Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Blackstone Entertainment, Inc » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
by Sean O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/25/2019 18:55:11

First off, I love that the whole 47 ____ series is system-agnostic. Thank you for that.

Second, while some of the 47 methods are almost self-evident, it is great to have a checklist, and one that includes examples and details. It's also overall very well-written.

I am a bit bummed that it would be hard (read: not ink-effective) to print this due to the papyrus-y background but there is probably a workaround were I to do that.

Overall, this is a solid document and worth chipping in a buck or two to have in one's repertoire.

I do feel like this specific resource could have been better as a system-agnostic character sheet.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Holidays, Festivals, and Special Events for Your Campaign
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/23/2017 11:00:48

Considering it costs 1 dollar, this supplement is absolutely amazing, and would be very amazing even if the cost was 3 dollars. The holidays are cool, while mostly standard fantasy fare they do jog your memory and creativity quite nicely. Blackstone really delivered once again. I definitely recommend this company as a whole and this supplement in particular. The only real downside is that it's not printer friendly.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Holidays, Festivals, and Special Events for Your Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Villainous Cults, Orders and Guilds to Thwart Your Heroes
by Tyler F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/25/2016 13:58:52

Tons of great potential in these to build out of, especially the Cults and Orders. Excellent!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Villainous Cults, Orders and Guilds to Thwart Your Heroes
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:58:10

Very well thought out, and excellently written. Although I may not agree with all of these tips, most of what's in here is pure gold.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Danilo, for your review!
47 Ancient Scrolls, Maps, and Handouts to Spice up Your Game Night
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:56:24

Superb supplement, very much worth it. The other review was written before the update. Now it is easy to use and well formatted. Must have for any group that likes props (and almost all do, even if they won't admit it).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ancient Scrolls, Maps, and Handouts to Spice up Your Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Battle Tactics and Strategies for your Military RPG Campaign
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/08/2016 06:53:49

Incredible supplement for it's price, and would still be great even if it were more expensive. I'm not a military buff, but all of the 47 entries seem well thought out, and they are presented in a really interesting and efficient way, with a general overview, strengths and weaknesses. If you plan on making a military campaign, or even just want to know more about medieval armies, this supplement is a must.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Battle Tactics and Strategies for your Military RPG Campaign
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
by Markus D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2015 12:08:22

As a beginner GM I really recommend this well written list of very detailed tips. It's not the first book I read about GMing, but you really can get a lot out of these few pages, which makes the price (1$) a bargain. Only problem: there is no printerfriendly textversion available, so printing will cost you some more ink. But considering the price, 5 stars is a well deserved rating.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Tips and Tricks to Become A Better Game Master or Storyteller
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mystos: The Role Playing Game
by Oliver O. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/22/2015 10:04:40

Mystos is a neat indie game with a unique twist in how it handles die rolling with a rock-paper-scissors approach. This PDF was had a good layout and nice art too. I will be pitching it to my gaming group soon!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mystos: The Role Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Critical Hit Tables to Spice Up Your Game
by Danilo K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/23/2015 07:49:26

These 47 tables allow you to add flavor to your critical hits. They are not descriptions however, rather they are extra mechanical events that happen instead of the standard double damage. They are imaginative and there is a table for almost every situation. Of course, the tables assume medieval level of technology.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Critical Hit Tables to Spice Up Your Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
by Wayne Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/11/2015 10:36:12

Any good GM should know how to flesh out NPCs... however, for a measly buck, this document makes a handy checklist for ensuring that at least key NPCs are fully developed individuals and not just cardboard cut-outs. It can't hurt to tag it onto your order.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Ancient Scrolls, Maps, and Handouts to Spice up Your Game Night
by Nathan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2014 04:36:01

This would be an absolutely superb product at twice the price, except for one major drawback: every handout 'page' image is actually printed inside a border on the actual PDF page, with a PDF page background behind it. This may have been done in an attempt to improve visual appeal inside the product, but it actually significantly impacts the end-use of the images. It means that each image is actually smaller than the PDF page (in some cases by quite a lot), and will have to be cut out before it can be used. To make matters worse, the orientation of several of the images is wrong - wide images have been placed on pages in landscape orientation, meaning the images are actually only half the PDF page or less instead of being rotated to fill the page.

The quality of the images are superb, with an excellent variety and great detail in the background art, and the sheer number of images are amazing for the price. If it hadn't been so badly let down in the layout stage, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend purchasing it, even at a higher price. As-is, caveat emptor: any GM will have to be willing to put in some extra work to be able to use this product, and I suspect the print-quality of some of the mis-oriented images will be lower than preferable after they've been resized to properly use a page.

Pros: Brilliant artwork, great price, excellent variety & sheer number of images Cons: Bad formatting and layout



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ancient Scrolls, Maps, and Handouts to Spice up Your Game Night
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you, Nathan T for your honest and well-written critique. We have updated our product, incorporating many of your suggestions and improving upon the original to better serve our customers. Thank you for your revised comment in the Discussions section as well, and we\'re glad you enjoyed this product!
47 Villainous Plots to Ruin Your Party's Day
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/18/2014 22:50:43

I have become a fan of Blackstone Entertainment, Inc. The information contained within is so detailed and sparks the imagination. Keep up the wonderful work and you have gained a customer for life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Villainous Plots to Ruin Your Party's Day
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
by Paul S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 21:19:56

I have purchased from Blackstone Entertainment before and the "47" line, and have been very happy with the products. So when I saw this one, I knew I had to have it. Unfortunately I saw a critical review and was a little timid at first, but decided to order based on my previous purchases, and man I am glad i went with my gut. This is a must have and probably the best supplemental line for RPG's I have ever bought. It is full of 47 different ideas to make every NPC different and Unique whether you choose them randomly or on purpose. I have personally purchased the other publishing that a previous reviewer mentioned, and I can say this one is much better and more thoroughly detailed than a simple 3 line NPC.

The supplement gives the DM the needed ideas to make an NPC stand out and really pop to give the players a feeling about a certain NPC. I cannot wait to use this is my next campaign. Keep up the great work.

P.S. Motivation and Ambition are not the same thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
by Laura J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 20:04:06

This is a very well-written guide. I found most if not all of these make creating believable NPCs much easier. I didn't find any of these suggestions on NPC creation redundant; each one had specific information to help you add flare. I also like that they're up front and tell you to pick and choose only those sections you want to use, and not to burn yourself out trying to come up with waaaay too much like I've done a time or two :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
47 Ways to Create Great NPCs for Your Campaigns
by AARON N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/11/2014 15:58:16

A scattershot list of 47 pieces of information to include in an NPC write-up. 9 pages made up of an introduction and 47 paragraphs, each devoted to a category of information about your NPC. That's worth $1, I suppose, or could be, with a little more work.

Filling out all 47 categories (even combining those that are redundant, such as Picture, Appearance, and Face, as well as Motivation and Ambition), is more than you'll ever need. It would be better if the items were grouped into to domains, something like Social and Personality, just to make them more useful. I think Johnn Four's 3 Line NPCs is a better value if you need help with making NPCs.

One should beware a whole product line of lists of 47 items--expect that many of the items will be filler, even if 47 (the Star Trek number) is the best of all numbers you could choose.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG