this is a really solid publication. Much more useful to me as a DM than many of the tiny 5 page or less pdfs out there. I wish there were more like it. I'll go back to this collection for some of the player races. The unique monsters will make for interesting encounters. You'll be happy to have some of these critters up your sleeve. Even the most jaded players wont expect these :).



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Twisted Menagerie
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Twisted Menagerie
    by Shane O. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/04/2008 11:31:09

    Silverthorne Games, the company known for its variety of interesting and bizarre templates, has returned after a long absence with their latest product, Twisted Menagerie. But how well does this new product hold up compared to their previous works, particularly their magnum opus, The Book of Templates? Funny you should ask…

    Twisted Menagerie is a book of monsters. It contains a grand total of forty-two monsters, with several being specific individuals. I hesitate to call them “new” monsters, however, because all of these creatures have one or more templates from The Book of Templates: Deluxe Edition 3.5. In essence, Twisted Menagerie is something of a companion piece to that book, though make no mistake, all of the monsters here work just fine if you don’t have the BoT – that said, there is a single brand new template here (“Servant of Olamet”), along with several new magic items, some new non-magic items, a few new deities, and some spells reprinted from the BoT:DE 3.5. Note that each creature also has, in their description, a listing for what the base creature is, along with (in several cases) full PC race information.

    The zipped file that I received contained only a single PDF of the full version of the file. Presumably this has since been corrected and a printer-friendly version has also been added, but I can’t say for certain. The full version of the file is seventy-one pages long. It has full bookmarks as well as a table of contents. The art in the full version is quite plentiful. All of the pages are grey, with the edges being a darker color than the center; while I wouldn’t say the color scheme made the text any harder to read, it did seem to present a sort of muted tone when browsing the book. Almost every monster has a black and white illustration, nicely showing what they look like.

    The book keeps a fairly orderly layout, with every monster occupying either one or two full pages. Each entry begins with some descriptive text, and moves right on to the creature’s special abilities. Their full stat block is listed at the bottom of the page, and the picture is off to the side. Listed by the picture is the name of the monster, and in parenthesis what the base creature and template is. This is a fairly compact system, and works well enough, but it leads me to my major complaint about the book: the text resolution is too small. While never truly hard to read, the text is just small enough that I found it to be slightly uncomfortable, and in a few cases confusing – the letter “e” and “c” were largely indistinguishable at that size, for example. It won’t be anything that ruins the book for anyone, but it’s slightly irking.

    Twisted Menagerie is a very nice book, and a good return for Silverthorne Games, but while I liked it, it doesn’t quite live up to the book that it’s working from. Even with the scattering of new crunch, a book of existing monsters with templates applied doesn’t quite raise the same level of excitement as a book of new monsters/templates does. This book tries hard to compensate for that by giving us flavor text to try and integrate these as new, complete monsters, along with racial information for some of these as PC races, but it doesn’t quite pull it off. Add in the problems with the text size, and while I’d still say this book is a gem, it’s a flawed one. Nevertheless, it’s worth its cost, and if you want a book to nicely showcase what you can get from the Deluxe Edition of the Book of Templates, look no further than Twisted Menagerie.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Twisted Menagerie
    by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/25/2008 13:58:35

    Oh, Silverthrone, you had me at hello.

    When I read the first book of templates you published, I thought it was pretty darn creative. When I read the deluxe version, which I still find myself pulling things from (I can’t say that about a lot of books), I was impressed by the level of thought and effort put into them.

    It did not take much for me to want to get my hands on Twisted Menagerie. Whereas the Deluxe Book of Templates was like the Director’s Cut of Planet Terror, Twisted Menagerie is akin to a series of top notch extras that did not make it into he DVD. If you have the Deluxe Book of Templates, there is nothing in Twisted Menagerie that you can not create your self. All you need is a little creativity and the twisted psyche to combine certain templates that only a demented person would have thought of.

    Seriously… A half gnome dire badger. Hive minded Kobolds. A demon undead dog the size of a city block.

    If you had doubts about taking a purchase break until 4e arrives, this monster manual has enough twisted badies to make you rethink converting your campaign all together. This is 71 pages of proof that there is a decade’s more life in 3.5.

    There are 38 creatures in the book. As with previous material from the publisher, you will not find too significant a balance issue with any of the creatures. What you will find is some really “different” things to throw at your PCs. The entries are formatted a tad differently than normal monster manuals that begin with the statbock. Instead you get the abilities and write up of the creature and on rectangle notepad at the bottom you receive the statblock. The bookmarking is precise, though the page numbering is slightly off. Everything looks very clean and the papyrus background makes me feel like I am reading about some things I was never meant to find. If I had to find issue with something, it would be the small type font, but is that really an issue when dealing with PDFs and the magical magnifying glass.

    For the Dungeon Master There are lots of creatures to choose from which can fit into various environments. I am in an aberration set of adventures now, so plucking the aberrant ettercap was a no brainer. As much as my players hate these things they will especially despite the ones with confusing gaze and fast heal. As an surprising trap I really liked the Marble Guardian, a different kind of construct that has the powers of a medusa.

    The Iron Word I feel I should recommend this product with a series disclaimer. Do not go through all of your currently written adventures and delete the creatures there and put in a bunch from the Twisted Menagerie. Because you will not stop. And then you will start trying to figure out ways to put in this creature and that creature, until whatever adventure you wrote is not even what you wrote and your players will be looking at you in the middle of game wondering why you have that devilish smirk on your face. If you can prevent yourself from getting carried away you might not find a better monster supplement this year better than Twisted Menagerie. .



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    by Craig S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2008 08:19:38

    6 foot, two-headed kobolds…does anything else need to be said? I don't know if any of these are useable as PCs, but as unique NPCs or monsters they sure will be interesting to throw into a game.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
    by Alan H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2007 14:05:15

    I am very pleased with this pdf! Dozens of templates to spice up your D&D game. My personal favourites would be the spirit templates and rules.

    Very good buy.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Minor Magicks
    by Michael T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/16/2007 00:00:00

    An assortment of unexceptional magical effects found in many other products. A number of specific spells with the same strength as Prestidigitation but lacking its versatility.

    The product claims to include many spells useful in a fantasy world's daily life, yet it misses out on most kinds of spells useful to a medieval lifestyle (no farming charms, no tool-strengthening charms, few craft-specific charms). Most spells look like bland replacements for modern concepts.

    Not a bad product. Just dull. Certainly nothing millions of DM's haven't already written for themselves.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The emphasis on low-level magical effects.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The bland flavorlessness of the offerings.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Disappointing<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Minor Magicks
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Mind the Gap (Revised)
    by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/25/2007 00:00:00

    This is a very fine and comprehensive treatment of a basic type of trap, both providing a complete listing for simple pits and presenting many well-thought-out variants. The costing system derives from a rational system for the actual work involved in digging a hole, which is a refreshing correction to the 3e DMG's arbitrary level-appropriate numbers for traps. The game stats have a solid and reliable feel to them.

    As for the cover, well .. nice Mandelbrot set, but it doesn't have much to do with the contents, except possibly some of the magical variants. This bit of art doesn't do justice to the production quality of the interior which is well laid out, carefully edited and has, get this, coloured bookmarks.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Mind the Gap (Revised)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition 3.5
    by Chris G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/29/2006 00:00:00

    Sometimes it feels like I have reviewed a book before. But rarely is it this true. In fact I have in one way of looking at it reviewed this book twice before. The first time was when it was just the Book of Templates and then the second time when it became the Book of Templates Deluxe. Now it is the Book of Templates Deluxe 3.5 Edition and with each change it has gotten a great improvement and been one of the most used books at my gaming table. It is really cool to see such a great book finally come out in print as well as PDF like the first two were. Silverthorne Games and Goodman games should be very proud of this book and it has to be rare if not unique for a non core gaming book to get three releases with two significant improvements over the original which was a very solid and useful book in its own right.

    Book of Templates 3.5 Deluxe Edition is a great looking hardbound book. It is one hundred and ninety two pages long and all black and white. The layout is well done with many table for the templates and also rules for helping the DM improve monsters. The pictures are nicely done depicting some strange new creatures to show some of the example creatures created with the templates in here.

    The book is very well organized with templates grouped with who they can be used for. If one needs a template for an undead there is a chapter filled with undead templates. The same goes for plants, animals, constructs, and other creature types. There is also one large chapter on templates that can pretty much be applied to any creature. Some of the chapters only have a single template like the plant chapter but all templates do have an example creature making this book partially a very different monster manual.

    The book starts off strong with a chapter on applying the templates and modifying the creatures. The book is useless if people do not understand how to use the material and the book does a nice job of taking a person through the steps and considerations when doing so. There are tables for the different creature types, how to handle size increases and decreases, ways that challenge rating can be modified, working with level adjustments for players, and other key things that people will need.

    The book is filled with interesting templates as one might imagine. One of the interesting ones is the Fallen. It is a template to be applied to Outsiders, more specifically good Outsiders that have well fallen to the evil side of things. There is the Degenerate Template that represents a creature in isolation or part diet that weakens a bit but becomes more unpredictable of its kind. There is the Metalvore template that represents a creature that eats metals much to the fear of fighters and clerics everywhere. I really like the example creature they use applying this template to a bulette. I also really like the picture of this thing as well. There are pages and pages of interesting possibilities and cool ideas in this book.

    This is a book that I and lots of other people get a lot of use of. The only comparable book is the Advanced Bestiary by Green Ronin which is another nice collection of templates. I do use the Book of Templates more though. But in reality both are very important in my quest for new and unique creatures to make my players lives more interesting and deadly. This book has a PDF and book version making it very versatile coming in the format the person will find most useful. This is a great book and about as close to a must have in the realms of fantasy d20 game books as we see.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Book of Templates - Deluxe Edition 3.5
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 90 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
    0 items
     Hottest Titles
    There are currently no reviews for this product