SkeletonKey Games
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
SkeletonKey Games Powered by DriveThruRPG



Home » Dean Spencer Art » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info











Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Filler spot colour - girl vs raptor - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 01:34:51

Great little piece that works well as an interior picture along with the "Lost World" cover illustration, and maybe the "girl vs tyrannosaurus rex" filler. Fun times in Chult, or any other game world where humans and dinos coexist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot colour - girl vs raptor - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - The Lost World - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 01:31:41

“Is that a spear in your neck, or are you just hungry to eat me?” I love this piece, with the look of fear bordering on despair as the character tries to use her broken spear to pull herself through the muck. The first time I saw it, I thought it would be strange to try to use this piece in a ‘classic’ fantasy RPG…then I played D&D in Chult. If you are looking to use this on the cover of an adventure, it goes well with “Girl vs. Raptor” and “Girl vs. Tyrannosaurus Rex” from the colour filler options by the same artist.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - The Lost World - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Hold the Door - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 01:15:16

This is a huge, incredibly detailed piece with dynamic lighting and loads of action. I want to use it for a GM screen, or maybe just print it on a piece of 13x19 and hang it next to my gaming shelves for mood. With some scaling down, it would make an awesome cover illustration for a classic high-fantasy RPG book (might need a CMYK version of the file for that though, if you want a POD product).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Hold the Door - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Dancing Elf - RPG Stock Art
by Landon B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2018 00:53:41

This is a beautiful piece of magical/high fantasy art. The elf is bordering on surreal, with the light and shadow playing off her eyes in a way that gives her an ecstatic, almost possessed look. It's fantastic as a stand-alone piece, but I think it also has a lot of potential as a book cover, with some regions closer to the edges having a smoother appearance that invites text. The CMYK file is 27.5 MB, zipped in with the 17.9 MB RBG file and a copy of the stock art license.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Dancing Elf - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover template - Light Brown Leather (portrait image) - RPG Stock Art
by robert d. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/04/2018 09:41:24

This is an excellent product which will immediately improve the professional look of your Guild and DTRPG products. If you've been uploading stuff from Homebrewery with no cover, take the time to add this to your product and reap the rewards!

For an example, here's one of mine done with this very template: https://www.dmsguild.com/product/250064/Guriuss-Guide-to-Stormreach

Well done, Dean!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover template - Light Brown Leather (portrait image) - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Forgotten - RPG Stock Art
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2018 17:23:00

This image is almost certainly the single biggest factor as to why the Exodus System core book sold so well. Dean is an incredible artist. Just look at that picture. A statue in the middle of a swamp or lake. Trees growiing off of it. What killed the skeleton? How long has this statue been here? So many questions. It really creates a sense of wonder.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Forgotten - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
by Jacob R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2018 17:18:54

The oddest thing. I came here to review this artwork, adn it turns out that someone else already had the same reason as me. This image inspired me to wwrite a game, basically. The storytelling was so interesting, and the central character so powerful, that I could not get it out of my head. I just had to write an adventure about this picture.

To do that I had to write a game. So I came up with The Exodus System and then wrote the adventure THe Centaur Kurgan for it. Dean's work is amazing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Desert Thief - RPG Stock Art
by Frank R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/03/2018 04:25:07

I've been a supporter of Dean's Patreon for some months now, where you get to participate in the choices and designs for his stock art, and, each month, get to choose several pieces, based on your pledge level.

I couldn't be happier. As a part-time writer and designer I had been looking for additional art for my products that would fit with the style of my existing pieces, and be of a high standard, and Dean's work delivers on all accounts. Highly recommended.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Desert Thief - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Filler spot colour - cleric of the old ones - RPG Stock Art
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 16:02:49

Nice image of a dark priest summoning tentacled creature from a lower plane. BBEG action or an option for a dark summoner PC for my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot colour - cleric of the old ones - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Filler spot colour - arrow wound - RPG Stock Art
by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 15:59:26

Simple concept image done well to keep in my folder of DM things to use as a handout in FG, or when I am running play by post games to handle injuries with arrows. A little fluff art for the moments when a PC takes an arrow to the knee is always good. Color and emotive expression is well done here to suggest pain as someone pulls out the arrow and can be used as a handout for a heal check as well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot colour - arrow wound - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Filler spot - boat in cavern - RPG Stock Art
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 11:02:57

I love this image as it's not your typical mining tunnel, but a flooded mine that uses boats to haul the ore. I'm no artist, but I would think drawing water would be difficult and I think that waterfall looks fantastic!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot - boat in cavern - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Gelatinous Cube - RPG Stock Art
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 11:00:28

The shape of the cube is great...really gives it that 'jello' look. I also like the fact that it's an elf. They always seem graceful, dainty....etc...but this image shows raw courage and an iron will to try and escape. The lighting is incredible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Gelatinous Cube - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
by Aaron F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 10:55:30

This particular piece of art is the reason The Red Prophet Rises was written and published. When I looked at this piece of art, I wanted to know more...who is this centaur? Thought they were mainly peace loving/neutral....is it cursed by the helmet? Where are they fighting at? This piece of art definitely got my creative juices flowing and looked great on my adventure. Problem is, I could write that second to last sentence on all of Dean Spencer's art and I'm stoked I found his patreon.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cover full page - Centaur- RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Filler spot - skeleton casket- RPG Stock Art
by Kim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 10:52:23

Detailed but not overly specific, works with many situations. Great B&W work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Filler spot - skeleton casket- RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Character ink - orc warrior - RPG Stock Art
by Kim H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/01/2018 10:48:35

Detailed and atmopheric orc that can be used in many situations. Great B&W work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character ink - orc warrior - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to SkeletonKey Games Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 50 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG