Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wayward Rogues Publishing » Reviews
Browse Categories
nevers
nevers
Pay What You Want













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
The Guide to the Cult of Shub-Niggurath
by Robert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2020 08:39:12

Very poor product support. Pretty significant errors in the book. I asked for errata with no response.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
The Guide to the Cult of Shub-Niggurath
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Special Quarantine Bundle
by Matthew C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/31/2020 14:24:12

$15 for such a large bundle is hard to pass up. It's a great value.

However, had I paid full price for any of the products in the bundle I would have been very disapointed.

In ALL of the products, typos and inconsitincies are abundant. The products appear in your library in a jumbled mess with no semblance of organization. You receive EXACTLY 100 products. Though many are duplicates and some are just word documents.

I am MOST disappointed that they did not include all of the issues of their "Whispers of the Dark Mother" adventure path. The bundle is missing the "Tower of Hidden Doors" and "Town of Brighton"

Regardless of my gripes, I stick by my leading statement. This is a great VALUE. $15 for something that took the publishers hundreds of hours to create is a STEAL. But be warned, you are paying for quantity over quality.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Special Quarantine Bundle
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Elves of Celmae SECOND EDITION
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/07/2020 10:33:52

While I am not a huge fan of elves, and my only major complaint would be that the cover art leans a little too close to a WoW night elf for my liking, I think that the story and lore within this supplement is a great addition to the Celmae lore and world. With this book you get a whole lot crammed into 15 pages, and I like how these elves really seem to pull a lot from Celtic and Gaelic tales in their abilities and various different factions. Overall, if you are looking to add some elven excitement to your Pathfinder game, feel free to snag this book. Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 16



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Elves of Celmae SECOND EDITION
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cultures of Celmae: Dwarves 2e
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/19/2019 21:23:33

Dwarves will always be my first love for fantasy races - short, stocky, big beards, usually Scottish/North Country English accents, with a love for beer and axes - what is not to love? So when our friends over at Wayward Rogues Publishing asked us if we wanted to take a look at their new Cultes of Celmae: Dwarves 2e supplement, I was more than down - and just in time since I got my Pathfinder 2e stuff in today.

With new feats, racial heritages, as well as setting locations, deities and classes, Dwarves 2e packs so much into 14 pages and it leaves me wanting more. At some points the layout seems a little off, and some of the text options for titles blend into the page a bit too much, making it hard to see - but those are my only qualms. Acting both as an intro to Pathfinder 2e fan content and as the Shattered Skies setting that Wayward Rogues has developed, Dwarves 2e is a perfect little product to add to your Pathfinder library if you are looking to add something a little new.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: 18



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cultures of Celmae: Dwarves 2e
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/07/2019 18:46:46

I grew not far from a pond and a river, so I am all too familiar with the little critters that inspired this race which Robert so beautifully put together. One part river rat, one part muskrat, and one part otter, the Oyapok are my kind of race - nomadic waterfaring wanderers in search of the next hunt or their next cove to dock in. With excellent feats such as Tough Tail or Wash Pain Away, and fantastically engaging lore - Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e is more than just a race supplement, going above and beyond in 11 pages that some race pieces struggle to do in more. Definitely worth the price, and you get so much more than just a race for Pathfinder - you get whole new roleplay opportunities and gateways.

Comics, Clerics, & Controllers d20 Roll: Nat 20



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cultures of Celmae: Oyapok 2e
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Hunger from Below
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/05/2019 10:57:01

With elements pulled from various adventure-horror films like Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, The Mummy, and others, The Hunger from Below perfectly meshes traditional dungeon crawl adventuring with an intense sense of urgency, suspense, and haste. Your players NEED to help the town, your players NEED to survive - it is a quest of NEED versus WANT, and that shows in the gameplay. If you want to give your players an intense challenge, something they will not forget, than consider using The Hunger From Below.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Hunger from Below
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Hellpriest
by BM M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2019 13:53:17

I have picked up a few different hybrid classes from Wayward Rogues Publishing and most run the gamit from decent to great, however, this product was a huge let down. The abilities seem disparate and to me there lacks a truly unifying theme for the class and it's associated abilities (one of the main themes is summoning a spiked chain which is all well and good but how does this reflect a cleric/sorcerer hybrid). Also, I would have liked to see more thematic abilities based on one of the aspects of the class: pain.Somethig like this:

Pained Beneveloence (Ex): Your pain is clear for all to see. Your suffereing invokes pangs of guilt and a heedless need to assist you in the hopes of helping to alleviate your anguish. This grants the hellpriest a bonus equal to x to bluff and diplomacy checks.

Overall ... it seems a hodgepodge of abilities accept for the progression of the summoned spiked chain.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Hellpriest
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Sorry this missed the mark for you. Your suggestion for "Pained Benevolence" is quite good, though I am thinking a bonus to the Intimidate skill. Might be more appropriate. What else would you have liked to see more of? More alternate Class features tied to pain?
The Guide to the Cult of Shub-Niggurath
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/15/2019 09:10:50

Elisting a feeling of terror, dread, and primal fear, The Guide to the Cult of Shub-Niggurath is an excellent addition to any game that is looking to truly implant that sense of occult gore horror. With inspiration from Lovecraft, Hellraiser, Spawn and Hellboy, this supplement adds new gameplay mechanics that flesh out (pun intended) the utilization of the occult in RPGs. For instance, the Larvel Progenitor option for the Alchemist is both disgusting and interesting at the same time, a halfway point between Maggot from the X-Men, and Venom. Overall, definitely a need if you are looking to add a heaping pile of morbid to your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Guide to the Cult of Shub-Niggurath
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Revanchist Hybrid Class
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/10/2019 07:54:56

The Revanchist is a perfect merge of edgy action-adventure hero and noble paladin. It reminds me of many of those character tropes you see in various mediums; the Shield Hero, Drizzt Do'Urden, Zorro, and other heroes on the path of vengeance. However, while some characters who fall into this category can often become at odds with the party, Wayward Rogues has developed and built a hybrid class that allows for synergy and advanced roleplay options that go beyond Edgy McEdgelord and allow for a multi-dimensional player-character. Unless you want to to the Edgy McEdgelord routine - that is all up to you. Overall, I am more than prepared to roll up a Revanchist character when I get back into Pathfinder.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Revanchist Hybrid Class
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mechromancer Core Class
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/22/2019 12:41:01

The Mechromancer class supplement does the perfect job it set out to do - to make YOU, the player, feel like a Gundam or Transformer or Jaeger or Titan - without compromising balance mechanics. With unique systems for building and developing your own mech, this supplement takes the potential of the Technomancer and beefs it up with some classic 80s and 90s anime/cartoon-inspired giant robot energy. For players who want to add a major cinematic feel to their games, but stll kep it easy to manuever with and inline enough with what the GM has in mind, then definitely snag yourself a copy of the Mechromancer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mechromancer Core Class
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cult of the Wendigo
by Cameron D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2019 18:27:13

Cult of the Wendigo offers a unique take on the terrifying Native American myth - expanding the legends and stories that surround the monstrous flesh-eater into something greater than a simple entry in a bestiary. One part setting, one part quest book, and a whole hell of a lot of frigid Nordic horror, Cult is a must-have for anyone who wants a new kick in their game - whether they be in a frost-rimed mountain setting, where villagers are being stolen for grisly sacrifical rites to appease the wendigo, or to offer a new diety for a player to worship or bond with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cult of the Wendigo
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Eldritch Artillerist Class
by Albert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 11:45:57

An interesting complementery class to Starfinder's solarian. Both are strong fighters with supernatural abilities, but while the solarian channels power from stars and specializes in melee, the artillerist channels the void and works best in ranged combat. This is so far the best-written class by Wayward Rogue Publishing, but still has quite a number of the usual weird sentences and confusing rule references.

Right at the beginning, the author seems to have forgotten that "key ability score" does not mean "important abilities". It is one particular ability used for calculating Resolve Points. So we don't know which one it is.

(FYI: I hate the font used in the headers. Very hard to read, especially the numbers. Also some headers are missing the level references or the colored background emphasis.)

Most class features depend upon the pact you choose at 1st level. More about these later, but first a few words about the non-optional stuff. Immunity to atmosphere/vacuum, tech-based surveillance, and the higher level tricks based around the ethereal plane and teleportation all seem to fit nicely with the "space warlock" concept. I really like Void's Gift as this is one of the few class features which actually work in starship combat. (Starship combat in Starfinder feels like a different game sometimes, with so many of the "normal" rules not being applicable. But I digress.) But the lie detection feature I do not get. It does not fit the class. What I really miss, on the other hand, is an ability that would help the class ignore that pesky rule about provoking AoOs every time you fire a gun.

Now let's see the fun stuff: there are five pacts to choose from. All give a different ranged weapon, roughly similar in strength to the solar weapon of the solarian class, and a bunch of optional powers. There are pretty strong themes here. One is about sonic effects. (Fun fact: there is no explicit rule in Starfinder about sonic weapons being useless in vacuum.) The second utilizes plants, the fourth fire and shapechanging, the fifth cold. I deliberately left out no. three, because I am somewhat baffled about it: this gives you the melee weapon of tentacles, which, though cool, does not IMO belong to this class. Adhering to the ranged fighter concept is my strong recommendation. Artillerist, remember?

Some powers give skill bonuses. These are so useless they might as well be ignored. Do I want a perform (sing) bonus or an attack that causes momentary unconsciousness on a failed fortitude save? Decisions, decisions... (not).

An overall problem is that there are sentences in the text everywhere that just don't make sense. Missing words, unprofessional rule references. Also, I may be too visual, but some powers just don't feel right. Can you grow a tree on a space station? Can you submerge a big pistol in a single dose of poison? Has the "creature" of the Dark Mother any chance of surviving one round? Still I think this class would play pretty well with minimal corrections. If only it read more professionally, I would have given it 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Eldritch Artillerist Class
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Novafist
by Albert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2018 09:47:59

A cyborg warrior class for Starfinder. A pretty straightforward idea that could (in theory) fill the role of Pathfinder's barbarian, with some monk-ish features to boot. Unfortunately, delivery of the details is quite amateurish.

Right at the beginning, the author seems to have forgotten that "key ability score" does not mean "important abilities". It is one particular ability used for calculating Resolve Points. So we don't know which one it is.

(FYI: I hate the font used in the headers. Very hard to read, especially the numbers.)

It is not a mistake as such, but longarms proficiency seems inappropriate for a hand-to-hand specialist class.

Just like Pathfinder’s monk class, the novafist has an augmented unarmed damage that scales up with level. When compared with bludgeoning melee weapons of the same level we can see that it is slightly stronger at 1st level (1D8 vs assault hammer’s 1D6), same goes for 5th level (1D10 vs tactical maul’s 1D8). There is no increase at 10th level, and that is a mistake (comet hammer does 4D6, which is quite a difference compared to lower level weapons). Weakens at 15th level (3D12 vs elite maul’s 7D8), and ends up pitiful at 20th level (4D8 vs gravity well hammer’s 15D6). Granted, some of my examples have special abilities that might change the equation, but I still suggest recalibrating this whole feature.

Also, since the text mentions “tendril barbs”, why is the damage strictly bludgeoning? If the concept here is that the novafist can take anyone apart with bare hands (and I think it is), then the option of doing slashing or piercing damage would be nice.

Novafist uses two different point pools. The simpler one is called Durability. It reduces damage suffered or (at high levels) allows for a saving throw reroll. Since that is pretty much the entire thing, the point pool system seems unnecessary, and a “times per day” rule would be sufficient.

Nova Charges are more complicated. These symbolize fuel for your unique cyberware and are used to activate special attacks.

Meteor rush is a monk’s flurry kind of attack, but with a different system. There is only one attack roll, then a separate roll to calculate how many actual hits took place, and finally a reduced damage roll. For example, at 19th level this feature can do a maximum of 5D4 times 1D12 damage for the cost of 3 Nova charges (of a max. pool of 7). I just can’t help feeling this is needlessly overcomplicated, alien to the core mechanics of the game, and very hard to balance with other classes.

Some minor features excluded, this leaves the signature options of the class to look at: the Improved Augments. The class gets one of these unique cybernetic implants at every even level, starting at 4th. (BTW there are no class features related to standard cybernetic items. This might be worth exploring.)

Under the augment write-ups there are quite a lot of confusing details. A few examples follow.

Magnetic charge lets you pull the target towards you. But if it is a touch attack (it should be, but is it?), then you are already adjacent to the target. So it only makes sense if you first move away, then pull. Which brings up the question of the power’s duration. Or if it is a ranged attack (which defies logic, IMO), how is it delivered?

Kinetic barrier needs “something solid” to create the barrier. Basically you tear of the walls or somesuch (as I gather, anyway). What has it do with cybernetics at all? Some kind of collapsible tower shield implant would be much more in style.

Elemental augment gives you “acid, electricity or fire” damage type. Improved elemental augment gives “acid or cold”. Besides the fact that acid appears under both powers, elemental damage types are treated equally in Starfinder. It makes no sense that some of them should require two augments, while others only one.

Pulsar rocket makes a reference to the off-target condition that is really hard to understand. Such references to existing rules should be more accurate.

To sum it up, the general idea seems solid, but many details need to be either recalculated or rephrased.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Novafist
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mechromancer Core Class
by Albert S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 11:39:36

I don't think this class has a single original paragraph to it. Play a technomancer with the powered armor proficiency, and you practically have the same character. In Pathfinder terminology, the mechromancer would be a technomancer archetype with magic hacks swapped for a mech suit and upgrades. But 16 out of the 23 upgrades are actually magic hacks, copypasted from the Starfinder core book. And remaining are either built-in weapons or upgrades no different from what you can find in the core book, Chapter Equipment. With the exception of the suit size increase and maybe the charged tentacles upgrade you can in fact do better, as the core book has more and better fleshed out options.

(P.S. I checked: if you use an Ironclad Bulwark armor from Starfinder Armory, you can have tentacles installed too, or at least a pretty close equivalent melee weapon.)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Mechromancer Core Class
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Venommancer
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 09/12/2018 05:13:52

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This hybrid class clocks in at 12 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial/ToC, 2 pages of SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 7 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This review was requested by one of my patreons, to be undertaken at my leisure.

So, the venommancer is a hybrid of alchemist and kineticist and gets d8 HD, 4 + Int skills per level, proficiency with simple weapons plus bola, boomerang, flask thrower, needle glove, scorpion whip, shuriken, scythe, throwing syringe, wrist launcher and whip as well as light armor, but not with shields. They get ¾ BAB-progression, begin play with poison use and have good Fort- and Ref-saves.

In case you were wondering: Both throwing syringe and needle glove are new exotic weapons with the inject special property. These weapons may be filled with a liquid as a 1.minute process, as a standard action for characters with poison use. Other weapons can get this one for +50% costs. Both are pretty expensive (15 gp and 35 gp), so plan this when spending the 3d6 x 10 starting wealth.

The venommancer begins play with the special blend class feature, which translates to 3 + Intelligence (not properly capitalized) modifier doses of a fast acting poison that may not be hoarded. This poison is an injury poison with a 1 round onset, dealing 1d4 untyped damage for the venommancer’s Intelligence modifier rounds. A successful Fortitude saving throw versus DC 10 + ½ class level + Intelligence modifier negates the poison/flushes it out. The venommancer adds his level to Craft (alchemy) or Knowledge (nature), Heal and Survival to checks pertaining diseases or poisons. They can also use a standard action to identify a poison affecting a creature in reach. Finally, 1st level nets the toxins ability: the venommancer has cultivated 3 + Constitution modifier (once more, Constitution is not properly formatted…) diseases: As a standard action, the venommancer may exude a 5 ft.-radius cloud within 30 ft. of his current location. Targets in the cloud get a Con-governed Fort-save ( 10 + ½ class level + Constitution modifier, once more, attribute not properly formatted…) to negate. The cloud can be dissipated as a full-round action, and fire damage similarly can dissipate it. Unless thus dissipated, the cloud lasts class level rounds. The toxin has an onset of 1 day and causes 2 Dexterity damage per day, lasting until the target affected succeeds a save. The cloud has AC 10 and automatically fails saves.

At 2nd level, the venommancer gets the first virulence, with every even level thereafter, excluding the capstone, another virulence chosen. Virulences can be applied to toxins and special blends, but only 1 per such toxin/blend. Saving throw DCs are 10 + ½ class level + Intelligence modifier. There is a bit of a didactic improvement to be made here regarding nomenclature: It would have been easier for toxins to be referred directly, for special blends to be referenced directly. While the fluff text designates toxins as diseases, and special blends as poisons, the virulences apply their benefits generally…and accelerate disease becomes problematic. As a full-round action that provokes AoOs and may target a single being within 30 ft. – this target takes one day worth of disease effects…okay, so what about diseases with a quick progression? Full effects? Is there a save? I assume no, since the poison virulence does not the save DC, but I’m not sure. This problem extends to and is exacerbated in the accelerate poison virulence, which applies a poison’s remaining damage to a creature, with but a single save. This purges the poison, but can be a dragonslayer save or suck nonetheless. The issue regarding nomenclature also extends to some of the virulences – Adaptability makes the toxins apply to aberrations and undead. This is odd, since RAW, aberrations can be affected by poisons. Does this mean that toxins usually can’t affect aberrations? Why?? Substituting a toxin’s effect with that of diseases is interesting, and class level -4 bombs is also available, though this one lacks the minimum level prerequisite. RAW, it doesn’t work at 2nd or 4th level. The flawed rules-language also extends to a few very basic operations: Clumsiness blend, for example, makes the special blend deal 1 point of Dexterity damage instead of hit point damage. “You may take this virulence 1 additional time for every 4 venommancer levels you have. The damage stacks.” You’d usually use something like “every time you do, you increase the…” here instead. Anyway, there is a virulence talent that lets you fire a ranged touch attack as a standard action against a target affected by special blend or toxin, dealing 1d6 + half your Constitution modifier untyped damage. This blast may be enhanced by features that enhance the kinetic blast class feature. This is basically all the kineticist that’s in the class, and I don’t have to explain why this does not work, right?

Save or suck unconsciousness can also be found, and formatting is bad: Beyond the attributes I mentioned, there are instances of lower case skills, non-standard save DC-sequences, and ability that attempts splash damage and, while nominally functional, doesn’t seem to get how verbiage or splash damage usually work…you get the idea.

3rd level yields alchemical bonds: 1 + Con-modifier points are in this pool, and another one is gained for every 3 class levels. Once more, the verbiage here is needlessly convoluted and confusing. Expending one of these points renders the venommancer sickened. (Conditions are not italicized in PFRPG.) This condition lasts for a number of rounds equal to the points missing from the pool. These include immediate onset, purging diseases from targets (which also replenish limited use class features), suspend symptoms, etc. Forced onset has no range, and the ability fails to specify when the points replenish, if they do, and the class erroneously refers to the alchemical bond points as psychic. Unless otherwise noted, these are a standard action. Increase with Power lasts 1 round and does not specify otherwise. sigh The 5th level lets the venommancer poison a weapon as a swift action, and starting at 7th level, the class can poison weapons of allies within 30 ft.. Odd: RAW, neither line of sight, nor line of effect are required. Spread the plague does not note the level it’s gained, requiring that you default to the table – it’s 7th level, fyi. The venommancer may touch an ally and give the ally a dose of Toxin – I assume this expends a use. The ally, when hit, releases the toxin, and all within 5 ft. must save, with the DC reduced by 2. Why only allies? 9th level cuts the onset of poisons and diseases in half, and targets suffer the effects twice per round instead of once. Okay…when precisely during the round? No idea.

10th level nets poison immunity, 11th level at-will neutralize poison and remove disease and 13th level provides the option to poison a weapon when picking it up, or to inflict a poison via grappling. At ¾ BAB and sans enhancers, you will not be doing the latter. Class features are still not capitalized n PFRPG – I don’t get how you can still get that wrong. Anyhow, 15th level allows for the swift action expenditure of an alchemical bond point to force a reroll. 17th level nets a 10 ft. aura that inflicts 1d6 level? Why?) – this damage is recovered when a target leaves the aura and a target succeeding is immune against it. The aura may be suspended as a standard action for 1-minute increments. Wut? Okay, you’ll never want to sleep next to those guys.

19th level is interesting, making the venommancer no longer detect as a living creature, but makes her still perceivably via detect disease/poison. The capstone lets her use a use of special blend + toxins to create a 40-feet cylinder centered on the venommancer. This storm of venom causes 1d8 points of ability score damage (minimum 1) on a chosen ability score on a failed Ref-save, and increases its radius by 10 ft. each round. “Creatures that flee the cloud…” only take 1d4 until there are cleansed via spells, immersion in water, etc. See, this capstone, while not perfect, is actually kinda badass!

The pdf includes 8 new feats: +2 special blend uses, increase Toxin save DC by 1, increasing range or radius of the cloud…the like. There also is a feat that lets you poison weapons while drawing them, which is kinda odd regarding the action economy boosts of the class. It also requires a Sleight of Hand check – failing the check makes drawing and poisoning the weapon standard action, which renders this feat an all out bad idea. Spray the Wound has a good idea: When an ally damages a living enemy with a slashing or piercing weapon, you may use an AoO to throw poison in the wound. Thing is: The feat is geared towards directly throwing poison, and the class doesn’t get Throw Anything. Why can’t you use drawn throwing syringes with it? sigh Stinging Swarms is a teamwork feat that requires that you and your ally wield poisoned rapiers. Guess what’s not on the proficiency list of the class? Bingo. Frickin’ rapiers. The feat is also, beyond being super-circumstantial, wide open to abuse: As a full-round action, you make one attack. If you hit, allies may make an attack as an immediate action. “These attacks deal 1d6 points of damage to the enemy…” Damage type? That’s not how PFRPG works…and the enemy then gets a separate save versus each poison. That’s standard in PFRPG. However, failing even one save affects the target with the effects of ALL poisons. This is broken, doesn’t work, is super-circumstantial and a total mess. Don’t get me started on the attempt of a coordinated salvo of projectiles.

The pdf also includes an archetype for the venommancer, the psilocybinist, who replaces the toxin class feature with an inability to become addicted to drugs. The skill boosts granted by toxicologist are modified by more efficient drug creation and associated skill boosts. The alchemical bond is replaced with the option to bond with a d rug for 24 hours. Then, we get the psyching the dose ability: “When a psilocybinist takes a drug she is psychically bound to; she may choose which effects to be subject to. When a psilocybinist chooses not to take part in a specific effect of a drug, the psilocybinist may not choose to activate that effect later in the drug’s duration. In addition, she may ignore any penalties while using the bonded drug.”[sic!] This is the most wordy and confusing way ever to say “The psilocybinist may choose to ignore any penalties, negative conditions or ability score damage or drain caused by effects of the bonded drug.” At 7th level, penalties incurred by bonded drugs become alchemical bonuses instead.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are bad – neither on a formal level, nor on a rules-language level are they up to the standards of the 3pps of PFRPG. The class is barely functional as written, and then only with copious amounts of handwaving and GM interpretation. Layout adheres to 2 –column full-color standard and the pdf sports some nice full-color artworks. The pdf sports rudimentary bookmarks, which is nice. However, you can’t copy text from the pdf. This makes using the class supremely inconvenient and requires that you copy the abilities by hand to your character sheet. Big comfort detriment there.

Jarret Sigler’s venommancer is a cool idea – Scarecrow the class? Heck yes, neato!

However.

I don’t see anything kineticist-y within, apart from one ability that sucks and is only relevant for multiclass characters, so if you’re looking for kineticist-style tricks, look elsewhere. I like the idea of the class, and frustratingly, it gets the ideas almost right in many cases, but then falls flat on its face. Worse, even if you do manage to somehow use the class, it ends up being really weak, courtesy of a lack of means to bypass immunities. The class also shows copious amounts of instances that depict obvious ignorance of how PFRPG’s more complex rules-interactions work. In short, this feels like a class that was well-meant, but that fails pretty hard; like an Alpha, if you will. Personally, I wouldn’t touch it as written with a ten-foot-pole, but as a reviewer, I can at least applaud the notions that grant this one a distinct identity. As such, my final verdict will be 2 stars.

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Venommancer
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 94 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG